dronepilotgroundschool.com Reviews

About this Company

Drone Pilot Ground School is the U.S. drone industry's #1 online test prep course to pass the FAA's Part 107 commercial drone pilot exam, with over 40,000 customers. Drone Pilot Ground School is owned by UAV Coach, a leading drone training company that was founded in 2014 and is based in Nashville, TN. Our customers range from solo entrepreneurs and small businesses to corporations, educational institutions, government agencies and public safety departments.

Our core products are online drone certification courses and in-person flight training. Our 30 flight instructors, located in all major U.S. cities, have taught 1,500+ people in hands-on drone flight training sessions. We’re also an FAA-approved Test Administrator for The Recreational UAS Safety Test (TRUST), with 50,000+ recreational drone pilots completing their training through our website since it launched in June 2021.

Beyond paid offerings, we provide a multitude of free resources for the commercial and recreational drone industry. We report on industry news with our weekly newsletter, provide educational drone videos on our YouTube channel, and publish free drone guides and resources on UAVCoach.com and DronePilotGroundSchool.com.

We are a family-run company that values integrity, a growth mindset and a can-do attitude.

Filter

3,743 Verified Customer Reviews

3,743 Customer Ratings and Reviews

Shopper Approved collects trusted reviews from customers who have made a verified purchase.

4.9

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
3548
(94.8%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
182
(4.9%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
10
(0.3%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1
(0%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
2
(0.1%)

Customer Service
4.9
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1163
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
48
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
11
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
5
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
12
SHOW DETAILS

5-star reviews
3,500+

5-star reviews

8 years collecting reviews

About this Company

Drone Pilot Ground School is the U.S. drone industry's #1 online test prep course to pass the FAA's Part 107 commercial drone pilot exam, with over 40,000 customers. Drone Pilot Ground School is owned by UAV Coach, a leading drone training company that was founded in 2014 and is based in Nashville, TN. Our customers range from solo entrepreneurs and small businesses to corporations, educational institutions, government agencies and public safety departments.

Our core products are online drone certification courses and in-person flight training. Our 30 flight instructors, located in all major U.S. cities, have taught 1,500+ people in hands-on drone flight training sessions. We’re also an FAA-approved Test Administrator for The Recreational UAS Safety Test (TRUST), with 50,000+ recreational drone pilots completing their training through our website since it launched in June 2021.

Beyond paid offerings, we provide a multitude of free resources for the commercial and recreational drone industry. We report on industry news with our weekly newsletter, provide educational drone videos on our YouTube channel, and publish free drone guides and resources on UAVCoach.com and DronePilotGroundSchool.com.

We are a family-run company that values integrity, a growth mindset and a can-do attitude.

Video Reviews

View All
Filter
W
Wann D.
1 day ago - Douglasville , GA

When I first decided to undertake the FAA Part 107 route, I did not know how I would study, track my progress, and pass... UNTIL stumbling across Drone Pilot Ground School (UAV Coach) on the web. Their instructional videos, taught in lecture by Alan Perlman, were the perfect blend of knowledge, test preparation, quizzes, and practical advice for the test. Every section is broken down in an easy-to-follow method, and it covers EVERYTHING that you need to know for the test. After completing the course, I passed the FAA Airman Knowledge Test for the first time! Not only did I pass, but they have continued studies in drone proficiency, which the FAA does not test. With Drone Pilot Ground School, I can now view myself as a competent Remote Pilot - with a school and team to support me in this new career pathway. I am thankful to God that this platform was created. For without it, I would not have passed so easily, nor would I have continued guidance. With drones, I've gone from a lost sheep to a confident pupil, primarily due to them.

Reasons for buying:

I chose Drone Pilot Ground School because of its website layout, detailed education platform, and how its instructor (Alan Perlman) delivered the content.


M
Mark
2 days ago , NY

Drone Pilot Ground School is a very well put together program that helped me immensely to pass my exam on the first try. They will be a great resource going forward as I continue to develop my knowledge and skills.


C
Chris
4 days ago

It was very helpful. I like the lectures and the material was put together very well.


B
B. O.
5 days ago - Camden , NC

It was a straightforward course and very intuitive. I highly recommend the weekly live virtual Q&A. This allowed me to further understand many subjects by associating them to real life rather than an hypothetical situations. I scored a 90% on my first attempt with little previous knowledge of the industry.

Reasons for buying:

This program was recommended by the WWP (Wounded Warrior Project). I'm an unemployed disabled vet and trying to ensure I have a plan B for cased like this poor economy.


C
Clyde S.
6 days ago - Medford , OR

I am completely satisfied with these folks. I looked into many different courses and these guys stood out. They offer top notch courses, practice test and support. I felt completely confident going into my test, knowing that I would pass! Thank you for putting together such a great course!

Reasons for buying:

Most bang for your buck!


K
Kurt
6 days ago - Youngstown , OH

I was hesitant to use Drone Pilot Ground School at first primarily due to the cost. I had observed several other online options and was not sure which choice was best. I am very happy that I made the best choice which was Drone Pilot Ground School. The tutorial videos were very helpful and easy to capture the content. I especially thought the sample tests were most helpful for my style of studying. I took approximately 15 sample tests and I would recommend to anyone to do the same. I passed the FAA exam on 1 attempt and earned a 90 percent.

Reasons for buying:

Drone Pilot Ground School was recommended by a Sheriff’s Department Drone team from a neighboring county.


M
MartW
6 days ago - Clarksville , TN

I used this program as the primary supplement for my study for the Part 107 test. I enjoyed studying at my pace. The practice test was harder for me than the actual test was. I pasted first try, you can too: Just delicate yourself and maybe hand-write each section like I did...it worked for me.

Customer Service
3/5

L
Lori P.
1 week ago , TX

The training course was excellent.

Customer Service
5/5

Reasons for buying:

I tried self-study, but couldn’t grasp some of the concepts. Drone Pilot Ground School took complex information and made it easy (and fun) to learn and understand- and the live session with Mike was so helpful. All around excellent and well worth it. Thank you!


T
Thayden
1 week ago - Royse City , TX

My overall experience with DPGS was great! The videos they provide are amazing and easy to understand. The quizzes after every lesson, get out of here! The practice test are an awesome way to see what lessons you are great at and what lessons need a bit more practice. The questions on the practice test are just like what you will see on the actual test. If you're skeptical about DPGS, well look no further because they teach you everything you need to know before you take your Unmanned Aircraft General test. I recommend ten fold!

Reasons for buying:

The lessons were engaging and fun.

Company Response

Thayden, congrats on passing your test!  It's great to hear our course fit your learning style and you had a positive experience with our program.  Please consider us to be an ongoing drone industry resource as you begin flying under Part 107.  Thanks for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School!


E
Eric T.
1 week ago - Holmesville , OH

I went into this not knowing anything about drones or the rules about drones. This course was easy to use. The practice tests at the end of the course were very close to the actual FAA exam. This course prepared me for the FAA exam.

Company Response

Eric, it's great to hear you had a positive experience with our course and we were able to help you earn your certification.  Thanks for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School and please consider us to be an ongoing resource as you begin flying under Part 107.


D
DJLindahl
1 week ago , KS

The class was thorough and easy to understand with short quizzes at the end of each chapter that were worded like the questions on the actual exam. I took a couple of weeks to go through the lessons and then took the test and passed with a 98%!

Reasons for buying:

Drone Pilot Ground School had the highest success rate with their students passing the exam.

Company Response

Daniel, congrats on your outstanding test score!  That's such great news.  It's great to hear you had a positive experience with our course and we were able to help you earn your certification.  Please consider us to be an ongoing drone industry resource as you begin flying under Part 107.  Thank you for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School!


B
Brian G.
2 weeks ago - Redding , CA

Overall, I received timely and quick responses from support at Drone Pilot Ground School. Their knowledge and expertise in a growing UAV drone world is incredibly helpful. Their prompt, professional and honest information gave me the information I needed to be successful! Thank you!

Customer Service
5/5

Reasons for buying:

I was looking for a product that would effectively prepare me for not only flying my drone, but also help me achieve my part 107 license. Other curriculum simply offered study aids, but this was the only one that gave a guarantee that you would pass or your money back. I learned so much from the courses and will be using this information to help my high school students be career ready for the world of UAV's!

Company Response

Brian, thank you for taking time to leave us your review!  It's great to hear you had a positive experience with our course and found value in our program.  Please consider us to be an ongoing drone industry resource as your progress as a drone pilot.  Thank you for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School!


S
Shots B.
2 weeks ago - Raleigh , NC

When I first started Drone Pilot Ground School I was extremely nervous about it. The information was new, and I was not sure what to expect. The material was very challenging for me at times, but I stuck to the study plan and it worked in my favor. When I need help, Mike was there to answer my questions and I enjoyed attending the weekly virtual meetings. The videos not only were very helpful, but I was able to understand the information even though at times it was challenging. Thank you Drone Pilot Ground School for helping me successfully pass my exam with a 93% on the first try! I would recommend this school to anybody.

Customer Service
5/5

Reasons for buying:

I saw a promo on Instagram. And I liked the name of the school.

Company Response

Jonathon, congrats on your outstanding test score!  You should really be proud of that.  We extremely happy to hear you had a positive experience with our program and the weekly live sessions with Mike.  Thank you for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School and please consider us to be an ongoing drone industry resource as you begin flying commercial operations.


P
Paul R.
2 weeks ago - New Bern , NC

Greatest experience I've ever had. Instructor was the very best.

Reasons for buying:

I spoke to the instructor before attending the class and he was super helpful answering my questions.

Company Response

Paul, it great to hear you had a positive experience with our course and we were able to help you earn your certification.  Thank you for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School and please consider us to be an ongoing drone industry resource as you begin flying under Part 107.


D
David F.
2 weeks ago - Tulsa , TX

Great content. Up to date. Nice short structure. Overall great investment. Past the test on my first try.

Reasons for buying:

The reviews

Company Response

David, congrats on passing your test on the first attempt!  That's such great news.  It's great to hear you had a positive experience with our course and we were able to help you earn your certification.  Thank you for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School!


M
Melanie M.
2 weeks ago - Three Oaks , MI

I wish I would have known about this course prior to taking the FAA test the first time!

The lectures Alan provided were easy to follow and I was able to work at my own pace, starting and stopping to review the areas that I needed additional help with (aerial charts & maps), which was majority of the FAA test questions I missed. The practice tests also helped immensely as I was able to view the specific questions I missed and then go back in the lectures to see exactly why my answer(s) were wrong. This was extremely helpful and removed the apprehension, frustration, and confusion I had been experiencing regarding the test questions and understanding of the content.

I would highly recommend completing the Drone Pilot Ground School course BEFORE taking the FAA test, as I could not have passed with the level of understanding I now possess without having completed this course. Thank you, and Kudos to Alan and the DPGS Team! Your lectures and instruction are Excellent & much appreciated!

Reasons for buying:

After reviewing the content of other similar schools of instruction, I found the DPGS content to be easier to understand and very informative. They also covered the aerial charts/maps and content extensively and extremely well which is where I really needed help understanding the content.

Company Response

Melanie, congrats on passing your test!  We are so proud of you.  It's great to hear you had a positive experience with our course and we were able to help you earn your certification.  Please consider us to be an ongoing resource as you progress as a drone pilot.  Thank you for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School!


C
CE
3 weeks ago - Atlanta , GA

This course works! My scores on the practice exams (took it 5x) and the actual FAA part 107 exam were ALL north of 92% -- with no previous piloting experience. The instruction for each section is concise and laser focused on the right information. The review questions at the end of each section lock-in the concepts -- if you master answering those questions (hard not to), you will pass the FAA exam with flying colors. At the end of the course the practice exams are very much like the actual FAA exam! Drone Pilot Ground School and UAV Coach rock!

Reasons for buying:

The customer reviews were informative and drove the decision…..now I know they were spot on!

Company Response

Congrats on passing your test on the first attempt, Cokey!  You should really be proud of that.  It's great to hear you had a positive experience with our course and we were able to help you earn your certification.  Thank you for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School!


R
Rick C.
3 weeks ago - Los Lunas , NM

Though it took about 3 months for me to study all the material and took the practice test probably 15 to 20 times, at age 50, it was a wonderful experience! I had some questions and wrote emails to Michael who responded quickly with answers and positive encouragement! Will definitely recommend!

Customer Service
5/5

Reasons for buying:

My son recommended this school to me. It was around the Christmas time and the Christmas reduction and cost was also very helpful! Merry Christmas, to me!

Company Response

Rick, congrats on passing your test!  It's great to hear you had a positive experience with our course and we were able to help you earn your certification.  Thank you for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School and please let us know if you have questions as you progress as a drone pilot.


D
Denise W.
3 weeks ago - Effingham , IL

I had a great experience with the Drone Pilot Ground school. It was an easy way to learn all the basics that you would need to know to pass the test and the practice test are great way to prepare. There were times i was so overwhelmed but being able to do it all online at my own pace and being to go back and listen to them time and time again if needed was great!

Reasons for buying:

Having the ability to learn at my own pace on my own time with my busy schedule it was made it work so well for me.

Company Response

Denise, it's great to hear our course fit your learning style and you had a positive experience with our program!  Thank you for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School and please consider us to be an ongoing drone industry resource as you begin flying under Part 107.


R
Rambo
3 weeks ago - Columbus Ohio

Very good, easy to work with. The only issue I had was at the end of the video it would jump to the next one without me going through the practice questions. So I'd just have to go back and do them.

Reasons for buying:

Good reviews

Company Response

Rambo, it's great to hear you had a positive experience with our program and we were able to help you earn your certification.  Thanks for the feedback on the course automatically progressing to the next lesson before you had time to complete the quiz.  Having the 'Autocomplete' setting turned on causes the software to automatically open the next lesson.  Thank you for choosing Drone Pilot Ground School! 


Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business
Website

© 2024 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2024