dronepilotgroundschool.com Reviews

About this Company

Drone Pilot Ground School is the U.S. drone industry's #1 online test prep course to pass the FAA's Part 107 commercial drone pilot exam, with over 40,000 customers. Drone Pilot Ground School is owned by UAV Coach, a leading drone training company that was founded in 2014 and is based in Nashville, TN. Our customers range from solo entrepreneurs and small businesses to corporations, educational institutions, government agencies and public safety departments.

Our core products are online drone certification courses and in-person flight training. Our 30 flight instructors, located in all major U.S. cities, have taught 1,500+ people in hands-on drone flight training sessions. We’re also an FAA-approved Test Administrator for The Recreational UAS Safety Test (TRUST), with 50,000+ recreational drone pilots completing their training through our website since it launched in June 2021.

Beyond paid offerings, we provide a multitude of free resources for the commercial and recreational drone industry. We report on industry news with our weekly newsletter, provide educational drone videos on our YouTube channel, and publish free drone guides and resources on UAVCoach.com and DronePilotGroundSchool.com.

We are a family-run company that values integrity, a growth mindset and a can-do attitude.

Filter

3,254 Verified Customer Reviews

3,254 Customer Ratings and Reviews

Shopper Approved collects trusted reviews from customers who have made a verified purchase.

4.9

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
3072
(94.4%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
169
(5.2%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
10
(0.3%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1
(0%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
2
(0.1%)

Customer Service
4.9
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
981
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
46
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
10
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
4
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
12
SHOW DETAILS

5-star reviews
3,000+

5-star reviews

5 years collecting reviews

About this Company

Drone Pilot Ground School is the U.S. drone industry's #1 online test prep course to pass the FAA's Part 107 commercial drone pilot exam, with over 40,000 customers. Drone Pilot Ground School is owned by UAV Coach, a leading drone training company that was founded in 2014 and is based in Nashville, TN. Our customers range from solo entrepreneurs and small businesses to corporations, educational institutions, government agencies and public safety departments.

Our core products are online drone certification courses and in-person flight training. Our 30 flight instructors, located in all major U.S. cities, have taught 1,500+ people in hands-on drone flight training sessions. We’re also an FAA-approved Test Administrator for The Recreational UAS Safety Test (TRUST), with 50,000+ recreational drone pilots completing their training through our website since it launched in June 2021.

Beyond paid offerings, we provide a multitude of free resources for the commercial and recreational drone industry. We report on industry news with our weekly newsletter, provide educational drone videos on our YouTube channel, and publish free drone guides and resources on UAVCoach.com and DronePilotGroundSchool.com.

We are a family-run company that values integrity, a growth mindset and a can-do attitude.

Video Reviews

View All
Filter
M
Matthew W.
4 days ago - Mount Kisco , NY

Clear, concise, and cohesive learning modules.

Reasons for buying:

Drone Pilot Ground School was reputable and had a discount for students.

Company Response

Matt, it's great to hear you had a positive experience with our course and we were able to help you earn your certification.  Thank you for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School and please consider us to be an ongoing drone industry resource as you begin flying commercial operations.


K
KC
4 days ago - GEORGETOWN , DE

I passed the Unmanned Aircraft General-Small (UAG) yesterday with 92%. The program here is great and Alan did a wonderful job as a coach. Everything on the test was covered by the program. I listened to the lectures step by step. I really was confident and prepared.
I went to Dover Air Force Base, Delaware to do the test and the Aero Club who issued the test were on top of their game. Mrs. Connie, who over saw the test was very professional and kind. The facility was very nice, clean, well lite, with nice computers and charts. Kudos to everyone involved in my journey.


Reasons for buying:

I picked the program because it looked like it was organized and well put together in progression.

Company Response

Ken, congrats on your outstanding score and passing your test on the first attempt!  It's great to hear you our course fit your learning style and we were able to help you earn your certification.  Please consider us to be an ongoing drone industry resource as you begin flying under Part 107.  Thank you for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School!


Z
Zac O.
5 days ago - lubbock , TX

Fast, easy, and to the point

Customer Service
5/5

Reasons for buying:

Friend referred

Company Response

Zac, it's great to hear our course fit your learning style and you had a positive experience with our program.  Thank you for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School and please consider us to be an ongoing drone industry resource as you begin flying under Part 107.


A
Alyssa L.
1 week ago - Long Island, NY , NY

I took the FAA Part 107 one time and scored an 87%. I felt very well prepared by Drone Pilot Ground School! Thank you for the great videos, explanations, practice quizzes/tests, and tips. There are even many resources for students after they pass the test if they want to work towards owning their own business. Thank you again for the great lessons!

Customer Service
5/5

Reasons for buying:

I won the course in an Instagram giveaway which was so amazing...thank you! I won it in July 2022 (@teach_andtravel). I began preparation in late September (when I had more time) and felt ready to take the exam by early November.

Company Response

Alyssa, congrats on your outstanding test score!  It's great to hear you had a positive experience with our course and we were able to help you earn your certification.  Please consider us to be an ongoing drone industry as you begin flying under Part 107.  


C
Calvin L.
1 week ago - Arvada , CO

My experience with Drone Pilot Ground School was so easy and professional! The course helped me pass my FAA Part 107 test on the first try.

Customer Service
5/5

Reasons for buying:

There was quite a bit of advertising done by DPGS that showed they were (and are) the industry leader.

Company Response

Calvin, congrats on your outstanding test score and passing your test on the first attempt!  It's great to hear you had a positive experience with our course and please consider us to be an ongoing drone industry resource as you begin flying under Part 107.


G
Graham
1 week ago - Abbeville , LA

The course was easy to follow and in-depth. I contacted Mike with questions unrelated to the Part 107, but instead regarding the use of drones in commercial settings. He provided me with great insight as to what I can expect, as I am just getting into this industry. I feel confident in my knowledge and understanding of drone usage to perform safely, legally, and efficiently.

Customer Service
5/5

Reasons for buying:

I was referred this course through FlyGuys, who I hope to work with in the future, plus DPGS offered a military discount.

Company Response

Graham, it's great to hear you had a positive experience with our program and we were able to help you earn your certification.  Thank you for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School and please consider us to be an ongoing resource as you begin flying under Part 107.


M
Martinvh
1 week ago , UT

Excellent, well thought out course. I passed the FAA exam with a 97% score. I highly recommend it!

Reasons for buying:

The reviews were good.

Company Response

Martin, congrats on your outstanding score!  It's great to hear you had a positive experience with our course and we were able to help you earn your certification.  Please stay in touch and let us know if you have questions as you begin flying under Part 107.


E
Evan
1 week ago - North Bend , WA

I appreciated the way the course is laid out as well as the way the content is delivered. The videos were informative, but not overly formal or dry. The content itself was accurate and focused on the right topics to enable successful passage of the FAA exam. The instructor called sectionals "maps" a couple of times which was irritating, but most people probably think of them like that anyway. The practice tests were helpful, covering the right topics and presenting the information in a way that was well organized and easy to follow.

Customer Service
4/5

Reasons for buying:

There are lots of available resources out there, including some at no charge. Some of their sample videos, though, exposed the fact that they were put together by drone-focused people who really didn't have the general aviation background needed for success in the exam. One outfit, for example, said that almost all the country is covered by class "D" airspace. They referred to icons on the sectional for towers as "hilltops". Clearly, they lacked the expertise in non-drone topics. The Drone Pilot Ground School looked like a professional offering top-to-bottom, and I was not disappointed. I passed the exam on the first attempt with a 97%.

Company Response

Evan, congrats on your outstanding score and passing your test on the first attempt!  It's great to hear our course fit your learning style and we were able to help you earn your certification.  Please consider us to be an ongoing drone industry resource as you begin flying under Part 107.  Thank you for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School!


S
Steve
1 week ago , CO

This course was excellent. I started on Friday at noon, and studied non-stop until Tuesday at noon. I passed the FAA course that same Tuesday. More importantly, I learned a TON. I had zero experience with drones, or flying, and I know I'm well prepared to go out and begin. I HIGHLY recommend this course.

Customer Service
5/5

Company Response

Steve, congrats on passing your test!  It's great to hear you had a positive experience with our course and we were able to help you earn your certification.  Please consider us to be an ongoing resource as you begin flying under Part 107.  Thanks for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School!


N
Nolan M.
1 week ago - Upperco , MD

Phenomenal course. Easy to follow, engaging, and it prepared me for my exam. Passed on the first try with a 90%. Can't recommend Drone Pilot Ground School enough.

Reasons for buying:

Great reviews and thought the course looked user-friendly and approachable.

Company Response

Nolan, congrats on your outstanding score and passing your test on the first attempt!  It's great to hear you had a positive experience with our course and we were able to help you earn your certification.  Please consider us to be an ongoing drone industry resource as you begin flying under Part 107.


B
Bill S.
1 week ago , IL

Drone Pilot Ground School proved to be a very easy way to study for the FAA Part 107 exam. Very comprehensive. I would recommend for any future pilot.

Reasons for buying:

Recommendation by other pilot

Company Response

Bill, it's great to hear you had a positive experience with our course and we were able to help you earn your remote pilot certification.  Thank you for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School and please consider us to be an ongoing resource as you begin flying under Part 107.


S
Srini M.
2 weeks ago - Boston , MA

If anyone looking to be Part 107 certified, and want an online training provider, just do yourself a favor by not wasting your time net scouting for the various options and providers out there. Just enroll with DPGS. These guys are amazing. Their content is very good and the sample tests will enable you to prepare well and be ready for the exam.

The best part I liked about DPGS is, you have direct access to the content creators and they are very responsive and patience in answering any clarifications that you may have with a given topic or questions from the sample tests. I had few clarifications and needed additional help and these guys were on the phone with me for one hour until I got them clarified and also post that never hesitated to assist via follow-up clarifications via email. That one-on-one attention and committed made my experience even special. I have no past experience and knowledge of this domain and I will be honest here, my overall prep included using DPGS online course (90%) and when I wanted to deep dive into certain topics/sample questions, I used YouTube, FAA materials, one-on-one email with DPGS (10%). This approach got me passed with 85% passing score

Customer Service
5/5

Reasons for buying:

The family based business and refund back policy got my attention.

Company Response

Sirini, congrats on your outstanding test score and earning your certification!  It's great to hear you had a positive experience with our course and our support team was able to provide additional guidance to help you out.  Thank you for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School and please consider us to be an ongoing drone resource as you begin flying under Part 107.


A
Alex M.
2 weeks ago - Boston , MA

It was great and on point. I passed my exam with 90% score!

Reasons for buying:

It seemed to be the best option from a price quality perspective.

Company Response

Alex, it's great to hear you had a positive experience with our course and congrats on your outstanding test score!  Thank you for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School and please consider us to be an ongoing resource as you progress as a drone pilot.


E
Edward P.
2 weeks ago - Monterey Park , CA

I considered the cost of the Drone Pilot Ground School to be an investment in my hobby and potential future sideline business. It was like buying an insurance policy for the Part 107 exam. I fully appreciated the logical, linear arrangement of the curriculum. The script was comprehensible, intuitive, and to the point. Alan Perlman directly addresses the issues that a Part 107 exam asks. I went through the entire curriculum several times before actually taking the exam. I made my own flash cards on topics or terminology that I wanted to commit to rote memory. But I also followed the tips presented in the lessons as well as I could, especially the one where Alan Perlman encourages the student to really try to understand the underlying logic and principles behind the FAA rules as well as the laws of physics, weather, safety, and so on. All in all, it is a well put-together program. I doubt that I would have passed the Part 107 exam with a score of 97% if I hadn't gone through Drone Pilot Ground School. The program truly deserves the 5 Star rating that I gave it.

Customer Service
5/5

Reasons for buying:

I watched a few sample videos where Alan Perlman was giving instruction on Part 107 questions, so I thought he was clear and knowledgeable. Plus, I took advantage of the $100 off registration when I signed up for the online coursework.

Company Response

Edward, congrats on your outstanding score!  It's great to hear you had a positive experience with our course and we were able to help you earn your certification.  Thank you for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School and please consider us to be an ongoing drone industry resource as you begin flying under Part 107. 


B
Brian M.
2 weeks ago - Tampa , FL

tl/dr - just sign up with them, it's worth it, and you won't be disappointed.


After being recommended Drone Pilot Ground School, I registered for the course on 11/10/2022. I went through the video lectures, lecture transcripts, practice questions, and practice tests over the next 2-3 days.

While it's one thing to score well on the practice tests, there's always that internal uneasiness where I was wondering to myself if what I studied and prepared for was actually what I would be tested on.

Well, I scheduled to take the formal FAA 107 exam for today, 11/16, and passed with a 92 (55/60). I was scoring 95-98% on the practice tests, so if you follow their guidance of scoring 85%-90% on their practice tests before scheduling your exam, you'll be just fine and well above the minimum 70% pass/fail rate.

BONUS LESSONS! - yes, they include them, and they're my resource I plan on using as soon as my drone arrives (never flown before). Everything from how to use FAA's site to get your Certificate (video tutorial), how to conduct airspace research (e.g. when you're in the field), insurance, legal, best practices, etc. are icing on the cake.

Reasons for buying:

TBH - I'm so busy with life/work as it is, I simply took the recommendation of a vendor I work with and went with it. So glad I did!

Company Response

Brian, congrats on your outstanding score!  It's great to hear our course fit your learning style and you were able to quickly prepare for your test.  Thank you for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School and please consider us to be an ongoing resource as you begin flying under Part 107.


S
Stefan B.
2 weeks ago - Miami , FL

This was by far the best part 107 education resource available. The course was of high production quality, offering comprehensive, detailed, and sequenced modules with quizzes to keep you engaged (and entertained along the way!). Also, if you have any questions, their customer service team will respond quickly and are top-notch professionals - they will make sure not to leave any stone unturned. I couldn't have passed with a 95% on the first try without the help of the awesome folks at Drone Pilot Ground School!

Customer Service
5/5

Reasons for buying:

More professional production and course layout. Not pushing other add-on courses. Plenty of free high-quality resources

Company Response

Stefan, congrats on your outstanding score and passing your test on the first attempt!  It's great to hear you had a positive experience with our program and we were able to help you earn your certification.  Please stay in touch and let us know if you have any questions as you progress as a commercial remote pilot.


D
Dave
2 weeks ago - Akron , OH

DPGS sent me the prep and training course and I jumped right in. Unlike other training videos, the video presentations have a lot of visuals and not just one person talking in front of a camera.
They also break the presentations down into short presentations (typically 3 to 6 minutes). They have quizzes at the end of each short presentation (chapter) and at the end each question's answer is explained.
They have five practice tests at the end of the course. After I completed the course I went back and took each chapter test again and then did the 5 practice tests. I spent about 8 hours over a weekend for review and took the test 24 hours later.
I would guesstamate that at least 90% of the test questions on the test were in the study materials from DPGS.
What's more they give you step by step instructions on signing up for the test AND very helpful instructions on applying for your license after you pass.
I saw no hiccups in the DPGS program and strongly recommend it.
Oh BTW I'm 66 years old and hadn't taken a proctored test in over 20 years.

Reasons for buying:

I took a drone flying lesson and the instuctor recommended DPGS.

Company Response

Dave, congrats on passing your test!  It's great to hear our course fit your learning style and we were able to help you earn your certification.  It's great to hear you completed a hands-on flight training session and please consider us to be an ongoing drone industry resource as you begin flying under Part 107.  Thanks for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School!


D
Daniel
2 weeks ago - Westlake , OH

Thank you Drone Pilot Ground School! Yesterday I did not just pass the UAG test, I actually crashed it scoring 92% at my first attempt. This is pretty impressive considering that English is not my first language.

They made the studying experience so easy and captivating that is almost impossible to fail the test. Not only that, once you are done with their course, you have real understanding and knowledge of what you learn. Lastly I loved the fact that they are very responsive when you email them with any questions or concerns. Outstanding!

Customer Service
5/5

Reasons for buying:

You guys are more captivating

Company Response

Daniel, congrats on your outstanding score and passing your test on the first attempt.  It's great to hear you had a positive experience with our program and we were able to help you earn your remote pilot certification.  Please consider us to be an ongoing resource as you begin flying under Part 107.


O
Orion S.
2 weeks ago - Austin , TX

Drone Pilot Ground School proved to be one of the best professional learning experiences of my life, hands down. The program is well organized, presented in a very digestible and understandable format, and covers even the most difficult/complex topics with a sense of ease and confidence that is contagious. I had almost zero experience with drones, but after completing the course I passed the exam with flying colors. And just as importantly, I feel like I now have a great foundation to build on. I'm an ISA Certified Arborist working in the survey industry, and I'm excited to expand my professional capabilities with a technology that is only going to become more and more applicable to our data collection processes. Thanks to Allen for a great lecture series and Mike for exceptional support. I would give 6 stars if I could!

Customer Service
5/5

Reasons for buying:

Like many things these days, I chose DPGS in part because of the general vibe of their online presence (clean, professional, approachable). Diving in to their offering, I thought the success rate, the format (online and on my schedule), and the price made it a no-brainer.

Company Response

Orion, congrats on passing your test on the first attempt and thank you for the kind words!  It's great to hear you had a positive experience with our program and we were able to help you earn your certification.  Thank you for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School and please let us know if you have questions as you begin flying under Part 107. 


A
Adolfo M.
3 weeks ago , MO

I am extremely satisfied with the training materials made available in this course. Everything was laid out in an organized manner and the lessons were clear with the objectives and concentrated on giving you the tools to fully understand the material versus relying simply on memorization. The practice exams at the end of each lesson were really helpful.

I passed on the first try with a 97% score. Thank you Drone Pilot Ground School!

Customer Service
5/5

Reasons for buying:

Seemed to be highly recommended in a lot of reviews.

Company Response

Congrats on your outstanding score, Adolfo!  It's great to hear you had a positive experience with our course and we were able to help you earn your certification.  Please stay in touch and let us know if you have questions as you begin flying under Part 107.


Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business
Website

© 2022 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2022