siteground.com Reviews

5 Stars

4.9 Overall Rating

Based on 3,260
5 Star Reviews 4 Star Reviews 3 Star Reviews 2 Star Reviews 1 Star Reviews
Earnest Leon | NC, United States | Submitted 10 Jul 2018

Here is the reason for the low marks.

I02/09/2018 Show additional information for activity type debit cards -179.15CHECKCARD 0208 SITEGROUND HOSTING 866-6052484 VA 24906418039050669144056
activity type debit cards status type icon cleared
Cleared. Select to mark activity type debit cards -179.15 CHECKCARD 0208 SITEGROUND HOSTING 866-6052484 VA 24906418039050669144056 as Reconciled

-179.15
01/18/2018 Show additional information for activity type debit cards -67.20CHECKCARD 0117 SITEGROUND HOSTING 866-6052484 VA 24906418017049722868533
activity type debit cards status type icon cleared
Cleared. Select to mark activity type debit cards -67.20 CHECKCARD 0117 SITEGROUND HOSTING 866-6052484 VA 24906418017049722868533 as Reconciled

-67.20

02/12/2018 Show additional information for activity type debit cards -139.00CHECKCARD 0210 SITEGROUND HOSTING 866-6052484 VA 24906418041050760066220
activity type debit cards status type icon cleared
Cleared. Select to mark activity type debit cards -139.00 CHECKCARD 0210 SITEGROUND HOSTING 866-6052484 VA 24906418041050760066220 as Reconciled

-139.00

02/12/2018 Show additional information for activity type deposit 47.40CHECKCARD 0210 SITEGROUND HOSTING 866-6052484 VA 74906418041050775102833
activity type deposit status type icon cleared
Cleared. Select to mark activity type deposit 47.40 CHECKCARD 0210 SITEGROUND HOSTING 866-6052484 VA 74906418041050775102833 as Reconciled

47.40

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0

Response from siteground.com:

Hello Earnest Leon, we were able to identify your account. As per our records, you have ordered one StartUp plan, one GoGeek plan, and a SiteBuilder Pro (the charges you have listed), and some time after that you have canceled them. As per our terms we have refunded the amount paid for hosting, but had to withhold the amounts paid for non-refundable (third-party) services such as the domain registration, malware scanner and the SiteBuilder Pro. We are sorry that you decided to leave, but since there is no evidence for a technical issue with your account or websites caused by us, we cannot justify an additional refund or compensation.

Grace | CA, United States | Submitted 7 Jul 2018

It's a pain in the brain going around and round that I can't get a help directly but instead send me to a link that I don't understand. Horrible support that I get ever since the payment is process.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
francisco | valencia, españa | Submitted 13 Mar 2018

La atención primaria es excelente. Ya la técnica o especializada no.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 2 2.0
Customer Service 3 3.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Alex | RS, Russia | Submitted 4 Mar 2018

Just not satisfied.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Verified Customer
C. Lynnes | BC, Canada | Submitted 28 Jan 2018

I have been with these people for over 8 years. In error - my emails have been deleted They wanted $30US right away. A cold, non reactive, sales guy - just said "Sorry, that's the way it is". I have blogged and HUGE social media about this unpleasant situation.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Anonymous Customer | Fife, United Kingdom | Submitted 9 Aug 2017

Frustrating the supervisor was ok!

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 3 3.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
SiteGroundFraud | Submitted 28 Apr 2017

I was told by sales that I would be able to use features that turned out to not be available. I signed up for a hosting account. Within 24 hours I discovered these features were not available I requested a refund under their "30 Day Money Back Guarantee" . I have chatted, called, and emailed repeatedly and cannot get my money refunded. It has been over 3 months since I first requested the refund and still, they are holding my money. I am not able to use their service and they will not return my money. THIS IS FALSE ADVERTISEMENT!!! They do not refund money and have provided no service for my payment.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Greg B | MN, United States | Submitted 14 Mar 2017

Very slow/unreliable, and they take my site down routinely for exceeding CPU limits because they don't properly filter out bots trying to probe my site. The time wasted and business lost to this service is a major problem for me, and I am in the process of finding a new host.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 2 2.0

Response from siteground.com:

Hi Greg,
We have reviewed your case and we can see that our team has promptly addressed your reported issues via the phone and the help desk system.
In both recent incidents of reaching your allocated CPU resources we have temporarily added additional ones and increased the limits to restore performance of your site. What is more to address the current causes of the high usage our team has applied changes to your .htaccess file to block bad bots, and the WordPress configuration php file to reduce consumption of resources for processes in the back-end of your website.
Because you have informed us the issue persists a senior technician analyzed your site as well. He has determined that your WordPress application needs to be optimized as in the current setup a single visit to your website triggers many internal requests toward the server, which consumes a lot of resources. We have referred you to a professional WordPress developer as a way to address the problem more permanently, because our service does not cover web development work on your site that can improve internal processes performance.
Your account is on a shared hosting plan and in order to ensure all users sharing the resources of the server get equal performance we monitor usage. If your website consumes excessive amount of sever resources, it can affect negatively other websites hosted there, and we limit your service when you go beyond the allocated amount for your account.

Matt | CA, United States | Submitted 26 Jan 2017

I would advise to stay away.

Siteground will sell you shared hosting on the basis of caching/cdn services. This is great and the sites load fast.

However, my GoGeek hosting, which siteground says can handle around 100k visits a month, (and it isn't cheap either at $30pm) could not handle 20k visits.

They limit cpu usage, connections etc and my site had 5 down days last month. When questioned the simply try to upsell me to cloud servers that don't have their caching/cdn capabilities.

So while they have good tech, I really don't understand the market - surely someone with an extremely low traffic site doesn't need caching/cdn and all the rest.

With the plethora of caching plugins for wordpress out there, I simply want hosting that doesn't limit you and is reliable. Ironically, my pathetic godaddy servers do better simply because they don't limit your resources.

Worst host i've ever used.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0

Response from siteground.com:

Hi Matt,
Unfortunately we are not able to identify your account solely based on the name provided and will not be able to address your specific issues. But we would like to clarify that even though your monthly visits seem to be low, some other of the resources used by your website might have exceeded the fair usage metrics for the server. We want to remind you, that customers' websites hosted on a shared server can only use the resources allocated to them (CPU executions, RAM, etc.), or else they will affect negatively the performance of all other customers on the machine. It is indeed possible that other web hosts do not monitor these metrics and do not set limits, but in such a case, the rest of the customers on the server most probably experience frequent unexplained performance issues caused by that.
We would also like to note, that our Support team can help you analyze the processes in your account and make suggestions for optimizing them. If you cannot perform the suggested optimizations on your website, it's recommendable to hire a professional web developer, or alternatively upgrade to a higher plan that can accommodate the usage.

icremail | Ciudad de México, México | Submitted 25 Jan 2017

After 5 years working with you, just because something happens with our credit card the payment wasn't made and you system deleted everything on our server, without any notice your company deleted 5 years of work. Maybe, I am just one customer but you should secure the information that it's the most valuable thing that you keep from your customers and said that just because the payment wasn't made in 8 days the work of 5 years was deleted, it's not fair.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Paul | AL, United States | Submitted 15 Jan 2017

Siteground completely fumbled my transfer. A little bit of timely communication could have made this work, but instead I lost 13 days of work on my site and a couple of days of downtime. I was in chat for several hours trying to resolve my problems with 5 different people because I kept getting "cut off" when the chat person didn't respond for several minutes.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0

Response from siteground.com:

Hi Paul,
We are sorry to hear about this case. We see that the person who was handling your ticket did not inform you about the DNS changes you had to make for the domain to work with your new server. Although we include this information in our Welcome emails, we also have a procedure to list the required changes in the website transfer ticket just in case. We apologize that the representative missed to point out this information and thus caused the miscommunication, and we will make sure he will be remarked on this case accordingly.
As our chat team informed you, pointing the DNS anew would have required 24 hours to take effect globally, but since you were making changes to your website at your old server even after we had transferred the content to us, your newest content would indeed not be avail?ble at our servers. We are sorry that we could not assist you further and have issued a full refund as requested.

Matt | Submitted 27 Dec 2016

Absolutely awful!

Siteground's hosting constantly gives me downtime and they massively limit you in 'cpu seconds'. I have a low traffic site and it's down at least 3 times a month for so many reasons.

Simply unacceptable.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
ZK | CO, United States | Submitted 24 Dec 2016

Paid hundreds of dollars for rate-limited CPU limited hosting. Going to switch back to self-serve for much less money.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 2 2.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Art G | GA, United States | Submitted 3 Dec 2016

I'm having an issue connecting a website, I am a total novice, a newbie. This guy seem to have no patience with me. He cut me off, screw this. I'll have to pay someone that knows how to help me

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Disgruntled | FL, United States | Submitted 25 Nov 2016

Siteground mailed me a Black Friday offer for an upgrade. I have paid already a yearly plan and I requested that money to be added to my upgraded. They refused it. They stated that they will keep the money to themselves even though I'm undertaking an upgrade to a larger yearly plan within the same company. That's my money. I won't pay twice for the same service. That's stealing. The account goes for $54 and they have $8.85 remaining from my old account. I offered them to gladly pay the difference. They say no again. Stealing at its worst

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Dr K | Maharashtra, India | Submitted 10 Nov 2016

Rather than providing official info, this guy was asking me more un necessary Q which are not bound to be known for business pupose i contacted nor unswerable to such guys

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Anonymous Customer | Submitted 8 Nov 2016

Very bad online chat with Ervin , just left me there , no reply anything

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 2 2.0
Product Satisfaction 2 2.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Danielle J | NH, United States | Submitted 26 Sep 2016

I bought a domain but decided that the site was too advanced and I wanted to cancel and use my domain elsewhere. So I canceled but my domain is going to be active for another year, UNUSED! I am trying to create a business and they are keeping the domain for one year before it "expires" then I can use it..... waste of time!!!

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
siteground.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Mitch | Qld, Australia | Submitted 19 Sep 2016

NEVER DEALT WITH A WORSE COMPANY
I signed up then realised it won't suit my business about 30 minutes later. So I asked for a refund about 10 times on live chat, every time they ask about 10 questions to try to get me to stay, when I tell them no I'm conveniently disconnected. Finally someone said they will do it but only partial.
2 days later I get a call, hows our service? I'm like I cancelled, turns out the guy never actually cancelled anything he just lied to me. So the guy on the phone said he will do it.
A week later still no refund. I look on the site and it turns out he refunded me with store credit. This is not a refund if you ask me. So instead of the live chat headache I ring them, the number just makes you go through a maze of push this push that until it eventually tells you to do that you can go on our site, if you need anything else you need to use live chat.... so I use live chat. Here we go again, disconnected 4 times, then someone finally tells me no you can't turn your store credit back into money.
I WOULD NEVER TREAT MY CUSTOMERS LIKE THIS, THATS PROBABLY WHY IM SO ANNOYED. NEVER. HOW CAN YOU SLEEP WHEN THIS IS HOW HAPPY YOU MAKE PEOPLE.
I WOULD HAVE SIGNED UP WITH YOU IN THE FUTURE WHEN I NEED HOSTING AND REFEREED PEOPLE TOO BUT THIS IS NOT HOW TO TREAT CUSTOMERS, ID ALMOST GO SO FAR AS TO SAY ITS A SCAM, YOU OFFER 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE THEN YOU HAVE YOUR CUSTOMER SERVICE SET UP WITH A LIST OF QUESTIONS TO CONVINCE PEOPLE TO STAY, WHEN THAT DOESNT WORK YOU DISCONNECT THEM SO THEY START THE LIST AGAIN, THEN LIE ABOUT GIVING A REFUND, THEN GIVE THE REFUND AS STORE CREDIT, WHAT AM I MEANT TO DO WITH STORE CREDIT.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0

Response from siteground.com:

Hello Mitch, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused. Our records show that the chats you had with our team were indeed disconnected due to internet connectivity issues. Since you mentioned that the initially chosen software was not suitable for your needs, the representatives on shift were trying to suggest a better solution - thus the additional questions on their end. The chats being disconnected has led to misunderstanding regarding your final cancellation decision. On the second day after the purchase, after the cancellation was confirmed, our team has issued refund to your SiteGround Wallet for future use, since during the chat you mentioned you were cancelling due to the software and will most likely come back to use our service. It seems that you were expecting the amount to be returned to your credit cards and were understandably annoyed. We realize this was problematic for you and have now initiated a transfer of the refund amount from the Wallet back to your credit card. The amount should appear in your bank statement in the next few days. We apologize for the delay!

© 2018 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved.
To learn more about Shopper Approved, Click Here
This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2018