africagems.com Reviews

4.8 Overall Satisfaction Rating

Based on 1,671 Ratings

5
1393 (83.4%)
4
234 (14%)
3
38 (2.3%)
2
4 (0.2%)
1
2 (0.1%)
1,250+ 5 stars in a row

Customer Service

4.8 Average

5
(41)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)

Shopper Approved actively collects reviews from actual verified customers, which helps more accurately reflect customer’s overall satisfaction with this company.

africagems.com

About Us

  • Marc Sarosi of AfricaGems.com, has been in the gemstone and jewelry business since 1984. He started from the bottom up, mining and buying gemstones as a gemstone dealer based in Zambia.  Mining and buying aquamarine, emerald, garnets and tourmalines while living in Zambia for 5 years. 
    After returning to the US full time in 1990, he traveled extensively throughout Africa as a very well known dealer of gemstones, buying rough and cut gemstones in Kenya, Tanzania, Mozambique, Namibia, Zambia and South Africa. Recognizing that the internet had tremendous potential, he transitioned from selling wholesale gemstones to the trade and created www.AfricaGems.com in 1998.  Bringing beautiful high quality precious gemstones and semi precious gemstones to a world-wide clientele.
    AfricaGems continues to gain popularity because of the excellent quality of products, great customer experiences and affordable prices.

S

Silvia B.
1 week ago Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Easy and user friendly shopping experience. Clear descriptions and images, making it easy to choose the right stone even for a newbie.
D

Dmitry A.
2 weeks ago , HaSharon Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Friendly environment, very good service and high graded Gems!
CustomerService
5/5

Public Comment

hey thank you Dimi for your loyal support -:)
S

Steve G.
3 weeks ago , NJ Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

My girlfriend loved the opals I bought so much that I ordered more. Both orders arrived in a timely manner. 1 came without the certificate of authenticity paper but i contacted customer service and they sent me one in the mail.
CustomerService
5/5

Public Comment

hi steve - thanks for the review and your support - sorry about the certificate but hopefully you have received it by now
J

J. D.
3 weeks ago , PA Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

I am so happy to have found your website! I had no idea there was a place that would sell such beautiful gems stones at such a reasonable price. Had I gone to my local jeweler I'm sure it would have cost me so much more! Thank you again!!

Public Comment

hi J, thanks for your kind review of the genuine amethyst marquise gemstone - enjoy it for years to come!
J. D. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Marquise Cut Genuine Amethyst in Grade A

View this product

Happy wife= happy life!

I bought this Amethyst stone to replace the one that was lost from my wife's ring I bought for her when we first met 28 yrs ago. She did not want a new ring because of sentimental reasons so I surprised her at Christmas by replacing the lost stone with the new one I ordered from you. Luckily I measured correctly and it fit perfectly. She is so happy now! Thanks for offering low prices on such beautiful stones!

P

Penelope H.
12/20/2019 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

ALWAYS a pleasure! From start to finish! :) xo

Public Comment

thank you Penelope for your continued gem buying support!
A

Alison G.
12/16/2019 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Easy and quick transaction. Marc took helpful video of the stones to narrow them down. After searching for a sapphire stone for some time, I am thankful to do business with a reputable and ethical company.

Public Comment

Thank you Allison for trusting AG with such an important gem buying decision.  We try hard to make it all come together and we hope you enjoy that stunning sapphire for many many years!
R

Rai A.
12/14/2019 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Lots of options for buying diamond with huge range of price range starting from low to highest. Definitely suitable for budget diamond buying.......
D

Donald A.
12/13/2019 , FL Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Africagems is a reliable source for a large variety of gems and jewelry at all price points. The AG website helps customers evaluate their needs by providing in depth information on the wide product selection.

Public Comment

Hi Don - thank you very much for trusting AG for your gem purchasing needs - we aim to please!
E

Eric A.
12/13/2019 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

not seeing a picture of the actual stone is worrisome.
Edit after receipt: no worries needed! Gems look great!

Public Comment

hey Eric - gem buying online is not easy - we get that and always try to under promise and over deliver!  thanks again
H

Hviid U.
12/11/2019 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

I am very happy with your stones and will always come back for more to please my customers.

Public Comment

thank you so much Tina for your gem buying support - and i've learned that Danish and English letters are very different !!  haha
M

Margaret H.
12/08/2019 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Great prices! Excited for the gem to fix a lost stone!
D

darlene C.
11/29/2019 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Great service and trustworthy. Been buying here for years.
T

Tina H.
11/21/2019 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Very nice stones and very helpful service. Will buy more stones from you in the future. I keep returning to you for stones.
Tina H. has reviewed 2 products. Click to view Click to hide

Red Garnet Round Cut Gems in Grade AAA

View this product

Black Genuine Diamonds - Round Cut

View this product

Looks wery good with my design.

A

Amy
10/15/2019 , MI Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Ordering was easy online, and when I had questions it was quick and easy to talk to someone.
CustomerService
5/5
Amy has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Round Diamond Cut Genuine Emerald in Grade AAA

View this product

Great color saturation, thanks

P

Penny H.
09/25/2019 , INTERNATIONAL Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Absolutely love everything about Africa Gems!
This is my 5th time ordering product and I am impressed every time.
Thank you for your fabulous product and service! :)
A

Amy M.
09/19/2019 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Africa Gems has the best custom jewelry website! Far better than blue Nile, etc.
E

Emily E.
09/13/2019 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

97% satisfaction reviews sold me
L

Lien
09/09/2019 , CA Featured Review Bade

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

The yellow saphire ring is beautiful and sparkles like diamond. I enjoy wearing it very much! Thank you Marc :)
A

Angelica N.
09/09/2019 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Mark is very kind and patient. Thank you!
K

Katherine S.
08/31/2019 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

I have being shopping with Africa Gems for years. I have always been happy with what I purchased, the stones are always as lovely as shown online. Marc is great and writes to you quickly.
J

John M.
08/18/2019 , NJ Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Marc was pleasant, helpful, easy to reach, knowledgeable, and patient with me in my indecision. I highly recommend him and Africa Gems!
John M. has reviewed 2 products. Click to view Click to hide

Forever One Moissanite Colorless Round Cut

View this product

A tad more expensive than others offering this product, but still within the reasonable range. These gems are consistently beautiful.

Chatham Alexandrite Round Cut in Grade GEM

View this product

Chatham alexandrite can vary slightly from gem to gem; but mine was a fiery beauty, ranging from bluish green to purplish blue. Others can capture a more intense purple; but their daylight green is less brilliant, and their shimmer is slightly more muted. A great price for these gems.

Loading Page Animation

See more africagems.com Reviews

Visit africagems.com ►