siteground.com Reviews

5 Stars

4.9 Overall Rating

Based on 3,339
5 Star Reviews 4 Star Reviews 3 Star Reviews 2 Star Reviews 1 Star Reviews
RC | Submitted 5 Aug 2018

Unannounced price hike of 67% Not sure how they thought that wouldn't surprise and frustrate people. Sadly going elsewhere, not as other providers are better, but because I hope to be treated with a bit more respect.

Recommend this Company 2 2.0
Would Buy Again 2 2.0
Price 2 2.0
Product Satisfaction 2 2.0
Customer Service 5 5.0

Response from siteground.com:

Hi RC,

Thank you for being our customer and giving high rating to our customer service. We were sorry to hear that you will not be renewing your account with us. 


Regarding hosting renewal, please note that it is on our regular prices which are public and visible both on our website sales pages, and in the User Area on our renewal and new hosting accounts order forms. In addition, approximately a month prior to the expiration date of your account we send you a notification reminder that your renewal is coming up listing the rates. In case you choose to renew your account for a longer period we can offer you a discount of up to 30%.


It is true that some prices have been updated lately and this is happening after long period of keeping them without change even though we included a lot of value-adding features to our  packages over the past several years like: free WordPress migrator tool, free SSL certificate, anti-bot system on server level, integration of the latest speed technologies and PHP versions. Charging the regular prices allows us to continue to deliver high-quality hosting and develop new features to improve the experience for our customers.


Regards,


SiteGround Team


 

James | NY, United States | Submitted 28 Dec 2017

if not for the customer service, i would have just used Azure.

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Customer Service 5 5.0
Mr. M | CA, United States | Submitted 22 Dec 2017

I Lost a domain because emails are being sent to wrong address(s). It took over an hour to have him explain why and how I could fix it

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 2 2.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Customer Service 3 3.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Anonymous Customer | Submitted 15 Aug 2017

My page went down, I do not know what the reasons were. Create a ticket and received several times technical support and just told me what was already obvious. I had to resort to an external service and it turns out that only had to disable some pluggin.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Customer Service 3 3.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Wayne | NSW, Australia | Submitted 5 Jun 2017

I was a disgruntled customer based on issues that were really not their fault. They bent over backwards to resolve my issues and did so effectively. It is early days but this company may actually be the goods.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Customer Service 4 4.0
advan948 | MN, United States | Submitted 3 May 2017

The pricing of the products is misleading. If you don't pay annually, you get charged almost 3 times the advertised price. Since you aren't expecting this it can cause your bank to overdraft. The hosting product is great but the fine print feels like a scam when you get charged triple. I sent my client to Siteground as I do for many of my clients. He got charged over $400 and was expecting to pay just 11.95 on a monthly basis. This caused me a lot of problems because he didn't have money to pay me for the website. In the end, they refunded the difference for an annual renewal. However, this experience as tarnished the reputation of Siteground for me.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Customer Service 5 5.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Jordan B | MI, United States | Submitted 25 Apr 2017

I switched hosts. Siteground had a great signup deal, but then when it came time to renew the price was way too high. I switched hosts to get another signup deal. This is my third time having to do this and it's a pain. Consider offering reasonably priced renewals for your customers.

The customer service agent I spoke with was extremely helpful and got me a refund when my account was mistakenly renewed.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Customer Service 5 5.0

Response from siteground.com:

Hi Jordan,


We aim to provide high quality hosting and deliver optimal performance for your website. It is correct that we offer big discounts for new customers with the idea to give them a chance to test out our services at a lower initial investment. Our clients are able to purchase up to 3 years of hosting at the initial signup and thus secure the savings for a longer period. Upon renewal we also offer a discount to the rates if you select a longer period, yet it is not at the same level as the one for first-time customers. Please note that our renewal prices are the actual prices of our services and allow us to offer fast, reliable and safe hosting with 24/7 support. In addition, we continuously add brand new features and improvements to our plans, and upgrade regularly our server infrastructure and technology without increasing the monthly fee for existing customers. Considering all this we believe we provide significant value for a fair price.


We would like to clarify that the renewal option is enabled by default for the convenience of our clients and to prevent downtime for their websites. As you have decided to discontinue using our services you have received full cooperation from our team on the refund.

Tony | Submitted 20 Apr 2017

As a novice I was surprised to discover after I had request a recovery service that had I upgraded my subscription it would have been cheeper plus I could have been more certain that the recovery version I will get will be the one to overcome my issue. The online chat was excellent.

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 2 2.0
Price 2 2.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Customer Service 5 5.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
JRisner | KY, United States | Submitted 15 Apr 2017

I inquired about any special pricing to retain current web hosting customers and even though the customer service rep offered a slight discount from the auto renewal price, there are many web hosting companies offering the same services are half the price and free website transfers. I would think Siteground would want to keep their current customers and make money in the long run by offering more attractive pricing to current customers, but that doesn't seem to be the case.

Recommend this Company 2 2.0
Would Buy Again 2 2.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Customer Service 4 4.0

Response from siteground.com:

Our goal is to provide high quality hosting and deliver optimal performance for your website as well as great customer support. It is correct that we offer bigger discounts for new customers with the idea to give them a chance to test out our services at a lower initial investment. Discounts are designated as promotional and upon checkout the client is notified they are only valid for the initial billing period. Our clients are able to purchase up to 3 years of hosting at the initial signup and thus secure the said savings for a longer period. As you have acknowledged upon renewal we also offer a discount to the rates if you select a longer period, yet it is not at the same level as the one for first-time customers. Last but not least, renewal prices are the actual prices of our products that we charge in order to be able to offer you the full scope of quality services you receive from us. We continuously add brand new features and improvements to our plans, and upgrade regularly our server infrastructure and technology without increasing the monthly fee for existing customers. Considering all this we believe we provide significant value for a fair price.

Julia | Berlin, Germany | Submitted 13 Apr 2017

Support - Excellent. Although I would have loved to send screenshots.
Paying Process - Weak. I couldn't pay on Chrome, it didn't show the price and it didn't show. I had to change to Safari to actually make the payment. There it all went smooth.

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Customer Service 5 5.0

Response from siteground.com:

Hi Julia, It's great that you are happy with our support. Regarding your comment about the payment process it seems the issue you have experienced is related to the settings of the Chrome browser and after switching to Safari everything worked properly. Thank you for choosing our services, our team is always available to further assist you via phone and chat at 49 30 30807477, http://bit.ly/1trJu7b


 

Anonymous Customer | Submitted 16 Mar 2017

The best support you can find in the whole Internet, but the TOS has a lot of limits, for instance: if I have bots attacks, my website goes down, this means: two punishments, one from the spammer and another from SG.
On the other hand, if someone make a miskate few times writting the email password, the whole IP is blocked! no way! is a joke?
If the email quota is full, I am menaced to down the account... what is it?

That is
Best regards

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Customer Service 5 5.0

Response from siteground.com:

It’s great to hear you’re happy with our support
The limitations you mention are all applied on our shared hosting plans. Their purpose is to ensure that no single website will consume too many of the server resources, thus leaving insufficient processing power to the other websites on the same machine. And yes, unfortunately, when bots crawl your site, they may cause heavy consumption of some of the server resources and your account may be limited or even suspended.
Regarding login failures we want to point out that hackers and malicious users often target login forms. That us why it is a standard security measure after several unsuccessful attempts an IP address to be automatically blocked on server level. It is a way to protect your own account from being hacked. In case of forgotten password or password mistaken by the client upon contacting our team they can easily remove the block and restore access of the IP address.

Cecilia | Submitted 1 Mar 2017

There isn't a plan to pay monthly and not all together

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 2 2.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Customer Service 5 5.0
Anonymous Customer | Submitted 8 Feb 2017

Tech support response is extremely slow, to say the least. It is based on a ticket system and these people are in No hurry. Waiting half a day for a response is common. Meanwhile, the chat is great and instant, unfortunately, this is just for general help.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Customer Service 3 3.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Svp | Submitted 8 Dec 2016

Advertising not clear. Free web trasfer is limited to one. I do all what is required and find that free web transfer is limited to one. So what is the promotion for?

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Customer Service 4 4.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Anonymous Customer | KS, United States | Submitted 30 Oct 2016

I wasn't buying anything. I was blocked from a website that I have been using for over a year. I kept being directed to this site. So I did a live chat to find out why. The gentleman to whom I was chatting with was very pleasant and curtious but I still don't understand why I was redirected to this site. I am still blocked by the site I was trying to get to.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 2 2.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 3 3.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Maria | Moscow, Russia | Submitted 5 Oct 2016

Usability of interface is really poor. Payment screen is very unclear - too easy to make double payment. Login is strange, why can't I type email as login? When I typed right password for right email 5 times, web site blocked me and said it's sent me a letter to restore access - I haven't got any letters. You need to rethink this process. Though, customer service is really good. Thanks a lot to Rosita for assistance!

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Customer Service 5 5.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Whiterainbow | AB, Canada | Submitted 1 Sep 2016

I recently moved some of my websites over to Siteground after a long conversation with their salesperson. While the salesperson was extremely informative and did not misrepresent anything (one of the main reasons I moved my services was their ability to use both new PHP versions and older versions on the same site), their migration/support teams performed extremely poorly in my opinion. I asked for them to move my entire site over, however they neglected to move my databases and did not tell me they hadn't done this, which resulted in my losing a large amount of data. It took many conversations with their support before I was able to make them understand that this was a problem.

I have contacted their support on a number of other minor matters. I've found that their chat support almost always provides incorrect information, which results in my having to submit a ticket to get the correct answer.

Finally, after my service was migrated over I found files from other people in my file manager. These were not present in my old hosting, so I assume they were introduced by a problem in their migration process. To me this is a major security flaw, and it is the main reason I will not be purchasing any other services through them.

Overall their products are good and their pricing is fairly good too, my recommendation would be to look elsewhere if you think you will need technical support.

Recommend this Company 2 2.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Customer Service 2 2.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Gabriele | Submitted 21 Jul 2016

The services are ok and customer care amazing but the price's plan are a bit too much.

Thank you
Gabriele

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
Price 2 2.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Anonymous Customer | Submitted 7 Jun 2016

good service. your customer representatives, especially, the last two are the best so far. (or maybe because i was still in the process of familiarizing myself with this environment [chatting])

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Darrel J | Submitted 28 Mar 2016

My site is not smooth and it has error 404 on it. The customer service girl I spoke with wasn't ery helpful and I honestly question whether she really wanted to help me, but the guy that I chatted with, Petar was great.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Customer Service 4 4.0
© 2018 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved.
To learn more about Shopper Approved, Click Here
This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2018