Squirrel Money Investor Reviews

About this Company

Squirrel is not a tech start-up. We’ve been in the business of helping Kiwis borrow money since 2008.

 

Squirrel was born during the Global Financial Crisis so we’ve got a natural cynicism about the economy and being prudent. We’ve worked hard for our clients and built a strong and trusted brand in the Auckland housing market, arranging over $10 billion in mortgages. And along the way we’ve also won a heap of awards.

Our business is all about helping Kiwis make better financial decisions.

Peer-to-peer – or was an obvious next step for us. It gives everyday investors better returns at the same time as saving borrowers their hard-earned money. By putting Reserve Funds in place and building a world class IT platform (the Squirrel P2P Marketplace) we also take looking after our investors’ money seriously.

Squirrel Investing is about us challenging lending traditions to create more value for our clients. It’s not revolutionary or scary, it’s just personal lending, done better. We believe in total transparency and you’ll find we’re honest and open about how we work, where our funding comes from and what’s happening with your money.

 

 

Visit squirrel.co.nz/invest

Filter

123 Verified Customer Reviews

123 Customer Ratings and Reviews

Shopper Approved collects trusted reviews from customers who have made a verified purchase.

4.0

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
48
(39%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
44
(35.8%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
22
(17.9%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
6
(4.9%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
3
(2.4%)

Price Satisfaction
4.2
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
51
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
51
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
17
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
2
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
2
Would Recommend
4.1
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
59
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
33
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
21
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
6
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
4
Customer Service
4.1
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
30
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
10
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
6
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
3
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
4
SHOW DETAILS

5-star reviews
48

5-star reviews

5 years collecting reviews

About this Company

Squirrel is not a tech start-up. We’ve been in the business of helping Kiwis borrow money since 2008.

 

Squirrel was born during the Global Financial Crisis so we’ve got a natural cynicism about the economy and being prudent. We’ve worked hard for our clients and built a strong and trusted brand in the Auckland housing market, arranging over $10 billion in mortgages. And along the way we’ve also won a heap of awards.

Our business is all about helping Kiwis make better financial decisions.

Peer-to-peer – or was an obvious next step for us. It gives everyday investors better returns at the same time as saving borrowers their hard-earned money. By putting Reserve Funds in place and building a world class IT platform (the Squirrel P2P Marketplace) we also take looking after our investors’ money seriously.

Squirrel Investing is about us challenging lending traditions to create more value for our clients. It’s not revolutionary or scary, it’s just personal lending, done better. We believe in total transparency and you’ll find we’re honest and open about how we work, where our funding comes from and what’s happening with your money.

 

 

Visit squirrel.co.nz/invest

Filter
A
Angela P.
04/30/2021 , Canterbury

Great to see money coming my way.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
4/5
Would Invest Again
4/5
Investing Process
5/5

J
John
03/17/2021 , Wellington

So far so good, good interest rates and plenty of information about what you are investing in. A great product!

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

K
Kay
01/27/2021 , Canterbury

Squirrel is very easy to invest in. I like the informative emails that tell me what's happening with my investments and if I want more detail, it's simple to log in to the website and click on each investment. It's great to get an interest rate that's way above the banks' rates. I'm glad I joined Squirrel and I'm pleased with my first year's results.

Would Recommend
4/5
Price
4/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

C
Chris
11/22/2020 , Canterbury

Requiring direct debit authority to my bank account is a non-starter.

Would Recommend
1/5
Price
3/5
Would Invest Again
1/5
Investing Process
1/5

C
Chris
09/29/2020 , Canterbury

Your website is very slow compared to other websites on the same internet connection. Sounds like you have issues with your IT service team as a customer service person told me they were waiting on IT service desk to help fix an issue. The contact time was very slow compared to your competitors.

Would Recommend
2/5
Price
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Would Invest Again
1/5
Investing Process
1/5

O
Otokia
08/01/2020 , Otago

I find that my Squirrel Investment Portfolio has been handled a very professional manner and would certainly recommend this investment platform to others.

The few occasions on which I have had to contact the Squirrel advisors they have shown to be very professional and knowledgeable about the enquiry.

I also found them to be very open to suggestions about improvements to the investment experience.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

A
Anonymous Customer
07/16/2020

You have released a lot of information about how the investments work, but there is very little information on how to use the platform. I still find it confusing on how to invest my money into loans. A step by step guide would be really handy.

Would Recommend
3/5
Price
3/5
Would Invest Again
4/5
Investing Process
2/5

S
steve
06/29/2020 , auckland

Its a little confusing as to the quality and awareness around the borrower. Harmoney were more transparent on their background. this is more just pot luck.

Would Recommend
4/5
Price
4/5
Would Invest Again
4/5
Investing Process
3/5

P
PWeb
06/18/2020

At first, way too slow but there are more borrowers now.
Then a tad confusing; I took a while to understand what Squirrel means by recurring loans compared to my thinking on them.
Still a few small gaps (such ae getting an email saying my deposit has been processed but not seeing that reflected when logging in) - but generally the experience is good.

Would Recommend
4/5
Price
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
3/5

A
Anon
03/18/2020 , Auckland

I guess you guys must have been busy. Funds were sitting around for a month before I changed them to one of your new funds - easy from now on I hope.

Would Recommend
3/5
Price
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Investing Process
2/5
Would Invest Again
4/5

J
Jiri C.
03/12/2020 , Auckland

I've been with Harmoney for almost 3 years and your platform is far more superior, will move to you little by little

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

S
Steve G.
02/20/2020 , Northland

Overall loving the Squirrel experience, very easy-to-use web site, and happy to recommend the service to friends. However there are a few minor frustrations. Firstly that the time taken from placing an investment order to it being allocated to a new loan is quite long, averaging 16 days for the minimum interest rate. There is no indication as to where your orders are in the queue. Furthermore no real indication as to how many loans have been activated in a given period e.g. last 2 business days. This is desirable to illustrate the popularity of Squirrel from the borrowers perspective. Displaying "volume of recent loans" is meaningless. The demand for new orders has been consistently well ahead of borrower's seeking funds, therefore there has been no benefit to seeking an interest rate other than the minimum e.g. 7.5% on 5/7 year loans. However I note that shortly there will only be one rate per product anyway. Keep up the great work!

Would Recommend
4/5
Price
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
3/5

J
Jane
02/13/2020

I think you've done a good job of trying to make the process accessible and transparent but it is not that easy, or rather, it is slow to get your money into an investment. I realise why, but that part of the process is hidden and therefore feels secretive. There is the suspicion that you deliberately take a long time so you can have use of that money. Hatch, for example, puts any money in your account into an overnight fund and pays out on that. I would rather you did that and built a slightly higher fee into your returns because then I can see what's happening. Its hard to know, when your money has been sitting there for a couple of months at the lowest interest rate whether its better to leave it there in the hope that it'll be taken up shortly or take it out and invest it elsewhere.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
4/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
3/5

D
Dan
02/07/2020 , Nelson

I would like the old option of 2. Years or 3 not left to chance

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
4/5

J
Jeremy
01/16/2020 , Christchurch

I like Squirrel's set and forget approach to P2P, with just the occasional check required to confirm that my auto-invest is at an appropriate timeframe and rate.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

K
Kangwan
01/13/2020

Far better than money in the bank and easy to use.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

P
PAK
12/27/2019 , Auckland

Very happy with my Squirrel investment. Platform works well and so easy to monitor using the app. Returns are good and much better than at the bank. Have been an investor since Jan 2016. Highly recommended.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

M
Mark
11/07/2019 , Christchurch

Easy platform to use.

Would Recommend
4/5
Price
4/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
4/5

R
Rudi P.
10/03/2019 , Auckland

I'm very excited about using the Squirrel platform to diversify my investment portfolio. Looking forward to many great returns.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

S
Stephen
08/28/2019 , Mangawhai

Early days yet for our relationship with Squirrel, but first impressions are very positive. The two aspects that we are still coming to grips with is firstly the optimum amount to place on an investment order and how long we will have to wait for the order to be applied to a loan. We need to keep the amount at a relatively lower level so as to potentially benefit from a speedy sale if we need to abandon the loan, but just want a small portfolio of loans so that we do not need to spend time overseeing our account. As there seems to be currently a large pool of investors we have selected the minimum interest rate in each category so as to "get in the queue". We are assuming that in doing this others cannot "overtake us" in the queue and therefore only a matter of time before our investment orders are allocated to new loans. The service received from Squirrel, both phone and email, has been first-rate from the communication and information perspective.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Investing Process
3/5
Would Invest Again
5/5

Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business
Website

© 2022 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2022