africagems.com Reviews

4.8 Overall Satisfaction Rating

Based on 1,796 Ratings

5
1500 (83.5%)
4
248 (13.8%)
3
40 (2.2%)
2
5 (0.3%)
1
3 (0.2%)
1,500+ 5 stars in a row

Customer Service

4.8 Average

5
(46)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)

Shopper Approved actively collects reviews from actual verified customers, which helps more accurately reflect customer’s overall satisfaction with this company.

africagems.com

About Us

  • Marc Sarosi of AfricaGems.com, has been in the gemstone and jewelry business since 1984. He started from the bottom up, mining and buying gemstones as a gemstone dealer based in Zambia.  Mining and buying aquamarine, emerald, garnets and tourmalines while living in Zambia for 5 years. 
    After returning to the US full time in 1990, he traveled extensively throughout Africa as a very well known dealer of gemstones, buying rough and cut gemstones in Kenya, Tanzania, Mozambique, Namibia, Zambia and South Africa. Recognizing that the internet had tremendous potential, he transitioned from selling wholesale gemstones to the trade and created www.AfricaGems.com in 1998.  Bringing beautiful high quality precious gemstones and semi precious gemstones to a world-wide clientele.
    AfricaGems continues to gain popularity because of the excellent quality of products, great customer experiences and affordable prices.

W

William S.
1 week ago , AR Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

After doing tons of on-line research Africa Gems have the best selection, price, and the interactions I have had are great.
William S. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Genuine Diamonds in F+ Color VS Clarity

View this product

Great people to buy from

Excellent stones, great people to work with!

W

William S.
2 weeks ago , AR Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Easy and helpful shopping experience. I went from buying just one piece to getting another pieces I needed to finish my wife's pendant.
CustomerService
5/5
William S. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Radiant Cut Arizona Peridot in Grade AAA

View this product

Quality stuff!

Excellent stones and service. Will always be my first stop when I’m looking for stones or jewelry

C

Cate
3 weeks ago , CT Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

The website was easy to use and the online purchase process went smoothly. The price I paid for the stone was competitive, especially with free shipping (and shipping time was reasonable for cross-country shippin). The quality of the Chatham stone I received was good, nice faceting and color. The stone was also packed very well for shipment, placed in foam and protected in a small hard plastic case inside the shipping pouch. I would purchase from Africagems.com again in the future.
Cate has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Chatham Emerald Antique Square Cut in Grade GEM

View this product

Chatham created emerald 5mm stone

I purchased this stone to be used in a ring for my daughter. The stone while small (5mm) is faceted well and is very nice. Unfortunately, my daughter upon seeing the stone, has changed her mind about wanting an emerald in the setting, so unfortunately I will need to return it. The purchase process was easy, the shipping time reasonable and the stone was very well packed. I would purchase from Africa Gems again in the future.

S

Silvio M.
4 weeks ago , PR Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Great buying experience, very simple and clear process not to mention very good quality stones.
Silvio M. has reviewed 2 products. Click to view Click to hide

Round Cut Genuine Tsavorite Garnet in Grade AAA

View this product

Magnificent Tsavorite

The stone i received was beautiful and great quality. Would recommend it to anyone and will be definitely buying again.

Genuine Round Alexandrite in Grade A

View this product

Magnificent Alexandrite

The stone i received was beautiful and great quality, the color change is very noticeable. Would recommend it to anyone and will be definitely buying again.

P

Peter S.
4 weeks ago Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Great to find what you want.
Peter S. has reviewed 2 products. Click to view Click to hide

Heart Cut Genuine Ruby in Grade AAA

View this product

Satisfied and will shop again

Deep vibrant color

Heart Cut Genuine Amethyst in Grade AAA

View this product

Quality and Dependable

Very nice , color rich and cut is sparkling

F

Fernando B.
04/04/2020 , Ciudad de México Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

I like how easy is to buy and how clean and intuitive is the site. Beautiful gem options too!
Fernando B. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Round Cut Genuine Rhodolite Garnet in Grade AAA

View this product

Perfect size and incredibly easy to buy from the site. Thanks!

L

Leon E.
03/25/2020 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Very good, I have ordered three more.
CustomerService
5/5
Leon E. has reviewed 3 products. Click to view Click to hide

Imitation Alexandrite Emerald Cut Stones

View this product

Good Gem

Imitation Alexandrite Round Cut Stones

View this product

Good Gem

Imitation Alexandrite Antique Square Cut Stones

View this product

So far, I like what I have ordered.

M

Megan
03/11/2020 , CA Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Great buy!
Megan has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Chatham Champagne Sapphire Emerald Cut in Grade GEM

View this product

This stone is so beautiful! The color of this stone is so vivid!

N

Nathaniel
03/10/2020 , FL Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Every purchase is exceptional and the quality of the stones are always beyond expectation.
Nathaniel has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Imitation Blue Sapphire Round Cut Stones

View this product

Absolutely stunning!

Absolutely stunning stone, I cant wait to use it in a project!

A

Anthony B.
03/10/2020 , NM Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

I ordered a pair of heart shape garnets and they are beautiful! I had a hiccup in my order and Africagem took care of me immediately! Fantastic customer service and response time! Will deffinately be coming back again and again for my gem orders. Thank you Africagems!
CustomerService
5/5
Anthony B. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Heart Cut Genuine Red Garnet in Grade AAA

View this product

Great place to buy gems!

The purchase was awesome and great customer service, Africa Gem took care of me when my order had a little hiccup. Thank you Africa Gem I will be ordering from you guys again and again!!

C

Chris S.
02/26/2020 , WI Featured Review Bade

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

What an absolute pleasure the process of buying an engagement ring was with Africa Gems. Marc was super helpful, replied quickly, and shipped even faster than expected. If that wasn't enough to feel spoiled, the ring is absolutely gorgeous. I wholeheartedly endorse them for any jewelry needs you have.
CustomerService
5/5
J

James P.
02/22/2020 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Great communication, I'm a new jeweller with large contracts and I hope to be using this company very frequently.
J

J. D.
02/18/2020 , PA Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

The quality and look of these gems are outstanding! I can't believe how they can offer them for such a great price! Love the easy and fast shipping too!
J. D. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Marquise Cut Genuine Amethyst in Grade A

View this product

Second time around!

This is my second order. Unfortunately the first gemstone fell out of the mounting that had a damaged prong. I love the low price of these gems which makes losing one not feel so bad! They are so beautiful!

A

Amy W.
02/13/2020 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

The gem arrived safely in packaged in a way that fit into my mail slot to avoid theft from porch pirates (thank you)! The color size and shape were exactly as described. I'm so excited to have my husbands new wedding ring made with the beautiful emerald cut tanzanite (his birthday stone). I appreciate that some proceeds help children in Africa and I'm already looking at ordering something else. The certificate of with the grading analysis arrived shortly after. They also were excellent in communicating the shipping progress. My gemologist friend recommended you and I'm grateful.
R

Renee O.
02/06/2020 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

This is my second time ordering from here and the entire process is easy and fast. I also love the variety of gemstones to choose from.
S

Silvia B.
01/31/2020 , CA Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Easy and user friendly shopping experience. Clear descriptions and images, making it easy to choose the right stone even for a newbie.
Silvia B. has reviewed 2 products. Click to view Click to hide

Heart Cut Genuine Red Garnet in Grade AAA

View this product

Perfect gemstones

Perfect in every way. Beautiful, glittering gemstones. Except for much more beautiful shine in person, the website images are a great representation of color and cut.

Diamonds G-H Color Round Cut - Value Quality Grade in VS-SI Clarity

View this product

Lovely

Beautiful and well worth the security of being able to offer certified value to my customers.

D

Dmitry A.
01/12/2020 , HaSharon Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Friendly environment, very good service and high graded Gems!
CustomerService
5/5

Public Comment

hey thank you Dimi for your loyal support -:)
S

Steve G.
12/31/2019 , NJ Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

My girlfriend loved the opals I bought so much that I ordered more. Both orders arrived in a timely manner. 1 came without the certificate of authenticity paper but i contacted customer service and they sent me one in the mail.
CustomerService
5/5

Public Comment

hi steve - thanks for the review and your support - sorry about the certificate but hopefully you have received it by now
J

J. D.
12/30/2019 , PA Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

I am so happy to have found your website! I had no idea there was a place that would sell such beautiful gems stones at such a reasonable price. Had I gone to my local jeweler I'm sure it would have cost me so much more! Thank you again!!

Public Comment

hi J, thanks for your kind review of the genuine amethyst marquise gemstone - enjoy it for years to come!
J. D. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Marquise Cut Genuine Amethyst in Grade A

View this product

Happy wife= happy life!

I bought this Amethyst stone to replace the one that was lost from my wife's ring I bought for her when we first met 28 yrs ago. She did not want a new ring because of sentimental reasons so I surprised her at Christmas by replacing the lost stone with the new one I ordered from you. Luckily I measured correctly and it fit perfectly. She is so happy now! Thanks for offering low prices on such beautiful stones!

P

Penelope H.
12/20/2019 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

ALWAYS a pleasure! From start to finish! :) xo

Public Comment

thank you Penelope for your continued gem buying support!
Loading Page Animation

See more africagems.com Reviews

Visit africagems.com ►