africagems.com Reviews

4.8 Overall Satisfaction Rating

Based on 1,319 Ratings

5
1098 (83.2%)
4
188 (14.3%)
3
28 (2.1%)
2
3 (0.2%)
1
2 (0.2%)
1,000+

Customer Service

4.8 Average

5
(27)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)

Shopper Approved actively collects reviews from actual verified customers, which helps more accurately reflect customer’s overall satisfaction with this company.

africagems.com

About Us

  • Marc Sarosi of AfricaGems.com, has been in the gemstone and jewelry business since 1984. He started from the bottom up, mining and buying gemstones as a gemstone dealer based in Zambia.  Mining and buying aquamarine, emerald, garnets and tourmalines while living in Zambia for 5 years. 
    After returning to the US full time in 1990, he traveled extensively throughout Africa as a very well known dealer of gemstones, buying rough and cut gemstones in Kenya, Tanzania, Mozambique, Namibia, Zambia and South Africa. Recognizing that the internet had tremendous potential, he transitioned from selling wholesale gemstones to the trade and created www.AfricaGems.com in 1998.  Bringing beautiful high quality precious gemstones and semi precious gemstones to a world-wide clientele.
    AfricaGems continues to gain popularity because of the excellent quality of products, great customer experiences and affordable prices.

M

Matt
1 week ago , WA

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"My experience was very positive! I purchased a rare gem stone for an engagement ring which is of high quality as Marc promised, not to mention for a great price compared to local jewelers. Marc was very responsive to my several questions :) and provided great customer services. I would highly recommend AfricaGems.com and will look here first for future purchases."
J

James F.
03/04/2019 , NY

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"easy to use website, good descriptions and great inventory."
James F. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Checkerboard Antique Square Genuine Amethyst in Grade AAA

View this product

Great Deals

Wonderful company to deal with, excellent product, fair price, easy to do business with and very customer oriented.

K

Ken
03/02/2019 , OH

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"The purchase transaction was fine. Regrettably, the product purchased did not serve the intended purpose. I was treated very fairly in the return process and a refund was promptly made. I would do business with Africa Gems again."
CustomerService
5/5
R

Rhoda W.
02/15/2019 , CA

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I love the products offered, and the donation to such a wonderful organization! My only 'complaint'- I wish the site were more simplified- I find it difficult to navigate."
Product Satisfaction
5/5
CustomerService
5/5
Rhoda W. has reviewed 3 products. Click to view Click to hide

Madiera Citrine Marquise Cut in Grade AAA

View this product

Beautiful color and cut...

I ordered a matching pair for earrings. The stones are a beautiful, rich amber-brown, and the cut highlights the color well.

Marquise Cut Genuine Amethyst in Grade A

View this product

Beautiful in every way...

These stones are beautiful- the cut, color and match. I’m very happy with my purchase!

Marquise Black Onyx in Grade AAA

View this product

Great cut for Onyx...

This is a beautiful cut for these Onyx stones- they look rich and sophisticated. I’m very happy with my purchase!

P

PETER K.
02/11/2019

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I have bought several items from Africa Gems. They all looked great, and the customer service from Marc was exceptional."
J

James F.
12/07/2018 , NY

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Great company, easy to do business with .. have been a customer for 20 years or so"
Product Satisfaction
5/5
James F. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Natural White Opal Gemstone 0.85 carats, Oval Cut, 9.3 x 7.3 mm

View this product

As Advertised

Brilliant color, very much as shown. Quality apparent, simple and easy process to purchase.

B

Bradley M.
12/06/2018

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I’ve only bought four (3mm and 4mm) coral cabochons so far, but the quality is phenomenal. I’m a beginning jeweler, and it’s been hard for me to find personal contacts at the outset, so it means a lot to me to find a place that sources and sells 100% genuine, truly high quality gemstones, thank you."
J

James E.
11/25/2018

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Once again you had what I wanted and at a great price, I'm sure the stones and earrings will be of the same superior quality as my previous purchase."
R

Robert C.
11/25/2018

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Always a pleasure!"
L

Laura H.
10/24/2018 , PA

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Love my purchase, look forward to seeing the stones set in the ring I've made. Great customer service and delivery! "
Product Satisfaction
5/5
Laura H. has reviewed 2 products. Click to view Click to hide

Genuine Round Diamonds in E VS Quality

View this product

Haven’t set them yet but they look good!

Diamond Cut Round Genuine White Sapphire in Grade AAA

View this product

Look beautiful, looking forward to setting them.

T

Tom
09/28/2018 , NY

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Marc was very helpful and professional with the entire ordering process. He was very quick to respond and I had no reservations about with with him. I purchased an engagement ring and matching wedding band and they came out beautiful. The Moissanite stone is beautiful and the jewelry is equally as beautiful. Overall it was a great experience with Africa Gems and Marc. Thank you so much!"
Product Satisfaction
5/5
J

Jared S.
09/20/2018 , FL

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Marc helped me decide with cut was best for my Chatham Ruby. I am very happy with my experience. Perfect customer service."
Product Satisfaction
5/5
CustomerService
5/5
Jared S. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Chatham Ruby Emerald Cut in Grade GEM

View this product

Amazing buy!

Best online purchase for a gem I have ever made in the past 18 years! The price was amazing, Marc was extremely helpful, and the qulaity of this gem is perfect in everyway. The color and shape were everything I was hoping for. I would hghly recomend this product to everyone interested in buying a Ruby. I will be making more purchases soon. Next purchase will be for a mount for this Ruby from AfricaGems. Thank you so very much.

Z

Zora M.
08/31/2018

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Easy to use a smartphone to purchase."
A

Amanda S.
08/29/2018 , Tas

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Kept well informed, Posted quickly, Received quickly considering that I am in Australia"
Product Satisfaction
5/5
Amanda S. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Cushion Cut Ametrine Gemstones in Grade AAA

View this product

Lovely stone, is like the pic, more caramel not yellow which I like much better. Very happy thank you

C

Chantelle O.
08/24/2018 , Queensland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Quick and easy"
Product Satisfaction
5/5
Chantelle O. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Diamond Cut Round Genuine White Sapphire in Grade AAA

View this product

Very happy, fantastic gems and at a great price with cheap shipping for overseas customers

N

Nick B.
08/02/2018 , WI

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I have now made several purchases from Africa Gems. I have been extremely pleased with the quality of merchandise and the customer service. I was hesitant at first to buy such valuable items online. Now that I have done it, and dealt with Marc the owner directly, I am extremely satisfied. I will buy more from Africa Gems in the future."
Product Satisfaction
5/5
CustomerService
5/5
B

Benjamin J.
07/22/2018

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I love this site. I have been able to find exactly what I was looking for and all of the information that I needed. I hope my girlfriend loves the stone I'm going to put in her engagement ring."
Product Satisfaction
5/5
CustomerService
5/5
Benjamin J. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Princess Cut Genuine Aquamarine in Grade AA

View this product

Very happy, great transaction!

I was extremely happy all around with this order! Very friendly business, great selection, and surprisingly fast delivery! Will definitely order again and share with friends.

K

Kira T.
07/20/2018 , CA

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Marc from AfricaGems was incredible. I was looking for a pretty specific oval peacock sapphire, and Marc not only had the gem but set it perfectly in an incredible diamond halo. He responded to my emails quickly (often in less than 3 minutes!). When I purchase my next gem, I will absolutely contact Marc. I absolutely love my ring, and he really made it a work of art. "
Product Satisfaction
5/5
CustomerService
5/5
C

camille T.
07/03/2018

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Easy to navigate your site. I trust your product."
D

Devin F.
06/27/2018

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I have looked at a ton of sites and yours was quite good. I am purchasing several stones from other online retailers to judge which stone is best of a custom engagement ring I am trying to make."
R

Richard D.
11/27/2017

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"i love the selection and prices. I would not buy at any other location. Quality is always A1."
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

See more africagems.com Reviews

Visit africagems.com ►