realdealbrazil.com Reviews

About this Company

At Real Deal Brazil, We're all about the tarp

A few years back, Mr. P., as we affectionately call the founder of our little Greenville, N.C., company, was traveling along the coast of his beloved Brazil when he spied something intriguing in one of the local markets there: Wide-brimmed hats handcrafted out of wonderfully weathered old cotton canvas, with heavy stitching, shifts in color, fraying, stains, rips, punctures, patches and even occasional ink marks. Mr. P. immediately began inquiring about the unusual hats, learning that their material was actually old canvas tarps discarded by Brazilian trucking companies after lengthy use as protection for freight. A romantic in the broadest sense of the word, Mr. P. was instantly as hooked by the story as he had been by the hats themselves.

Filter

Back to Product ReviewsBack to Product Reviews

135 Product Ratings and Reviews

The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat

The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat

View Product on Site   View Product on Site

4.8

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
118
(87%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
10
(7%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
3
(2%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
2
(1%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
2
(1%)

About this Company

At Real Deal Brazil, We're all about the tarp

A few years back, Mr. P., as we affectionately call the founder of our little Greenville, N.C., company, was traveling along the coast of his beloved Brazil when he spied something intriguing in one of the local markets there: Wide-brimmed hats handcrafted out of wonderfully weathered old cotton canvas, with heavy stitching, shifts in color, fraying, stains, rips, punctures, patches and even occasional ink marks. Mr. P. immediately began inquiring about the unusual hats, learning that their material was actually old canvas tarps discarded by Brazilian trucking companies after lengthy use as protection for freight. A romantic in the broadest sense of the word, Mr. P. was instantly as hooked by the story as he had been by the hats themselves.

Filter
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
See more product reviews

Sgt. J - 06/22/2020

Best wide brim hat ever.

Have had my hat for about 4yrs now. I have added various hat pins to it. Always get asked where I got it and I always tell them. Wouldn't trade mine for any other type of hat. I am in the process or ordering a hat for my brother.


The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
See more product reviews

Robert H - 06/14/2020

Hat too small please let me know how to return

Robert H

06/14/2020 - PA

Good quality


The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
See more product reviews

Micheal L - 06/08/2020

Best Hat Ever. Period.

Obsessed with these hats. Love them. Have had one for over 5 years. It’s been on many an expedition, incl. internationally. It’s been beat to “heck” and back and just gets better looking all the time. My second just arrived. Sharp, fits well. Adventure awaits.

Micheal L

06/08/2020 - TX

Product arrived as advertised and in perfect order. Online order status features could be enhanced to prevent unnecessary emails / calls to customer service. Shipping was delayed on my hat due to high demand (it's a fantastic product, so I understand), but I had no way of knowing. After an email, I got the answer, but could have figured that out in a fraction of the time with a more robust order tracking system.


The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
See more product reviews

Brock - 06/01/2020

Overall, I'm very pleased with the hat. It fits true to most other "Large" sized hats I have purchased, and offers the extra protection from the sun that I was looking for. I realize not every section of tarp used will have "character" besides inherently being used tarp, but I feel like they just sewed on a few extra patches of tarp to give it more character than what it would have had otherwise. Not that that means I don't like my purchase, I do still like the hat and am glad I bought one. I just feel like the "ruggedness" of my particular hat was a bit "forced."

Brock

06/01/2020 - KY

I'm slightly underwhelmed with service. I placed an order on 5-2. The email said shipping should happen within 24 hours, but there might be delays due to COVID-19. I waited 2 weeks and never got a shipping notification, so I emailed service. The only response was that it would be shipped out the next day, with no acknowledgement of how long it had taken. I wasn't expecting expedited shipping, discount or anything else, but it seemed like my order was overlooked until brought to light.


The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
See more product reviews

Chad A - 05/20/2020

Love this hat, but can not find one small enough

Chad A

05/20/2020 - GA

I have a small head, and cannot find anything small enough.


The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
See more product reviews

Kevin S - 05/19/2020

Met my expectations...

The hat is exactly what I was expecting. Solid and light. Extremely happy.

Kevin S

05/19/2020 - NY

Been searching for a particular style of hat and this was it. It met all my expectations. Very happy with the hat. Sizing is accurate. I was a 1/2 size bigger than the large...and it is snug, but I like it that way. Would definitely buy again and recommend.


The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
See more product reviews

Mark L - 04/28/2020

This is my second Real Deal Brazile hat. Unfortunately the one I just ordered and received the wire in the hat rim went crazy when I tried to bend it as the instructions suggested, and now the shape is ridiculous and it will not reshape! Very dissatisfied!

Merchant Response

realdealbrazil.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Mark L

04/28/2020

Dissatisfied


The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
See more product reviews

Dion B - 04/14/2020

Love this hat, very happy with my purchase.

Dion B

04/14/2020 - Qld

Great website, easy shopping experience


The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
See more product reviews

Bginapi - 03/28/2020

Just bought another RDB hat

Just bought another RDB hat. Had my first one since around 2010. Original hat doesn’t look bad but I thought heck, why not get a new one for Sundays!!!! Great product. Keep up the good work.


The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
See more product reviews

Christopher B - 03/25/2020

Arrived timely


The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
See more product reviews

Blair - 03/20/2020

Poor customer service

I have left 2 emails on this site concerning shipping to Alaska. Haven't heard a peep back. I'd like to buy one for my son (I already have one) but there's an epic fail on RDB's part. Hope I can find something similar elsewhere.


The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
See more product reviews

Alec - 03/10/2020

I love these hats.

Fantastic hat. It was a gift for a friend, and he loves it.

Alec

03/10/2020 - AZ

Excellent customer service, fantastic hats.


The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
See more product reviews

Tracy R - 03/06/2020

Awesome hats!

I purchased two original tarp hats buy one get one 50% off. Great deal love the hats, one will be a birthday present for my Father can’t wait to give it to him. I will definitely buy more in the future!


The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
See more product reviews

Victoria K - 03/03/2020

We love everything about this hat and the life it has lived so far!

Victoria K

03/03/2020 - TX

The navigation and ordering seems easy.


The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
See more product reviews

David - 02/25/2020

Dave’s Jones locker

Yes they sink like lead!!!!! I had just gotten my RDB broke in after a few years. Loved it With an unexpected kayak roll over in February in NC sadly it was the last thing on my mind. Lololol I will have to find another one soon


The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
See more product reviews

Michael L - 02/07/2020

Just as comfortable as it is rugged. Gets better with age. Bought my first one seven years ago and still get compliments. Bought a new one as backup. If you buy one, get ready to be asked about your hat.

Michael L

02/07/2020 - TX

I yuck and informative emails all through the shipping duration.


The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
See more product reviews

Michael L - 02/06/2020

Comfortable and tough. Looks better with age. My first one is seven years old. Get ready to be asked about the hat while out in public.


The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
See more product reviews

Butch M - 01/17/2020

These are the best hats ever!

Butch M

01/17/2020 - CO

Awesome site love the tarp hats


The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
See more product reviews

Myron - 01/04/2020

Several friends have purchased this hat after seeing mine.

Great hat, use it for hunting, camping and fishing in British Columbia, Canada. The hat does not float when dropped in the water. I have been able to get it back each time. If lost I would purchase another the same day.

Company Response

Myron, we're so glad you and your friends love our hats!


The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
See more product reviews

Rolando R - 12/30/2019

Very happy with outcome.

Easy and simple process. Got it sooner than expected.

Rolando R

12/30/2019 - TX

Very "Real Deal", I had a question but called them after hours and left a message. Realdealbrazil called me first thing in the morning. I was bedazzled. Your team is definitely 5⭐. Thank you all and keep up the great work.


Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business   realdealbrazil.com

© 2023 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2023