In 1962, a young couple, Rosanne and Bill Fitzula, Jr., opened a variety store to serve the needs of the mostly middle class Italian families that lived in the area. Located 90 miles North of New York City on the western shores of the Hudson River in the quaint Village of West Haverstraw, they began their life journey together. The store fronted Railroad Avenue and Bill and Rosanne lived upstairs allowing them to work side by side in their labor of love. Over the next 10 years their store prospered and their little family grew. They raised two handsome boys, Billy, Freddy and one beautiful daughter Cindy.

In the early 1970's Bill decided to transform the variety store into a full fledged jewelry store and after years of night classes and endless training successfully converted their little store into a full service jewelry store focusing on diamonds and watches.

For the next 25 years Rosanne and Bill watched their children grow up, begin families of their own and tinkered with the inventory to match the changing needs of the locale community.

In 1997 under the capable direction of their son Billy they launched their first website. They were far ahead of their time and experimented constantly as they awaited the world to beat a small path to their door.

In 2000, Rosanne passed away, causing Bill to close down the store for three months. During those three months Bill reflected on his life, his lost love Rosanne and the wonderful family he had been blessed with. With the support and encouragement of his three children he once again made a change in the direction of the store. He decided the time was right to pursue a dream he and Rosanne had to focus their attention on the gifts and collectible market. For the next three years Bill and his children, all who worked part time as needed, transitioned the store from exclusively jewelry to primarily gifts and collectibles focusing on those hard to get pieces that weren’t readily available in the area.

By 2003 the neighborhood and the surrounding area had changed. The quaint little neighborhood made up of small family owned businesses had morphed into another suburb of New York City complete with fast food restaurants and giant box national retailers. It was once again time for a major change.

Bill decided to move his store to the little town of West Milford, NJ. Located in the "Heart of the Highlands". He once again has found the idyllic serenity that he once knew in the Village of West Haverstraw.

After spending 11 years in West Milford an opportunity to own their own building presented itself. With vision and foresight Bill and Billy purchased the old diner in Greenwood Lake, New York. They renovated the building adding a second floor which is used as their storage area. The grand opening of the new building was May 1, 2015. "We chose Greenwood Lake because it's a vibrant community," says Bill. "There are people walking downtown, kids playing on the field across the street and a lot of events that bring people together here." Billy added that he looks forward to being in Greenwood Lake for as long as his parents were in West Haverstraw.

"We welcome the Fitzula familty to Greenwood Lake," says Kevin Sweeney, President of the Greenwood Lake Chamber of Commerce. "They have done an outstanding job completely renovating the building they purchased and we thank them for thier investment in our downtown."

If you happen to find yourself in the area please stop in and say hello and take your time looking around the shop that Rosanne and Bill started 45 years ago. Don't rush, we are glad you've come and we are in no hurry to see you leave, as this is where we come to relax and enjoy life.

Bill and Billy Fitzula

Filter

2,165 Verified Customer Reviews

2,165 Customer Ratings and Reviews

Shopper Approved collects trusted reviews from customers who have made a verified purchase.

4.8

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1936
(89.4%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
160
(7.4%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
46
(2.1%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
7
(0.3%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
16
(0.7%)

Customer Service
4.7
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
73
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
2
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
4
SHOW DETAILS

5-star reviews
1,750+

5-star reviews

7 years collecting reviews

About this Company

In 1962, a young couple, Rosanne and Bill Fitzula, Jr., opened a variety store to serve the needs of the mostly middle class Italian families that lived in the area. Located 90 miles North of New York City on the western shores of the Hudson River in the quaint Village of West Haverstraw, they began their life journey together. The store fronted Railroad Avenue and Bill and Rosanne lived upstairs allowing them to work side by side in their labor of love. Over the next 10 years their store prospered and their little family grew. They raised two handsome boys, Billy, Freddy and one beautiful daughter Cindy.

In the early 1970's Bill decided to transform the variety store into a full fledged jewelry store and after years of night classes and endless training successfully converted their little store into a full service jewelry store focusing on diamonds and watches.

For the next 25 years Rosanne and Bill watched their children grow up, begin families of their own and tinkered with the inventory to match the changing needs of the locale community.

In 1997 under the capable direction of their son Billy they launched their first website. They were far ahead of their time and experimented constantly as they awaited the world to beat a small path to their door.

In 2000, Rosanne passed away, causing Bill to close down the store for three months. During those three months Bill reflected on his life, his lost love Rosanne and the wonderful family he had been blessed with. With the support and encouragement of his three children he once again made a change in the direction of the store. He decided the time was right to pursue a dream he and Rosanne had to focus their attention on the gifts and collectible market. For the next three years Bill and his children, all who worked part time as needed, transitioned the store from exclusively jewelry to primarily gifts and collectibles focusing on those hard to get pieces that weren’t readily available in the area.

By 2003 the neighborhood and the surrounding area had changed. The quaint little neighborhood made up of small family owned businesses had morphed into another suburb of New York City complete with fast food restaurants and giant box national retailers. It was once again time for a major change.

Bill decided to move his store to the little town of West Milford, NJ. Located in the "Heart of the Highlands". He once again has found the idyllic serenity that he once knew in the Village of West Haverstraw.

After spending 11 years in West Milford an opportunity to own their own building presented itself. With vision and foresight Bill and Billy purchased the old diner in Greenwood Lake, New York. They renovated the building adding a second floor which is used as their storage area. The grand opening of the new building was May 1, 2015. "We chose Greenwood Lake because it's a vibrant community," says Bill. "There are people walking downtown, kids playing on the field across the street and a lot of events that bring people together here." Billy added that he looks forward to being in Greenwood Lake for as long as his parents were in West Haverstraw.

"We welcome the Fitzula familty to Greenwood Lake," says Kevin Sweeney, President of the Greenwood Lake Chamber of Commerce. "They have done an outstanding job completely renovating the building they purchased and we thank them for thier investment in our downtown."

If you happen to find yourself in the area please stop in and say hello and take your time looking around the shop that Rosanne and Bill started 45 years ago. Don't rush, we are glad you've come and we are in no hurry to see you leave, as this is where we come to relax and enjoy life.

Bill and Billy Fitzula

Video Reviews

View All
Filter
J
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Jamie W.
Today , MT

Found exactly what i was looking for. Smooth checkout

Product Choice

Love hot air balloons


D
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Diane K.
Today , NJ

Extremely kind and thoughtful business.

Product Choice

I love the craftsmanship on the product.


A
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Always S.
3 days ago , OR

Unique items and fast shipping. Thank you!


L
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer LuAnne H.
3 days ago , IL

Purchased the serenity angel at a local store

Product Choice

To give as gifts


J
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Joanne L.
4 days ago , MA

Loved the gnomes - price was reasonable and shipping was pretty quick! Will purchase again

Product Choice

Because they are adorable


M
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Marisela V.
4 days ago , TX

This is my second order. If find your sale prices and shipping fees very competitive, if not the best.

Product Choice

Sale price, shipping fee and no sales tax.


D
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Dorine P.
4 days ago , MA

Quick delivery..adorable mug

Product Choice

I already own the mug and someone else wanted it


S
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Sherlyn M.
1 week ago , MO

Easy to order

Product Choice

To put with my Dept 56 restaurant


C
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Carolyn W.
1 week ago , NJ

Beautiful product selection. Super-fast shipping. Fragile items, well packed. Very pleased and will shop here again.

Product Choice

Hard to find Ganz flowers and Precious Moments figurines. Thanks for carrying these.


S
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Stephanie G.
1 week ago , PA

Fast surface. Nicely wrapped


K
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer KAYLA K.
1 week ago , MN

Great experience!


J
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Jen P.
1 week ago , UT

Shipped fast. Cute one of a kind item

Product Choice

Adorable


M
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Margaret D.
1 week ago , NY

the person I spoke to was very helpful-the santa I wanted was available thru your store which I couldnt find anywhere else and it came very quickly-thanks-I will be ordering from your store in the future


T
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Teresa K.
1 week ago , NY

Quality items


B
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Bonnie M.
2 weeks ago , IN

Nice items
I received the Cardinal for Christmas and am picking up 2 for my Girls

Product Choice

See above


T
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer The R.
2 weeks ago , SC

The piece I ordered came well packaged without any damage. It seemed to take a long time to be delivered, but I would order from them in the future.

Product Choice

I collect nativity sets, and this particular item looked beautiful in the catalog; it is also beautiful in person.


J
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Joseph M.
2 weeks ago , NY

I was pleasantly surprised with the order. I was ordering fairly late and was concerned that the gift I ordered would not arrive in time for Christmas, but took a chance anyway (if it wasn't going to show up on time, I could always get something else, and save this gift for next year....). I had went with standard shipping, as at that point, even with the "rush" options, it really wouldn't have made much difference. Well, imagine my surprise, when, with standard shipping, it arrived THE VERY NEXT DAY!!!

The only thing was that it only came wrapped in bubble wrap, and no box, which I didn't know until too late. (maybe put a note or something in the description?). But a little creative wrapping took care of that! Bundled it in tissue with ribbons tying it at both ends, so it looked like a giant candy!

Product Choice

It was a gift for a fireman friend. The ornament was a Fireman Dalmatian.


N
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Nancy W.
2 weeks ago , CA

Your company is the worst I have experienced in many years. I mistakenly ordered the wrong item and wanted to exchange or return to purchase correct item. As you know, you do not exchange. The cost to return, since you do not provide a return label allowing your customers to use your account, is prohibitive - the cheapest quote I received was $120.00 because of the size of the box and the item cost was $72.00. On top of that you charge a restocking fee! Your customer service said 'this time only he would wave the restocking fee'. I would give your business less than one star if that was possible and every time I look at the figurine I get upset! So thank you for a miserable experience!

Customer Service
1/5

Product Choice

I wanted Santa with kittens and inadvertently ordered the Santa with singing animals instead of the Santa holding basket of kittens. This gift was for my granddaughter who is 5 and loves kittens. I am very much into keepsakes and wanted to start an Impossible Dreams collection for her!


J
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer john L.
2 weeks ago , MA

Great


M
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Margaret F.
2 weeks ago , MI

Easy to use website and ordering processl

Product Choice

Because my granddaughter cannot have a live husky so this is second best for cuddlingl


Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business
Website

© 2023 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2023