Squirrel has been in the business of helping Kiwi borrow money for homes since 2008, arranging over $10 billion of mortgages.

Our mortgage advice is always impartial and honest, because the only goal is to leave you better off. And since 2015, Kiwi investors have trusted us with over $300 million of their savings too.

Our business is all about helping Kiwi make better financial decisions. We believe in total transparency and you’ll find we’re honest and open about how we work, where our funding comes from and what’s happening with your money.

We’ve won just about every award for mortgage brokering there is. But what makes us feel happiest is the feedback we get from happy clients.

Visit Squirrel.co.nz

Filter

1,856 Verified Customer Reviews

1,856 Customer Ratings and Reviews

Shopper Approved collects trusted reviews from customers who have made a verified purchase.

4.7

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1432
(77.2%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
374
(20.2%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
34
(1.8%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
8
(0.4%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
8
(0.4%)

Would Buy Again
4.8
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1306
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
187
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
21
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
7
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
19
Would Recommend
4.8
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1554
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
249
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
28
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
9
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
16
Customer Service
4.1
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
47
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
15
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
8
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
4
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
8
SHOW DETAILS

5-star reviews
1,250+

5-star reviews

9 years collecting reviews

About this Company

Squirrel has been in the business of helping Kiwi borrow money for homes since 2008, arranging over $10 billion of mortgages.

Our mortgage advice is always impartial and honest, because the only goal is to leave you better off. And since 2015, Kiwi investors have trusted us with over $300 million of their savings too.

Our business is all about helping Kiwi make better financial decisions. We believe in total transparency and you’ll find we’re honest and open about how we work, where our funding comes from and what’s happening with your money.

We’ve won just about every award for mortgage brokering there is. But what makes us feel happiest is the feedback we get from happy clients.

Visit Squirrel.co.nz

Filter
H
Hua L.
04/15/2018 , Hamilton

It was a good experience.

Would Recommend
3/5

C
Cora
04/12/2018 , Auckland

First couple of meetings went well unfortunately we couldn't arrange a change of bank due to too high breaking cost. The restructure of my mortgage with my current bank didn't go so well there was some communication issues between the bank, Squirrel and myself. After a lot of back and forward and me talking to my bank directly it got sorted. I had the feeling that there was a lack of understanding in what I wanted to achieve and the details of the mortgage products offered by my bank were not clearly explained.

Would Recommend
3/5
Would Buy Again
1/5
Customer Service
5/5

C
Christine K.
09/22/2016 , Auckland

I was expecting a bit more advice. I had to ask a lot of questions. It was the first time we were going through a process like this so I thought there would be more guidance. I had to be proactive and ask what to expect next in the process rather than being told.

Would Recommend
3/5
Would Buy Again
3/5

C
Christian G.
08/30/2016 , Auckland

Overall experience wasn't the best just because of the communication leading up to settlement, but this was possibly due to the bank. There were just a few things we didn't get told early enough, not sure if it was on the bank's part or Squirrel's.

Would Recommend
4/5
Would Buy Again
4/5

S
Shirley B.
08/23/2016 , Christchurch

We're reasonably happy with it all.

Would Recommend
4/5
Would Buy Again
4/5

M
M. H.
08/10/2016

Have always used Mike Pero until our contact there left. Hence why we tried Squirrel. Had to chase for updates, things were left to the last minute and only after I had prompted feedback and updates. Might not have been a large amount of lending in comparison to what else they were working on, but to us its just as important.
Will not use Squirrel in future.

Would Recommend
2/5
Would Buy Again
1/5
Customer Service
1/5

B
Bryden C.
07/21/2016 , Auckland

There was just an issue with how our adviser talked to ASB and a stuff up there. Everything else was really good it was just this.

Would Recommend
3/5
Would Buy Again
1/5

R
Richard H.
06/30/2016 , otherstate

Eleanor was very good to deal with, we will definitely be coming back.

Would Recommend
3/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

M
Maria
03/23/2023 , Auckland

Super helpful and knowledgeable advisors. Consistently great customer service, timely and clear communication. Will highly recommend to anyone looking to buy real estate.
You only need to go through the assessment process once, the rest is done by the advisor.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

S
Sunil
07/13/2022 , Takanini

The overall experience was unsatisfactory, every time I had to chase up with broker for an update on the process and lack of miscommunication. We passed the due date for rate lock when all the documents were given on time.

Would Recommend
2/5
Would Buy Again
1/5

D
David
04/09/2022 , Springston

We felt like we were being left out of the loop and misled. We were very disappointed with the outcome but the process and transparency was the worse part of our experience. We would not recommend Squirrel. Having the GM try and upsell us to a Squirrel product when we complained confirmed our impression.

Would Recommend
1/5
Would Buy Again
1/5
Customer Service
1/5

C
Casey
12/02/2020 , Waikato

I feel our Broker did not have our interests at heart. Failed to communicate important information in a timely manner resulting in having to take extra days off work to meet with banks and lawyers to sort things out last minute. She also did not provide information relating to the loan until the last days of closing, where it was too late to negotiate anything further. In the end we got the loan approved but i don't feel we got the service that was expected.

Would Recommend
1/5
Would Buy Again
1/5
Customer Service
2/5

S
Sunjay M.
12/16/2018 , Auckland

Lack of communication, poor response time, lack of professionalism

Would Recommend
2/5

A
Ada R.
08/02/2018

Not informed with the process, not able to explain/answer my technical questions.

Would Recommend
1/5
Would Buy Again
1/5
Customer Service
2/5

L
Linda H.
06/05/2018 , Te Poi

Our broker was awesome. He was always avaliable to answer any questions I had, and was very patient with my 'new to the property market' type questions. Our finance was approved really quickly and he kept us on track with deadlines.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
4/5

P
Paul O.
05/08/2018 , Auckland

Communication wasn't very good, we were put in a situation we did not want to be in and it took over 3 months just to get the banking sorted out.

Would Recommend
1/5

R
Rachel
07/01/2016

I felt like I had to tell my broker to do everything rather than him taking initiative and doing it himself. I only got the final rate I settled on because I made him go back to the bank. A broker should make the experience easier but I think I would have had an easier time just going straight to the bank.

Would Recommend
1/5
Would Buy Again
1/5
Customer Service
2/5

E
Ed G.
07/06/2023 , Auckland

Sudam was rude and difficult. We complained and requested a new broker. They said I would deal with his assistant instead from then on. Didn't happen. Then when we had an offer in on a house he went over seas without telling us and was not around for the end of the deal period when we had to finalize the bank. This was majorly stressful. We started dealing with the assistant. Then she went overseas. It was an absolute mess. We have dealt with a couple of other people through the process. We are still not at settlement, but so far the whole operation has been extremely unprofessional it's astounding the company has such good reviews.

Would Recommend
1/5
Would Buy Again
1/5
Customer Service
1/5

V
Victoria
05/07/2023 , Whangaparaoa

I felt like the advisor did nothing to help with my situation and he did not listen to our original conversation. I could have done it all myself with the outcome that was reached.

Would Recommend
1/5
Would Buy Again
1/5

J
Justin
09/25/2021

We first contacted Squirrel in April and finally got our mortgage in September. This is largely due to the slowness of Brad Luiten your broker. Despite agreeing to certain rates, Brad missed locking these in with Westpac and so we end up with not as favourable rates. Then after explaining to him that we needed revolving credit TO ACCESS FOR HOUSE REPAIRS the mortgage that was agreed did not have this stipend. We had to go back to the bank and request this additional money which took place in lockdown and so was a real pain. All because the broker did not listen to what we asked for not double check what we clearly put in emails prior. 5 months to move mortgage providers when we are sat on a load of equity and have secure incomes that can be traced back for years is a joke.

Would Recommend
1/5
Would Buy Again
1/5
Customer Service
1/5

Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business
Website

© 2024 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2024