africagems.com Reviews

4.8 Overall Satisfaction Rating

Based on 1,453 Ratings

5
1211 (83.3%)
4
204 (14%)
3
32 (2.2%)
2
4 (0.3%)
1
2 (0.1%)
1,000+ 5 stars in a row

Customer Service

4.8 Average

5
(32)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)

Shopper Approved actively collects reviews from actual verified customers, which helps more accurately reflect customer’s overall satisfaction with this company.

africagems.com

About Us

  • Marc Sarosi of AfricaGems.com, has been in the gemstone and jewelry business since 1984. He started from the bottom up, mining and buying gemstones as a gemstone dealer based in Zambia.  Mining and buying aquamarine, emerald, garnets and tourmalines while living in Zambia for 5 years. 
    After returning to the US full time in 1990, he traveled extensively throughout Africa as a very well known dealer of gemstones, buying rough and cut gemstones in Kenya, Tanzania, Mozambique, Namibia, Zambia and South Africa. Recognizing that the internet had tremendous potential, he transitioned from selling wholesale gemstones to the trade and created www.AfricaGems.com in 1998.  Bringing beautiful high quality precious gemstones and semi precious gemstones to a world-wide clientele.
    AfricaGems continues to gain popularity because of the excellent quality of products, great customer experiences and affordable prices.

J

John M.
Today , NJ Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Marc was pleasant, helpful, easy to reach, knowledgeable, and patient with me in my indecision. I highly recommend him and Africa Gems!"
John M. has reviewed 2 products. Click to view Click to hide

Forever One Moissanite Colorless Round Cut

View this product

A tad more expensive than others offering this product, but still within the reasonable range. These gems are consistently beautiful.

Chatham Alexandrite Round Cut in Grade GEM

View this product

Chatham alexandrite can vary slightly from gem to gem; but mine was a fiery beauty, ranging from bluish green to purplish blue. Others can capture a more intense purple; but their daylight green is less brilliant, and their shimmer is slightly more muted. A great price for these gems.

P

Penelope H.
07/08/2019 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Love, love, LOVE all of your gems I have ordered over the years. My favourite site to purchase from, hands down. I own a manufacturing jewellers workshop and still prefer to order gems through you first than to use my gem wholesalers available here. Thank you for your beautiful products and service! :) Warm regards, Penny Harwood."
D

Diane M.
05/08/2019 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Chat was better than any other companies. Quick. Responsive. I was able to purchase exactly what I want and quickly."
S

Seraphim L.
04/30/2019 , AR Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"The tips on gemstone selection are quite helpful. Moreover, I greatly appreciate the access to high quality stones that Africa Gems gives to the average customer."
Seraphim L. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Charles & Colvard Forever One Colorless Moissanite Gemstone in Round Shape Grade AAA, 7.00 mm

View this product

I am so very pleased with this purchase. I have recommended Africa Gems to several friends already. Thank you for the prompt delivery and excellent product.

J

James E.
04/25/2019 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Once again Marc and the staff at Africa Gems have taken into account my desire to provide my loved one with a truly unique piece of jewelry and furnished the perfect gemstone. Bravo."
H

Heyka Z.
04/22/2019 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I'm paying for 1-3 day shipping lets see how that goes. There will be the fifth star, if I'll get it in 2. Somewhere I said 3 days, but I did get in 2. 5 stars. Ordered and delivered. I would definitely order again from here. Thanks for the very prompt service. I had to order 4 of the same size and kind stones, and the color matched perfectly on all stones. Thank you. I'm having a special ring made for my daughter. So, I am grateful, that this all worked out so easily. "
Heyka Z. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Marquise Cut Genuine Aquamarine in Grade A

View this product

I had paid for 3 day shipping and got it on the third day. Beautiful products, easy order, delivery as promised. Can't ask for much more. I ended up needing 3.5x2mm but that's not your fault, that's mine. 5 stars. Well deserved.

D

David B.
04/21/2019 Featured Review Bade

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Very prompt and responsive customer service. I received my shipment quickly and accurately."
CustomerService
5/5
David B. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Chatham Blue Sapphire Trillion Cut in Grade GEM

View this product

I purchased this item but it did not work out for me. I returned it without issue and my refund was promptly applied. I would certainly recommend anyone shop with them and I will do so again in the future.

M

Matt
04/12/2019 , WA Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"My experience was very positive! I purchased a rare gem stone for an engagement ring which is of high quality as Marc promised, not to mention for a great price compared to local jewelers. Marc was very responsive to my several questions :) and provided great customer services. I would highly recommend AfricaGems.com and will look here first for future purchases."
J

James F.
03/04/2019 , NY Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"easy to use website, good descriptions and great inventory."
James F. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Checkerboard Antique Square Genuine Amethyst in Grade AAA

View this product

Great Deals

Wonderful company to deal with, excellent product, fair price, easy to do business with and very customer oriented.

K

Ken
03/02/2019 , OH Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"The purchase transaction was fine. Regrettably, the product purchased did not serve the intended purpose. I was treated very fairly in the return process and a refund was promptly made. I would do business with Africa Gems again."
CustomerService
5/5
R

Rhoda W.
02/15/2019 , CA Featured Review Bade

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I love the products offered, and the donation to such a wonderful organization! My only 'complaint'- I wish the site were more simplified- I find it difficult to navigate."
Product Satisfaction
5/5
CustomerService
5/5
Rhoda W. has reviewed 3 products. Click to view Click to hide

Madiera Citrine Marquise Cut in Grade AAA

View this product

Beautiful color and cut...

I ordered a matching pair for earrings. The stones are a beautiful, rich amber-brown, and the cut highlights the color well.

Marquise Cut Genuine Amethyst in Grade A

View this product

Beautiful in every way...

These stones are beautiful- the cut, color and match. I’m very happy with my purchase!

Marquise Black Onyx in Grade AAA

View this product

Great cut for Onyx...

This is a beautiful cut for these Onyx stones- they look rich and sophisticated. I’m very happy with my purchase!

P

PETER K.
02/11/2019 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I have bought several items from Africa Gems. They all looked great, and the customer service from Marc was exceptional."
J

James F.
12/07/2018 , NY Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Great company, easy to do business with .. have been a customer for 20 years or so"
Product Satisfaction
5/5
James F. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Natural White Opal Gemstone 0.85 carats, Oval Cut, 9.3 x 7.3 mm

View this product

As Advertised

Brilliant color, very much as shown. Quality apparent, simple and easy process to purchase.

B

Bradley M.
12/06/2018 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I’ve only bought four (3mm and 4mm) coral cabochons so far, but the quality is phenomenal. I’m a beginning jeweler, and it’s been hard for me to find personal contacts at the outset, so it means a lot to me to find a place that sources and sells 100% genuine, truly high quality gemstones, thank you."
J

James E.
11/25/2018 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Once again you had what I wanted and at a great price, I'm sure the stones and earrings will be of the same superior quality as my previous purchase."
R

Robert C.
11/25/2018 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Always a pleasure!"
L

Laura H.
10/24/2018 , PA Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Love my purchase, look forward to seeing the stones set in the ring I've made. Great customer service and delivery! "
Product Satisfaction
5/5
Laura H. has reviewed 2 products. Click to view Click to hide

Genuine Round Diamonds in E VS Quality

View this product

Haven’t set them yet but they look good!

Diamond Cut Round Genuine White Sapphire in Grade AAA

View this product

Look beautiful, looking forward to setting them.

T

Tom
09/28/2018 , NY Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Marc was very helpful and professional with the entire ordering process. He was very quick to respond and I had no reservations about with with him. I purchased an engagement ring and matching wedding band and they came out beautiful. The Moissanite stone is beautiful and the jewelry is equally as beautiful. Overall it was a great experience with Africa Gems and Marc. Thank you so much!"
Product Satisfaction
5/5
J

Jared S.
09/20/2018 , FL Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Marc helped me decide with cut was best for my Chatham Ruby. I am very happy with my experience. Perfect customer service."
Product Satisfaction
5/5
CustomerService
5/5
Jared S. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Chatham Ruby Emerald Cut in Grade GEM

View this product

Amazing buy!

Best online purchase for a gem I have ever made in the past 18 years! The price was amazing, Marc was extremely helpful, and the qulaity of this gem is perfect in everyway. The color and shape were everything I was hoping for. I would hghly recomend this product to everyone interested in buying a Ruby. I will be making more purchases soon. Next purchase will be for a mount for this Ruby from AfricaGems. Thank you so very much.

Z

Zora M.
08/31/2018 Featured Review Bade

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Easy to use a smartphone to purchase."
A

Amanda S.
08/29/2018 , Tas Featured Review Bade

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Kept well informed, Posted quickly, Received quickly considering that I am in Australia"
Product Satisfaction
5/5
Amanda S. has reviewed 1 product. Click to view Click to hide

Cushion Cut Ametrine Gemstones in Grade AAA

View this product

Lovely stone, is like the pic, more caramel not yellow which I like much better. Very happy thank you

Loading Page Animation

See more africagems.com Reviews

Visit africagems.com ►