recollections.biz Reviews

About this Company

Recollections is your connection to history-inspired fashions. What was once a dream on a kitchen table has grown into an e-tail company with a global presence. Recollections was founded in 1981 in southern Michigan.

It quickly grew into a bricks-and-mortar retailer and mail order company specializing in wedding attire inspired by the Victorian and Edwardian eras. The original line consisted of dresses, skirts, blouses, petticoats, camisoles, and pantaloons.

Over the next 18 years, Recollections grew as a cottage industry. Operations moved to Hawks, a tiny picturesque community less than 10 miles from the shore of Lake Huron in Northeast Michigan. The company opened in the former Bismarck Township Hall, where operations continue to this day.

Why did Marianne move away from the hustle and bustle of the greater Detroit area to Northern Michigan? "Look around you! I never tire of the beauty and peacefulness of the area. We used to vacation in Rogers City in the summer when I was a teenager, so I was familiar with the area. I live in a log cabin in the woods less than 1/2 mile from Lake Huron, and the only noise I hear is the soothing sound of the waves rather than the noise of the traffic one hears downstate."

Recollections took the leap to e-tailing in 1999, long before many retailers. The online store featured three dozen products when the website was launched. Today, our online store offers nearly 1,000 garments and accessories from the Georgian/Regency, Victorian (including Civil War era and Old West), and Edwardian eras through the 1920s. We also feature a line of 1950s retro dresses.

Quality in design and construction, and a focus on customer service are the cornerstones of Recollections' foundation. Fabrics and embellishments are carefully selected to create the 'look' that is the hallmark of our clothing. We search until we find the quality fabrics, laces, trims, and accessories our customers expect.

Each garment is lovingly designed by Recollections' founder. Marianne is the creative energy behind the company. Her designs are then created, one at a time, by a network of seamstresses who are part of our extended family. Our models are lovely young women born and raised right here in our corner of Northern Michigan, except for Ola. She is from Ukraine and brings a unique perspective and sense of humor to the family.

Cheryl from Hats and Accessories by Cheryl designs and creates most of our hats. Cheryl and Marianne often work as a team so our hats perfectly complement our garments. Occasionally, they switch places. Instead of Cheryl designing a hat inspired by a garment, Marianne will design dress or ensemble inspired by one of Cheryl's hats. They make quite a team, collaborating and inspiring each other to the next level!

There are many others in our extended family, too. Sharon Meredith specializes in period appropriate hairstyles. Jennifer S. Adkins serves as our photographer and brings a keen sense of composition to each fashion shoot. Sue McDonald and Cheryl design accessories that are in sync our style. Our bloggers, social media, and website specialists, as well as those who provide assistance through customer service and sales are all part of our story.

Our talented and highly valued team is the reason we can offer the highest quality in history-inspired garments proudly made in America just for you!

Filter

3,111 Verified Customer Reviews

3,111 Customer Ratings and Reviews

Shopper Approved collects trusted reviews from customers who have made a verified purchase.

4.8

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
2680
(86.1%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
312
(10%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
89
(2.9%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
15
(0.5%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
15
(0.5%)

Customer Service
4.7
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
292
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
30
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
8
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
5
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
9
SHOW DETAILS

5-star reviews
2,500+

5-star reviews

6 years collecting reviews

About this Company

Recollections is your connection to history-inspired fashions. What was once a dream on a kitchen table has grown into an e-tail company with a global presence. Recollections was founded in 1981 in southern Michigan.

It quickly grew into a bricks-and-mortar retailer and mail order company specializing in wedding attire inspired by the Victorian and Edwardian eras. The original line consisted of dresses, skirts, blouses, petticoats, camisoles, and pantaloons.

Over the next 18 years, Recollections grew as a cottage industry. Operations moved to Hawks, a tiny picturesque community less than 10 miles from the shore of Lake Huron in Northeast Michigan. The company opened in the former Bismarck Township Hall, where operations continue to this day.

Why did Marianne move away from the hustle and bustle of the greater Detroit area to Northern Michigan? "Look around you! I never tire of the beauty and peacefulness of the area. We used to vacation in Rogers City in the summer when I was a teenager, so I was familiar with the area. I live in a log cabin in the woods less than 1/2 mile from Lake Huron, and the only noise I hear is the soothing sound of the waves rather than the noise of the traffic one hears downstate."

Recollections took the leap to e-tailing in 1999, long before many retailers. The online store featured three dozen products when the website was launched. Today, our online store offers nearly 1,000 garments and accessories from the Georgian/Regency, Victorian (including Civil War era and Old West), and Edwardian eras through the 1920s. We also feature a line of 1950s retro dresses.

Quality in design and construction, and a focus on customer service are the cornerstones of Recollections' foundation. Fabrics and embellishments are carefully selected to create the 'look' that is the hallmark of our clothing. We search until we find the quality fabrics, laces, trims, and accessories our customers expect.

Each garment is lovingly designed by Recollections' founder. Marianne is the creative energy behind the company. Her designs are then created, one at a time, by a network of seamstresses who are part of our extended family. Our models are lovely young women born and raised right here in our corner of Northern Michigan, except for Ola. She is from Ukraine and brings a unique perspective and sense of humor to the family.

Cheryl from Hats and Accessories by Cheryl designs and creates most of our hats. Cheryl and Marianne often work as a team so our hats perfectly complement our garments. Occasionally, they switch places. Instead of Cheryl designing a hat inspired by a garment, Marianne will design dress or ensemble inspired by one of Cheryl's hats. They make quite a team, collaborating and inspiring each other to the next level!

There are many others in our extended family, too. Sharon Meredith specializes in period appropriate hairstyles. Jennifer S. Adkins serves as our photographer and brings a keen sense of composition to each fashion shoot. Sue McDonald and Cheryl design accessories that are in sync our style. Our bloggers, social media, and website specialists, as well as those who provide assistance through customer service and sales are all part of our story.

Our talented and highly valued team is the reason we can offer the highest quality in history-inspired garments proudly made in America just for you!

Filter
L
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Linda
1 day ago

Looking forward to my dress.

Everything was excellent. Thank you.

Why Recollections?

Such a great sellection

Garment Choice

Needed for a ball

Company Response

Thank you for your comment and rating!

 

Please remember to include event dates and/or in hand requests when you place your orders so we can deliver on time!!


M
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Mahtob Y.
1 day ago

Simple, easy to use and navigate.

Why Recollections?

Quality, excellent value, beautiful clothing, and great customer service!

Garment Choice

They’re stunning and the sale prices are incredible.


S
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Sherry
1 day ago

Recollections always gives excellent customer service!

Garment Choice

It was on clearance at a good price, in an unusual color for me but one I've always wanted to wear.

Why Recollections?

Quality materials, good design, great value. And, made in the USA is a real plus!


P
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Pam
1 day ago

Love everything about this store!

Why Recollections?

Love the designs, dresses, fabrics and accessories!

Garment Choice

clearance


N
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Nancy
1 day ago

It’s been easy

Why Recollections?

I have other items from you and love them

Garment Choice

I’ve been wanting a brown skirt


C
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Catherine C.
1 day ago

Love your items. They’re beautiful, well made, and wonderful for use in costume events.

Why Recollections?

You’re one of the few place that make made-to-order period clothing.

Garment Choice

These reticules will be lovely with my costumes for events in Tombstone, Az.


P
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Patricia
3 days ago

love your sales

Why Recollections?

I have been a Recollections customer for many years.

Garment Choice

For a Living History fashion show.


P
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Pat
3 days ago

Tried calling, got voice mail x 2. When I left a message didn't get a call back. Did get an email reply in a couple of day.

Why Recollections?

Like the swimsuit and, given the price, the return policy helped make the decision to purchase. I haven't ordered from this website before.

Garment Choice

As the description said - it's both fun and fashionable. Being of a certain age (and size) was looking for something other than the usual tight and/or skimpy swimsuit for a rafting trip our family is taking this summer.


R
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Ricky
6 days ago

Very helpful customer service, great inventory and easy to use website.

Why Recollections?

I have ordered from Recollections multiple times and am always happy with the products they make!

Garment Choice

Available in the style, color and sizes I need.

Company Response

Thank you for your comments and rating! 


T
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Tina
1 week ago

Usually garments fit well but this one needed alterations.

Customer Service
4/5

Why Recollections?

Quality.

Garment Choice

On sale.

Company Response

Each garment has it's own pattern so not all garments will fit the same. Thank you for your feed back!

Soprano Stripe Edwardian Suit with Chemisette on sale
Soprano Stripe Edwardian Suit with Chemisette on sale
Read more reviews about this product

1 week ago

Soprano suit on sale

This suit jacket and Chemisette was too big. Skirt was too short. But I did alterations. Chemisette was sent back as hard to alter.


A
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Anne
1 week ago

good found what I was looking for easily

Why Recollections?

Good quality

Garment Choice

like it

Company Response

Thank you for your feedback!


A
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Angel
1 week ago

Would love to be able to search for pieces by Plus Size designs- like items that are more flattering to a curvy or short petite person.
Or by piece- I have an extra full crinoline, would love to have found items that would accommodate it.

Garment Choice

My art guild does a Plein Aire painting event at Missouri Town 1885 (which by the way, having the years the eras applies to would be a HUGE help when selecting designs.) :) This attraction is a turn of the century village that people show what life was like for pioneers- how things were made, songs performed, time period foods, and more. The art group goes among the grounds and paints- but it is strongly encouraged that we ‘blend in’ to the rest of the Missouri Townspeople in proper costume. It’s a two-day event, so I need to be comfortable in the outdoor sun all day, and be able to carry my paint equipment around. Plus, I’d like to be dashing in case I end up as a subject of a painting! :)

Why Recollections?

Best quality in the world! Can’t find accurate designs like this anywhere else!

Company Response

Thank you for your suggestions and ratings. 


D
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Dana M.
1 week ago

Great selection.

Why Recollections?

Quality.

Garment Choice

Color selection.

Company Response

Thank you for your feedback!


J
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Johanna
1 week ago

I called with a question, and Katie was professional, polite, and quick!
Very nice. Thank you

Why Recollections?

You had what I wanted.

Garment Choice

It matched the image I wanted.

Company Response

Thank you for your comments and rating!


J
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Johanna
2 weeks ago

I spoke to Katie about sizing. She was very helpful, and pleasant. Thank you

Why Recollections?

I needed a Civil war dress, and these looked very nice

Garment Choice

I choose the Tamisin for ease of fit, and that I am going to dance in it.

Also, I can wear this type of dress to more than one event.

Company Response

Thank you for your comments and rating!


N
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Naomi
2 weeks ago

Grrwyy

Why Recollections?

Period impressing

Garment Choice

Volunteer at Sagtikos Manor in West Bayshore Ny

Company Response

Thank you for your rating!


S
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Sandy
2 weeks ago , California

The customer service is exemplary! I ordered the wrong length and Katie was extremely accommodating and helpful. I was able to return the dresses and have the length corrected. I would highly recommend!

Customer Service
5/5

Company Response

Thank you for your comments and rating. I am so glad we could work things out for you!!

2 weeks ago

Beautiful product! Exceptional customer service!

2 weeks ago

Excellent product! Love the dress and the customer service is awesome!


L
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Laurie
2 weeks ago

Always happy ordering from your shop!

Why Recollections?

I am a happy return customer!

Garment Choice

I am looking to create a bit more rustle to my skirts. This one replaces a previous one that was damaged.

Company Response

Thank you for your comments and rating!


L
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Lisa
2 weeks ago


I am very satisfied with my overall experience. Customer service was excellent and I greatly appreciate it.

Customer Service
5/5

Garment Choice

It was chosen for the group of ladies, who attended the ball.

Why Recollections?

Because of the type of ball gown, I needed for my event.

Company Response

Thank you for your comments and rating. 

Mattie Victorian Style Dress
Mattie Victorian Style Dress
Read more reviews about this product

2 weeks ago

The dress is lovely and of good quality material.


B
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Bianca
2 weeks ago

My absolute favorit shop!

Why Recollections?

They are the best

Garment Choice

Never one day without my bloomers and a Recollections dress

Company Response

Thank you for your ongoing support and comments!


Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business
Website

© 2024 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2024