Back in 2007, just when the global economy was battening down the hatches, John ‘JB’ Bolton had different ideas. He reckoned more than ever, people buying houses needed someone in their corner.

That’s when Squirrel was born. On the surface it’s a mortgage brokerage, but it’s also a whole lot more. In a market where everyone works for the seller, JB wanted a business that would fight for the buyer.

And he was plenty qualified for it. JB had been a big cheese in bank world, dealing with more than $40b in mortgages and deposits over his time with some of New Zealand’s leading banks.

He’s also a property investor himself, so he brought insight and experience from both sides of the fence.

Now, all this time later, JB and the Squirrel team help first home buyers, new investors and old hands cut through the spin, make better purchasing decisions, get better terms from their banks and have a nicer time of it in the market. We currently write more than $90m in mortgages every month – that’s over $1b per year.

We’ve won just about every award for brokering there is. But what makes us feel happiest is the feedback we get from happy clients.

Visit Squirrel.co.nz

Filter

1,715 Verified Customer Reviews

1,715 Customer Ratings and Reviews

Shopper Approved collects trusted reviews from customers who have made a verified purchase.

4.7

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1307
(76.2%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
362
(21.1%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
32
(1.9%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
8
(0.5%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
6
(0.3%)

Would Buy Again
4.8
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1178
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
178
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
20
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
6
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
17
Would Recommend
4.8
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1426
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
239
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
28
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
8
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
14
Customer Service
3.9
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
32
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
13
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
8
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
4
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
7
SHOW DETAILS

5-star reviews
1,250+

5-star reviews

6 years collecting reviews

About this Company

Back in 2007, just when the global economy was battening down the hatches, John ‘JB’ Bolton had different ideas. He reckoned more than ever, people buying houses needed someone in their corner.

That’s when Squirrel was born. On the surface it’s a mortgage brokerage, but it’s also a whole lot more. In a market where everyone works for the seller, JB wanted a business that would fight for the buyer.

And he was plenty qualified for it. JB had been a big cheese in bank world, dealing with more than $40b in mortgages and deposits over his time with some of New Zealand’s leading banks.

He’s also a property investor himself, so he brought insight and experience from both sides of the fence.

Now, all this time later, JB and the Squirrel team help first home buyers, new investors and old hands cut through the spin, make better purchasing decisions, get better terms from their banks and have a nicer time of it in the market. We currently write more than $90m in mortgages every month – that’s over $1b per year.

We’ve won just about every award for brokering there is. But what makes us feel happiest is the feedback we get from happy clients.

Visit Squirrel.co.nz

Filter
M
Martin
08/25/2022 , Auckland

Lindsay at Squirrel had to work hard for my loan application. Collating all my paperwork, due to a number of businesses the banks required a bit more information. The result was what we wanted from the start. This is the second time we have used Squirrel and have not been disappointed.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

M
Michael
08/23/2022 , Auckland

Couldn't have asked for a better mortgage broker than Jesse. Was really efficient in responses & always happy to help

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

J
John
08/22/2022 , Orewa

Great Service from the Team, very patient and always willing and able to answer all my questions along the way.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

H
Hien
08/21/2022 , Auckland

Very good service 100%

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

J
Jonathan
08/16/2022 , Auckland

Excellent service!
My Squirrel adviser got my mortgage sorted very quickly and even negotiated with the bank to give me a bigger cash contribution.

Thanks Squirrel!

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

A
Anindita
08/14/2022 , Wellington

Squirrel has provided excellent service in settling my mortgage. The quality of customer service is the edge that makes a difference in this competitive world and it is for this reason that I will recommend Squirrel any day.

Would Recommend
4/5
Would Buy Again
4/5

J
JK
08/08/2022 , Auckland

I recommended Squirrel to all of my friends, very professional team. Vikram from Squirrel is proactive and a smart man. He has been guiding us with smart ideas, his knowledge on the market and proactive approach saved our hundreds of dollars.
Thanks guys for awesome service.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

S
Scott
07/29/2022 , Putaruru

Tim was awesome. I'm a customer experience manager and have no suggestions for improvements. Well done!

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

S
Svend
07/26/2022 , Lincoln

Eleanor and the support team was great refixing a portion of mortgage. Have used squirrel since our first house continues to provide great service

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

H
Harry
07/25/2022 , Auckland

Jess Molony represents everything you want in a trusted advisor. She is knowledgeable and patient, has great communication skills and is highly responsive by phone and email ~ I am very satisfied.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

V
Victoria
07/24/2022 , Dunedin

Emma was great organising my mortgage, made it stress free and easy would definitely recommend and would use again the the need arises.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

E
Eric
07/22/2022 , Auckland

This is the third time that Tina helps us on home loan arrangement. She's professional, efficient and accommodating. She listens to and understands our needs and makes extra effort to achieve a better outcome. We are quite amazed that her eyes to details is not comprised at all considering how busy she is.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

L
Lucas G.
07/22/2022 , Kumeu

Kat is the best

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

J
Jordan
07/16/2022 , Auckland

Our broker was super helpful, from the first call all the way through to settling on our house. Super easy to talk to and contact, friendly and had so much knowledge that we really needed as first time buyers.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

M
Mathew
07/14/2022 , Featherston

Have been dealing with Adam Clark who has been absolutely brilliant make the whole experience easy.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

S
Sunil
07/13/2022 , Takanini

The overall experience was unsatisfactory, every time I had to chase up with broker for an update on the process and lack of miscommunication. We passed the due date for rate lock when all the documents were given on time.

Would Recommend
2/5
Would Buy Again
1/5

A
Anthony
07/10/2022 , Hamilton

Awesome service a big Thank you to Aatish Balsara he was a pleasure to deal with and gave excellent advice.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

A
Anonymous Customer
07/10/2022 , Pukekawa

Dealt with squirrel several times before and always easy to deal with.
Thanks

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

B
B
07/09/2022 , Te Awamutu

Simply brilliant! Two words are really all that is needed to express the service and outcome provided by Jessica Carr, our wonderful advisor. When we thought hope was lost, Jessica found hope and came through for us. Thank you Squirrel!!

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

P
Patty
07/08/2022 , Auckland

I am very grateful for the services I have received from Basil Frank. He is professional and efficient.

Would Recommend
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business
Website

© 2022 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2022