siteground.com Reviews

5 Stars

4.9 Overall Rating

Based on 3,260
5 Star Reviews 4 Star Reviews 3 Star Reviews 2 Star Reviews 1 Star Reviews
Andrew | PE, Canada | Submitted 6 Sep 2017

I contacted live chat, I was connected with Momchil. I asked how long the 70% off promo would be I effect for. He told me it ended today. I explained that I have been researching services for a project I am working on, but will not receive funding approval until tomorrow. I asked if a promo code could be extended to me to offer the promo tomorrow or Friday - he said it wasn't possible. I wasn't asking for much...

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0

Response from siteground.com:

Hi Andrew,


Please note that as our representative explained initially the Labor Day deal was scheduled to end on September 5. Unfortunately we are not able to make indivial extensions to the promotion as our system does not use promo codes and the discount is built directly into the prices you see on our website.


We are happy to inform you that we have decided to extend the deal for new hosting accounts until the end of this week (September 10) to make possible for more people to take advantage of the deal.  Visit our website directly for more details.


Regards,


SiteGround Team


 

Nicholas | Submitted 18 Nov 2016

Needing help and he kept asking to elaborate when it's his job to ask open ended questions

Recommend this Company 2 2.0
Would Buy Again 2 2.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
leosnets | MN, United States | Submitted 9 Nov 2016

The customer support was requiring I give my username and password for a simple question. There is no reason I needed to provide this information to ask if you have QuickBooks integration with your e-commerce services. I did not have readily available. Wanted an answer.

Recommend this Company 2 2.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Customer Service 2 2.0

Response from siteground.com:

Hi Leo,
Thank you for your comments and we understand your point about getting easy access to answers. We would like to clarify that our operator requested you to enter your client area so that you can see in real time the options that she wanted to discuss with you regarding your question. The goal was to check all the details on your plan and verify with you a proposed course of action, so that we can provide you with a solution that best suits your needs. Sometimes solutions need to take into account technical requirements for additional software and applications to work properly, in your case the question was about integration with Quickbooks. We apologize if the request for logging into your account has caused inconvenience for you. We have forwarded your feedback to our team to consider changes that will improve the customer experience as we are always looking for ways to deliver better service to our clients.

Michael | Submitted 25 Jul 2016

I am extremely disappointed with side ground!

I had a good start and the sales raps are very friendly.

The horror startet after I had bought the geek package. My homepage was down for 5 days. I lost money, clients and a lot of trust within my community. The technical support was not reachable for 48 hours and was not very helpful (but friendly).

I very angry how side ground treats customer. I have talked to the head of technical support who promised me an upgrade...nothing happened!

Now I am trying to get my money back but all that happens is, that I can t reach somebody and if so, I get disconnected all the time.

I would never recommend this service to anybody!!!!

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 2 2.0
Price 2 2.0
Product Satisfaction 2 2.0
Customer Service 1 1.0

Response from siteground.com:

Hello Michael, we are sorry for the situation, but please note that a detailed review shows that the website downtime was not due to a server error but due to changing the DNS from your old host to us before the transfer process was finished properly. Our Support team had transferred your website in only few hours time, but only you as an owner could have noticed that there were missing articles on it. We always recommend customers to test their websites though their local computer hosts file before changing the DNS to make sure that the entire content was transferred successfully and the website functions properly. Unfortunately it seems you missed this part of our message and changed the DNS without proper review. Testing the website in this way would have shown the issue and prevented the situation.

The reason why you did not get immediate answers to your request for a further review of the issue, is that you have added your replies about the missing articles to the already closed ""Website transfer"" ticket. Since the transfer was assumed to be finished, the ticket was handled with lower priority. Nevertheless, as soon as our team processed the ticket, they transferred the entire content again at no extra charge and this fixed the issue.

We understand that the situation has caused inconvenience and apologize for that. We have arranged to provide you with a refund for the remaining 10 months of your hosting with us. Please contact us as soon as you are ready to cancel your account. Our records show that your chats were often disconnected due to connectivity issues with your local ISP in Germany. In order to resolve the issue definitively, please email us at sales at siteground.com and our team will assist you further.

CPUexecutioner | NY, United States | Submitted 22 Jun 2016

The first year was great. 3 days after my auto-renew, it's been downhill. The servers constantly get hit with bots and that in turn raises your cpu cycles and the result is a site that gets shut down frequently every month. I get emails in the middle of the night telling me I have surpassed my limits which are caused by bots and spammers. Nothing get's resolved, just "suggested". Customer service is ok, but the limitations that aren't even advertised and your site being shut down by mid month is annoying. Moving on to another provider next month.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 2 2.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 3 3.0
mommikane | NY, United States | Submitted 8 Mar 2014

Be wary of there autorenewal policy.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Customer Service 5 5.0

Response from siteground.com:

Hello Mommikane,

Auto-renewals assure that the customer's website won't suffer downtime if the user forgets to renew it. Please note that we send out multiple reminder emails before the actual renewal is processed and customers are able to cancel their account if they don't need it any more. If it was not your intention to keep using your website, please contact our Customer Care and request its cancellation and refund. Best Regards!

Srini | Submitted 7 Oct 2011

Untrustworthy - read the fine print first!
I paid a total of $33.95 when I signed up for what was advertised as $9.95 for 1 year.

Now I find I can't add an add-on domain?! And I've got to "upgrade" to a $4.95 plan?!!

This review was entered into RatePoint ® and imported into Shopper Approved on 7 Feb 2012

Response from siteground.com:

Hello,
I suppose you refer to our Special promotion "$9.95 for one year of Hosting". I would like to emphasize that this price, as described on the promo page includes our full-featured web hosting services for one entire year without any domain fees. On our order page, customers have the option to use an existing domain, which is free, or request a new domain registration, which adds additional $14.95 to the fees paid. Also, during sign up, if you are purchasing a new domain, we recommend users to add ID protect to this domain name for better security from identity thefts. Our experience shows that this feature is very popular and extremely useful for our customers, and this is why we suggest it during the registration. Thus, it seems you have added both a new domain and ID protect to your order and the price increased from $9.95 to more than $30. Regarding the addon domains, our standard hosting plan does not include any addon sites and we do not advertise such anywhere on our sales or other related pages. However, customers can easily upgrade to our Hosting PLUS plan where unlimited addon domains are included. If you think that you will not be able to use this account as you wish, let me know what your domain name is, so I can double-check the situation, and I will arrange with our Billing department service cancellation and refund.
Best Regards,
The SiteGround Team

© 2018 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved.
To learn more about Shopper Approved, Click Here
This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2018