africagems.com Reviews

4.8 Overall Satisfaction Rating

Based on 1,208 Ratings

5
1014 (83.9%)
4
163 (13.5%)
3
26 (2.2%)
2
3 (0.2%)
1
2 (0.2%)
1,000+

Product Satisfaction

4.8 Average

5
(292)
4
(50)
3
(9)
2
(2)
1
(2)

Customer Service

4.7 Average

5
(24)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)

About Us

  • Marc Sarosi of AfricaGems.com, has been in the gemstone and jewelry business since 1984. He started from the bottom up, mining and buying gemstones as a gemstone dealer based in Zambia.  Mining and buying aquamarine, emerald, garnets and tourmalines while living in Zambia for 5 years. 
    After returning to the US full time in 1990, he traveled extensively throughout Africa as a very well known dealer of gemstones, buying rough and cut gemstones in Kenya, Tanzania, Mozambique, Namibia, Zambia and South Africa. Recognizing that the internet had tremendous potential, he transitioned from selling wholesale gemstones to the trade and created www.AfricaGems.com in 1998.  Bringing beautiful high quality precious gemstones and semi precious gemstones to a world-wide clientele.
    AfricaGems continues to gain popularity because of the excellent quality of products, great customer experiences and affordable prices.

Shopper Approved actively collects reviews from actual verified customers, which helps more accurately reflect customer’s overall satisfaction with this company.

africagems.com

B

Bradley M.
1 week ago

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I’ve only bought four (3mm and 4mm) coral cabochons so far, but the quality is phenomenal. I’m a beginning jeweler, and it’s been hard for me to find personal contacts at the outset, so it means a lot to me to find a place that sources and sells 100% genuine, truly high quality gemstones, thank you."

Merchant Choice

I came across them searching online.

Product Choice

Because they are genuine, and of a superior quality.

J

James F.
1 week ago , NY

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Great company, easy to do business with .. have been a customer for 20 years or so"

Merchant Choice

Past positive experiences

Product Choice

A birthstone gift for family

James F. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide
J

James E.
3 weeks ago

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Once again you had what I wanted and at a great price, I'm sure the stones and earrings will be of the same superior quality as my previous purchase."

Merchant Choice

Prior order and service were exceptional as was the stone I purchased plus your price and Black Friday discount could not be beat.

Product Choice

to match tanzanite stone in engagement ring

R

Robert C.
3 weeks ago

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Always a pleasure!"

Merchant Choice

Quality, quality, quality.

Product Choice

Lovely. Combination of favorite stones, rock crystal & black tourmaline. Very beautiful, unique, & always receive compliments. Versatile-wear with black, gray, white, red,...dress up or down.

L

Laura H.
10/24/2018 , PA

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Love my purchase, look forward to seeing the stones set in the ring I've made. Great customer service and delivery! "

Merchant Choice

Quality, beautiful gems, great service!

Product Choice

Was looking for two matching diamonds for a ring I made. The white sapphires will be used in another piece.

Laura H. has reviewed 2 products. Click to view Click to hide
T

Tom
09/28/2018 , NY

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Marc was very helpful and professional with the entire ordering process. He was very quick to respond and I had no reservations about with with him. I purchased an engagement ring and matching wedding band and they came out beautiful. The Moissanite stone is beautiful and the jewelry is equally as beautiful. Overall it was a great experience with Africa Gems and Marc. Thank you so much!"

Merchant Choice

I was referred by a friend who purchased gems from here, and their reputation and quality drew me in.

Product Choice

The moissanite was a much cheaper alternative to a diamond and it looks equally as beautiful. The quality of the jewelry and gems looked and is top notch.

J

Jared S.
09/20/2018 , FL

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Marc helped me decide with cut was best for my Chatham Ruby. I am very happy with my experience. Perfect customer service."

Merchant Choice

I choose AfricaGems.com because of the great price, the great selections, and the fact that part of the money I pay goes to charity. It makes me feel great all the way around.

Product Choice

I choose the Emerald Cut Chatham Ruby, because it completes my Emerald Cut Sapphire and Emerald set.

Jared S. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide
Z

Zora M.
08/31/2018

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Easy to use a smartphone to purchase."

Merchant Choice

Past orders have all been great; no issues with Africa Gens.

Product Choice

Love the wuality of these stones.

A

Amanda S.
08/29/2018 , Tas

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Kept well informed, Posted quickly, Received quickly considering that I am in Australia"

Merchant Choice

Large selection and good quality stones

Product Choice

Ametrine is usually in large sizes which I didn't want, so I was glad to find a smaller more wearable ever day

size stone

Amanda S. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide
C

Chantelle O.
08/24/2018 , Queensland

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Quick and easy"

Merchant Choice

Great range at great prices

Product Choice

Looking to make a ring

Chantelle O. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide
N

Nick B.
08/02/2018 , WI

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I have now made several purchases from Africa Gems. I have been extremely pleased with the quality of merchandise and the customer service. I was hesitant at first to buy such valuable items online. Now that I have done it, and dealt with Marc the owner directly, I am extremely satisfied. I will buy more from Africa Gems in the future."

Merchant Choice

I was intrigued by the website.

B

Benjamin J.
07/22/2018

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I love this site. I have been able to find exactly what I was looking for and all of the information that I needed. I hope my girlfriend loves the stone I'm going to put in her engagement ring."

Merchant Choice

African sourced Aquamarine. The stone of choice for my girlfriends engagement ring from a place that's important to both of us.

Product Choice

See previous

Benjamin J. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide
K

Kira T.
07/20/2018 , CA

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Marc from AfricaGems was incredible. I was looking for a pretty specific oval peacock sapphire, and Marc not only had the gem but set it perfectly in an incredible diamond halo. He responded to my emails quickly (often in less than 3 minutes!). When I purchase my next gem, I will absolutely contact Marc. I absolutely love my ring, and he really made it a work of art. "

Merchant Choice

They had the sapphire I was looking for and a good reputation.

Product Choice

It was an incredible value and with such an expensive item its critical to trust the jeweler.

C

camille T.
07/03/2018

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Easy to navigate your site. I trust your product."

Merchant Choice

I think you have a great selection with an approachable price range. I also appreciate the donation policy.

Product Choice

I can afford them and you donate 1% of your profits

D

Devin F.
06/27/2018

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I have looked at a ton of sites and yours was quite good. I am purchasing several stones from other online retailers to judge which stone is best of a custom engagement ring I am trying to make."

Merchant Choice

Return policy was very good and your online reputation from many sites was overwhelmingly positive.

Product Choice

It was a good cut and the clarity looked good. Honestly the fact that there was only one picture was why I was hesitant, but since your return policy is good I am confident that if I am not happy with the stone I can return it

R

Richard D.
11/27/2017

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"i love the selection and prices. I would not buy at any other location. Quality is always A1."
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
B

Bob C.
11/19/2017

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I've been ordering Pearls from you for about 5 or 6 years, it has always been a pleasure. Could you possibly package this order with 8 containers. That way I can split up the gifts in individual containers. Thanks"
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
Price
4/5
D

Donna
11/17/2017 , CA

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"The website is easy to navigate, you offer the most wonderful products and your prices are incredible. Thank you so much for my wonderful gem. I will be back :)"
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
Price
5/5
H

Heidi
09/12/2017 , UT

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Have always loved the gems I've ordered!"
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
Price
5/5
R

Ryan
09/03/2017 , WA

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Excellent service. Accurate descriptions. Overall good shopping experience. "
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
Price
5/5
R

Robert B.
08/23/2017

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Have ordered multiple items in the past and been very pleased with each of them."
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
Price
4/5

See more africagems.com Reviews

Visit africagems.com ►