realdealbrazil.com Reviews

About this Company

At Real Deal Brazil, We're all about the tarp

A few years back, Mr. P., as we affectionately call the founder of our little Greenville, N.C., company, was traveling along the coast of his beloved Brazil when he spied something intriguing in one of the local markets there: Wide-brimmed hats handcrafted out of wonderfully weathered old cotton canvas, with heavy stitching, shifts in color, fraying, stains, rips, punctures, patches and even occasional ink marks. Mr. P. immediately began inquiring about the unusual hats, learning that their material was actually old canvas tarps discarded by Brazilian trucking companies after lengthy use as protection for freight. A romantic in the broadest sense of the word, Mr. P. was instantly as hooked by the story as he had been by the hats themselves.

Filter

This company is no longer an active member of Shopper Approved, however you can view their overall star rating and review history below.

6,903 Verified Customer Reviews

6,903 Customer Ratings and Reviews

Shopper Approved collects trusted reviews from customers who have made a verified purchase.

4.8

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
5844
(84.7%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
846
(12.3%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
174
(2.5%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
24
(0.3%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
15
(0.2%)

Customer Service
4.5
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
126
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
18
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
12
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
4
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
9
SHOW DETAILS

5-star reviews
5,500+

5-star reviews

9 years collecting reviews

About this Company

At Real Deal Brazil, We're all about the tarp

A few years back, Mr. P., as we affectionately call the founder of our little Greenville, N.C., company, was traveling along the coast of his beloved Brazil when he spied something intriguing in one of the local markets there: Wide-brimmed hats handcrafted out of wonderfully weathered old cotton canvas, with heavy stitching, shifts in color, fraying, stains, rips, punctures, patches and even occasional ink marks. Mr. P. immediately began inquiring about the unusual hats, learning that their material was actually old canvas tarps discarded by Brazilian trucking companies after lengthy use as protection for freight. A romantic in the broadest sense of the word, Mr. P. was instantly as hooked by the story as he had been by the hats themselves.

Filter
P
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Phillip Y.
02/10/2022

Simple and fast

Product Choice

Previously purchased


A
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Angelique H.
01/11/2022

You's are awesome

Product Choice

Great quality and long lasting style


M
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Mark A.
12/17/2021

Good service, fast delivery, great product!

Product Choice

Love the look of this hat.


S
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Samuel W.
11/28/2021

Very easy

Product Choice

have many of their products


J
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Jill E.
11/26/2021

Had this before and it lasted for years. Best products evet


A
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Andrew S.
11/11/2021 , MN

Great

Product Choice

Looked cool.

No Image Available
Small Real Deal Tarp Hat
Read more reviews about this product

10/11/2021

The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Read more reviews about this product

11/11/2021

Love it. Fits well and shapes easy.


L
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Les B.
10/26/2021

Ordering my second hat from these folks.

Product Choice

It's origiality


G
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Gigi E.
10/25/2021

Got my hat last week! Ordering was easy and shipping seemed pretty fast.

Product Choice

My 10 yr old grand daughter loves my original RDB tarp hat, which is perfect for her, size small. I ordered a medium, which is tiny bit big for my head. I should of ordered the pulls! (darn it) I do love it though. Very happy with the sturdiness of this hat, the ability to shape it like I want, and the quality! Great for the beach, pool, flying kites, frisbee golf. It's fun to wear and covers your face/neck, some of your shoulder area too. Would buy again for sure.


J
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer J.A.G.
10/23/2021 , WA

Good experience!

Customer Service
2/5

Product Choice

Fiancé loves these hats.

Large Real Deal Tarp Hat
Large Real Deal Tarp Hat
Read more reviews about this product

09/23/2021

The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Read more reviews about this product

10/23/2021

Quality hat for a long life of adventures

High quality hat. My fiancé lost his while traveling and was so distraught after having worn it for years that I purchased him a new one. The design is a little different than the last one and he’s not as much of a fan but he still loves the hat and will hopefully have it for years to come! A little pricey for what it is but the heart wants what it wants.


P
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Pedro L.
10/18/2021 , FL

Easy going buying experience.
Suggestion: As each hat is unique I would have liked to see actual hats available online.

Product Choice

Saw it at a shop (my size was not available). Loved the hat and the story behind it. Had to get one.


A
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Analyn
10/10/2021 , NEW JERSEY

Very easy, not hard to order at all!

Product Choice

This is my third or fourth hat, one "borrowed", one sacrificed to the ocean Gods, and my last one ripped where there was a fake patch {so please dont send one!}

Large Real Deal Tarp Hat
Large Real Deal Tarp Hat
Read more reviews about this product

10/10/2021

Just buy it!

I get so many compliments on his hats. I’m on my third or fourth time in over 20 years, even before zombie land made it popular power just don’t wear these in the water because they get kind of heavy in sink easy! That was my sacrifice to the water gods

The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Read more reviews about this product

10/10/2021

I get so many compliments on these hats, this is my third or fourth her in over 20 years, evening before zombie land. If you’re thinking about buying this hat do it!


S
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Scott K.
10/09/2021

A little apprehensive about the name of the site at first. Glad I checked it out. Looking forward to the hat.


W
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer William M.
09/28/2021 , MI

You can read it in my review. Too much money for a hat that was not made with any pride. Unnecessary stitches over patches that looked terrible, had to be removed with a ripper. Took me about 30 min. Patch was fine, random crappy stitching over it was bad. Shape of hat was off.

Product Choice

I bought one about 10 years ago that wore out. I loved that hat, so I thought I would get another one. I was not impressed with the 2nd.

Large Real Deal Tarp Hat
Large Real Deal Tarp Hat
Read more reviews about this product

08/10/2021

The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Read more reviews about this product

09/28/2021

Not as good as the first one, should cost WAY less for what I received.

Not as good as the first one I bought. This time it had some weird stitching over patches that looked WRONG. I had to remove the stitching with a seam ripper, took about 30 min. The hat still wasn't as good as the first one. I like the patches over the holes, just don't like weird unnecessary stitching over them. Also it looks like this one was put together with less pride. For what I received, it should have cost half of what I paid.


D
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Daniel F.
09/26/2021

Easy peasy. Hopefully the hat does not disappoint.

Product Choice

Saw it at a local store, just not available in Large.


L
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Les B.
09/15/2021

Easy Peasy

Product Choice

Saw it on a friend today. Wanted it immediately.


J
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer James S.
09/15/2021 , CO

Na

Product Choice

I saw someone with this hat and had to buy one!

09/15/2021

Great hat, needs options to customize

I think that this hat would be even more awesome if it can have customized with logos or something similar.

Medium Real Deal Tarp Hat
Medium Real Deal Tarp Hat
Read more reviews about this product

08/16/2021

The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Read more reviews about this product

09/15/2021

Love the hat!

I love this hat. It fits great and looks awesome!


D
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Denise
09/10/2021 , CA

Recieved much faster then expected.

Product Choice

Own a hat. Love it!

09/11/2021

Great backpack

Very roomy & sturdy


J
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Joseph T.
09/01/2021 , OH

Took longer then expected. Hat is a little tight but I hope it will stretch over time.

Product Choice

Something different.

09/01/2021

Nice addition

If needed, will keep hat on secure.

Medium Real Deal Tarp Hat
Medium Real Deal Tarp Hat
Read more reviews about this product

08/03/2021

The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Read more reviews about this product

09/01/2021

Nice hat

Different but I like it. I little tight around my head but maybe it will loosen up over time.


R
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Rolande D.
08/10/2021

Very good so far

Product Choice

Had one before but wire has rusted


D
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Derek R.
08/09/2021 , CO

I would love to leave an awesome review about how I just love my new hat. But I can't. I haven't received it. The site says 3-4 weeks, but its over six weeks now, and the gal on the phone said it's another two weeks... You need to either stop taking orders for a product you don't have, or let customers know up front a realistic shipping date. Also, your track order function on your site dies not query a database... you can type any random characters and get the 'we have received your order' message

Customer Service
1/5

Product Choice

I was excited about a cool hat that was made with recycled products…

Large Real Deal Tarp Hat
Large Real Deal Tarp Hat
Read more reviews about this product

08/09/2021

Still hasn’t shipped. Poor communication from RDB.

I would love to leave an awesome review about how I just love my new hat. But I can’t. I haven’t received it. The site says 3-4 weeks, but its over six weeks now, and the gal on the phone said it’s another two weeks… You need to either stop taking orders for a product you don’t have, or let customers know up front a realistic shipping date. Also, your track order function on your site dies not query a database… you can type any random characters and get the “we have received your order” message

The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
The Original Real Deal Brazil Tarp Hat
Read more reviews about this product

08/09/2021

Still hasn’t shipped, poor communication from RDB..

I would love to leave an awesome review about how I just love my new hat. But I can’t. I haven’t received it. The site says 3-4 weeks, but its over six weeks now, and the gal on the phone said it’s another two weeks… You need to either stop taking orders for a product you don’t have, or let customers know up front a realistic shipping date. Also, your track order function on your site dies not query a database… you can type any random characters and get the “we have received your order” message…


Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business
Website

© 2022 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2022