Back in 2007, just when the global economy was battening down the hatches, John ‘JB’ Bolton had different ideas. He reckoned more than ever, people buying houses needed someone in their corner.

That’s when Squirrel was born. On the surface it’s a mortgage brokerage, but it’s also a whole lot more. In a market where everyone works for the seller, JB wanted a business that would fight for the buyer.

And he was plenty qualified for it. JB had been a big cheese in bank world, dealing with more than $40b in mortgages and deposits over his time with some of New Zealand’s leading banks.

He’s also a property investor himself, so he brought insight and experience from both sides of the fence.

Now, all this time later, JB and the Squirrel team help first home buyers, new investors and old hands cut through the spin, make better purchasing decisions, get better terms from their banks and have a nicer time of it in the market. We currently write more than $90m in mortgages every month – that’s over $1b per year.

We’ve won just about every award for brokering there is. But what makes us feel happiest is the feedback we get from happy clients.

Visit Squirrel.co.nz

Filter

1,715 Verified Customer Reviews

1,715 Customer Ratings and Reviews

Shopper Approved collects trusted reviews from customers who have made a verified purchase.

4.7

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1307
(76.2%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
362
(21.1%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
32
(1.9%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
8
(0.5%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
6
(0.3%)

Would Buy Again
4.8
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1178
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
178
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
20
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
6
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
17
Would Recommend
4.8
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1426
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
239
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
28
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
8
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
14
Customer Service
3.9
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
32
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
13
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
8
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
4
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
7
SHOW DETAILS

5-star reviews
1,250+

5-star reviews

6 years collecting reviews

About this Company

Back in 2007, just when the global economy was battening down the hatches, John ‘JB’ Bolton had different ideas. He reckoned more than ever, people buying houses needed someone in their corner.

That’s when Squirrel was born. On the surface it’s a mortgage brokerage, but it’s also a whole lot more. In a market where everyone works for the seller, JB wanted a business that would fight for the buyer.

And he was plenty qualified for it. JB had been a big cheese in bank world, dealing with more than $40b in mortgages and deposits over his time with some of New Zealand’s leading banks.

He’s also a property investor himself, so he brought insight and experience from both sides of the fence.

Now, all this time later, JB and the Squirrel team help first home buyers, new investors and old hands cut through the spin, make better purchasing decisions, get better terms from their banks and have a nicer time of it in the market. We currently write more than $90m in mortgages every month – that’s over $1b per year.

We’ve won just about every award for brokering there is. But what makes us feel happiest is the feedback we get from happy clients.

Visit Squirrel.co.nz

Filter
G
Gareth
07/08/2022 , Auckland

Good communication, very friendly and overall great to deal with

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

E
Elise
07/07/2022 , Whangaparaoa

I found the initial online form a bit difficult to use but the adviser we dealt with Aatish was excellent, very friendly and good communication.

Would Recommend
4/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

J
James
07/06/2022 , Auckland

Excellent service, worked through a very complicated deal on our behalf. Clear and concise communication through out and got us a fantastic deal at the end.

Great experience all rate and hugely grateful.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

G
Gomathi
07/05/2022 , Auckland

It was an excellent support and coordination. The transactions went very smoothly. I am sure this flow was possible only because of the works done meticulously on the background. Well done guys! Much appreciated for your quality service. Good luck for your future business.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
4/5

R
Raymond
07/04/2022 , Wellington

Very helpful and informative. Information supplied very quickly, great service.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

S
Sam
07/03/2022 , Kerikeri

Peimin has been truly amazing. We were extremely short on time to get ready for the auction and she had everything sorted ready for us on time. Since the auction she has been extremely helpful and is very clear with everything we have had to do. I highly recommend Peimin

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

R
Rohit
06/30/2022 , Auckland

Overall it was a great experience. There was a slight miscommunication with organising the deposit payment but this was resolved as quickly as possible and we were kept in the loop throughout.

Would happily use them again.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

M
Mr. D.
06/28/2022 , Papakura

Our initial mortgage experience was smooth and very helpful. But during our renewal, there was hardly any communication. We have to follow up like 3 times in order to know the status of our loan. Appreciate if you can advise us and give us options, 2 months before loan refinancing.

Would Recommend
3/5
Would Buy Again
2/5
Customer Service
2/5

G
Grant
06/28/2022 , Auckland

Kyle's communication, assistance (and patience) were fabulous. This was the 2nd mortgage/re-fi he has organised for us, on referral from a family member. He achieve more and better results from our 2 banks than we could as direct customers ... go figure! Thanks Kyle, thanks Squirrel

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

K
Kathryn
06/27/2022 , Auckland

We have been very fortunate to have had the support of head Squirrel JB - he's a true font of knowledge and is able to convey this in an understandable and non-boring way - he's also super speedy and without his help we wouldn't have our house - we're so pleased we found Squirrel!!

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

E
Elizabeth
06/27/2022 , Tirau

An awesome experience with Squirrel and Alfonso Jaques! A very challenging experience, with an amazing outcome! Highly recommended to anyone needing results!

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

L
Laxmi
06/22/2022 , PARNELL

We wish to thank Alfonso, our representative at Squirrel, who has done an excellent job of enabling us to purchase our home.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

D
Daniel
06/15/2022 , Auckland

Extremely happy with our mortgage broker! They were professional, helpful, explained everything really well and the end result is us happy in our new house!

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

S
Santoshni
06/09/2022 , Hamilton

Sunil Chandra was just awesome, he helped us with our home loan approval and he made it all easy. We were informed about at each step. Overall an amazing service. Will highly recommend. Thanks
Ritesh and Santoshni

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

E
Erin
06/03/2022 , Feilding

Emma Wallace was fantastic - great communication, fast turnaround, and very professional. Would highly recommend Emma and we look forward to working with her again in the future. Thank you Emma!

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

J
Justine
06/02/2022 , Whangarei 0112

This is the third property we have purchased using Lindsay Hill. He is brilliant and keeps us up to date all the way.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

N
Nitin
06/02/2022 , Auckland

Excellent and prompt service from Team Squirrel.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
Customer Service
5/5

S
Susannah
06/02/2022 , Napier

Made moving mortgage really easy and got a great deal in process

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
4/5

H
Henry
05/31/2022 , Auckland

Eleanor was great help

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

M
Margeaux
05/29/2022 , Christchurch

Just really easy and didn't feel pressured into anything because Brad didn't work on commission. He was great at explaining things to us and showing us how to save money on interest

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business
Website

© 2022 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2022