recollections.biz Reviews

About this Company

Recollections is your connection to history-inspired fashions. What was once a dream on a kitchen table has grown into an e-tail company with a global presence. Recollections was founded in 1981 in southern Michigan.

It quickly grew into a bricks-and-mortar retailer and mail order company specializing in wedding attire inspired by the Victorian and Edwardian eras. The original line consisted of dresses, skirts, blouses, petticoats, camisoles, and pantaloons.

Over the next 18 years, Recollections grew as a cottage industry. Operations moved to Hawks, a tiny picturesque community less than 10 miles from the shore of Lake Huron in Northeast Michigan. The company opened in the former Bismarck Township Hall, where operations continue to this day.

Why did Marianne move away from the hustle and bustle of the greater Detroit area to Northern Michigan? "Look around you! I never tire of the beauty and peacefulness of the area. We used to vacation in Rogers City in the summer when I was a teenager, so I was familiar with the area. I live in a log cabin in the woods less than 1/2 mile from Lake Huron, and the only noise I hear is the soothing sound of the waves rather than the noise of the traffic one hears downstate."

Recollections took the leap to e-tailing in 1999, long before many retailers. The online store featured three dozen products when the website was launched. Today, our online store offers nearly 1,000 garments and accessories from the Georgian/Regency, Victorian (including Civil War era and Old West), and Edwardian eras through the 1920s. We also feature a line of 1950s retro dresses.

Quality in design and construction, and a focus on customer service are the cornerstones of Recollections' foundation. Fabrics and embellishments are carefully selected to create the 'look' that is the hallmark of our clothing. We search until we find the quality fabrics, laces, trims, and accessories our customers expect.

Each garment is lovingly designed by Recollections' founder. Marianne is the creative energy behind the company. Her designs are then created, one at a time, by a network of seamstresses who are part of our extended family. Our models are lovely young women born and raised right here in our corner of Northern Michigan, except for Ola. She is from Ukraine and brings a unique perspective and sense of humor to the family.

Cheryl from Hats and Accessories by Cheryl designs and creates most of our hats. Cheryl and Marianne often work as a team so our hats perfectly complement our garments. Occasionally, they switch places. Instead of Cheryl designing a hat inspired by a garment, Marianne will design dress or ensemble inspired by one of Cheryl's hats. They make quite a team, collaborating and inspiring each other to the next level!

There are many others in our extended family, too. Sharon Meredith specializes in period appropriate hairstyles. Jennifer S. Adkins serves as our photographer and brings a keen sense of composition to each fashion shoot. Sue McDonald and Cheryl design accessories that are in sync our style. Our bloggers, social media, and website specialists, as well as those who provide assistance through customer service and sales are all part of our story.

Our talented and highly valued team is the reason we can offer the highest quality in history-inspired garments proudly made in America just for you!

Filter

3,044 Verified Customer Reviews

3,044 Customer Ratings and Reviews

Shopper Approved collects trusted reviews from customers who have made a verified purchase.

4.8

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
2623
(86.2%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
305
(10%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
86
(2.8%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
15
(0.5%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
15
(0.5%)

Customer Service
4.7
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
287
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
28
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
8
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
5
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
9
SHOW DETAILS

5-star reviews
2,500+

5-star reviews

6 years collecting reviews

About this Company

Recollections is your connection to history-inspired fashions. What was once a dream on a kitchen table has grown into an e-tail company with a global presence. Recollections was founded in 1981 in southern Michigan.

It quickly grew into a bricks-and-mortar retailer and mail order company specializing in wedding attire inspired by the Victorian and Edwardian eras. The original line consisted of dresses, skirts, blouses, petticoats, camisoles, and pantaloons.

Over the next 18 years, Recollections grew as a cottage industry. Operations moved to Hawks, a tiny picturesque community less than 10 miles from the shore of Lake Huron in Northeast Michigan. The company opened in the former Bismarck Township Hall, where operations continue to this day.

Why did Marianne move away from the hustle and bustle of the greater Detroit area to Northern Michigan? "Look around you! I never tire of the beauty and peacefulness of the area. We used to vacation in Rogers City in the summer when I was a teenager, so I was familiar with the area. I live in a log cabin in the woods less than 1/2 mile from Lake Huron, and the only noise I hear is the soothing sound of the waves rather than the noise of the traffic one hears downstate."

Recollections took the leap to e-tailing in 1999, long before many retailers. The online store featured three dozen products when the website was launched. Today, our online store offers nearly 1,000 garments and accessories from the Georgian/Regency, Victorian (including Civil War era and Old West), and Edwardian eras through the 1920s. We also feature a line of 1950s retro dresses.

Quality in design and construction, and a focus on customer service are the cornerstones of Recollections' foundation. Fabrics and embellishments are carefully selected to create the 'look' that is the hallmark of our clothing. We search until we find the quality fabrics, laces, trims, and accessories our customers expect.

Each garment is lovingly designed by Recollections' founder. Marianne is the creative energy behind the company. Her designs are then created, one at a time, by a network of seamstresses who are part of our extended family. Our models are lovely young women born and raised right here in our corner of Northern Michigan, except for Ola. She is from Ukraine and brings a unique perspective and sense of humor to the family.

Cheryl from Hats and Accessories by Cheryl designs and creates most of our hats. Cheryl and Marianne often work as a team so our hats perfectly complement our garments. Occasionally, they switch places. Instead of Cheryl designing a hat inspired by a garment, Marianne will design dress or ensemble inspired by one of Cheryl's hats. They make quite a team, collaborating and inspiring each other to the next level!

There are many others in our extended family, too. Sharon Meredith specializes in period appropriate hairstyles. Jennifer S. Adkins serves as our photographer and brings a keen sense of composition to each fashion shoot. Sue McDonald and Cheryl design accessories that are in sync our style. Our bloggers, social media, and website specialists, as well as those who provide assistance through customer service and sales are all part of our story.

Our talented and highly valued team is the reason we can offer the highest quality in history-inspired garments proudly made in America just for you!

Filter
L
Lana B.
04/24/2016 , WI

Josephine Victorian Style Dress
This is a really lovely dress (160273). It was my first order from Recollections and I was pleasantly surprised at the high quality of the garment. Reminiscent of dresses my mother made for me. I used their measurements for sizing and then sized down as suggested. This dress fit perfectly.


P
Paula T.
04/16/2016

The dress arrived today, in time for me to wear it to the Jane Austen Box Hill Picnic tomorrow.


W
Wilhelmina K.
04/15/2016

Thank you! You are wonderful. I recommend you to all my friends who need period clothes.


C
Cindy S.
04/09/2016 , MN

The most elegant dress of all.
This dress (120427-8-9)is exquisite in detail and design and by far one of Recollections finest. If you want to look like you are indeed ready to travel back to the Victorian era this would be your outfit. The bodice is fitted and the skirt has volumes of fabric. The high collar is very Victorian with the opening in the front making it feel less confining than some of the typical collars.


K
Karen B.
04/02/2016 , CA

Beautiful
I ordered the Alysee Ensemble and it is unbelievable. The quality, workmanship and the color of the fabric is so beautiful. I highly recommend the Alysse or any other dress from Recollections.

Alysse Edwardian Ensemble
Alysse Edwardian Ensemble
Read more reviews about this product

04/02/2016

Beautiful

I ordered the Alysee Ensemble and it is unbelievable. The quality, workmanship and the color of the fabric is so beautiful. I highly recommend the Alysse or any other dress from Recollections.


H
Heidi C.
03/27/2016 , NC

Perfect Fit
I was happy with the service, was unsure of the size I'd need but they helped me, and it fit perfectly! Ordered this in the Homestead fabric, and wore with hoop skirt and hat to a Civil War event in January and the guys in their uniforms were annoyed that people were more interested in my dress and posing with me! It is very sturdy, tight stitching, and will hold up well for more events to come this summer. I also ordered it too late for my event, but with extra shipping they were able to get it to me on time. I have an Edwardian hat on order and can't wait to see it.

Trinity Civil War Dress
Trinity Civil War Dress
Read more reviews about this product

03/27/2016

Perfect Fit

I was happy with the service, was unsure of the size I'd need but they helped me, and it fit perfectly! Ordered this in the Homestead fabric, and wore with hoop skirt and hat to a Civil War event in January and the guys in their uniforms were annoyed that people were more interested in my dress and posing with me! It is very sturdy, tight stitching, and will hold up well for more events to come this summer. I also ordered it too late for my event, but with extra shipping they were able to get it to me on time. I have an Edwardian hat on order and can't wait to see it.


M
Marianne C.
03/15/2016 , WI

So lovely!
Recollections cuts very generously, so you may want to order the next size smaller than you usually wear. But you won't be sorry you invested in the beautiful dress!

Jewell Edwardian Dress
Jewell Edwardian Dress
Read more reviews about this product

03/15/2016

So lovely!

This dress is absolutely lovely in person! Romantic and feminine enough to wear as a wedding dress, but still simple and easy enough to wear to any dressy function.Recollections cuts very generously, so you may want to order the next size smaller than you usually wear. But you won't be sorry you invested in the beautiful dress!


B
Bonnie W.
03/11/2016

I wanted you to know that my garment was received. It's very well made and lovely. And, yes, I am sure glad you advised me on sizing. Had I ordered any larger size, it would have been toooooo large. Nice work. Thank you.


J
Jordan R.
03/08/2016

I absolutely adore your website!


J
Jeannette S.
02/25/2016

Thanks for the beautiful purple blouse. My husband and I especially like the filigreed silver buttons. As always, your workmanship is excellent.


K
Kitty V.
02/25/2016 , FL

Elegant softness
As soon as I saw this blouse (67) I knew I had to have it for the sleeves alone. Am delighted with my choice.. The cotton lace on the sleeves are soft yet substantial. I often wear it with a vest. As I am "abundant" I was concerned the sleeves would be too tight or rip. Somehow Recollections manages perfection every time.

Mira Victorian Blouse
Mira Victorian Blouse
Read more reviews about this product

02/25/2016

Elegant softness

As soon as I saw this blouse I knew I had to have it for the sleeves alone. Am delighted with my choice.. The cotton lace on the sleeves are soft yet substantial. I often wear it with a vest. As I am "abundant" I was concerned the sleeves would be too tight or rip. Somehow Recollections manages perfection every time.


K
Katharine E.
02/24/2016

I just wanted to send a note that I received the Piper Ensemble and I just LOVE it!


R
Renee E.
02/24/2016

Received my order yesterday in the mail the red cotton skirt and the stripe twill jacket look very nice together and I love the black accents on the red skirt please thank everyone who made that outfit come together. The jacket is a little too tight but I am sure the tailor here can let it out a little will check with him when he is feeling better.


N
Noel
02/19/2016

Thank you so very much! My experience with Recollections so far is amazing! I put my order in today for the two piece Dresden blue shirt/drawstring skirt with the ivory lace color.


M
MaryAnn H.
02/12/2016

Barb, got it about an hour ago. It is just beautiful. And so well made and fits perfect.


K
Kathleen C.
02/12/2016

My new outfit arrived today. Thank you! It's beautiful!


S
Sarita
02/12/2016

Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you for getting order #154281 to me by today. It is much appreciated.Now I will be able to strut into my interview knowing I look amazing.


M
Madelyn L.
02/11/2016

I wanted to let you know that the Wendy dress arrived a few days ago and it's perfect!


E
Elizabeth H.
02/05/2016 , TN

Just What I Wanted
I absolutely love my new apron. It is just what I wanted. Very serviceable as I actually wear mine to work in. The materials, pattern, quality are all what I expected.
I am every pleased. I'm going to purchase another one; I just need to decide on which fabric to choose.
I have also purchased a skirt, lace blouse, and 2 ensembles. I also wear them all the time. I couldn't be happier. I'm one very happy "born 150 years too late" woman.

02/05/2016

Just What I Wanted

I absolutely love my new apron. It is just what I wanted. Very serviceable as I actually wear mine to work in. The materials, pattern, quality are all what I expected.I am every pleased. I'm going to purchase another one; I just need to decide on which fabric to choose. I have also purchased a skirt, lace blouse, and 2 ensembles. I also wear them all the time. I couldn't be happier. I'm one very happy "born 150 years too late" woman.


K
Kitty V.
01/23/2016 , FL

Step back in time.
I recently wore this (111270-1081) in Hunter green along with the holly blouse and a hunter green vest from recollections. After dressing and pinning up my hair I was stunned by the effect. It was like I was in 1890!

Holly Dickens Caroling Cape and Skirt
Holly Dickens Caroling Cape and Skirt
Read more reviews about this product

01/23/2016

Step back in time.

I recently wore this in Hunter green along with the holly blouse and a hunter green vest from recollections. After dressing and pinning up my hair I was stunned by the effect. It was like I was in 1890!

Linette Victorian Style Ensemble
Linette Victorian Style Ensemble
Read more reviews about this product

01/23/2016

Elegant

I ordered this in the nasturtium print (white with scattering of red flowers. Fit like it was tailored for me. I am 5'9" and 2__ pounds. Makes me feel like I was 18 again. As I live in Tampa, I wore it for a Christmas event. The fabric is substantial enough to elegant yet the calico skirt left me far cooler than friends wearing jeans. Just beautiful.


Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business
Website

© 2024 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2024