Squirrel Reviews

4.7 Overall Satisfaction Rating

Based on 1,024 Ratings

5
765 (74.7%)
4
233 (22.8%)
3
20 (2%)
2
5 (0.5%)
1
1 (0.1%)
750+

Would Buy Again

4.8 Average

5
(652)
4
(104)
3
(8)
2
(2)
1
(6)

Recommend This Company

4.8 Average

5
(845)
4
(154)
3
(18)
2
(3)
1
(4)

Customer Service

3.8 Average

5
(8)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(2)

Shopper Approved actively collects reviews from actual verified customers, which helps more accurately reflect customer’s overall satisfaction with this company.

Squirrel

About Us

Back in 2007, just when the global economy was battening down the hatches, John ‘JB’ Bolton had different ideas. He reckoned more than ever, people buying houses needed someone in their corner.

That’s when Squirrel was born. On the surface it’s a mortgage brokerage, but it’s also a whole lot more. In a market where everyone works for the seller, JB wanted a business that would fight for the buyer.

And he was plenty qualified for it. JB had been a big cheese in bank world, dealing with more than $40b in mortgages and deposits over his time with some of New Zealand’s leading banks.

He’s also a property investor himself, so he brought insight and experience from both sides of the fence.

Now, all this time later, JB and the Squirrel team help first home buyers, new investors and old hands cut through the spin, make better purchasing decisions, get better terms from their banks and have a nicer time of it in the market. We currently write more than $90m in mortgages every month – that’s over $1b per year.

We’ve won just about every award for brokering there is. But what makes us feel happiest is the feedback we get from happy clients.

Visit Squirrel.co.nz

H

Himanshu K.
4 days ago , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Thanks"
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
F

Fiona W.
1 week ago , Christchurch

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"This was my first time in purchasing a property for myself and Marilize was a huge help. There was alot to learn throughout this process and I felt that I could ask anything, even if I wasn't sure it was part of the mortgage process. This was a huge help to put this together and understand what was being asked of me. "
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
K

Kevin
2 weeks ago , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Really efficient and quick. Got a better rate than I could on my own and arranged a bigger loan on short notice. Thanks."
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
E

EunHo C.
2 weeks ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Expert and friendly advice from advisors. Great communication and flexible appointment times."
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
N

Nuwan S.
1 month ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I have used Squirrel for several years and have brought a friend and family members for help with their mortgages."
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
C

Caleb S.
02/13/2019 , Tauranga

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"We have always found Squirrel awesome to work with. They provide informed advice in a timely manner and make the whole process really easy!"
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
A

Alexis C.
02/10/2019 , Hamilton

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Great service, excellent results"
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
R

Ryan S.
02/10/2019 , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Shaun was excellent at giving advice on structuring my different loans for maximum security and cost effectiveness. He achieved a rate for us I had no idea was on the table and the cash contribution was fantastic. We are now paying a lot less than I was expecting"
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
D

David B.
02/08/2019 , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Firstly let me start by saying a great big THANK YOU to squirrel mortgages from the first call I had with Emma to the last she was awesome and professional she took our dream and made it a reality And to be honest the hardest part was looking for the right house nothing else because she took care of everything else THANK YOU EMMA "
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
D

Doreen G.
02/08/2019 , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Emma was really good at communicating with us "
Recommend this Company
5/5
K

Karthik G.
02/08/2019 , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Baz has been amazing and very helpful "
Recommend this Company
5/5
L

Linda S.
02/07/2019 , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"We're long time clients with John and couldn't rate him higher "
Recommend this Company
5/5
G

Gerald V.
02/03/2019 , Bay of Plenty

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"We had fantastic service right from the word go. With just the right amount of backwards and forwards emailing and phone calls. Our broker was really friendly and professional."
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
M

Michelle R.
02/03/2019 , Tauranga

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Wanted to say: Tell Jess's boss to NEVER let her go, she is absolutely AMAZING! Always helpful, fast and friendly"
Recommend this Company
5/5
L

Leroy C.
01/25/2019 , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"It was great, emma had great response times and was very informative "
Recommend this Company
4/5
P

Perrin G.
01/24/2019 , Tauranga

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Baz was great, no real complaints regarding our experience at all "
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
N

N E.
01/24/2019 , Waitoki

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Brad was absolutely amazing, did everything in his power to make the process nice and easy "
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
S

Steven G.
01/23/2019 , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Bazz was awesome."
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
V

Victoria
01/20/2019 , Wellington

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"We had complex arrangements and our broker helped us navigate them smoothly, as well as securing great rates for us. Thank you!!"
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
M

Marina A.
01/13/2019 , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Thanks to Peter, we managed to secure a house on a very tight negotiation schedule. I'm always recommending Peter to anyone asking for a mortgage advisor. "
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

See more Squirrel Reviews

Visit Squirrel ►