recollections.biz Reviews

4.8 Overall Satisfaction Rating

Based on 815 Ratings

5
699 (85.8%)
4
83 (10.2%)
3
29 (3.6%)
2
3 (0.4%)
1
1 (0.1%)
500+ 5 stars in a row

Customer Service

4.8 Average

5
(61)
4
(8)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)

Shopper Approved actively collects reviews from actual verified customers, which helps more accurately reflect customer’s overall satisfaction with this company.

recollections.biz

About Us

Recollections is your connection to history-inspired fashions. What was once a dream on a kitchen table has grown into an e-tail company with a global presence. Recollections was founded in 1981 in southern Michigan.

It quickly grew into a bricks-and-mortar retailer and mail order company specializing in wedding attire inspired by the Victorian and Edwardian eras. The original line consisted of dresses, skirts, blouses, petticoats, camisoles, and pantaloons.

Over the next 18 years, Recollections grew as a cottage industry. Operations moved to Hawks, a tiny picturesque community less than 10 miles from the shore of Lake Huron in Northeast Michigan. The company opened in the former Bismarck Township Hall, where operations continue to this day.

Why did Marianne move away from the hustle and bustle of the greater Detroit area to Northern Michigan? "Look around you! I never tire of the beauty and peacefulness of the area. We used to vacation in Rogers City in the summer when I was a teenager, so I was familiar with the area. I live in a log cabin in the woods less than 1/2 mile from Lake Huron, and the only noise I hear is the soothing sound of the waves rather than the noise of the traffic one hears downstate."

Recollections took the leap to e-tailing in 1999, long before many retailers. The online store featured three dozen products when the website was launched. Today, our online store offers nearly 1,000 garments and accessories from the Georgian/Regency, Victorian (including Civil War era and Old West), and Edwardian eras through the 1920s. We also feature a line of 1950s retro dresses.

Quality in design and construction, and a focus on customer service are the cornerstones of Recollections' foundation. Fabrics and embellishments are carefully selected to create the 'look' that is the hallmark of our clothing. We search until we find the quality fabrics, laces, trims, and accessories our customers expect.

Each garment is lovingly designed by Recollections' founder. Marianne is the creative energy behind the company. Her designs are then created, one at a time, by a network of seamstresses who are part of our extended family. Our models are lovely young women born and raised right here in our corner of Northern Michigan, except for Ola. She is from Ukraine and brings a unique perspective and sense of humor to the family.

Cheryl from Hats and Accessories by Cheryl designs and creates most of our hats. Cheryl and Marianne often work as a team so our hats perfectly complement our garments. Occasionally, they switch places. Instead of Cheryl designing a hat inspired by a garment, Marianne will design dress or ensemble inspired by one of Cheryl's hats. They make quite a team, collaborating and inspiring each other to the next level!

There are many others in our extended family, too. Sharon Meredith specializes in period appropriate hairstyles. Jennifer S. Adkins serves as our photographer and brings a keen sense of composition to each fashion shoot. Sue McDonald and Cheryl design accessories that are in sync our style. Our bloggers, social media, and website specialists, as well as those who provide assistance through customer service and sales are all part of our story.

Our talented and highly valued team is the reason we can offer the highest quality in history-inspired garments proudly made in America just for you!

B

Barbara
Today

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Please adjust to my measurements if needed."

Why Recollections?

Found you on the Internet and loved the dress styles

M

Melinda
1 day ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"All questions answered with etsy communication in timely manner!"

Why Recollections?

Classic style

Garment Choice

Son's wedding.

P

Patricia
1 day ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"love the dress sales!"

Why Recollections?

I return frequently because of the good quality and historical accuracy of the garments.

Garment Choice

Style and historical accuracy fits my needs for working at Living History and Museum events.

A

Alan
1 day ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Ordering was quick and easy."

Why Recollections?

Have been a customer for a number of years and always have been satisfied with all my purchases.

Garment Choice

Mainly, because it was on sale.

C

Claudia
1 day ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Easy and Fast"

Why Recollections?

Quality

Garment Choice

Like

N

Naomi
2 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Long time customer very happy with quality and selections"

Why Recollections?

The styles

Garment Choice

Wanted to wear with casual pants

A

Antoinette
2 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"So far, so good. Waiting for dress and then I will know better."

Why Recollections?

Referral by a band member

Garment Choice

Needed something for black boots

T

Tracy
2 days ago , WA

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I love their products. They are well worth the wait. Plan ahead to give time for the items to be fabricated. High quality at a very reasonable price. I have purchased clothing, hats and accessories from them and I have never been disappointed. I have worked with customer service and they went above and beyond to help me with a problem that was actually my fault. I get so many compliments on my Recollection's finery!"

Why Recollections?

The quality is very high at a price I can afford.

Garment Choice

I ordered this hat to go with a Victorian ensemble I have. It is perfect!

C

Cherie
3 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I love you guys"

Why Recollections?

Previous history

Garment Choice

For a christmas event at my local historical society

C

Cindy
3 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Easy to navigate your wide selection"

Why Recollections?

Google

Garment Choice

Appealing

D

Deanna
3 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"love it "
CustomerService
5/5

Why Recollections?

have everything

Garment Choice

loved it

C

Cookie
4 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"The workmanship was stupendous! Seams were finished. Many, many, many compliments!!!"

Why Recollections?

Recollections had a wide variety of dresses to choose from!

Garment Choice

Perfect for the occasion

S

Sandra
4 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I found the glove options clear and just what I was looking for."

Why Recollections?

I have used your site before.

Garment Choice

I have white gloves, I needed black, too.

C

Cammy
5 days ago , KY

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Great exprerience"

Why Recollections?

The look for the clothes

Garment Choice

We had a theatre show that the dress worked with

N

Nathalie
5 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Fine"
S

Suzanne
6 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Love your site and selection"

Why Recollections?

Looking for fashions for a Titanic / Edwardian event. Unbelievable that I have choices and beautiful fashions! Don't stop - you are unique and wonderful!

K

Kathleen
6 days ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Very fast and easy, thank you!"

Why Recollections?

Have the best choices

Garment Choice

Love the look of it

K

Kathleen
6 days ago , WI

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"great descriptions and color options. Upon receiving my outfit I couldn't be more pleased! The fit is perfect and the quality of the dress (fabric, sewing, and lace) is high end. I will be coming back when I want a new ensemble!"

Why Recollections?

looks like good quality for a reasonable price

Garment Choice

steampunk convention attire required!

M

Marianne
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Whatever the previous problem with PayPal was, it no longer exists. Checking out with PayPal went smoothly."
K

Karen
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"easy and hope to love this blouse!"
Loading Page Animation

See more recollections.biz Reviews

Visit recollections.biz ►