trainsetsonly.com Reviews

About this Company

Train Sets Only is an Internet-based model railroad retailer carrying such brands as Accurail, Athearn, Atlas, Bachmann, Kadee, Lionel, Midwest Products, Model Power, MRC, NCE, Soundtraxx, Walthers, and Woodland Scenics. In addition to model railroad items, we also carry BigJigs Wooden Railway items.

Our number one goal is to provide exceptional customer satisfaction. We realize that our customers have many options when it comes to purchasing items for their model or wooden railroad. With that in mind, we strive to set ourselves apart by focusing on our customers, their needs, and their expectations.

Filter
Filter
Atlas Code 83 Snap Track - Curved Sections' -- 18
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Atlas Code 83 Snap Track - Curved Sections' -- 18" Radius pkg(6) - HO
See more product reviews

John T - 02/12/2023

Best price for this product-exactly what I need to build another On30 layout. Thanks!

John T

02/12/2023 - PA

Great prices, and easy to use your site


Walthers Mainline 50' ACF Exterior Post Boxcar - Ready to Run -- Railbox #30362 (yellow, Black Doo
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Walthers Mainline 50' ACF Exterior Post Boxcar - Ready to Run -- Railbox #30362 (yellow, Black Doo
See more product reviews

Ron B - 02/10/2023

Train Sets Only & Walthers Mainline

As always happy with Train Sets Only & Very satisfied with Walthers Mainline Railbox car.

Ron B

02/10/2023 - VA

Always happy when ordering from Train Sets Only.


Atlas Code 83 Curved Turnout - Customline? Mark IV -- Left Hand - Inside Radius 22
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Atlas Code 83 Curved Turnout - Customline? Mark IV -- Left Hand - Inside Radius 22", Outside 30" -
See more product reviews

Joe - 02/10/2023

Exactly as described

Joe

02/10/2023 - AL

Very good experience


MRC Throttlepack 9900/9950 Handheld  - 0001325
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
MRC Throttlepack 9900/9950 Handheld - 0001325
See more product reviews

Don M - 02/09/2023

Be nice if cable was coiled

Don M

02/09/2023 - IL

Easy to use


Kato World's Greatest Hobby Track Pack - Unitrack -- For 4 x 8' Layout - HO
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Kato World's Greatest Hobby Track Pack - Unitrack -- For 4 x 8' Layout - HO
See more product reviews

Don - 02/09/2023

Excellent Choice for a Larger Starter set!

I love this HO layout! It is only a little more expensive than a basic oval and much more interesting. The track assembles very easily. And, the track provides a great variety of pieces that can be used to support building a larger layout. The only reason i gave it 4 stars rather than 5 is that both right hand manual turnouts did not function properly (when the switch was thrown the track did not moveā€¦.. inspection revealed weak switch spring wire). I sent these to Kato for warranty repair per their request. Warranty repair has a 6-8 week turnaround so their customer service rep told me they will send me new replacements.

Don

02/09/2023 - TX

Novice railroad builder. Item descriptions were good but i could have used more detail on how item worked (especially power supply and extension cables). TSO was excellent and delivery was quick. Any concerns that i had were not with TSO, but minor concerns with the product manufacturers.


Bachmann Baldwin 2-6-2 Prairie - Standard DC with Smoke -- Canadian National 3594 (black, silver,
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Bachmann Baldwin 2-6-2 Prairie - Standard DC with Smoke -- Canadian National 3594 (black, silver,
See more product reviews

Don - 02/09/2023

Good value!

The locomotive runs smoothly and the motor is relatively quiet. The detail is good. However, the leading and rear road wheels are light and have no weight to keep them on the track over turnouts and crossings. Regardless, the locomotive is a good deal for the price, especially for getting someone started with model railroading.

Don

02/09/2023 - TX

Novice railroad builder. Item descriptions were good but i could have used more detail on how item worked (especially power supply and extension cables). TSO was excellent and delivery was quick. Any concerns that i had were not with TSO, but minor concerns with the product manufacturers.


Kato Standard SX Power Pack - Standard DC -- For HO and N Scale Trains
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Kato Standard SX Power Pack - Standard DC -- For HO and N Scale Trains
See more product reviews

Don - 02/09/2023

Good value!

This is the standard power pack for Kato track. Too bad that you need to buy switches that attach to it to support track switching operations. The instructions do not provide details on how to support various switch connection options. It has a light plastic housing. It works very well for my small 4x8 HO layout.

Don

02/09/2023 - TX

Novice railroad builder. Item descriptions were good but i could have used more detail on how item worked (especially power supply and extension cables). TSO was excellent and delivery was quick. Any concerns that i had were not with TSO, but minor concerns with the product manufacturers.


Bachmann 40' Steel Gondola with Load - Ready to Run -- Denver & Rio Grande Western #50435 (black,
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Bachmann 40' Steel Gondola with Load - Ready to Run -- Denver & Rio Grande Western #50435 (black,
See more product reviews

James F - 02/05/2023

I have a long consist of 32 cars. This car from Bachmann uncouples even when I put it near the end of the consist. The other cars in this consist are either Micro-Train or Atlas and they stay coupled.

James F

02/05/2023 - CA

Redemption points were easy to use.


Atlas True-Track? Code 83 Track & Roadbed System -- 18
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Atlas True-Track? Code 83 Track & Roadbed System -- 18" Radius Curve Sections pkg(4) - HO
See more product reviews

MikeL - 02/04/2023

Ordered some more track

MikeL

02/04/2023 - OH

have product I wanted at good price


Bachmann E-Z Track? w/Nickel Silver Rail & Gray Roadbed -- 18
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Bachmann E-Z Track? w/Nickel Silver Rail & Gray Roadbed -- 18"R Curve w/Terminal & Rerailer - HO
See more product reviews

david - 02/03/2023

Great quality

david

02/03/2023 - PA

always a great shopping time here fair prices, rewards, free shipping, quality products, quick and accurate shipping, well packed. I am a longtime repeat buyer here. You may find it cheaper but you won't get the same quality of overall service


Bachmann Norman Rockwell Christmas Express -- 0-6-0, 3 Cars, 47 x 38
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Bachmann Norman Rockwell Christmas Express -- 0-6-0, 3 Cars, 47 x 38" E-Z Track Oval, Power Pack -
See more product reviews

Rena T - 02/02/2023

I love it

Rena T

02/02/2023 - AR

First time ever ordering from them. It was a great experience.


Miniatronics Electrical Accessories -- Capacitive Discharge Unit - Handles Up to 10 Switch Machine
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Miniatronics Electrical Accessories -- Capacitive Discharge Unit - Handles Up to 10 Switch Machine
See more product reviews

John T - 02/02/2023

Great Service.

No one else had the item in stock and at a price I was willing to pay. Fast shipping and well packaged.

John T

02/02/2023 - GA


Woodland Scenics Children (HO scale)  - A1891
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Woodland Scenics Children (HO scale) - A1891
See more product reviews

Dennis L - 02/02/2023

Alway great figures, Train Sets Only has the best prices

Dennis L

02/02/2023 - PA

Always easy browsing and ordering


Woodland Scenics Scenic Cement? -- 16oz  473mL  - S191
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Woodland Scenics Scenic Cement? -- 16oz 473mL - S191
See more product reviews

Dennis L - 02/02/2023

Good adhesive

Perfect adhesive for finishing green scenery and track ballast

Dennis L

02/02/2023 - PA

Always easy browsing and ordering


Woodland Scenics Plaster Cloth  - C1203
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Woodland Scenics Plaster Cloth - C1203
See more product reviews

Joseph B - 01/29/2023

Makes scenery building easier.

Joseph B

01/29/2023 - CA

Great


Walthers 50' Plug-Door Boxcar - Ready to Run -- Union Pacific? - HO
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Walthers 50' Plug-Door Boxcar - Ready to Run -- Union Pacific? - HO
See more product reviews

Bob - 01/27/2023

Good looking boxcar. Steel wheels

Bob

01/27/2023 - TX

You guys have some of the best prices on the internet. Thank you


Walthers Cornerstone Cornerstone Series(R) Walking Beam
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Walthers Cornerstone Cornerstone Series(R) Walking Beam "Horse Head" Oil Pump - HO
See more product reviews

Bob - 01/27/2023

Fun little kit. Gears needed a little fine tuning.

Bob

01/27/2023 - TX

You guys have some of the best prices on the internet. Thank you


Calumet Trains LLC Super Traction Tires (20 pack) - TYCO Steam - HO
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Calumet Trains LLC Super Traction Tires (20 pack) - TYCO Steam - HO
See more product reviews

Anonymous Customer - 01/26/2023

Will it fit my locomotive? Attached is a photo and below is the text of the info that comes with the traction tires; I only wish this info was in the product listing so I knew in advance if I was buying the right product! CALUMET TRAINS SUPER TRACTION TIRES FOR TYCO CHATTANOOGA AND 0-8-0 TENDER DRIVES. THESE TIRES ARE MADE TO FIT INTO THE WIDE GROOVE 0N TYCO 0-8-0 TENDER DRIVEN STEAM LOCOMOTIVES. THESE TlRES MAY ALSO FIT SOME LATER MODEL TYCO DIESELS. NOTE: EARLiER TYCO MODELS HAVE A NARROW GROOVE WHICH USED A THIN ROUND RUBBER WASHER AS A TRACTION RING. THESE TIRES ARE NOT COMPATABLE WITH THAT TYPE OF SYSTEM. TO INSTALL, THE TIRE MUST BE STRETCHED EVENLY TO FIT OVER THE OUTER EDGE OF THE WHEEL. ONCE PAST THIS, IT WILL SHRINK INTO THE GROOVE AND FIT SNUG. THESE TIRES ARE MADE OF A MATERIAL THAT HAS A SUPERB GRIPPING CAPABILITY. YOU WILL NOTICE AN INCREASE IN PULLING POWER AFTER YOU INSTALL THEM. They are a great value because they worked for me, saving an otherwise useless locomotive. They were not easy to install, as I had to disassemble nearly the entire tender for clear access to the wheels. I cannot speak as to how long they will last, but with 20 in the pack, I have plenty of spares.


Big Jig Toys Water Tower  - BJT124
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Big Jig Toys Water Tower - BJT124
See more product reviews

Monica M - 01/23/2023

Grandson was extremely happy, he is fascinated by any sort of water towers.

Monica M

01/23/2023 - MI

just discovered this! Very happy with purchase.


Atlas Grand Valley Track Pack -- For Woodland Scenics Grand Valley Layout (#785-1483, Sold Separat
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Atlas Grand Valley Track Pack -- For Woodland Scenics Grand Valley Layout (#785-1483, Sold Separat
See more product reviews

D. RICE - 01/18/2023

Missing items during shipment

On time delivery but just opened to find track joiners were missing. They are quite small so I assume they fell out during shipping. Can someone please fix this

D. RICE

01/18/2023 - IL

Fantastic selection


Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business   trainsetsonly.com

© 2023 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2023