squirrelmoney.co.nz_investors Reviews

4.0 Overall Satisfaction Rating

Based on 62 Ratings

5
19 (30.6%)
4
28 (45.2%)
3
14 (22.6%)
2
1 (1.6%)
1
0 (0%)
19

Recommend This Company

4.1 Average

5
(23)
4
(24)
3
(13)
2
(2)
1
(0)

Price Satisfaction

4.2 Average

5
(23)
4
(30)
3
(8)
2
(0)
1
(1)

Customer Service

4.1 Average

5
(13)
4
(7)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(1)

Show More Show Less

About Us

Squirrel is not a tech start-up. We’ve been in the business of helping Kiwis borrow money since 2008.

Squirrel was born during the Global Financial Crisis so we’ve got a natural cynicism about the economy and being prudent. We’ve worked hard for our clients and built a strong and trusted brand in the Auckland housing market, arranging over $2 billion in mortgages. And along the way we’ve also won a heap of awards.

Our business is all about helping Kiwis make better financial decisions.

Peer-to-peer – or as we like to call it, person-to-person lending, was an obvious next step for us. It gives everyday investors better returns at the same time as saving borrowers their hard-earned money. By putting Loan Shield in place and building a world class IT platform (the Squirrel Money Marketplace) we also take looking after our investors’ money seriously.

Squirrel Money is about us challenging lending traditions to create more value for our clients. It’s not revolutionary or scary, it’s just personal lending, done better. We believe in total transparency and you’ll find we’re honest and open about how we work, where our funding comes from and what’s happening with your money.

Visit squirrelmoney.co.nz

Shopper Approved actively collects reviews from actual verified customers, which helps more accurately reflect customer’s overall satisfaction with this company.

squirrelmoney.co.nz_investors

G

Geoffrey S.
07/21/2018 , Christchurch

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Nice website (clean, easy to use). Reserve fund is a reassuring plus. As a newcomer, still feeling my way with bidding strategy. Overall, very good impression so far."
Recommend this Company
4/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5.0
Investing Process
5.0
J

JAMES E.
06/26/2018 , Naseby

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I am a new investor, and while I cannot make any long term comments about Squirrel, so far my experience has been totally positive."
Recommend this Company
4/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5.0
Investing Process
5.0
N

Nick M.
11/13/2017 , Auckland

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"P2P lending is the future!"
Recommend this Company
5/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5.0
Investing Process
5.0
S

Susan H.
11/08/2017 , Whangarei

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Quick and easy to navigate your site. Easy to select what investment return to choose and you dont have to put all your funds into one loan."
Recommend this Company
5/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5.0
Investing Process
5.0
R

Richard
09/02/2017 , Auckland

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"It was easy and quick. "
Recommend this Company
5/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5.0
Investing Process
5.0
H

Herman
08/24/2017 , Auckland

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Initially I was a bit skeptical about the whole concept, so I invested a small amount to get a better understanding. Once I found out how to work the platform, I got more confident and have since invested a few more times."
Recommend this Company
4/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5.0
Investing Process
4.0
M

Michael S.
08/19/2017 , Wellington

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Customer service is excellent - very helpful and very quick with answers via email. I'd like to see some demo/ tutorial videos on the website :)"
Recommend this Company
5/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5.0
Investing Process
5.0
J

Jane W.
07/12/2017 , Auckland

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Once I figured out how to use the online platform it was fine, but it is not all that obvious and it did take me a while to understand it. "
Recommend this Company
5/5
Price
4/5
Would Invest Again
5.0
Investing Process
4.0
P

Peter C.
07/09/2017 , Palmerston North

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"While it did take a bit of percerverance to get the my personal details and the account verified,it was more due to my lack of knowledge of my computer operation than your systems. Charles Chen was very helpful to me through the process with his patience and prompt followups,both on the telephone and emails.He also assisted me to get the hang of the actual investing page,which when looking back with the wisdom of hindsight,was pretty straightforward. For me,this is a trial investment to see how things go. The real sustainability will be when the cold winds of a rescession blow through the country. I am prepared to percervere with J.B's innovative investing,based on his experience in banking and I believe,. considerable business acumen. I thoroughly read through his investor information twice before taking it further to other comprehensive details on offer,without rushing into any hasty descisions. From first hearing J.B at the P.Nth roadshow evening it was about 2.5 mths until I actually invested.GOOD THINGS TAKE TIME,as the cheese advert says. I am looking forward to more investments in the future. Thankyou to the Squirrel team."
Recommend this Company
5/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5.0
Investing Process
5.0
P

Pat
06/28/2017 , Auckland

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Very happy to invest. Good Peer to Peer experience. "
Recommend this Company
5/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5.0
Investing Process
5.0
G

Grant S.
05/11/2017 , Stillwater

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Hi Squirrel, service and everything has been great so far. Just wondered why all the investments are in $500.00 lots? Kind Regards, Grant Scurr 0273 501 042"
Recommend this Company
5/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5.0
Investing Process
5.0
D

David
02/01/2017 , Napier

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"With the banks paying so little I was looking for something with more reward. I know the banks are charging good rates for personal loans. Yet it didn't seem that that was being passed onto the customers with money in the bank. I wanted to get a better return for my investment and yet at the same time help others by offering lower interest rates than a bank would. To me a borrower should have a realistic chance of being able to pay a loan back without being crippled by high interest rates. I had looked at other P2P Providers, but there interest rates seem to be too high for borrowers and reviews indicated that they weren't necessarily operating fairly. No such issues with Squirrel Money. A east to use site and totally transparent. Thanks Squirrel Money! "
Recommend this Company
5/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5.0
Investing Process
5.0
E

Elizabeth P.
01/13/2017 , Auckland

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I have been with Squirrel lending for the last 2 months and am feeling pretty exited about. Prompt payment so far. "
Recommend this Company
5/5
Price
4/5
Would Invest Again
5.0
Investing Process
5.0
C

Cornel R.
11/01/2016 , Auckland

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I can certainly say that I trust Squirrel Money more than any other NZ peer-to-peer lending platform. Yes, the interest rates are a bit lower compared to the other P2P lenders in NZ but my hard-earned money is a lot safer. For me is all about trust and I appreciate the transparency when it comes to information disclosure in real-time. I like the "Looking after your money" page on their website."
Recommend this Company
5/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5.0
Investing Process
5.0
H

Hayden H.
11/09/2018 , Pukekohe

4.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I do like the platform but I think investors should be able to choose their appropriate interest rate for their account. I would like some feedback on this please. Thanks Hayden"
Recommend this Company
4/5
Price
3/5
Would Invest Again
4.0
Investing Process
4.0
N

Not A.
10/31/2018 , Wellington

4.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Clean app and smooth process to get set up. Needs to be quicker on the allocation of funds, guessing they need more borrowers. Took too long for the investment to start. Overall good experience so far."
Recommend this Company
3/5
Price
4/5
Would Invest Again
2.0
Investing Process
4.0
I

Ian C.
07/28/2018 , Auckland

4.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Overall good. Have noticed harder to get the higher rates I used to get. Waiting times are longer to invest. Maybe investing demand is outstripping the current pool of borrowers, what are you doing about this. Look forward to your reply."
Recommend this Company
4/5
Price
3/5
Would Invest Again
4.0
Investing Process
4.0
P

Ptolemy
07/12/2018 , Auckland

4.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Decent concept, great support etc. Would like an auto invest feature that auto filled any investments that met my criteria (for me would just be first loan that met min as this is set and forget). Also 500 minimum would ideally be somewhere near 100, but given there seems to be far more investors than people needing loans, neither seem like they should be prioritised."
Recommend this Company
5/5
Price
4/5
Would Invest Again
5.0
Investing Process
3.0
T

Tristan B.
06/28/2018 , Auckland

4.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"The app on Android doesn't correctly door show how many dollars are invested at or below the chosen rate. Also it would be nice to see how recently loans were completed and for how much."
Recommend this Company
4/5
Price
4/5
Would Invest Again
5.0
Investing Process
4.0
R

Richard M.
05/31/2018 , Mapua

4.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"My only problem with Squirrel money is buying secondary market loans. They show up on system but no matter what I do I cannot seem to buy them. If they are for less than $500 you cannot target them on the system,I you put a bid in for $500 at that rate the bid is not taken. If you have secondary bids for sale please notify lenders so they can buy them."
Recommend this Company
4/5
Price
4/5
Would Invest Again
4.0
Investing Process
4.0

See more squirrelmoney.co.nz_investors Reviews

Visit squirrelmoney.co.nz_investors ►