recollections.biz Reviews

4.8 Overall Satisfaction Rating

Based on 727 Ratings

5
629 (86.5%)
4
68 (9.4%)
3
27 (3.7%)
2
2 (0.3%)
1
1 (0.1%)
500+ 5 stars in a row

Customer Service

4.8 Average

5
(56)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)

Shopper Approved actively collects reviews from actual verified customers, which helps more accurately reflect customer’s overall satisfaction with this company.

recollections.biz

About Us

Recollections is your connection to history-inspired fashions. What was once a dream on a kitchen table has grown into an e-tail company with a global presence. Recollections was founded in 1981 in southern Michigan.

It quickly grew into a bricks-and-mortar retailer and mail order company specializing in wedding attire inspired by the Victorian and Edwardian eras. The original line consisted of dresses, skirts, blouses, petticoats, camisoles, and pantaloons.

Over the next 18 years, Recollections grew as a cottage industry. Operations moved to Hawks, a tiny picturesque community less than 10 miles from the shore of Lake Huron in Northeast Michigan. The company opened in the former Bismarck Township Hall, where operations continue to this day.

Why did Marianne move away from the hustle and bustle of the greater Detroit area to Northern Michigan? "Look around you! I never tire of the beauty and peacefulness of the area. We used to vacation in Rogers City in the summer when I was a teenager, so I was familiar with the area. I live in a log cabin in the woods less than 1/2 mile from Lake Huron, and the only noise I hear is the soothing sound of the waves rather than the noise of the traffic one hears downstate."

Recollections took the leap to e-tailing in 1999, long before many retailers. The online store featured three dozen products when the website was launched. Today, our online store offers nearly 1,000 garments and accessories from the Georgian/Regency, Victorian (including Civil War era and Old West), and Edwardian eras through the 1920s. We also feature a line of 1950s retro dresses.

Quality in design and construction, and a focus on customer service are the cornerstones of Recollections' foundation. Fabrics and embellishments are carefully selected to create the 'look' that is the hallmark of our clothing. We search until we find the quality fabrics, laces, trims, and accessories our customers expect.

Each garment is lovingly designed by Recollections' founder. Marianne is the creative energy behind the company. Her designs are then created, one at a time, by a network of seamstresses who are part of our extended family. Our models are lovely young women born and raised right here in our corner of Northern Michigan, except for Ola. She is from Ukraine and brings a unique perspective and sense of humor to the family.

Cheryl from Hats and Accessories by Cheryl designs and creates most of our hats. Cheryl and Marianne often work as a team so our hats perfectly complement our garments. Occasionally, they switch places. Instead of Cheryl designing a hat inspired by a garment, Marianne will design dress or ensemble inspired by one of Cheryl's hats. They make quite a team, collaborating and inspiring each other to the next level!

There are many others in our extended family, too. Sharon Meredith specializes in period appropriate hairstyles. Jennifer S. Adkins serves as our photographer and brings a keen sense of composition to each fashion shoot. Sue McDonald and Cheryl design accessories that are in sync our style. Our bloggers, social media, and website specialists, as well as those who provide assistance through customer service and sales are all part of our story.

Our talented and highly valued team is the reason we can offer the highest quality in history-inspired garments proudly made in America just for you!

D

Daniella
1 day ago , CA

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Items were as expected. Have ordered additional items. Thank you."

Why Recollections?

Affordable period-style wear.

Garment Choice

19th Amendment Centennial 2020

A

alexa
1 day ago , AR

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"customer service is always helpful; an error was made in the order; it was quickly remedied."

Why Recollections?

returning customer

Garment Choice

theater use

K

Kaye
1 day ago , AL

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Great to work with & loved my skirt & blouse."
V

Vicki
2 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Great!"
H

Heather
2 days ago , ON

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I enjoy your online store and the products you offer are good quality, although I am sorry your largest and nicest hats are no longer available. However I would appreciate it if you wouldn't fill my inbox with notifications that I don't want and didn't ask for. Thank you."
L

Laurie
2 days ago , CA

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Recollections has a great website that easy to use with many items from which to choose. The customer service is very helpful and responsive. "

Why Recollections?

I was looking for Edwardian dresses to wear to the Downton Abbey Movie Premiere.

Garment Choice

I needed a black dress that looked matronly as I was playing the part of Isobel who was still in mourning because her son had died.

J

Jill
2 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Great experience, great products! I placed a huge order, and they were able to accommodate us. They were very speedy with their communication as well. Very satisfied, would order from them again in a heart beat!"

Why Recollections?

We used them once before and loved the quality of their products.

Garment Choice

They were the perfect dresses for our show.

E

Elisabeth
2 days ago , NC

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"The sizing chart was very helpful. I enjoyed looking at the selection of clothes!"

Garment Choice

They were simple yet beautiful, with a really good price point!!

A

Angelo
3 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Pretty good, some solid colored calicos might be nice."

Why Recollections?

Best one for sizing and pricing.

Garment Choice

Always loved pre-WWI clothing.

G

gregoire
4 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"great"

Why Recollections?

ww1 and antique dress

Garment Choice

same as above ww1

D

Dagmar
4 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Very good experience. Only the international shipping fee is a bit painful - one could have another Dress for that amount. Maybe, there could another option be found in the future?"

Why Recollections?

I could not find anything better as to style and fitting.

Garment Choice

I need some Victorian outfits for reenactment and the prices are very reasonable for me. I do also like the Recollections style and the combining possibilities of the garments.

L

Leigh
4 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"great"

Why Recollections?

product selection

Garment Choice

Only source i am aware of for a suffragette sash

L

Linda
4 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Easy to use"

Why Recollections?

Recommended by friend

Garment Choice

Going to a '20s fundraiser

K

Kay
5 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I love Recollections! I've been shopping here for years and every item of clothing I've purchased I still have to this day. The clothes are exceptional quality and have served me well."

Why Recollections?

Exceptionally high quality clothing that holds up to hard work and nights out!

Garment Choice

I needed some more functional clothing for work and I love wearing my Recollections dresses. The aprons are a new item for me, and I'm confident they'll be just as great as the rest.

L

Leslie
5 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I like that I am contacted if there is ever something that needs clarification."

Why Recollections?

Individually made in the USA and so beautiful.

Garment Choice

Need them to finish ‘the look’.

D

Daniella
6 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Great!"

Why Recollections?

Previous shopper

Garment Choice

Upcoming suffragette events and Rose Parade!

J

Janet D.
1 week ago , PA

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I just love Recollections. Quality workmanship and absolutely great customer service. My favorite place to shop for my historical garment needs ❤️"

Why Recollections?

Quality and workmanship. Great selection in historical era.

Garment Choice

chose this color for the Christmas holiday. We hold a celebration “Christmas in the Colonies” at the Keith House in Graeme Park Petfect and my Abigail dress with this skirt is perfect for the occasion.

B

Bailey
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I've purchased 3 dresses from here, and each one have been absolutely beautiful! There's a lot of love that goes into making these dresses."
T

Tina
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Shopping is super easy. I love your site and look forward to emails with stories of the past oh and ladies, y'all do and look amazing"

Why Recollections?

best costumes and accessories I've read so many good comments on your products this is my first purchase. I'm excited!

Garment Choice

Truly the nicest looking witch hat I have ever seen. I made myself a black outfit that will look perfect with that hat!

H

Heidi
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"easy to use, clean, quick!"

Garment Choice

costumes for a show

Loading Page Animation

See more recollections.biz Reviews

Visit recollections.biz ►