Squirrel Money Investor Reviews

About this Company

Squirrel is not a tech start-up. We’ve been in the business of helping Kiwis borrow money since 2008.

 

Squirrel was born during the Global Financial Crisis so we’ve got a natural cynicism about the economy and being prudent. We’ve worked hard for our clients and built a strong and trusted brand in the Auckland housing market, arranging over $10 billion in mortgages. And along the way we’ve also won a heap of awards.

Our business is all about helping Kiwis make better financial decisions.

Peer-to-peer – or was an obvious next step for us. It gives everyday investors better returns at the same time as saving borrowers their hard-earned money. By putting Reserve Funds in place and building a world class IT platform (the Squirrel P2P Marketplace) we also take looking after our investors’ money seriously.

Squirrel Investing is about us challenging lending traditions to create more value for our clients. It’s not revolutionary or scary, it’s just personal lending, done better. We believe in total transparency and you’ll find we’re honest and open about how we work, where our funding comes from and what’s happening with your money.

 

 

Visit squirrel.co.nz/invest

Filter

123 Verified Customer Reviews

123 Customer Ratings and Reviews

Shopper Approved collects trusted reviews from customers who have made a verified purchase.

4.0

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
48
(39%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
44
(35.8%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
22
(17.9%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
6
(4.9%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
3
(2.4%)

Price Satisfaction
4.2
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
51
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
51
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
17
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
2
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
2
Would Recommend
4.1
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
59
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
33
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
21
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
6
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
4
Customer Service
4.1
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
30
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
10
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
6
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
3
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
4
SHOW DETAILS

5-star reviews
48

5-star reviews

5 years collecting reviews

About this Company

Squirrel is not a tech start-up. We’ve been in the business of helping Kiwis borrow money since 2008.

 

Squirrel was born during the Global Financial Crisis so we’ve got a natural cynicism about the economy and being prudent. We’ve worked hard for our clients and built a strong and trusted brand in the Auckland housing market, arranging over $10 billion in mortgages. And along the way we’ve also won a heap of awards.

Our business is all about helping Kiwis make better financial decisions.

Peer-to-peer – or was an obvious next step for us. It gives everyday investors better returns at the same time as saving borrowers their hard-earned money. By putting Reserve Funds in place and building a world class IT platform (the Squirrel P2P Marketplace) we also take looking after our investors’ money seriously.

Squirrel Investing is about us challenging lending traditions to create more value for our clients. It’s not revolutionary or scary, it’s just personal lending, done better. We believe in total transparency and you’ll find we’re honest and open about how we work, where our funding comes from and what’s happening with your money.

 

 

Visit squirrel.co.nz/invest

Filter
C
Charlotte D.
08/07/2019 , Canterbury

As a first time investor I have read up quite a bit on how it all works including anything I could find through squirrel money. The only thing was when it can to actually investing navigating process was a bit difficult and I asked customer service and they where great. Maybe a little video on how to invest on your website for first timers showing that you can choose the interest rate as I thought it was set for the years you picked and I didn't realise the lower the interest the quicker your investment gets picked. Otherwise great thank you

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
3/5

K
Kenneth M.
06/18/2019 , Auckland

I also invest in Lending Crowd and Harmoney and your platform is the trickiest. Apart from the lack of loans the process doesn't seem quite right.

Would Recommend
2/5
Price
3/5
Would Invest Again
2/5
Investing Process
1/5

D
Dean
05/14/2019 , Tauranga

I signed up with Squirrel about 6 weeks ago and immediately transferred $10,000. As a trial, before investing more, I distributed the money across 6 investment orders, ranging from low interest rate to high and in the 2-3 year and 5-7 year brackets. I also picked interest rates showing very few other user bids so the queue would be short. I have been very disappointed how long it has taken for the money to be invested. A 6.55% interest rate investment (2nd from bottom) took 5 weeks to finally be invested. And I was offered a Marketplace investment yesterday which I accepted. The rest of the money is still sitting there making no interest. I reached out several time to the Helpdesk trying to get clarity about how long it generally takes for funds to invested. The answers I got were generic and did not offer any new information that differed from what was already available on the website. So far it has not been a positive experience. The $10,000 was a trial with the outlook of investing far more. At this point I am very hesitant to attempt investing any more.

Would Recommend
1/5
Price
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Would Invest Again
1/5
Investing Process
1/5

A
Ansel R.
04/04/2019 , Auckland

I think the Homeowners Loan is an excellent idea, helping people get to 20% deposit to qualify for better rates. I will be investing as much as I can into it. I wish it had been available to me when I got my mortgage. Squirrel Money is providing an important service at the same time as a really good investment opportunity, exactly what I had hoped peer to peer banking would be.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

P
Philip W.
03/09/2019 , Christchurch

best P2P provider in New Zealand

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

T
Tiger
02/19/2019 , Auckland

Seamless process to invest.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
4/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

R
Robert L.
02/04/2019 , Lower Hutt

My page still says that im awaiting identity verification, this was a I. T. issue when i first signed on, i have obviously been able to invest so it has been sorted, but not a professional look especially when i show friends, colleagues etc and im guessing word of mouth would be a larger part of you guys bringing on new clients, just a small thing, but not a great look..

Would Recommend
3/5
Price
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Would Invest Again
3/5
Investing Process
2/5

D
David I.
01/16/2019 , Waihi

Bit long to get funds matched. also no clear menu to get back to the dashboard.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
4/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
2/5

C
Carol
01/07/2019 , Wellington

To use the platform effectively, you have to keep active as the auto-bid features are limited & not very successful unless you are looking for a low interest return. There are a lot of emails and they're not very informative.

Would Recommend
2/5
Price
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Would Invest Again
2/5
Investing Process
1/5

H
Hayden H.
11/09/2018 , Pukekohe

I do like the platform but I think investors should be able to choose their appropriate interest rate for their account. I would like some feedback on this please.

Thanks

Hayden

Would Recommend
4/5
Price
3/5
Investing Process
4/5
Would Invest Again
4/5

M
Mark P.
11/05/2018 , Wellington

As I'm a new investor I was a little unsure about how long it would take for my order/s to be picked up. Some guiding information on this may be useful, just to have some idea of the likely timing from order placement to loan investment.

Would Recommend
3/5
Price
4/5
Would Invest Again
4/5
Investing Process
2/5

N
Not A.
10/31/2018 , Wellington

Clean app and smooth process to get set up. Needs to be quicker on the allocation of funds, guessing they need more borrowers. Took too long for the investment to start. Overall good experience so far.

Would Recommend
3/5
Price
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Would Invest Again
2/5
Investing Process
4/5

T
Tane C.
10/02/2018 , Christchurch

Annoying to have to accept loans through email. Flicking back and forth from the app. Should all be on the app.

Would Recommend
2/5
Price
1/5
Customer Service
3/5
Would Invest Again
2/5
Investing Process
1/5

R
Richard B.
08/13/2018 , Christchurch

Very difficult to work out how things work. Spent ages trying to get an investment to actually work out. have found other peer-to-peer sites much easier to use. You have no basic guidelines easily found, if any at all.

Would Recommend
2/5
Price
3/5
Would Invest Again
3/5
Investing Process
2/5

I
Ian C.
07/28/2018 , Auckland

Overall good. Have noticed harder to get the higher rates I used to get. Waiting times are longer to invest. Maybe investing demand is outstripping the current pool of borrowers, what are you doing about this. Look forward to your reply.

Would Recommend
4/5
Price
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Would Invest Again
4/5
Investing Process
4/5

G
Geoffrey S.
07/21/2018 , Christchurch

Nice website (clean, easy to use). Reserve fund is a reassuring plus. As a newcomer, still feeling my way with bidding strategy. Overall, very good impression so far.

Would Recommend
4/5
Price
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

P
Ptolemy
07/12/2018 , Auckland

Decent concept, great support etc. Would like an auto invest feature that auto filled any investments that met my criteria (for me would just be first loan that met min as this is set and forget). Also 500 minimum would ideally be somewhere near 100, but given there seems to be far more investors than people needing loans, neither seem like they should be prioritised.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
4/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
3/5

T
Tristan B.
06/28/2018 , Auckland

The app on Android doesn't correctly door show how many dollars are invested at or below the chosen rate.

Also it would be nice to see how recently loans were completed and for how much.

Would Recommend
4/5
Price
4/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
4/5

J
JAMES E.
06/26/2018 , Naseby

I am a new investor, and while I cannot make any long term comments about Squirrel, so far my experience has been totally positive.

Would Recommend
4/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

R
Richard M.
05/31/2018 , Mapua

My only problem with Squirrel money is buying secondary market loans. They show up on system but no matter what I do I cannot seem to buy them. If they are for less than $500 you cannot target them on the system,I you put a bid in for $500 at that rate the bid is not taken. If you have secondary bids for sale please notify lenders so they can buy them.

Would Recommend
4/5
Price
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Investing Process
4/5
Would Invest Again
4/5

Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business
Website

© 2022 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2022