longislandwatch.com Reviews

About this Company

Welcome to Island Watch. We're a small family owned and operated company that is proud to provide 100% authentic quality watches online - the styles of which you will not find in your local jewelry store. Our watches come in many styles from Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Far East and made right here in the United States. We are quickly approaching our 2021 Black Friday Watches sale, which starts on Thanksgiving Day at 1pm. Throughout the year, you'll find divers from Seiko Watches, fliegers from Laco, along with models from Islander and more. Take a look around our store, and while you are at it, be sure and subscribe to our informative Youtube channel to get an overview of the watches we offer. After the sale, you are always our customer. Our customer service is second to none and we strive to make sure you are satisfied with your purchase. We are proud to have a liberal return policy. 

Filter

Back to Product ReviewsBack to Product Reviews

7 Product Ratings and Reviews

Marathon Swiss Made, GSAR Arctic Edition Automatic Military Divers Watch with Sapphire Crystal #WW19

Marathon Swiss Made, GSAR Arctic Edition Automatic Military Divers Watch with Sapphire Crystal #WW19

View Product on Site   View Product on Site

4.9

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
6
(86%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1
(14%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
0
(0%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
0
(0%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
0
(0%)

About this Company

Welcome to Island Watch. We're a small family owned and operated company that is proud to provide 100% authentic quality watches online - the styles of which you will not find in your local jewelry store. Our watches come in many styles from Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Far East and made right here in the United States. We are quickly approaching our 2021 Black Friday Watches sale, which starts on Thanksgiving Day at 1pm. Throughout the year, you'll find divers from Seiko Watches, fliegers from Laco, along with models from Islander and more. Take a look around our store, and while you are at it, be sure and subscribe to our informative Youtube channel to get an overview of the watches we offer. After the sale, you are always our customer. Our customer service is second to none and we strive to make sure you are satisfied with your purchase. We are proud to have a liberal return policy. 

Filter
Marathon Swiss Made, GSAR Arctic Edition Automatic Military Divers Watch with Sapphire Crystal #WW19
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Marathon Swiss Made, GSAR Arctic Edition Automatic Military Divers Watch with Sapphire Crystal #WW19
See more product reviews

Nick K - 01/17/2022

Clean Look

Clean. Readable. Love the Tritium lume.

Nick K

01/17/2022 - NE

As always, Marc is great.


Marathon Swiss Made, GSAR Arctic Edition Automatic Military Divers Watch with Sapphire Crystal #WW19
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Marathon Swiss Made, GSAR Arctic Edition Automatic Military Divers Watch with Sapphire Crystal #WW19
See more product reviews

Caio - 01/15/2022

Great watch

Dial has excellent visibility, light or dark. Accuracy is excellent, and it looks good.

Caio

01/15/2022 - CA

Quick and easy


Marathon Swiss Made, GSAR Arctic Edition Automatic Military Divers Watch with Sapphire Crystal #WW19
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Marathon Swiss Made, GSAR Arctic Edition Automatic Military Divers Watch with Sapphire Crystal #WW19
See more product reviews

Ricardo O - 11/20/2021

Absolutely beautiful white dial. I also own the black dial version and this one looks way better and much more legible. The red accents perfectly stand out . Only drawback of my particular watch is that it arrived with some sort of stain along the crown.

Ricardo O

11/20/2021 - Baja California Sur

Smooth


Marathon Swiss Made, GSAR Arctic Edition Automatic Military Divers Watch with Sapphire Crystal #WW19
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Marathon Swiss Made, GSAR Arctic Edition Automatic Military Divers Watch with Sapphire Crystal #WW19
See more product reviews

Daniel - 11/07/2021

Wouldn’t consider any other brand

Thinking about buying the jumbo size diver’s, as this medium is a little small on my wrist. Nonetheless, this is about as solid a watch as you can buy. Also dealing with Long Island has been great. Will definitely be buying another watch or two from them in the future.

Daniel

11/07/2021 - NH

I watched some of your videos on YouTube. It was Mark's depth of knowledge and experience with watches that sold me on buying from your company. He's definitely not just a salesman; he really knows his stuff. And the site is a really great site to navigate. One of the most handy and useful features is the compare feature. It allowed me to quickly narrow down my choices to the one I just bought. Thank you and look forward to getting the watch.


Marathon Swiss Made, GSAR Arctic Edition Automatic Military Divers Watch with Sapphire Crystal #WW19
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer
Marathon Swiss Made, GSAR Arctic Edition Automatic Military Divers Watch with Sapphire Crystal #WW19
See more product reviews

Travis - 11/05/2021

My full impressions / review of this amazing watch!

Marathon Artic GSAR 41mm. Impressions. A quick summery of me and watches: Since I was in 4th grade, I have loved watches. (I am 40 now). I started off with the likes of Swiss Army and Tissot and for a long time was happy. Then, as I got older, I really wanted an Omega Seamaster. I was gifted one on my wedding day in 2010 and have been in love with it ever since. However, recently have wanted to get a few more (less costly) for more daily wear and start to not wear my Omega as much. On my 40th birthday I ordered a new Damasko DS-30 and was blown away. Then, my wife bought me a nice watch box and once I placed all my watches in it, I saw that every one of them was a black face! I started to think about getting one with a white face and my search started. I found two watches that I really loved, after months of looking online and watching more reviews than I could count. The Sinn 104 (white dial) Marathon GSAR Artic (41mm version). Yes, I know the two watches are VERY different, but for me it really came down to these two. Picking between the two was not easy (for me). I do think that at some point I will own both, lol. Last week I decided on the Marathon. Mainly because it’s a bit more suited for casual, daily wear and compliments my Damasko DS-30 in terms of the “rugged” and “tool watch” look and feel. I felt the Sinn 104 compliments my Omega Seamaster (and some people who buy it, buy it with that in mind). I find myself wearing my Seamaster less and less and I am not sure why. I think the high polish and more “fancy” or “bling” factor to it (while very nice) is also something I am starting to want to avoid in daily wear cases. I am self-employed, work from home and am not in situations where I get dressed up often. I am also a bit older (and wiser now) and care less and less what “people think”, so the “show factor” is something I simply don’t care about anymore. I prefer to have a story to tell about a watch vs. The logo on the dial. So, I do feel like wearing my Omega watch (or anything that is like it) just feels “overkill” most of the time. I am also pretty active. I lift weights, run, bike, go for walks often etc. So, having a more rugged watch also fits into my lifestyle and self-image a bit more. (if that makes any sense). For the record I wear a G-shock during workouts, lol. Now, I have seen all of the video reviews of the Marathon GSAR Artic, most of which are the smaller 38mm version. Which (at first) worried me. It was not until middle of this year (2021) that I see they released the 41mm version and THAT was a big deal. I have small wrists, but they are narrow with a nice wide flat top. So, I can “pull off” regular size watches without issue. The smaller MSAR at 38mm, I can tell just by looking at my 41mm would be WAY too small looking on the wrist. So, I am going to depart here and just save you some reading and make some bullet points on the things that I realized when I got the watch in person vs. Anything I saw or read online and try to give you some useful thoughts on this amazing watch. The size of the 41mm is not too big. This was my biggest worry and I have 6” wrists (but wider flat tops) and the lugs are fully contained on wrist. The other thing to think about is the dial. So, when I look down at this on my wrist the dial SEEMS smaller vs. My Seamaster, or Damasko DS-30, or any other watch in the 40+mm range. This has to do with the depth of the case and the “feel” of how it all comes together. So, when in doubt order the 41mm. The print on the dial is exceptional. I noticed this right away when I took it out of the box. It’s like a super sharp, “micro-HD” printing that just works so perfectly. While smaller than my other watches, it’s just as (if not more so) easier to read. This does in fact look WAY better in person than any video will show. The watch overall seems smaller and more compact vs. Most all videos that I saw as well. So, that is a good thing. The bezel is not too big, or too tall. It’s really nice and makes it hard to touch anything else. It’s as solid as a rock, the grip is second to none and at the same time looks great and all business. With that said, it took me a few days to finally notice that there is a *slight* alignment issue. I can perfectly align the top triangle fine.. But when I do I can see that the bottom “30” marker seems to be off just by one click. If I try to align that then the top triangle is then off by the same amount. So, that is too bad. But, I will say that it is so small I can barely notice and is not something I am going to send in. I will simply mention it when it goes for service one day in the future. FWIW, the bezel on my Seamaster does not align perfectly either, lol and that watch cost x5 times as much. So, again I am not too worried. This is a SOLID feeling watch. It’s heavy. More than most. For the first 2 days, I did notice it. (Now a week later, and I don’t notice it at all). But, just know you may notice it and give it a few days. I also feel like some straps work better vs. Others on this watch. For example, my paratrooper style straps that are infinitely adjustable are great. It allows me to snug up the watch on wrist just perfectly and this controls any flopping of the watch head. Some of my Natos are great, if the holes align just right. But, if the strap is too loose by one hole, the weight of the watch is annoying. So, this is what I mean about some straps are better vs. Others. With the right strap the watch feels like a feather. The “red” second hand. This is interesting. I guess it depends who you ask, but if you ask me Marathon did something very clever with this. They used a tone of red that has a *slight* tint of orange to it. In some cases, it actually appears more orange vs. Red. In other cases, its more red. This will either be a love or hate thing. For me, I love it. It works so well and is not a bright “Ferrari red” like most watches would feature. So, it seems to blend well with tons of different strap colors and I love that. The crown is stunning. Period. It’s the most robust crown you will likely ever interact with. It looks the business and feels the same. Lastly, the lume. The tritium tubes are no joke. I figured they would be dim, and dull, like most of what I saw online. Oh, that is far from reality. It’s MUCH brighter than expected and is 100% consistent. 4am in bed looking at this, looks like most watches at full lume. It's remarkable and I already can tell I am dreading wearing anything else now. I also love the texture they add to the dial during the day. This really adds to the watch having a very unique presence. The watch looks STUNNING from 5 feet away. (It looks great wearing it, but there is something about its “look” at a distance that is compelling as well). Looking in the mirror, or someone wearing this watch from a short distance and it looks so sporty and complex. The high contrast really draws attention to it and almost forces someone to ask “what is that?”. That is perhaps my biggest feeling. This is truly, truly a very unique watch. You will not find anything else like it (I have tried all year). So many watches all look alike now. Pilots watch, look at Stowa or Laco, or Hamilton and they all start to look and feel the same. Same with field watches. They all start to look the same. Dive watches too, perhaps the most. The GSAR (specifically the artic version) is one that is in its own class. Nothing comes close at any price point and that is something I really love. So, what do I not like? Well, it’s hard to say. But, I can think of three things that would make it better. The date window is hard to read. It just is, and feels a little like an afterthought. BUT, I still rather it be there than not. It’s just not my fav. Aspect of the dial. I honestly don’t know how to improve this and I think it works better on the black dial version of this watch. With the white, it plays tricks with the eyes and is simply hard to read in any condition, unless you have super sharp close vision. I feel like this would be amazing if it were made of titanium. Lighter, and could buff out scratches with ease. Or.. I wish it had a hardened steel option like the Damasko DS-30 / Sinn watches. That being said, I am glad it's at least ALL brushed and not polished. That would have been a nightmare. Accuracy. So far, its running +9 (three weeks into it). Assuming it stays there, it's not horrible, but it's nothing special either. +4 or 5 would have been great, but who knows... Maybe in time it will settle down some. But generally, I am told that is unlikely. Overall, not a big deal. The look of this watch, the wide range of straps, drilled lugs, and the more than reasonable asking price at full retail make this truly a no brainer buy. Wearing this beauty you communicate strength, intelligence and just an overall more interesting self-image. Generally, I have buyer's remorse after a few days / a weeks and I happy to say that this is not the case here. This is perhaps the first time I set out looking for something and really found it and am happy with it.

Travis

11/05/2021 - FL

This is my second purchase from LI, I bought a Damasko DS30 May 2021, and here I am back in Oct for a new Artic Marathon :-) I love the fast responses to my questions, I love the YouTube channel and just in general feel great about doing business with you :-)


why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business   longislandwatch.com

© 2022 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2022