Squirrel Money Borrower Reviews

About this Company

Squirrel is not a tech start-up. We’ve been in the business of helping Kiwis borrow money since 2008.

Squirrel was born during the Global Financial Crisis so we’ve got a natural cynicism about the economy and being prudent. We’ve worked hard for our clients and built a strong and trusted brand in the Auckland housing market, arranging over $2 billion in mortgages. And along the way we’ve also won a heap of awards.

Our business is all about helping Kiwis make better financial decisions.

Peer-to-peer – or as we like to call it, person-to-person lending, was an obvious next step for us. It gives everyday investors better returns at the same time as saving borrowers their hard-earned money. By putting Loan Shield in place and building a world class IT platform (the Squirrel Money Marketplace) we also take looking after our investors’ money seriously.

Squirrel p2p lending is about us challenging lending traditions to create more value for our clients. It’s not revolutionary or scary, it’s just personal lending, done better. We believe in total transparency and you’ll find we’re honest and open about how we work, where our funding comes from and what’s happening with your money.

Visit squirrel.co.nz/personal-loans

Filter

123 Verified Customer Reviews

123 Customer Ratings and Reviews

Shopper Approved collects trusted reviews from customers who have made a verified purchase.

4.8

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
104
(84.6%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
15
(12.2%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
3
(2.4%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1
(0.8%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
0
(0%)

Would Recommend
4.9
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
110
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
11
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
0
Customer Service
4.7
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
31
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
6
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
0
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
1
Price Satisfaction
4.2
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
50
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
39
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
14
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
3
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
2
SHOW DETAILS

5-star reviews
100+

5-star reviews

About this Company

Squirrel is not a tech start-up. We’ve been in the business of helping Kiwis borrow money since 2008.

Squirrel was born during the Global Financial Crisis so we’ve got a natural cynicism about the economy and being prudent. We’ve worked hard for our clients and built a strong and trusted brand in the Auckland housing market, arranging over $2 billion in mortgages. And along the way we’ve also won a heap of awards.

Our business is all about helping Kiwis make better financial decisions.

Peer-to-peer – or as we like to call it, person-to-person lending, was an obvious next step for us. It gives everyday investors better returns at the same time as saving borrowers their hard-earned money. By putting Loan Shield in place and building a world class IT platform (the Squirrel Money Marketplace) we also take looking after our investors’ money seriously.

Squirrel p2p lending is about us challenging lending traditions to create more value for our clients. It’s not revolutionary or scary, it’s just personal lending, done better. We believe in total transparency and you’ll find we’re honest and open about how we work, where our funding comes from and what’s happening with your money.

Visit squirrel.co.nz/personal-loans

Filter
F
Francis W.
07/12/2018 , Auckland

Love this company have had a tough few months with loss of mum which i had to go back to Fiji for burial and again im a few weeks for her 100th night and is u know cost involved is huge with a family of 4. They have really helped me with finances with good customer service and excellent experience

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Loan Process
5/5

B
Brendan S.
07/12/2018 , Dunedin

It all went pretty smoothly to be honest. Interest rate came in at a mindbending 11% below harmoneys rate which does make me wonder. Next time I think I will come see you guys first. Which hopefully will be for a mortgage ....

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
4/5
Loan Process
5/5

R
Rachel A.
07/12/2018 , Ashburton

I had a great experience with getting a loan, the process was so easy and i had contact with Maggie and she was fantastic very friendly and nothing was a problem for her. This is one of the best loan experiences i have had it was great would recommend to anyone.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Loan Process
5/5

A
Anonymous
07/02/2018 , Dunedin

Awesome experience, so easy. Friendly communication via email and really.easy to supply all docs etc. Very quick process too. Thanks Squirrel!

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
4/5
Loan Process
5/5

A
A W.
06/28/2018 , Auckland

The process was quick and efficient and the interest charged very competitive. A very positive experience.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
4/5
Loan Process
5/5

M
Miriam
06/13/2018 , Auckland

Fantastic ! Applying for a loan can be such a demeaning experience especially with some of the banks.. with squirrel it was done online, very professionally and I actually felt more confident that their checking was a bit more rigorous than other lenders - rate was better than others too!
Next time I deal with Squirrel I would like it to be as an investor !

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Loan Process
5/5

M
Meera S.
04/25/2018 , Red Beach

The online process was very straightforward and streamlined which made it a quick process. I had some trouble taking pictures of my photo ID and myself, however I received an email to assist with the process in an efficient manner. All in all, a good experience with good customer service.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Loan Process
5/5

M
Michael G.
04/24/2018 , Auckland

Website site is easy and very slick !

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
4/5
Loan Process
5/5

A
Andre S.
04/17/2018 , Auckland

The whole process was super efficient and quick with a great outcome. Communication from Squirrel was at all times professional, friendly and timely. You've helped me simplify my finances and I would highly recommend Squirrel Money.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
4/5
Loan Process
5/5

H
Howard E.
03/22/2018 , Auckland

Thank you to Maggie Veskovik,
For all you help.

Would Recommend
4/5
Price
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Loan Process
4/5

R
Rose
03/19/2018 , Auckland

It was really quick! After gathering all the necessary documents, it was all good! Thanks squirrel money!! The rate was really good. Best one I've ever had!! Thanks guys and shoutout to Maggie and the rest of the squirrel money.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Loan Process
5/5

E
Emma H.
03/16/2018 , Tauranga

This was a very easy process to go thorough. Even to the point of being able to sign fir the loan on line. Times have really changed and there was no going into an office or pages of documents to hand sign. So big ups up you all and thanks to Maggie for all your help and assistance through this process. We will deffinity recommend this loan company.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
3/5
Loan Process
5/5

B
Badhi F.
02/22/2018 , Napier

This was by far the easiest application form I have gone through. Everything can be done online without having to talk to anybody over the phone. By far I have found this being the lowest interest rate in new Zealand with no hassle or stress required.I had no problems applying. No stress at all. The costumer service team was straight forward and easy to understand through the website and last but not least the money was sent straight away. I have told all my family and friends about this.Thank you team

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Loan Process
5/5

C
Carmella N.
02/17/2018 , Whangarei

Made the whole process a breeze - friendly, fast communication and once I had my sales agreement in and loan docs signed, the money was in my account that evening - sooo fast!! Really pleased and will be recommending to my friends. I have also already thanked Maggie as she answered all my questions and was very helpful :)

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
4/5
Loan Process
5/5

S
Shikha C.
02/13/2018 , Auckland

Very helpful.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Loan Process
5/5

H
Hemant S.
02/02/2018 , Lower Hutt

Awesome experience the ease of doing everything online was an awesome experience. Being a banker myself I couldn't imagine the ease your website has got.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Loan Process
5/5

E
Erica B.
02/02/2018 , Invercargill

Squirrel are excellent. Everything is transparent and easy to understand and the customer service is amazing.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
4/5
Loan Process
5/5

S
Sean D.
01/23/2018 , Papamoa

I had been speaking with Maggie and the Team through the whole process. All correspondence and questions were answered in a timely fashion and we are overall very please with the process.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
4/5
Loan Process
5/5

B
B. B.
01/18/2018 , Timaru

Very user friendly and transparent. Everything done online...yey. The whole process was fast and convenient. The interest rate lower than the one banks offer on personal loans, which means less financial strain. Very impressed with service.

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Loan Process
5/5

I
Ianeta T.
12/20/2017 , Christchurch

Thank you for great service. Application process was quick & easy & everything was done online which makes things so much easier and better than my bank

Would Recommend
5/5
Price
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Loan Process
5/5

Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business
Website

© 2022 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2022