Squirrel Reviews

4.7 Overall Satisfaction Rating

Based on 1,265 Ratings

5
946 (74.8%)
4
287 (22.7%)
3
24 (1.9%)
2
5 (0.4%)
1
3 (0.2%)
750+ 5 stars in a row

Would Buy Again

4.8 Average

5
(797)
4
(125)
3
(15)
2
(3)
1
(9)

Recommend This Company

4.8 Average

5
(1,046)
4
(186)
3
(23)
2
(4)
1
(6)

Customer Service

3.7 Average

5
(9)
4
(5)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(2)

Shopper Approved actively collects reviews from actual verified customers, which helps more accurately reflect customer’s overall satisfaction with this company.

Squirrel

About Us

Back in 2007, just when the global economy was battening down the hatches, John ‘JB’ Bolton had different ideas. He reckoned more than ever, people buying houses needed someone in their corner.

That’s when Squirrel was born. On the surface it’s a mortgage brokerage, but it’s also a whole lot more. In a market where everyone works for the seller, JB wanted a business that would fight for the buyer.

And he was plenty qualified for it. JB had been a big cheese in bank world, dealing with more than $40b in mortgages and deposits over his time with some of New Zealand’s leading banks.

He’s also a property investor himself, so he brought insight and experience from both sides of the fence.

Now, all this time later, JB and the Squirrel team help first home buyers, new investors and old hands cut through the spin, make better purchasing decisions, get better terms from their banks and have a nicer time of it in the market. We currently write more than $90m in mortgages every month – that’s over $1b per year.

We’ve won just about every award for brokering there is. But what makes us feel happiest is the feedback we get from happy clients.

Visit Squirrel.co.nz

R

Rebecca
1 week ago

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Paul has great communication skills and is honest and open.
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
CustomerService
5/5
C

Colleen
04/01/2020

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

It was the first time I've used a broker and it was just so easy. I'm a corporate banker, and leaving it to Paul is one of the best thing I've ever done. I was moving cities, and he just made it so easy, he arranged valuations, he even at one stage, talked to the agents - he just done everything! He was amazing!
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
C

Caleb
04/01/2020 , Dairy

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Outstanding service!
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
R

Reagan
03/21/2020 , Auckland

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Ash went out of his way for them and was always quick and prompt
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
R

Richard
03/12/2020 , Auckland

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

John is a professional, he made everything easy.
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
A

Andrew
03/12/2020 , Pukekohe

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Sam's communication was really good. Great at responding and made the process easier for them.
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
C

Chloe
03/12/2020 , Auckland

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Local knowledge that John had was great, he knew area and real estate agents well and the advice he provided was personalised and in depth
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
M

Micaela
03/07/2020 , Auckland

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Emma made everything really easy for them.
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
P

Paul
03/06/2020 , Auckland

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

It was excellent
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
P

Paul A.
02/09/2020 , Auckland

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

We were recommended Squirrel by a family member and they were fantastic. They made the whole process so easy and provided great assistance and information for first home buyers. I always recommend them to others when people ask how we went about the home buying process. Our broker was lovely and friendly and we greatly appreciated the follow up phone calls when our mortgage rates were up for review.
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
C

Christopher
02/01/2020 , Auckland

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Super easy process. Worked out well , no complaints here!
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
K

Kevin
02/01/2020 , Auckland

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Kyle was amazing. He really made things simple and explained the process well. Thank you Kyle!!
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
D

David
02/01/2020 , Auckland

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Emma was absolutely brilliant. No issues , just got the job done efficiently.
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
L

Lucy
01/31/2020 , Auckland

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Broker was very knowledgeable and made the process fairly easy. Great experience.
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
M

Margaret
01/31/2020 , Christchurch

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

I haven't had much interaction with squirrel but from what i have had , it has been really good and also informative.
Recommend this Company
4/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
K

Kara
01/24/2020 , Auckland

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Very Professional - always willing to go above and beyond to help with what was a difficult situation.
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
R

Rhea
01/24/2020 , Auckland

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Helpful - What i expected is what i got.
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
M

Michelle
01/17/2020 , Auckland

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Lindsey was recommended to us by my brother and he was excellent. Very knowledgeable and efficient and easy going to deal with. We will be back to see him later this year.
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
G

Gurkamal
01/11/2020 , Takanini

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

Everything was very good. Professionally handled. Broker was on top of everything.
Recommend this Company
4/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
M

Monaliza
01/11/2020 , Auckland

Shopper Approved Checkmark Logo Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

broker gave us good advice , was so professional and to the point. SO helpful and so responsive. Wouldn't own a house without our broker.
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
4/5
Loading Page Animation

See more Squirrel Reviews

Visit Squirrel ►