recollections.biz Reviews

4.9 Overall Satisfaction Rating

Based on 366 Ratings

5
333 (91%)
4
27 (7.4%)
3
6 (1.6%)
2
0 (0%)
1
0 (0%)
250+

Customer Service

4.9 Average

5
(35)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)

Shopper Approved actively collects reviews from actual verified customers, which helps more accurately reflect customer’s overall satisfaction with this company.

recollections.biz

About Us

Recollections is your connection to history-inspired fashions. What was once a dream on a kitchen table has grown into an e-tail company with a global presence. Recollections was founded in 1981 in southern Michigan.

It quickly grew into a bricks-and-mortar retailer and mail order company specializing in wedding attire inspired by the Victorian and Edwardian eras. The original line consisted of dresses, skirts, blouses, petticoats, camisoles, and pantaloons.

Over the next 18 years, Recollections grew as a cottage industry. Operations moved to Hawks, a tiny picturesque community less than 10 miles from the shore of Lake Huron in Northeast Michigan. The company opened in the former Bismarck Township Hall, where operations continue to this day.

Why did Marianne move away from the hustle and bustle of the greater Detroit area to Northern Michigan? "Look around you! I never tire of the beauty and peacefulness of the area. We used to vacation in Rogers City in the summer when I was a teenager, so I was familiar with the area. I live in a log cabin in the woods less than 1/2 mile from Lake Huron, and the only noise I hear is the soothing sound of the waves rather than the noise of the traffic one hears downstate."

Recollections took the leap to e-tailing in 1999, long before many retailers. The online store featured three dozen products when the website was launched. Today, our online store offers nearly 1,000 garments and accessories from the Georgian/Regency, Victorian (including Civil War era and Old West), and Edwardian eras through the 1920s. We also feature a line of 1950s retro dresses.

Quality in design and construction, and a focus on customer service are the cornerstones of Recollections' foundation. Fabrics and embellishments are carefully selected to create the 'look' that is the hallmark of our clothing. We search until we find the quality fabrics, laces, trims, and accessories our customers expect.

Each garment is lovingly designed by Recollections' founder. Marianne is the creative energy behind the company. Her designs are then created, one at a time, by a network of seamstresses who are part of our extended family. Our models are lovely young women born and raised right here in our corner of Northern Michigan, except for Ola. She is from Ukraine and brings a unique perspective and sense of humor to the family.

Cheryl from Hats and Accessories by Cheryl designs and creates most of our hats. Cheryl and Marianne often work as a team so our hats perfectly complement our garments. Occasionally, they switch places. Instead of Cheryl designing a hat inspired by a garment, Marianne will design dress or ensemble inspired by one of Cheryl's hats. They make quite a team, collaborating and inspiring each other to the next level!

There are many others in our extended family, too. Sharon Meredith specializes in period appropriate hairstyles. Jennifer S. Adkins serves as our photographer and brings a keen sense of composition to each fashion shoot. Sue McDonald and Cheryl design accessories that are in sync our style. Our bloggers, social media, and website specialists, as well as those who provide assistance through customer service and sales are all part of our story.

Our talented and highly valued team is the reason we can offer the highest quality in history-inspired garments proudly made in America just for you!

S

SARA
1 day ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Lovely prints to choose from"

Why Recollections?

So many eras yo choose from

Garment Choice

Versatile and first time purchase to check quality. Hoping for a legitimate dress and not costume grade.

V

Virginia
2 days ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"very extensive selection"

Why Recollections?

I have purchased from you previously and was satisfied

Garment Choice

I need a white skirt and blouse for an event costume

L

Lisa
4 days ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"It was very easy"

Why Recollections?

I’m in a Victorian Christmas caroling ensemble and several women in my group have ordered from your site

Garment Choice

I like the style and the price.

H

Holin
6 days ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"This is real clothing, not a costume, at least for me. I wear these dresses every day. They are well made, and I expect they will last a long time."

Why Recollections?

I’m a prior customer.

Garment Choice

I love my other work dress, and I wanted another one. I like the variety of calicos. I like the 19th century patterns.

J

Joyce
1 week ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Love the selection and variety of fabrics"

Garment Choice

I like the more tailored, simple look

T

Tina
1 week ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"You have a great selection"

Why Recollections?

You have period fashions

Garment Choice

I choose it for my suffrage outfit

C

Claudia
1 week ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Easy"

Why Recollections?

Repeat Customer

Garment Choice

Everyday wear

D

Dagmar
1 week ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"So far - everything has been to my upmost happiness."

Why Recollections?

I have already purchased several garments, and I am just happy how they look and fit. I had great successes with my Civil War Outfits on some occassion in Switzerland.

Garment Choice

I like the style and the fabric and I can combine everything with pieces which I already have.

M

Marianne
1 week ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Paypal worked this time!"
J

Jaclyn
1 week ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I had a few questions and they replied very fast and very informative. Ive spent hours on this website trying to decide but it was hard. Everything is so beautiful. This is my first civil war reenactment and want it memorable. The only thing I regret is not having enough money to buy everything. Hahaha"

Why Recollections?

Beautiful dresses

Garment Choice

I liked the bustle and lace. The reviews were all good as well.

N

Noah
1 week ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Recollections has been great to work with, and a HUGE lifesaver. We love them!"

Why Recollections?

Good quality, fast shipping!

M

Marcella
1 week ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Always fun"

Why Recollections?

Best, most historically correct with out looking like a cheap costume.

Garment Choice

Our Church is celebrating 200 years. As the Rector's wife I felt it is important to represent the Church at the time of it's founding in 1820.

D

Diana
1 week ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"love it so far!"

Why Recollections?

wide choice of fabrics,styles and different periods of collections, ie edwardian etc.

Garment Choice

i love batiste, i am kind of fat in the middle, i need something to kind of hide it, i love lace and the style.

R

Richard
1 week ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Good layout"

Garment Choice

wedding party

T

Tina
1 week ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Great. I even called customer service and the woman was very nice!"

Why Recollections?

Made in the USA!

Customer Service!

Would love to see you expand your years available. I hate wasting money on Halloween costumes that are so cheap!

Garment Choice

Looking for something for a suffrage dinner, 100 year anniversary of Ohio joining I believe but also of the passage. I would have loved a suit but couldn't afford it knowing I would pay extra for the short notice.

L

Lisa
1 week ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Love these clothes and the site is great."

Why Recollections?

They have very high quality clothing in the styles I love.

Garment Choice

Very versatile and can be worn everyday or special occasion.

M

Mandi
2 weeks ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Love Love LOVE everything I've ever ordered !!!"

Why Recollections?

Best made period ladies fashions bar none!!!

Garment Choice

On Clearance today

T

Terrie
2 weeks ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"It was very easy and quick."

Why Recollections?

Love that they are a United States made product. They always work for my period correct clothing! They are so beautiful and the choice of fabric, color, and options are so appealing and workable!! Thank you so much Recollections for the exceptional quality and Era availability!!

Garment Choice

It works for my "period" required Era, and it is exceptionally beautiful in the fabric and color choice! Had it not been reduced in price though, I couldn't have purchased it!! Thank you for that reason!!

M

Maria
2 weeks ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Like the new site."
M

Mary
2 weeks ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Very easy purchase!"

Why Recollections?

Long-time satisfied customer.

Garment Choice

It looked cute!

See more recollections.biz Reviews

Visit recollections.biz ►