Back in 2007, just when the global economy was battening down the hatches, John ‘JB’ Bolton had different ideas. He reckoned more than ever, people buying houses needed someone in their corner.

That’s when Squirrel was born. On the surface it’s a mortgage brokerage, but it’s also a whole lot more. In a market where everyone works for the seller, JB wanted a business that would fight for the buyer.

And he was plenty qualified for it. JB had been a big cheese in bank world, dealing with more than $40b in mortgages and deposits over his time with some of New Zealand’s leading banks.

He’s also a property investor himself, so he brought insight and experience from both sides of the fence.

Now, all this time later, JB and the Squirrel team help first home buyers, new investors and old hands cut through the spin, make better purchasing decisions, get better terms from their banks and have a nicer time of it in the market. We currently write more than $90m in mortgages every month – that’s over $1b per year.

We’ve won just about every award for brokering there is. But what makes us feel happiest is the feedback we get from happy clients.

Visit Squirrel.co.nz

Filter

1,715 Verified Customer Reviews

1,715 Customer Ratings and Reviews

Shopper Approved collects trusted reviews from customers who have made a verified purchase.

4.7

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1307
(76.2%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
362
(21.1%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
32
(1.9%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
8
(0.5%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
6
(0.3%)

Would Buy Again
4.8
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1178
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
178
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
20
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
6
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
17
Would Recommend
4.8
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1426
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
239
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
28
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
8
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
14
Customer Service
3.9
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
32
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
13
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
8
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
4
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
7
SHOW DETAILS

5-star reviews
1,250+

5-star reviews

6 years collecting reviews

About this Company

Back in 2007, just when the global economy was battening down the hatches, John ‘JB’ Bolton had different ideas. He reckoned more than ever, people buying houses needed someone in their corner.

That’s when Squirrel was born. On the surface it’s a mortgage brokerage, but it’s also a whole lot more. In a market where everyone works for the seller, JB wanted a business that would fight for the buyer.

And he was plenty qualified for it. JB had been a big cheese in bank world, dealing with more than $40b in mortgages and deposits over his time with some of New Zealand’s leading banks.

He’s also a property investor himself, so he brought insight and experience from both sides of the fence.

Now, all this time later, JB and the Squirrel team help first home buyers, new investors and old hands cut through the spin, make better purchasing decisions, get better terms from their banks and have a nicer time of it in the market. We currently write more than $90m in mortgages every month – that’s over $1b per year.

We’ve won just about every award for brokering there is. But what makes us feel happiest is the feedback we get from happy clients.

Visit Squirrel.co.nz

Filter
H
Howard S.
07/01/2016 , Auckland

I really felt Squirrel had my interests at heart, acquired me a great deal with minimum fuss, Howard.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

S
Soph A.
07/01/2016 , Auckland

Matt did an awesome job! He stayed late to go over all the details with us and explained everything in layman terms. Very happy with the rates and cash back deals he got us too! We'd definitely recommend Squirrel Mortgages to others.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

K
Kiela-Lee W.
07/01/2016 , Auckland

Baz was excellent, gave great recommendations and the communication from him was outstanding

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

T
Troy C.
07/01/2016

My Squirrel broker got me an awesome deal for a refinance. I only wish I had used them to find my mortgage in the first place.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

R
Rachel
07/01/2016

I felt like I had to tell my broker to do everything rather than him taking initiative and doing it himself. I only got the final rate I settled on because I made him go back to the bank. A broker should make the experience easier but I think I would have had an easier time just going straight to the bank.

Would Recommend
1/5
Would Buy Again
1/5
Customer Service
2/5

D
Donna P.
07/01/2016

Monique did a fabulous job ensuring my mortgage process was stress free and getting me a great deal I am very happy with.

I would definitely recommend Squirrel to negotiate the best deal for you and will return to use their services again.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

C
Conor M.
06/30/2016 , Waikato

Tyler Dellow was the bloke we dealt with. He was fantastic. Always answered the phone or got back to us quickly. But most of all when everyone else promised us the world and failed, he persevered and came up with the goods. We will be using you guys again and have already recommended you. I owe Tyler a few pints.
Regards
Conor

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

S
Sally
06/30/2016

The whole experience was stress-free, professional, easy, quick, felt reassuring, friendly.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

J
Jo
06/30/2016 , Auckland

Polite... experienced... knowledgeable.. good sound advice and really fast...

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
Customer Service
5/5

R
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Richard H.
06/30/2016 , otherstate

Eleanor was very good to deal with, we will definitely be coming back.

Would Recommend
3/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

R
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Rex S.
06/29/2016 , otherstate

Andrew was very good, great service, he worked very hard for us.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

A
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Amanda L.
06/29/2016 , otherstate

Elena was amazing, it was quite a new process for me so she was really helpful. If I had a query I would email her and she would respond straight away.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

R
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Robert Green
06/27/2016 , otherstate

Shaun was great, he knew everything, he got me the best deal.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

S
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Shane G.
06/27/2016 , otherstate

We were very impressed. It was really good service from Lindsay he was just great, very proactive and responsive.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

J
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Jessica B.
06/27/2016 , otherstate

Overall it was great. Great work by Tyler and his team, I wouldn't have gotten the same result doing it by myself.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

J
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Jacqueline L.
06/22/2016 , Morrinsville

Paul was amazing, he made it just so easy for us. We've dealt with three mortgage brokers over the last 15 years and Paul was by far the most helpful. He was very onto it and we would definitely use him again.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

B
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Brent T.
06/22/2016 , Manukau

Baz was absolutely awesome. He got me the best deal available even from my own bank!

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

C
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Craig C.
06/21/2016 , Auckland

It was hard to get hold of the adviser, but the overall end result was fantastic.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

C
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Chilali H.
06/19/2016

Person dealt with was very patient.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

J
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Julie-Ann M.
06/16/2016

Shaun is amazing, really simple explanations.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business
Website

© 2022 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2022