In 1991, Des Moines Steel founder Elmer Kunkel, opened his doors to the public, with a commitment to providing customers with outstanding service, and quality products at a reasonable price. His commitment serves as the core value of our business today. To date, our customers range from large construction companies, hobbyists, artists, and large manufactures, whom provide products to companies across the globe. Regardless of the purchase size or order, our customers can rely on our dedicated, and knowledgeable staff, to help them acquire what they need, even when it comes to welding and custom fabrication. Because at Des Moines Steel, we truly aspire to be your one-stop steel shop! 

Filter

497 Verified Customer Reviews

497 Customer Ratings and Reviews

Shopper Approved collects trusted reviews from customers who have made a verified purchase.

4.9

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
440
(88.5%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
49
(9.9%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
7
(1.4%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1
(0.2%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
0
(0%)

Product Satisfaction
4.9
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
127
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
11
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
0
Would Buy Again
4.9
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
448
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
41
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
7
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
0
Would Recommend
4.9
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
443
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
44
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
10
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
0
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
0
Price Satisfaction
4.7
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
108
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
24
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
8
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
0
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
0
Customer Service
4.7
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
12
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
0
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
0
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
0
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1
SHOW DETAILS

5-star reviews
250+

5-star reviews

About this Company

In 1991, Des Moines Steel founder Elmer Kunkel, opened his doors to the public, with a commitment to providing customers with outstanding service, and quality products at a reasonable price. His commitment serves as the core value of our business today. To date, our customers range from large construction companies, hobbyists, artists, and large manufactures, whom provide products to companies across the globe. Regardless of the purchase size or order, our customers can rely on our dedicated, and knowledgeable staff, to help them acquire what they need, even when it comes to welding and custom fabrication. Because at Des Moines Steel, we truly aspire to be your one-stop steel shop! 

Filter
J
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Jeff P.
2 days ago , South Carolina

Good Experience

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

J
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Joseph L.
3 days ago , New Jersey

Easy

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

L
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Larry D.
3 days ago , Iowa

Easy to compare products

Would Recommend
4/5
Would Buy Again
4/5

D
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer doug T.
3 days ago , Tennessee

best price, right size, and most important right gauge

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
Product Satisfaction
5/5
Price
5/5

M
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Mike S.
4 days ago , New Mexico

I BOUGHT 15 PIECES 5 FEET LONG. I WOULD THINK FOR VOLUME BUYING THAT THERE WOULD BE A BETTER DISCOUNT. I ALSO NOTICED THAT SHIPPING DIDN'T CHANGE FROM 12 PCS TO 15 I WOULD LIKE TO BE ABLE TO SEE WHAT THE MAXIUM AMOUNT I COULD BUY AT THAT SHIPPING RATE. WHEN I DROPPED IT TO 10 PCS FROM 11 IT CHANGED 5$

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

A
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Andrew W.
4 days ago , Wisconsin

Found what I needed. Ordered it. See what happens.

Would Recommend
3/5
Would Buy Again
4/5

D
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Dewitt L.
6 days ago , Indiana

thank you

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

R
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer R2
6 days ago , Georgia

Thanks for drilling the pipes and tubes. Especially after you let me know that you typically only drill flat metals an not cylindrical parts. The holes were exactly what I wanted.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
Product Satisfaction
5/5
Price
5/5

K
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Kevin P.
1 week ago , Oklahoma

No pain so far!

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

E
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Elio M.
1 week ago , Illinois

Very easy and-simple to order
Will take survey upon arrival

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

V
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Vita B.
1 week ago , Wisconsin

Awesome

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

P
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Peter W.
1 week ago , Tennessee

Couldn't find product anywhere but here

Would Recommend
4/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

R
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Richard A.
1 week ago , Georgia

So far so good

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

D
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer David K.
1 week ago , Pennsylvania

it is easy to navigate and understand product

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

R
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Ron Y.
1 week ago , Ohio

Ok

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
Product Satisfaction
5/5
Price
4/5

D
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Daniel J.
2 weeks ago , Iowa

Website is very easy to use and navigate.

Would Recommend
4/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

G
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Gavin S.
2 weeks ago , Washington

Great service

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
Product Satisfaction
5/5
Price
5/5

S
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Sheryl J.
2 weeks ago , Wisconsin

Easy online ordering.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

D
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer David K.
2 weeks ago , Pennsylvania

very easy

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

T
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Tom A.
2 weeks ago , Texas

quick and simple

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business
Website

© 2023 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2023