Squirrel Reviews

4.7 Overall Satisfaction Rating

Based on 1,117 Ratings

5
834 (74.7%)
4
254 (22.7%)
3
22 (2%)
2
5 (0.4%)
1
2 (0.2%)
750+

Would Buy Again

4.8 Average

5
(682)
4
(108)
3
(10)
2
(2)
1
(8)

Recommend This Company

4.8 Average

5
(924)
4
(166)
3
(18)
2
(4)
1
(5)

Customer Service

3.8 Average

5
(9)
4
(4)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(2)

Shopper Approved actively collects reviews from actual verified customers, which helps more accurately reflect customer’s overall satisfaction with this company.

Squirrel

About Us

Back in 2007, just when the global economy was battening down the hatches, John ‘JB’ Bolton had different ideas. He reckoned more than ever, people buying houses needed someone in their corner.

That’s when Squirrel was born. On the surface it’s a mortgage brokerage, but it’s also a whole lot more. In a market where everyone works for the seller, JB wanted a business that would fight for the buyer.

And he was plenty qualified for it. JB had been a big cheese in bank world, dealing with more than $40b in mortgages and deposits over his time with some of New Zealand’s leading banks.

He’s also a property investor himself, so he brought insight and experience from both sides of the fence.

Now, all this time later, JB and the Squirrel team help first home buyers, new investors and old hands cut through the spin, make better purchasing decisions, get better terms from their banks and have a nicer time of it in the market. We currently write more than $90m in mortgages every month – that’s over $1b per year.

We’ve won just about every award for brokering there is. But what makes us feel happiest is the feedback we get from happy clients.

Visit Squirrel.co.nz

N

Nicholas C.
3 days ago , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Brilliant."
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
Y

Yolande E.
3 days ago , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"The process was fairly fluid and relatively easy"
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
E

Eva
2 weeks ago , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Emma was fantastic to deal with. She was fast to respond to emails and always took the time to answer all of our questions, no matter how trivial. She managed to get us a great rate, and provided us with some valuable advice as first home buyers. "
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
C

Cindy
2 weeks ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Sam Ludbrook has been extremely helpful with my home loan application process. I had a really good experience by using squirrel. As the 1st home buyer who had no idea about the home loan process, his patience and detail explanations made my life a lot easy and stress free. I will definitely recommend Squirrel to others. "
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
CustomerService
5/5
L

Lutz H.
2 weeks ago , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Lindsay was very thorough and approachable. Nothing was ever a problem and his attention to detail is outstanding. Felt safe and in good hands."
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
M

Maria N.
3 weeks ago

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Our broker was always on hand to answer queries and provided open and honest information and assistance. This was our first rental property we had purchased and we were very satisfied with the mortgage outcome and would recommend this service to others."
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
V

Venkata M.
3 weeks ago , Wellington

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"The whole process went very smooth with squirrel. The person handled my case was very much interacted with me and explained every case in a very tidy way since it's my first mortgage. I have quite recommended few friends already. Thanks "
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
A

Adam M.
3 weeks ago , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Thank you "
Recommend this Company
5/5
K

Kerry W.
3 weeks ago , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Squirrel arranged our finance, living in Wellington we liaised via email & phone which worked perfectly, was easy & stress free, highly recommend & will definately used Squirrel again"
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
N

Navneet S.
3 weeks ago , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"The squirrel personnel was very helpful, gave the right advice"
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
G

Gina H.
05/13/2019 , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Ben was very helpful and provided clear advice. Thank you!"
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
J

Jordon W.
05/13/2019

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Sudam was great! Very helpful and very informative. I was pleased with everything and would highly recommend squirrel, especially Sudam. Thank you so much for all the work that was put in to get us into our first home."
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
K

Kahu S.
05/11/2019 , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I liked there services, gave me options and a better understanding on what best suits my loan type very grateful for there professional staff have recommended to other family members."
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
A

Aimee L.
05/11/2019 , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I have used squirrel services to buy 2 properties. My second purchase was a relocatable villa and Section. I had spotted the villa on trademe whilst living overseas and the auction was the night I returned home to nz after 4 years of being away, having not even viewed it in person, I won the auction. It was love at first site when I got to see it. I would highly recommend Kyle from squirrel, I know I would of missed out on this house without the expertise of Kyle at Squirrel. He, along with Squirrel have given me great advice and made the procedure simple,considering it is a very complex structure. Now I have my dream house because of Kyle and squirrel. I am very happy to achieve my dream of owning a villa by the sea. "
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
A

Alice P.
05/06/2019 , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"N/a"
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
C

Christianna S.
05/02/2019 , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Emma is amazing very approachable "
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
P

Pauline M.
05/01/2019 , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Brad Luiten was excellent. Highly recommend. "
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
K

Kyle
04/16/2019

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Emma was ultra responsive, very helpful and made the mortgage process for a first time buyer (from overseas) super simple and pain free. Would highly recommend her and Squirrel! Planning to get in touch on the next purchase."
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
P

Praveen S.
04/13/2019 , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Hi We appreciate all your great guidance and simple execution of achieving the best results based on circumstances. Vikram Katukam is unbelievably talented asset for squirrel as he did wonders with our home loan and negotiated the best rates with the bank!!! Thanks squirrel "
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
L

Laura
04/09/2019 , Auckland

Verified Purchase

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"We worked with Sam Ludbrook. He was great at securing a low rate and explaining the various options for us and tireless in chasing me up despite my travelling vastly"
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5

See more Squirrel Reviews

Visit Squirrel ►