recollections.biz Reviews

4.8 Overall Satisfaction Rating

Based on 1,711 Ratings

5
1468 (85.8%)
4
175 (10.2%)
3
54 (3.2%)
2
7 (0.4%)
1
7 (0.4%)
1,250+ 5 stars in a row

Customer Service

4.7 Average

5
(146)
4
(18)
3
(6)
2
(1)
1
(6)

Shopper Approved actively collects reviews from actual verified customers, which helps more accurately reflect customer’s overall satisfaction with this company.

recollections.biz

About Us

Recollections is your connection to history-inspired fashions. What was once a dream on a kitchen table has grown into an e-tail company with a global presence. Recollections was founded in 1981 in southern Michigan.

It quickly grew into a bricks-and-mortar retailer and mail order company specializing in wedding attire inspired by the Victorian and Edwardian eras. The original line consisted of dresses, skirts, blouses, petticoats, camisoles, and pantaloons.

Over the next 18 years, Recollections grew as a cottage industry. Operations moved to Hawks, a tiny picturesque community less than 10 miles from the shore of Lake Huron in Northeast Michigan. The company opened in the former Bismarck Township Hall, where operations continue to this day.

Why did Marianne move away from the hustle and bustle of the greater Detroit area to Northern Michigan? "Look around you! I never tire of the beauty and peacefulness of the area. We used to vacation in Rogers City in the summer when I was a teenager, so I was familiar with the area. I live in a log cabin in the woods less than 1/2 mile from Lake Huron, and the only noise I hear is the soothing sound of the waves rather than the noise of the traffic one hears downstate."

Recollections took the leap to e-tailing in 1999, long before many retailers. The online store featured three dozen products when the website was launched. Today, our online store offers nearly 1,000 garments and accessories from the Georgian/Regency, Victorian (including Civil War era and Old West), and Edwardian eras through the 1920s. We also feature a line of 1950s retro dresses.

Quality in design and construction, and a focus on customer service are the cornerstones of Recollections' foundation. Fabrics and embellishments are carefully selected to create the 'look' that is the hallmark of our clothing. We search until we find the quality fabrics, laces, trims, and accessories our customers expect.

Each garment is lovingly designed by Recollections' founder. Marianne is the creative energy behind the company. Her designs are then created, one at a time, by a network of seamstresses who are part of our extended family. Our models are lovely young women born and raised right here in our corner of Northern Michigan, except for Ola. She is from Ukraine and brings a unique perspective and sense of humor to the family.

Cheryl from Hats and Accessories by Cheryl designs and creates most of our hats. Cheryl and Marianne often work as a team so our hats perfectly complement our garments. Occasionally, they switch places. Instead of Cheryl designing a hat inspired by a garment, Marianne will design dress or ensemble inspired by one of Cheryl's hats. They make quite a team, collaborating and inspiring each other to the next level!

There are many others in our extended family, too. Sharon Meredith specializes in period appropriate hairstyles. Jennifer S. Adkins serves as our photographer and brings a keen sense of composition to each fashion shoot. Sue McDonald and Cheryl design accessories that are in sync our style. Our bloggers, social media, and website specialists, as well as those who provide assistance through customer service and sales are all part of our story.

Our talented and highly valued team is the reason we can offer the highest quality in history-inspired garments proudly made in America just for you!

K

Karin
1 day ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Always love coming and looking, and this time, am getting two more dresses!

Why Recollections?

Always have loved Little House and this will be my second purchase.... can't wait!

Garment Choice

I love the styling and this time, I'm getting a little lace (Retta and Bethany). My first dress was the Victorian working dress in brown calico last fall.

T

Tamara
1 day ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

4.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Had a little trouble getting back to wish list. First order and I have a very odd body. It's on a diet - 10 more pounds to go.

Why Recollections?

I am a docent at the Historic Stanley House in Estes Park (it's our first year) and want to look the part.

Garment Choice

Looks

D

Donna
2 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Emails about custom order have been answered quickly.

Why Recollections?

Love the variety of items.

Garment Choice

Quality for a SASS costume.

D

Dia
3 days ago , WI

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

4.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Takes a long time to get the product, but it is high quality and well worth the wait

Why Recollections?

Perfect and unique product

Garment Choice

For a costume

Merchant Response

recollections.biz recently attempted to reach out to this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, and is currently awaiting the customer's response.
Dia has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

White Crinoline

View this product

Excellent

High quality and lovely

C

Catherine
4 days ago , WA

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

timely. great quality. true to size.

Why Recollections?

wanted comfortable dress from past history.

Garment Choice

fancied the grandfather collar.

Merchant Response

recollections.biz recently attempted to reach out to this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, and is currently awaiting the customer's response.
Catherine has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Victorian Styled Work Dress

View this product

Cotton is still King! Quietly stunning brick-ish color with subtle pattern.

K

Kayla
5 days ago , OH

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

I love recollections and the ladies who I have talked to have been extremely helpful I'm so excited for my things to come in
CustomerService
5/5

Why Recollections?

The beauty of these dresses and garments in general was what brought me to recollections since I was very young actually

Garment Choice

The simplicity beauty and pricing were my reasons as I’m looking for decently priced clothing and the corrina was my first choice among dresses

Merchant Response

recollections.biz recently attempted to reach out to this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, and is currently awaiting the customer's response.
Kayla has reviewed 3 products. Click to view Click to hide

Black Victorian Boot

View this product

Beautiful boots

These have to be the most beautiful boots I’ve ever worn I want to wear them constantly however since I’m clumsy lol it would be a bad idea talk about graceful right thank you so much recollections!

Pat's Historically Correct Drawers

View this product

My pantalettes AKA drawers

They fit me perfectly! I can’t wait to wear these along with the other undergarments for my senior photos Victorian shoot

Black, Ivory, or White Satin Gloves

View this product

The lovely gloves

These are beautiful and I love them I’ll be wearing these along with my white lace gloves for my photo shoot

N

Norma
5 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Was easy and quick so far.

Why Recollections?

It was advertised on Pinterest and the reviews seem good. I will see once I get the product.

Garment Choice

I need it for modesty because a lot of the clothing that are made today are so low cut. Not good for a heavy chested person.

D

Destiny
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Nice people, great service, generally high quality items.

Merchant Response

recollections.biz recently attempted to reach out to this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, and is currently awaiting the customer's response.
Destiny has reviewed 2 products. Click to view Click to hide

Lace Jabot

View this product

Very pretty

It's bigger than I thought it would be (which is just fine), and very pretty!

Topaz Filigree Bar Pin

View this product

Ok for the price.

It's plastic, rather than the metal I thought it would be, and smaller than I thought it would be, but from a reasonable distance, it looks fine.

L

Linda
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

I have had many wonderful shopping experiences and bought
many beautiful outfits.

Why Recollections?

Because of my previous purchases with Recollections.

K

katherine
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

When I received the dress and it needed some adjustments as to the fit they were very willing to work with me.
CustomerService
5/5

Why Recollections?

Because they had best selection of pioneer dresses at reasonable prices.

Loading Page Animation

See more recollections.biz Reviews

Visit recollections.biz ►