Squirrel has been in the business of helping Kiwi borrow money for homes since 2008, arranging over $10 billion of mortgages.

Our mortgage advice is always impartial and honest, because the only goal is to leave you better off. And since 2015, Kiwi investors have trusted us with over $300 million of their savings too.

Our business is all about helping Kiwi make better financial decisions. We believe in total transparency and you’ll find we’re honest and open about how we work, where our funding comes from and what’s happening with your money.

We’ve won just about every award for mortgage brokering there is. But what makes us feel happiest is the feedback we get from happy clients.

Visit Squirrel.co.nz

Filter

1,849 Verified Customer Reviews

1,849 Customer Ratings and Reviews

Shopper Approved collects trusted reviews from customers who have made a verified purchase.

4.7

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1425
(77.1%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
374
(20.2%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
34
(1.8%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
8
(0.4%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
8
(0.4%)

Would Buy Again
4.8
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1299
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
187
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
21
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
7
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
19
Would Recommend
4.8
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1548
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
248
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
28
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
9
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
16
Customer Service
4.1
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
46
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
15
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
8
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
4
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
8
SHOW DETAILS

5-star reviews
1,250+

5-star reviews

7 years collecting reviews

About this Company

Squirrel has been in the business of helping Kiwi borrow money for homes since 2008, arranging over $10 billion of mortgages.

Our mortgage advice is always impartial and honest, because the only goal is to leave you better off. And since 2015, Kiwi investors have trusted us with over $300 million of their savings too.

Our business is all about helping Kiwi make better financial decisions. We believe in total transparency and you’ll find we’re honest and open about how we work, where our funding comes from and what’s happening with your money.

We’ve won just about every award for mortgage brokering there is. But what makes us feel happiest is the feedback we get from happy clients.

Visit Squirrel.co.nz

Filter
J
Julie B.
08/02/2016 , Whangaparaoa

The only problem that I had was a little bit of a lack of communication towards the end but looking back that was probably my fault as well as I missed a few emails from the guy we were dealing with. It ended up being fine, we had a great experience. When we found out that we had been approved by the bank it was almost a bit surreal, as we really didn't have to do much and then we had access to all this money for our loan. It was seamless, a really good experience.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

S
Suzanne B.
07/26/2016 , Puhoi

Shaun was absolutely fantastic. I recommend you guys all the time. We had to use a different broker at one point and we were very happy to come back to Squirrel.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

L
Laura P.
07/21/2016 , Warkworth

There were a couple of issues, not anyone's fault. We've used Lindsay before in the past and we've already recommended you guys.

Would Recommend
4/5
Would Buy Again
4/5

K
Kyu K.
07/19/2016 , Auckland

Everything's gone well, Lindsay has been looking after us and he's been doing a pretty good job. We would definitely come back, we've already been with Squirrel twice.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

M
Mike O.
07/18/2016 , Auckland

There was a bit of to and fro at one point where we were told two different things about the conditions we could get, but apart from that it was good.

Would Recommend
4/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

B
Brett H.
07/18/2016 , Tauranga

It was a positive experience. It would've been nice at times while waiting for the banks to come back to be kept in the loop a bit more in terms of communication. But other than that it was great.

Would Recommend
4/5
Would Buy Again
4/5

A
Arif A.
07/18/2016 , Wellington

Monique's service was great. I would like to thank Squirrel very much especially Monique. Without hesitation she pursued my mortgage for 6 months and was with me every step of the way. I am very happy with the service I got.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
4/5

N
Nathan W.
07/17/2016 , Auckland

Mark was really helpful, and really useful.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

S
Simon F.
07/14/2016 , Auckland

I already have recommended Squirrel.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
4/5

R
Renee V.
07/14/2016

I am glad that Squirrel was able to negotiate on my behalf. Matt was great and answered all my random questions that I had, and also helped set up my loans in a way that meant I would get the best deal for me.
My only issue was that I had given plenty of time to obtain good rates from different banks to choose from and process, but I had to chase this a week out from settlement, which meant a very busy last week of speaking to Matt, the bank I went with and arranging things with them and with my lawyers. I would have preferred this all be sorted a week or two earlier as I had planned.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

M
Matt S.
07/13/2016 , Auckland

I think Brad has been very effective with communication.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
4/5

P
Patricia E.
07/13/2016 , Auckland

All good.

Would Recommend
4/5
Would Buy Again
4/5

T
Taryn O.
07/13/2016 , Auckland

Baz was great and we're dealing with Nicky for insurance as well and it's going well.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

N
Nick H.
07/07/2016 , Putaruru

The only issue I had was the high interest rates due to our situation. We would return if we needed to.

Would Recommend
4/5
Would Buy Again
4/5

N
Niamh B.
07/05/2016 , otherstate

Everything went really smoothly. I would 100% recommend Squirrel to others, I have and will continue to do so. The only thing was it took a while to get finalised but that wasn't down to Squirrel it was because we had a complicated set up with a trust and a company. We really rated Matt, he was very helpful and would always call when we asked.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

B
Bonyta W.
07/03/2016 , otherstate

I was really impressed with the service, I found it really easy, people got back to me quickly.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

C
Craig C.
06/21/2016 , Auckland

It was hard to get hold of the adviser, but the overall end result was fantastic.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

C
Chilali H.
06/19/2016

Person dealt with was very patient.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

E
Emma
12/13/2023 , [Contact//City

We worked with Sunil and he was absolutely fantastic - always available, incredibly prompt with replies, very generous in explaining every detail to us. He was warm, kind and funny, a joy to deal with. He went above and beyond and really cared about our home-buying journey, and we were thrilled with the result. We can't speak highly enough about him!

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

Merchant Response

Squirrel tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

M
Mr. D.
06/28/2022 , Papakura

Our initial mortgage experience was smooth and very helpful. But during our renewal, there was hardly any communication. We have to follow up like 3 times in order to know the status of our loan. Appreciate if you can advise us and give us options, 2 months before loan refinancing.

Would Recommend
3/5
Would Buy Again
2/5
Customer Service
2/5

Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business
Website

© 2024 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2024