sailrite.com Reviews

About this Company

At Sailrite, we're a passionate crew of do-it-yourselfers who strive to equip and empower others to DIY for their own boats and homes. We equip you by being a one-stop retailer for fabric, tools, hardware, sewing supplies and even our own brand of Sailrite sewing machines to get the job done. Our extensive how-to section will empower you with the knowledge you need to make every project you can dream up a success.

Sailrite started back in 1969 and is family-owned by the second generation of the Grant family, Matt and Hallie Grant. Together they lead a team of over sixty crewmembers including the third generation of Grants. Sailrite's crew are experts in canvas related projects for sailboats, powerboats, pontoons, outdoor living spaces and even home decor and upholstery. See our company milestones and browse our products at sailrite.com.

Filter

Back to Product ReviewsBack to Product Reviews

75 Product Ratings and Reviews

Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)

Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)

View Product on Site   View Product on Site

4.9

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
71
(95%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
2
(3%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
2
(3%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
0
(0%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
0
(0%)

About this Company

At Sailrite, we're a passionate crew of do-it-yourselfers who strive to equip and empower others to DIY for their own boats and homes. We equip you by being a one-stop retailer for fabric, tools, hardware, sewing supplies and even our own brand of Sailrite sewing machines to get the job done. Our extensive how-to section will empower you with the knowledge you need to make every project you can dream up a success.

Sailrite started back in 1969 and is family-owned by the second generation of the Grant family, Matt and Hallie Grant. Together they lead a team of over sixty crewmembers including the third generation of Grants. Sailrite's crew are experts in canvas related projects for sailboats, powerboats, pontoons, outdoor living spaces and even home decor and upholstery. See our company milestones and browse our products at sailrite.com.

Filter
Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
See more product reviews

Bob-T - 09/24/2017

Workhorse Servo Motor by Sailrite

The Workhorse Servo Motor by Sailrite, replaced the clutch motor on my fifty year old German Pfaff 545 H4 industrial sewing machine . After watching the how to install video provided by Sailrite it was easy. At this time I have only practice sewing on some 20 oz vinyl scraps which I doubled until it was eight layers thick. The motor was flawless one stitch at time or faster then I wanted to go. Very controllable which is what I needed. I highly recommend this motor for any one that needs total control of the sewing process. Thanks too Matt Grant for help in getting the adapter, as I wanted to use the clogged timing belt.


Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
See more product reviews

Debra - 08/05/2017

Recommend highly if you need control over speed

Love the control attaching this motor to the Sailrite LSZ-1 gives me. Nice and slow, full control! Would buy again. Great customer service comes with it!


Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
See more product reviews

Terry B - 07/23/2017

GREAT WORKHORSE

The Workhorse Servo Motor works as advertised. It is perfect for what I am working on at this time; upholstering an antique car with Mohair fabric which is very heavy. The motor does not strain and I am able to do one stitch at a time as needed. I am very pleased with it.


Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
See more product reviews

Mayra A - 07/22/2017

Great Product

I recently purchased the Workhorse Servo Motor to replace the clutch motor of my industrial Brother sewing machine. It is amazing!! It was easy to install (using the Sailrite online video) and works great. I love being able to do single stitches when doing precise work and I can still sew very fast when I need it. Very competitive pricing also!


Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
See more product reviews

BC - 07/07/2017

A Fair Bet

The good first: As ALWAYS, Sailrite shipped very quickly, sent out tracking information, and packed the product well. The motor itself runs well, is quiet, and is lightweight. The mount footprint is standard industrial and bolted right on in my table's existing holes. Sailrite thoughtfully provides 2 pulleys, a standard v-belt and a cogged pulley. The usual chain and pedal rods are supplied. The weight, however, while welcome for the install (try a clutch motor sometime), comes from - in my opinion - overly light mounting castings and an entirely plastic case. We have 7 sewing machines, including 3 industrials. I've now replaced the motors on all 3 of the industrials with servos. One, the Sailrite, the others, a Consew and an off-brand Chinese motor. I would take either over the Sailrite, and both cost considerably less. First, they came, as is usual, with pre-wired table-mount switches. I had to salvage an old switch and wire the Sailrite into it. Second, the Sailrite comes with smaller-diameter mounting bolts than on any of my tables, i.e., I used the old bolts. I wondered about the Sailrite's anti-vibration pads (for the mount), as they are considerably smaller and lighter than those in my other tables, but they worked fine. The v-belt pulley is lightweight - and small. My old belt, which was in good shape, didn't fit. That's not *entirely* unexpected, but most industrial replacement motors do come with a standard-sized pulley. In any event, I sourced an Acculink belt locally ... which adds to the cost, of course. The electronic controls? OK, I suppose, but in practice, mine will be left on full-speed and in one direction. Electronics add only failure points, in my view, though they do add diagnostics beyond their questionable utility. A major reason I bought it is because Sailrite offers a 2-year warranty, which is exceptional. As industrial servos (any make) aren't noted for the predictability of their lifetimes, all being something of a calculated bet, this was enough to offset my concerns, even with the premium price. Would I buy again? Not sure.


Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
See more product reviews

john - 06/20/2017

Twice the fun.

A few months ago I ordered a Sailrite 111 (head only) to replace one of my two industrial machines. I also ordered a Workhorse servo motor to replace the existing old clutch motor. The 111 head dropped in powerstand cutout without incident, the clutch motor was removed and installation of the Workhorse was as smooth as depicted in the web site video. I started learning the 111 and it coupled with the Workhorse was a dream to sew with. My other machine is a Sailrite Professional which was also running on a clutch motor, I immediately ordered a Workhorse servo motor for it. Several months on and I have sewed everything from baby quilts to storm sails with both machines using the Workhorse motor and I am 100% pleased. It has lots of power, excellent slow speed and best of all, none of that hhhhuuuuuuummmmmmm.


Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
See more product reviews

Harvey - 05/25/2017

Excellent Servo Upgrade

After unsuccessfully trying to install a Reliable SewQuiet 6000SM, I ordered the Workhorse because I know Sailrite has good quality control and stands behind its products. With a 42-inch belt, the Workhorse installed effortlessly. The control you have with this motor is unbelievable, whether you're trying to sew one stitch at a time or sewing super fast. The motor is very quiet. Although I already had a servo motor, not all servo motors are alike. The Workhorse is certainly a step up.


Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
See more product reviews

Daniel S - 04/17/2017

Workhorse

Great product, easy to install and allows you to work as slow or fast as you want. Awesome addition to my Sailrite 111 sewing machine.


Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
See more product reviews

Steve - 04/13/2017

Best servo motor for all types of sewing.

The Sailrite Workhorse servo motor worked as directed. I installed it on an older Consew Industrial sewing machine. I chose the Workhorse because it has so many good features, plenty of power for almost any material including leather and canvas, step stitch/single stitch at a time, variable speed within each speed setting, bolted up in place of my old clutch motor, ball rod ends on the treadle arm for more accurate speed control, a good warranty and Sailrite customer service if you have any problems. The only question was the manual did not mention in the manual of the small plug in the back of the motor which may be a needle position plug. Very good value, I would recommend to pros and beginners as well.


Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
See more product reviews

Chris K - 04/03/2017

Servo cure for clutchitis blues.

Top drawer piece. Junked the old clutch one and now I'm making money buddy. Will be needing another one soon. Great phone voice on the ordering too. Very knowledgeable and calm service top drawer outfit. Love you guys. Thank god 4u.


Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
See more product reviews

Larry S - 03/13/2017

Light and powerful.

installation was very easy and lined up without a hitch. I plan now to put it through it's paces. I did not noticed any cushion (rubber) spacers to insulate from vibration.


Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
See more product reviews

Wolf - 02/26/2017

Fantastic sewing machine motor

I bought this motor, the power plus flywheel, and installed it onto a 1954 Singer 66-16. It turned a capable large straight stitch machine into a surprisingly powerful machine that is nimble, responsive, and an absolute pleasure to use. Impressive low speed control and power while maintaining the ability to run at the machine's max rated speed. It installed fairly cleanly and easily into the sewing machine's original built-in cabinet. I'll never run an AC motor powered sewing machine again if I can help it. Very quiet too. Can't recommend strongly enough, this this is very worth it.


Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
See more product reviews

Steve - 02/18/2017

This motor is worth it!

I have had the same motor, with a different brand name on it, on my Sailrite LSZ for several years. Would have bought from Sailrite at the time if this was available. This is a great price on this motor and the difference between this and the built in motor is absolutely huge. Better slow speed control and power along with faster top end speeds. Requires table mounting your machine, but if you've never worked with a flush table mounted sewing machine, that's also a huge plus.


Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
See more product reviews

FredB - 01/26/2017

Exactly what I wanted

A while ago I bought a used sewing machine with clutch motor that is equivalent to the Sailrite Sailmaker. While the clutch motor gave me the high sewing speeds I wanted, it lacked control at low sewing speeds. Converting to the previous controllable drives for better low speed sewing was unacceptable since I would have given up the higher speeds. The Workhorse Servo Motor was the perfect solution since I now have the control at both low speeds and high speeds.


Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
Sailrite® Workhorse® Servo Motor (110V)
See more product reviews

Rod T - 01/25/2017

Workhorse Servo Motor

The products works as advertised. I make sails, boat covers, dodgers, etc. What a relief to have two hands free when making precise stitches in thick material and having the power to go slow (no jack rabbit starts). I had a 3/4 H.P. motor on a triple zigzag and was reluctant to switch it out. With as 30 day satisfaction policy how can you go wrong. I was convinced in just the few projects I have used it on.


Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business   sailrite.com

© 2023 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2023