Squirrel Money Investor Reviews

About this Company

Squirrel is not a tech start-up. We’ve been in the business of helping Kiwis borrow money since 2008.

 

Squirrel was born during the Global Financial Crisis so we’ve got a natural cynicism about the economy and being prudent. We’ve worked hard for our clients and built a strong and trusted brand in the Auckland housing market, arranging over $10 billion in mortgages. And along the way we’ve also won a heap of awards.

Our business is all about helping Kiwis make better financial decisions.

Peer-to-peer – or was an obvious next step for us. It gives everyday investors better returns at the same time as saving borrowers their hard-earned money. By putting Reserve Funds in place and building a world class IT platform (the Squirrel P2P Marketplace) we also take looking after our investors’ money seriously.

Squirrel Investing is about us challenging lending traditions to create more value for our clients. It’s not revolutionary or scary, it’s just personal lending, done better. We believe in total transparency and you’ll find we’re honest and open about how we work, where our funding comes from and what’s happening with your money.

 

 

Visit squirrel.co.nz/invest

Filter

123 Verified Customer Reviews

123 Customer Ratings and Reviews

Shopper Approved collects trusted reviews from customers who have made a verified purchase.

4.0

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
48
(39%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
44
(35.8%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
22
(17.9%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
6
(4.9%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
3
(2.4%)

Price Satisfaction
4.2
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
51
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
51
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
17
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
2
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
2
Would Recommend
4.1
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
59
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
33
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
21
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
6
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
4
Customer Service
4.1
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
30
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
10
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
6
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
3
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
4
SHOW DETAILS

5-star reviews
48

5-star reviews

5 years collecting reviews

About this Company

Squirrel is not a tech start-up. We’ve been in the business of helping Kiwis borrow money since 2008.

 

Squirrel was born during the Global Financial Crisis so we’ve got a natural cynicism about the economy and being prudent. We’ve worked hard for our clients and built a strong and trusted brand in the Auckland housing market, arranging over $10 billion in mortgages. And along the way we’ve also won a heap of awards.

Our business is all about helping Kiwis make better financial decisions.

Peer-to-peer – or was an obvious next step for us. It gives everyday investors better returns at the same time as saving borrowers their hard-earned money. By putting Reserve Funds in place and building a world class IT platform (the Squirrel P2P Marketplace) we also take looking after our investors’ money seriously.

Squirrel Investing is about us challenging lending traditions to create more value for our clients. It’s not revolutionary or scary, it’s just personal lending, done better. We believe in total transparency and you’ll find we’re honest and open about how we work, where our funding comes from and what’s happening with your money.

 

 

Visit squirrel.co.nz/invest

Filter
M
Marty
10/22/2022

No communication. After the onboarding process nothing happens and communication is lacking.

Unclear process. No idea what the added value of Squirrel is. Nothing happens, no news or updates. Nothing.

Would Recommend
1/5
Price
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Would Invest Again
2/5
Investing Process
1/5

K
Keith
10/18/2022 , Coromandel

When signing up for an investment in the Squirrel Monthly Income Fund it is not made clear that status reporting is NOT done by Squirrel, but by Investnow. I have investments in Construction Loans also but do not get a consolidated report on all of my investments with Squirrel.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

A
Anonymous Customer
10/17/2022

Very easy to use and the Reserve Fund offers piece of mind for your investments.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

P
Phil
10/17/2022

Squirrel is a pretty solid platform run by knowledgeable and competent people. The app is easy to use but could be better in terms of visualisation of a an investment portfolio. And though it took a while to launch new products/features, it has gone pretty smoothly when it did, which is testament to the capability of Squirrel's people and commitment to delivering a well-thought out product rather than just being first.

Would Recommend
4/5
Price
4/5
Would Invest Again
4/5
Investing Process
4/5

V
Viv
10/17/2022 , Auckland

I started investing more than one year ago on different platforms and Squirrel always comes up on top. It's easy to use, clear explanations on what is happening behind scenes, weekly reports and being that the markets were down this year, Squirrel is the only one that produced positive returns.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

I
Ian
10/17/2022 , Auckland

Buy/Sell orders are transacted very quickly 24/7.
Reserve Funds make Squirrel safer than a bank.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
4/5
Investing Process
5/5

D
Dan M.
10/17/2022 , Auckland

Squirrel is an excellent platform that consistently improves the investor experience . Orders clear very quickly and transfers in/out of my account are also very quick .

The return on investment is very healthy , and I've never had any dramas in terms of receiving payment.

I particularly like the incremental interest / capital repayments which quickly mount up and really helps demonstrate the power of compound interest .

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

G
G &.
10/17/2022 , Nelson

So much better than term investments with the bank. Higher interest rate and not locked in for the term of the investment. When we got bored with retirement and decided to buy a business, we were able to put our investments on the secondary market and got all of our money back within two weeks with no fees.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

K
Ken M.
10/16/2022 , Waikanae

I've been investing with them since the start and compared to high street banks the returns are excellent.
It's actually hard to believe that they have not lost a cent but in any event they claim to have very adequate reserve funds. Fascinating range of very innovative products, excellent communication to investors.
The two significant advantages over the NZ competitor product are reserve fund and secondary market.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

D
Dazza
10/16/2022

Love the rates, and the security of the Reserve Fund

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Investing Process
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5

A
Anonymous Customer
10/16/2022 , Auckland

Team in Squirrel very fast made responses for my questions.
Before I was not too much know about Squirrel term investment procedures.
After I made action and not as I am thinking, I called to the team investment, and they gave detail all about my question.
I am happy with the team in investment dept, they are helpfully and fast known what my requests.

Excellent team in investment dept.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

A
Andy
10/16/2022 , Auckland

Squirrel is very easy to use. I was new to investing and i found the app works great, and the service in particular is easy to understand and follow. I also love how the team communicates about how things are going and let us know about any upcoming changes.

Would Recommend
3/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

S
Scotty
10/15/2022 , Auckland

Awesome experience that lived up to its promises and marketing

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

D
David
09/08/2022

Love the concept of investing in mortgages, and Squirrel makes it SO easy to invest and manage my investments. Love it!

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

A
Anton
08/09/2022 , Auckland

I gave up with the message of identification validation error. I have tried several time to photo my driver license, but it kept error.

Would Recommend
3/5
Price
4/5
Would Invest Again
4/5
Investing Process
3/5

E
Ella
08/03/2022 , Auckland

It would be nice to be sent an email informing when an investment is repaid.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
4/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

C
Caro
06/08/2022 , Auckland

I am new to Squirrel but I have found the website easy to navigate and the information that I was looking to help me to decide whether to invest or not was covered. I emailed just once to check I was doing things correctly and had a very prompt and friendly response. So far, I am delighted to have taken the step to invest with Squirrel and plan on investing with them further.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Would Invest Again
5/5
Investing Process
5/5

M
Michael
03/24/2022 , Christchurch

Easy app access, a bit annoying that it locks you out if you use another application at the same time. Invested an initial sum to see how it works and pleasantly pleased it went with ease, looking forward to investing more as time goes on.

Would Recommend
4/5
Price
4/5
Would Invest Again
4/5
Investing Process
4/5

M
Malcolm
12/10/2021

It's OK, but in my experience most of the investments are repaid early, quite often well before the initial end of term date which can mean that income steam isn't constant and lacks the 'set and forget' aspect of other P2P platforms as a result.

Would Recommend
3/5
Price
4/5
Would Invest Again
3/5
Investing Process
3/5

A
Antony
05/05/2021 , Auckland

Tried to open a/c - provided all the correct documents. When I tried to complete Step One I couldnt. No explanation what was wrong. Tried Helpdesk - no reply, no help. Very poor service. I cancelled my account, but still can login to my account even after I was sent a confirmation the account was closed. Am deeply concerned they have all my personal details. No response from Squirrel about my concerns and am contacting the FMA about the way they seem to be data mining.

Would Recommend
1/5
Price
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Investing Process
1/5
Would Invest Again
1/5

Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business
Website

© 2022 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2022