recollections.biz Reviews

4.8 Overall Satisfaction Rating

Based on 1,617 Ratings

5
1386 (85.7%)
4
166 (10.3%)
3
52 (3.2%)
2
7 (0.4%)
1
6 (0.4%)
1,250+ 5 stars in a row

Customer Service

4.7 Average

5
(134)
4
(17)
3
(6)
2
(1)
1
(6)

Shopper Approved actively collects reviews from actual verified customers, which helps more accurately reflect customer’s overall satisfaction with this company.

recollections.biz

About Us

Recollections is your connection to history-inspired fashions. What was once a dream on a kitchen table has grown into an e-tail company with a global presence. Recollections was founded in 1981 in southern Michigan.

It quickly grew into a bricks-and-mortar retailer and mail order company specializing in wedding attire inspired by the Victorian and Edwardian eras. The original line consisted of dresses, skirts, blouses, petticoats, camisoles, and pantaloons.

Over the next 18 years, Recollections grew as a cottage industry. Operations moved to Hawks, a tiny picturesque community less than 10 miles from the shore of Lake Huron in Northeast Michigan. The company opened in the former Bismarck Township Hall, where operations continue to this day.

Why did Marianne move away from the hustle and bustle of the greater Detroit area to Northern Michigan? "Look around you! I never tire of the beauty and peacefulness of the area. We used to vacation in Rogers City in the summer when I was a teenager, so I was familiar with the area. I live in a log cabin in the woods less than 1/2 mile from Lake Huron, and the only noise I hear is the soothing sound of the waves rather than the noise of the traffic one hears downstate."

Recollections took the leap to e-tailing in 1999, long before many retailers. The online store featured three dozen products when the website was launched. Today, our online store offers nearly 1,000 garments and accessories from the Georgian/Regency, Victorian (including Civil War era and Old West), and Edwardian eras through the 1920s. We also feature a line of 1950s retro dresses.

Quality in design and construction, and a focus on customer service are the cornerstones of Recollections' foundation. Fabrics and embellishments are carefully selected to create the 'look' that is the hallmark of our clothing. We search until we find the quality fabrics, laces, trims, and accessories our customers expect.

Each garment is lovingly designed by Recollections' founder. Marianne is the creative energy behind the company. Her designs are then created, one at a time, by a network of seamstresses who are part of our extended family. Our models are lovely young women born and raised right here in our corner of Northern Michigan, except for Ola. She is from Ukraine and brings a unique perspective and sense of humor to the family.

Cheryl from Hats and Accessories by Cheryl designs and creates most of our hats. Cheryl and Marianne often work as a team so our hats perfectly complement our garments. Occasionally, they switch places. Instead of Cheryl designing a hat inspired by a garment, Marianne will design dress or ensemble inspired by one of Cheryl's hats. They make quite a team, collaborating and inspiring each other to the next level!

There are many others in our extended family, too. Sharon Meredith specializes in period appropriate hairstyles. Jennifer S. Adkins serves as our photographer and brings a keen sense of composition to each fashion shoot. Sue McDonald and Cheryl design accessories that are in sync our style. Our bloggers, social media, and website specialists, as well as those who provide assistance through customer service and sales are all part of our story.

Our talented and highly valued team is the reason we can offer the highest quality in history-inspired garments proudly made in America just for you!

S

Stephen
4 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Have bought dress and crinoline before - about 15 years ago. Was looking at sale items and the shoes caught my eye.
Stephen has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Clearance Shoe - 8

View this product

Bought as a gift for my wife.

J

Jimmy
4 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

4.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

So far so good. I wish the shipping was faster without being pricey

Why Recollections?

I like the style and the quality

Garment Choice

Made in the USA

J

Jessica
6 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Great selection. Just what I was looking for.

Why Recollections?

Positive experiences in the past.

Garment Choice

I chose this garment to play a character in our town's Christmas of Yesteryear celebration. She was a suffragette, but I wanted Christmas colors.

Jessica has reviewed 3 products. Click to view Click to hide

Josie Edwardian Dress

View this product

Beautiful Dress

I love this dress so much. I was worried the sleeves would be too big, but they fit perfectly. I could even layer thermals for the outdoor event it was supposed to be worn at. Hopefully the Victorian Christmas celebration will not be cancelled this year so I an wear this beautiful dress.

Black Fur Cape

View this product

Special

I love this fur cape. So elegant and classy. I am glad I finally splurged on it.

Black Lace Gloves

View this product

Beautiful Gloves

Gorgeous gloves. They fit beautifully.

K

Katelin
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Good quality, washable costumes in predictable, well fitting sizes.

Why Recollections?

Fit, quality, made in the USA

Garment Choice

They were on clearance so they could ship quickly

S

Susan
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

I love Recollections. I am slowly trying to get my wardrobe together but it is taking time. I have a connection to the past and love the fashions from the Victorian period. I love your web-site and enjoy reading about the Victorian era woman and their mannerisms. I recommend that you sell tea pots and share information associated with tea time! Why would anyone not take time for tea? Thank you! Susan Beyer-Shaw

Why Recollections?

Found the site on-line when searching Victorian era clothing.

Garment Choice

I have been looking at this item for a while and it went on sale. AWESOME! Time for tea.

L

Lisa
1 week ago , MI

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Very easy to order and very professional service. Prompt replies.

Why Recollections?

I love the clothing. It is good quality and very finely made.

Garment Choice

The aprons are so classic and very comfortable to wear. The patterns are very authentic as well. I definitely recommend them. And they have pockets!

C

Cynthia
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Quick and easy

Why Recollections?

I have shopped with them before and I know their quality

Garment Choice

I am a docent in a Heritage House and once a year we portray what it was like at Victorian funeral.

L

Leah
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

4.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

It is not complicated.
J

Jewelle
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Shopping is easy because your info is clear including sizing, fabric and shipping.

Why Recollections?

I've shopped through Recollections for years and love period clothes. This is the only place I can find my size!

Garment Choice

I have another split skirt I got from Recollections to wear to the Dickens Faire and then realised they are so comfortable why wait for the Faire.

G

Greg
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

We spoke to Val before placing our order and she was very helpful. Donna was outstanding in helping us resolve a sizing issue with one of the skirts.
CustomerService
5/5

Why Recollections?

Authenticity of clothing

Garment Choice

Looks very period.

Greg has reviewed 2 products. Click to view Click to hide

Civil War Era Dress

View this product

Ordered this set for my wife. The top fit perfectly but the skirt did not, so we returned it and the second skirt was too big. Had to return it again and the third time was the charm...service rep was great and very helpful in helping me get the right size for my spouse. Would definitely order from Recollections again.

Virginia Civil War Styled Jacket and Skirt

View this product

I bought this dress for my wife and it arrived on time and fitted just as expected. She looks great on it.

Loading Page Animation

See more recollections.biz Reviews

Visit recollections.biz ►