recollections.biz Reviews

4.8 Overall Satisfaction Rating

Based on 1,380 Ratings

5
1176 (85.2%)
4
150 (10.9%)
3
44 (3.2%)
2
6 (0.4%)
1
4 (0.3%)
1,000+ 5 stars in a row

Customer Service

4.7 Average

5
(102)
4
(13)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(4)

Shopper Approved actively collects reviews from actual verified customers, which helps more accurately reflect customer’s overall satisfaction with this company.

recollections.biz

About Us

Recollections is your connection to history-inspired fashions. What was once a dream on a kitchen table has grown into an e-tail company with a global presence. Recollections was founded in 1981 in southern Michigan.

It quickly grew into a bricks-and-mortar retailer and mail order company specializing in wedding attire inspired by the Victorian and Edwardian eras. The original line consisted of dresses, skirts, blouses, petticoats, camisoles, and pantaloons.

Over the next 18 years, Recollections grew as a cottage industry. Operations moved to Hawks, a tiny picturesque community less than 10 miles from the shore of Lake Huron in Northeast Michigan. The company opened in the former Bismarck Township Hall, where operations continue to this day.

Why did Marianne move away from the hustle and bustle of the greater Detroit area to Northern Michigan? "Look around you! I never tire of the beauty and peacefulness of the area. We used to vacation in Rogers City in the summer when I was a teenager, so I was familiar with the area. I live in a log cabin in the woods less than 1/2 mile from Lake Huron, and the only noise I hear is the soothing sound of the waves rather than the noise of the traffic one hears downstate."

Recollections took the leap to e-tailing in 1999, long before many retailers. The online store featured three dozen products when the website was launched. Today, our online store offers nearly 1,000 garments and accessories from the Georgian/Regency, Victorian (including Civil War era and Old West), and Edwardian eras through the 1920s. We also feature a line of 1950s retro dresses.

Quality in design and construction, and a focus on customer service are the cornerstones of Recollections' foundation. Fabrics and embellishments are carefully selected to create the 'look' that is the hallmark of our clothing. We search until we find the quality fabrics, laces, trims, and accessories our customers expect.

Each garment is lovingly designed by Recollections' founder. Marianne is the creative energy behind the company. Her designs are then created, one at a time, by a network of seamstresses who are part of our extended family. Our models are lovely young women born and raised right here in our corner of Northern Michigan, except for Ola. She is from Ukraine and brings a unique perspective and sense of humor to the family.

Cheryl from Hats and Accessories by Cheryl designs and creates most of our hats. Cheryl and Marianne often work as a team so our hats perfectly complement our garments. Occasionally, they switch places. Instead of Cheryl designing a hat inspired by a garment, Marianne will design dress or ensemble inspired by one of Cheryl's hats. They make quite a team, collaborating and inspiring each other to the next level!

There are many others in our extended family, too. Sharon Meredith specializes in period appropriate hairstyles. Jennifer S. Adkins serves as our photographer and brings a keen sense of composition to each fashion shoot. Sue McDonald and Cheryl design accessories that are in sync our style. Our bloggers, social media, and website specialists, as well as those who provide assistance through customer service and sales are all part of our story.

Our talented and highly valued team is the reason we can offer the highest quality in history-inspired garments proudly made in America just for you!

P

Philip
Today

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Great communication, fine products.
C

Carrie
1 day ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

great

Why Recollections?

Reliable

A

Alicia
1 day ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

4.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Was very simple, large selection to chose from.

Why Recollections?

There is limited victorian era clothing and this company has a large selection

Garment Choice

I am changing my wardrobe to Victorian Era only, great place to start.

C

Ciara
2 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Thank you for easy checking out experience

Why Recollections?

I like the style of Victorian and Edwardian era

Garment Choice

I need them for my Edwardian attire

P

Patricia
2 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

I spoke to Valerie before placing this order and she was very helpful.

Why Recollections?

Going to Somewhere in Time weekend at Grand Hotel.

Garment Choice

On clearance and a good price.

R

Robyn
5 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

love recollections, everything is so well made and BEAUTIFUL!

Why Recollections?

quality and beauty

Garment Choice

unique, perfect with my outfit.

D

Dana L.
5 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Always easy! My dresses so far have always been beautiful and well made.

Why Recollections?

Service and just the best dresses to choose from for historic purposes!

Garment Choice

I love the style, details and look of this dress! It is elegant yet great for day wear.

B

B.A.M
6 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Perfec customer friendly easy to use website!

Why Recollections?

Greaat service, many many beautiful made dresses

Garment Choice

Love the sleeves!! very figure flattering dress

M

Margaret
6 days ago , FL

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

always quality from this seller
Margaret has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Suffragette Sash

View this product

This sash was a huge success at the Votes for Women Tea I attended this spring.

C

Colleen
6 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

4.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Would be very helpful if the photos would change with the fabric choices.

Why Recollections?

Great quality, reasonable prices.

Garment Choice

Was looking for something sturdy for October cemetery tours. I already have black so blue was next. Also it's flexible for regular wear.

T

Tiffany
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Good experience.
C

Cynthia
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

I had an issue with size and it was promptly and courteously rectified. Highly recommend this company
CustomerService
5/5

Why Recollections?

Not many companies have the quality and authenticity in retro wear that this company provides

Garment Choice

This garment was the style I needed to attend a pirate ball

Cynthia has reviewed 3 products. Click to view Click to hide

Jessamine Floral Hair Clip

View this product

Very pretty but a little difficult to attach to the hair. Could use some color in it. Over all very nice

Jayne Gray Silk Victorian Ball Gown

View this product

Beautiful material and excellent craftsmanship

Black Crochet Gloves

View this product

Lovely but could be a little longer

E

Esther
1 week ago , UT

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

4.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Overall, recollections.biz has had what I was looking for as far as historical reenactment costumes. There have been a few that do not match up entirely with the era or the place that I am portraying, but they come pretty close.

Why Recollections?

It was a decently priced way to buy the pioneer era clothing of the 1860s without having to make it myself. I don’t have the time to spend pouring over fabric, sewing machines, and patterns.

Garment Choice

I bought a skirt from recollections a year before and it still fit great, but the blouse that went with it was tight I’m getting tighter every time I wore it. It also was not as period correct as I would have liked, and so this new blouse was meant to replace it.

A

Angelil
1 week ago , AZ

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

4.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Good.

Why Recollections?

Sizing and quality.

Garment Choice

Cool for summer in Tucson

D

Debra
1 week ago , CO

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

3.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Dress wasn't shipped when said it would be. Unfortunately, the virus hit and postponed it longer, which wasn't avoidable.
Communication wasn't as great as it could of been.
Am happy with the dress.
CustomerService
3/5

Why Recollections?

They have a pretty good selection of Re-inactment costumes.

Garment Choice

I liked the Dusty Rose tea dress to wear to teas.

L

lillian
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

I love beautiful clothes. I KNOW that Recollections make the BEST clothes from any place. Lillian Cordova

Why Recollections?

Recollections has the best material and beautiful blouses. The Ladies of Recollections have the BEST PEOPLE to talk to. If there ever would be a problem, these Ladies take care of it.

Garment Choice

This blouse is so very feminine. I fell in love with it.

G

Gerrieann
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

It would be nice if you could the dress in the color you choose instead of the as shone color
L

Leslie
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Love the section.

Why Recollections?

The size variety & styles.

Garment Choice

Exactly what I wanted.

S

Susan
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Great service
B

Billie
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Always a pleasure shopping with Recollections

Why Recollections?

Love the clothes

Garment Choice

Gifts for my daughters

Loading Page Animation

See more recollections.biz Reviews

Visit recollections.biz ►