Squirrel Money Borrower Reviews

About this Company

Squirrel is not a tech start-up. We’ve been in the business of helping Kiwis borrow money since 2008.

Squirrel was born during the Global Financial Crisis so we’ve got a natural cynicism about the economy and being prudent. We’ve worked hard for our clients and built a strong and trusted brand in the Auckland housing market, arranging over $2 billion in mortgages. And along the way we’ve also won a heap of awards.

Our business is all about helping Kiwis make better financial decisions.

Peer-to-peer – or as we like to call it, person-to-person lending, was an obvious next step for us. It gives everyday investors better returns at the same time as saving borrowers their hard-earned money. By putting Loan Shield in place and building a world class IT platform (the Squirrel Money Marketplace) we also take looking after our investors’ money seriously.

Squirrel p2p lending is about us challenging lending traditions to create more value for our clients. It’s not revolutionary or scary, it’s just personal lending, done better. We believe in total transparency and you’ll find we’re honest and open about how we work, where our funding comes from and what’s happening with your money.

Visit squirrel.co.nz/personal-loans

Filter

123 Verified Customer Reviews

123 Customer Ratings and Reviews

Shopper Approved collects trusted reviews from customers who have made a verified purchase.

4.8

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
104
(84.6%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
15
(12.2%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
3
(2.4%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1
(0.8%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
0
(0%)

Would Recommend
4.9
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
110
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
11
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
0
Customer Service
4.7
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
31
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
6
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
0
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1
Price Satisfaction
4.2
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
50
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
39
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
14
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
3
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
2
SHOW DETAILS

5-star reviews
100+

5-star reviews

About this Company

Squirrel is not a tech start-up. We’ve been in the business of helping Kiwis borrow money since 2008.

Squirrel was born during the Global Financial Crisis so we’ve got a natural cynicism about the economy and being prudent. We’ve worked hard for our clients and built a strong and trusted brand in the Auckland housing market, arranging over $2 billion in mortgages. And along the way we’ve also won a heap of awards.

Our business is all about helping Kiwis make better financial decisions.

Peer-to-peer – or as we like to call it, person-to-person lending, was an obvious next step for us. It gives everyday investors better returns at the same time as saving borrowers their hard-earned money. By putting Loan Shield in place and building a world class IT platform (the Squirrel Money Marketplace) we also take looking after our investors’ money seriously.

Squirrel p2p lending is about us challenging lending traditions to create more value for our clients. It’s not revolutionary or scary, it’s just personal lending, done better. We believe in total transparency and you’ll find we’re honest and open about how we work, where our funding comes from and what’s happening with your money.

Visit squirrel.co.nz/personal-loans

Filter
T
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Tyler W.
03/16/2017 , Auckland

Been great, the self service and the automation is next to none. It was seamless I was very impressed.

It has allowed me to simplify my debt management by bringing several loans into one loan at a lower rate.

bring several loans

Would Recommend
5/5

C
Shopper Approved - Verified Customer Cameron S.
03/16/2017 , Auckland

The process was hassle free and much more simple that I first imagined. It was painless really.

For me, personal debt can be quite stressful. This was about getting it sorted. By consolidating at a lower interest rate I have been able to make bigger payments on some other debts and and get them paid off faster.

Would Recommend
5/5

J
Josh
03/16/2017 , Auckland

Pretty quick and easy really -- I loved how automated it was and that I didn't have to muck around with scanning/sending documents and printing things to sign-off, etc. -- very cool :)

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Loan Process
5/5

D
David J.
02/18/2017 , Kaukapakapa

It was the most easiest and hassle free loan that I have ever done. Loved the technology involved in the process it made things soooo much easier. WELL DONE SQUIRREL Top marks.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Loan Process
5/5

S
Stefanie B.
02/09/2017 , Auckland

Great. Loved doing everything online as its more convinient. Everything was done fast and efficient. Thanks.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
3/5
Loan Process
5/5

K
Karen G.
12/20/2016 , Middlemarch

The application process is just so easy, this is my second loan with Squirrel, interest rates are very competitive. Communication is great, letting you know each step of your application process and both times I have received the money within the week, excellent service!!!

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Loan Process
5/5

S
Sivakumar
12/08/2016 , Auckland

Have been comparing between squirrel and harmoney, I would recommend Squirrel

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Loan Process
5/5

D
Doreen
11/23/2016 , Auckland

After 2 years of making payments for an existing high-interest loan it was time to review, refinance and consolidate some other outstanding debts into one loan. This would make our budgeting a lot simpler, and hopefully be at a lower interest rate. Squirrel Money website was so easy to use, as soon as I had read the information about how to apply, I created my account and applied straight away. From initial online application to money-in-the-bank was less than 3 full days. Great email and phone responses from the staff (Ash), very clear and concise, thank you. If you need help with refinancing, Squirrel Money can help you!

Would Recommend
4/5
Price
3/5
Loan Process
5/5

A
Abraham N.
11/11/2016 , Lower Hutt

Very easy straight forward service. Customer service was great and I felt the people I dealt with genuinely wanted to provide a solution that best fits with my personal situation.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Loan Process
5/5

L
LG
11/08/2016 , Auckland

Very fast efficient process.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Loan Process
5/5

C
Christopher T.
11/02/2016 , Auckland

Very quick easy to apply but they don't give you a lot of time to think and go through the documents etc. 24hrs to accept the terms of the loan after applying I found to seem a little pushy. But generally happy with the process.

Would Recommend
4/5
Price
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Loan Process
4/5

Y
Yulia
10/11/2016 , Auckland

Squirrel Money are very professional, extra fast; and personally I contacted with Charles and Kendra who are pleasure to communicate with. Highly recommended!

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Loan Process
5/5

R
Rachel
10/10/2016

Hands down the best company we have dealt with in a long time. This was our first personal loan and we were amazed at the speed with which it was processed and the highly competitive rate we were offered. Definitely recommended.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Loan Process
5/5

Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business
Website

© 2022 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2022