recollections.biz Reviews

About this Company

Recollections is your connection to history-inspired fashions. What was once a dream on a kitchen table has grown into an e-tail company with a global presence. Recollections was founded in 1981 in southern Michigan.

It quickly grew into a bricks-and-mortar retailer and mail order company specializing in wedding attire inspired by the Victorian and Edwardian eras. The original line consisted of dresses, skirts, blouses, petticoats, camisoles, and pantaloons.

Over the next 18 years, Recollections grew as a cottage industry. Operations moved to Hawks, a tiny picturesque community less than 10 miles from the shore of Lake Huron in Northeast Michigan. The company opened in the former Bismarck Township Hall, where operations continue to this day.

Why did Marianne move away from the hustle and bustle of the greater Detroit area to Northern Michigan? "Look around you! I never tire of the beauty and peacefulness of the area. We used to vacation in Rogers City in the summer when I was a teenager, so I was familiar with the area. I live in a log cabin in the woods less than 1/2 mile from Lake Huron, and the only noise I hear is the soothing sound of the waves rather than the noise of the traffic one hears downstate."

Recollections took the leap to e-tailing in 1999, long before many retailers. The online store featured three dozen products when the website was launched. Today, our online store offers nearly 1,000 garments and accessories from the Georgian/Regency, Victorian (including Civil War era and Old West), and Edwardian eras through the 1920s. We also feature a line of 1950s retro dresses.

Quality in design and construction, and a focus on customer service are the cornerstones of Recollections' foundation. Fabrics and embellishments are carefully selected to create the 'look' that is the hallmark of our clothing. We search until we find the quality fabrics, laces, trims, and accessories our customers expect.

Each garment is lovingly designed by Recollections' founder. Marianne is the creative energy behind the company. Her designs are then created, one at a time, by a network of seamstresses who are part of our extended family. Our models are lovely young women born and raised right here in our corner of Northern Michigan, except for Ola. She is from Ukraine and brings a unique perspective and sense of humor to the family.

Cheryl from Hats and Accessories by Cheryl designs and creates most of our hats. Cheryl and Marianne often work as a team so our hats perfectly complement our garments. Occasionally, they switch places. Instead of Cheryl designing a hat inspired by a garment, Marianne will design dress or ensemble inspired by one of Cheryl's hats. They make quite a team, collaborating and inspiring each other to the next level!

There are many others in our extended family, too. Sharon Meredith specializes in period appropriate hairstyles. Jennifer S. Adkins serves as our photographer and brings a keen sense of composition to each fashion shoot. Sue McDonald and Cheryl design accessories that are in sync our style. Our bloggers, social media, and website specialists, as well as those who provide assistance through customer service and sales are all part of our story.

Our talented and highly valued team is the reason we can offer the highest quality in history-inspired garments proudly made in America just for you!

Filter

3,050 Verified Customer Reviews

3,050 Customer Ratings and Reviews

Shopper Approved collects trusted reviews from customers who have made a verified purchase.

4.8

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
2628
(86.2%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
305
(10%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
87
(2.9%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
15
(0.5%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
15
(0.5%)

Customer Service
4.7
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
289
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
28
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
8
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
5
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
9
SHOW DETAILS

5-star reviews
2,500+

5-star reviews

6 years collecting reviews

About this Company

Recollections is your connection to history-inspired fashions. What was once a dream on a kitchen table has grown into an e-tail company with a global presence. Recollections was founded in 1981 in southern Michigan.

It quickly grew into a bricks-and-mortar retailer and mail order company specializing in wedding attire inspired by the Victorian and Edwardian eras. The original line consisted of dresses, skirts, blouses, petticoats, camisoles, and pantaloons.

Over the next 18 years, Recollections grew as a cottage industry. Operations moved to Hawks, a tiny picturesque community less than 10 miles from the shore of Lake Huron in Northeast Michigan. The company opened in the former Bismarck Township Hall, where operations continue to this day.

Why did Marianne move away from the hustle and bustle of the greater Detroit area to Northern Michigan? "Look around you! I never tire of the beauty and peacefulness of the area. We used to vacation in Rogers City in the summer when I was a teenager, so I was familiar with the area. I live in a log cabin in the woods less than 1/2 mile from Lake Huron, and the only noise I hear is the soothing sound of the waves rather than the noise of the traffic one hears downstate."

Recollections took the leap to e-tailing in 1999, long before many retailers. The online store featured three dozen products when the website was launched. Today, our online store offers nearly 1,000 garments and accessories from the Georgian/Regency, Victorian (including Civil War era and Old West), and Edwardian eras through the 1920s. We also feature a line of 1950s retro dresses.

Quality in design and construction, and a focus on customer service are the cornerstones of Recollections' foundation. Fabrics and embellishments are carefully selected to create the 'look' that is the hallmark of our clothing. We search until we find the quality fabrics, laces, trims, and accessories our customers expect.

Each garment is lovingly designed by Recollections' founder. Marianne is the creative energy behind the company. Her designs are then created, one at a time, by a network of seamstresses who are part of our extended family. Our models are lovely young women born and raised right here in our corner of Northern Michigan, except for Ola. She is from Ukraine and brings a unique perspective and sense of humor to the family.

Cheryl from Hats and Accessories by Cheryl designs and creates most of our hats. Cheryl and Marianne often work as a team so our hats perfectly complement our garments. Occasionally, they switch places. Instead of Cheryl designing a hat inspired by a garment, Marianne will design dress or ensemble inspired by one of Cheryl's hats. They make quite a team, collaborating and inspiring each other to the next level!

There are many others in our extended family, too. Sharon Meredith specializes in period appropriate hairstyles. Jennifer S. Adkins serves as our photographer and brings a keen sense of composition to each fashion shoot. Sue McDonald and Cheryl design accessories that are in sync our style. Our bloggers, social media, and website specialists, as well as those who provide assistance through customer service and sales are all part of our story.

Our talented and highly valued team is the reason we can offer the highest quality in history-inspired garments proudly made in America just for you!

Filter
L
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Lisa
1 day ago

Katie was so kind and helpful in helping me to get the discount that wouldn't process a day earlier when it was still in effect.

Why Recollections?

I LOVE Recollections clothing!

Garment Choice

I wear Victorian/Edwardian clothing on a regular basis


S
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Sherrie L.
1 day ago

ok

Garment Choice

Loved the hat


T
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Theresa
1 day ago

Wonderful customer service!!

Why Recollections?

I am the director of our local museum and need period attire for events. I really like the authentic selection of the clothing.

Garment Choice

I first purchased the white Victorian blouse and loved it. I then purchased the black fan skirt to complete the outfit. It was perfect for the museum event we are hosting.


A
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Amy
2 days ago

I needed a modification to my order and Recollections was able to provide it. Because it was custom , the order took some time to arrive but seller was communicative and clear throughout process.

Customer Service
5/5

Why Recollections?

Recommended by a friend, I have ordered before

Garment Choice

The color options and the holiday sale pricing


M
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Mina B.
3 days ago

Everything was great except I didn't know about the $95 additional shipping timeline until the very last stage. I think the dates and timeline should be more upfront.

Why Recollections?

I've actually had a lot of your items in my Etsy shopping cart for a long time before realizing you had a storefront online, And then you were recommended as a trusted source for the event I'm going to

Garment Choice

I'm going to a Regency LARP and I'm running out of time to make all my own pieces. I was going to also buy a dress but due to the additional $95 fee got priced out of it so I will just have to sew a lot in the next 7 weeks.


M
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Maureen
3 days ago

Easy to order - just what I was looking for as a Phoebe Snow costume

Company Response

Outstanding! Thank you for your comments and rating!


L
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Lori
6 days ago

Easy ordering, fast shipping, product as described

Why Recollections?

I'm really impressed with your garments, this is my 3rd order in the last few years. I have been gathering outfits for DAR functions that I attend. Also, thank you so much for the hat pin you sent to me as a gift with my last purchase.

Garment Choice

I think it will go with a skirt I ordered, although I am little worried about the burgundy color matching. And, it's on sale. I looked for the white jabot to go with a white poufy sleeve shirt I recently ordered and couldn't find it and anything like it, in the shorter length.

Company Response

Thank you for your comments and rating! We appreciate all the feedback.

Victorian Edwardian Curved Belt
Victorian Edwardian Curved Belt
Read more reviews about this product

6 days ago

As described and adjustable


A
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Amy
6 days ago , SC

Clothing is well made and true to period. Customer service was easy to deal with. Thank you!

Customer Service
5/5

Why Recollections?

My daughter was looking for quality Regency clothing.

Garment Choice

It was for an upcoming English Country dance ball.

Company Response

Thank you for your comment and rating!


K
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Kathe
1 week ago

They went above & beyond to ensure that u received my gown in a timely manner!

Why Recollections?

Repeat customer. The quality of the work.

Company Response

What an amazing dress!! Thank you for you comments and rating. 

Vanessa Revolutionary Style Gown
Vanessa Revolutionary Style Gown
Read more reviews about this product

1 week ago

This gown is very well-made in absolutely gorgeous!! I purchased it on sale during Black Friday, and WOW, did I get a deal!!


C
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Caron
1 week ago

Good experience so far

Garment Choice

I’m in DAR.

Why Recollections?

I like the choices.

Company Response

Thank you for your feedback!


S
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Susan
1 week ago , Florida

I have always had great experiences purchasing beautiful items from Recollections.

Customer Service
5/5

Why Recollections?

Beautifully sewn items.

Garment Choice

For correct period outfit.

Company Response

Thank you for your comments and rating. 


A
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Aleena R.
1 week ago

easy to add items in wishlist , wonderful selection to choose from . Enjoy the free shipping even if it’s 6-8 weeks.

Why Recollections?

American made , beautiful historic designs and great quality fabrics.

Garment Choice

I am going to get married, and this will be a wonderful piece to wear for this occasion.

Company Response

So glad to be part of your wedding!! Thank you for your comments and rating. 


A
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Allison
1 week ago

Thank you so much! I have heard nothing but glowing reviews, and I look forward to receiving my purchase! Such an easy to navigate website.

Why Recollections?

A friend told me about the amazing quality and fast shipping- and fair prices!

Garment Choice

It fits my character (I LARP) very well, and it had good reviews and looked comfortable.

Company Response

Thank you for your comments and rating. 


M
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Marie-Elena A.
2 weeks ago

I've shopped and purchased here several times and have been very pleased with the quality and cost-effectiveness.

Why Recollections?

The items are pretty close to historically accurate, and are more comfortable for modern wearers because of the modifications. I don't always have the time to sew my own costumes, so Recollections is a great place for fallback!

Garment Choice

I have an event coming up and I'll need summer-style Edwardian period clothing. No time to make my own outfit, so off to Recollections I went!

Company Response

Thank you for your comments and rating. 


S
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Stephen
2 weeks ago

Very good service. Thank you!

Company Response

Thank you for your comments and rating!


M
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Mary
2 weeks ago

Enjoy the website. Easy to maneuver!

Garment Choice

I'm a Christmas performer.

Why Recollections?

Was told about Recollections last year from other Mrs. Clauses and have been well pleased with the last outfit you made for me last year.

Company Response

Thank you for your comments and rating. 


S
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer sandra
2 weeks ago

Not many choices

Why Recollections?

Long time customer

Garment Choice

Need a bustle cover for a ball gown.

Company Response

What a great choice! Thank you for your comments and rating.


M
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Michele
2 weeks ago

Was awesome, everyone was so nice and easy to work with. Clothes were spot on and fits and looks great.

Customer Service
5/5

Garment Choice

Wanted a new outfit for Mrs. Claus

Why Recollections?

Had the best looking recreations.

Company Response

Thank you for your comments and rating. 


K
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Kimberly
2 weeks ago

Wonderful assortment of fabric choices!

Why Recollections?

Love the endless dress style and fabric options!

Garment Choice

Love the sleeves and the fabric is dreamy!

Company Response

Thank you for your comments and rating. We love the new fabrics too!


S
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Silvia
2 weeks ago

Always easy ordering and customer service is awesome!

Why Recollections?

I am an 1800's reenactor. I have purchased many items and have never been disappointed. I am a 4X sized woman and everything fits me well.

Garment Choice

I needed another apron to change up my looks.

Company Response

Thank you for your comments and rating!


Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business
Website

© 2024 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2024