Hi. We're Self. We're here to help you build credit and savings and reach your financial goals.

It all started with some missed payments. CEO James Garvey founded Self in 2015 after making a mistake with automatic payments on his credit card. By the time he caught it, his credit score had tanked. In searching for a way to rebuild his credit, he saw some of the challenges faced by the more than 100 million Americans with low or no credit.

"To get credit, you need to have credit. It's a catch-22, and the system is set up against you," James says. So he created a solution that works regardless of your credit history.

Instead of dwelling on scores, we focus on what you aspire toward. Whether it’s being a Home Builder, a Queen Builder, a Car Builder, or a Life Builder, Self is here to help you make it possible.

Filter

2,691 Verified Customer Reviews

2,691 Customer Ratings and Reviews

Shopper Approved collects trusted reviews from customers who have made a verified purchase.

4.7

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
2304
(85.6%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
188
(7%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
82
(3%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
53
(2%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
64
(2.4%)

Customer Service
4.3
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
472
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
64
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
40
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
24
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
69
SHOW DETAILS

5-star reviews
2,250+

5-star reviews

7 years collecting reviews

About this Company

Hi. We're Self. We're here to help you build credit and savings and reach your financial goals.

It all started with some missed payments. CEO James Garvey founded Self in 2015 after making a mistake with automatic payments on his credit card. By the time he caught it, his credit score had tanked. In searching for a way to rebuild his credit, he saw some of the challenges faced by the more than 100 million Americans with low or no credit.

"To get credit, you need to have credit. It's a catch-22, and the system is set up against you," James says. So he created a solution that works regardless of your credit history.

Instead of dwelling on scores, we focus on what you aspire toward. Whether it’s being a Home Builder, a Queen Builder, a Car Builder, or a Life Builder, Self is here to help you make it possible.

Filter
D
Donald
01/26/2023 , GA

My overall experience with self has helped me get my credit up and in good standing where i can apply for other low interest rate cards to help me save money and to manage my finances better
When i first joined, i was skeptical about it but when a friend introduced me to it and i looked into it extensively, it made me a believer and within 3 to 6 months , I was given a credit card but with a small spending amount.It
By doing so, the card help me lower my utilization and decreased my spending.I only purchase what i need instead of what i want! I would recommend self to all my friends because it got me back on track to purchase a new home and an automobile in the upcoming months
Self is a reputable company and has been rated 4 stars in the media! Thanks self for making my life great again!! Sincerely, Donald Mcfadden

Customer Service
5/5

Why Choose?

The informercial was on point and regular citizens gave their on views on how self guided them back on track with their finances.


J
Jalena H.
01/25/2023 , TX

I started using self last year , I just made my last payment. & let me say, I highly recommend! My score went up 104 point in the last year, just using self alone. I was hesitant at first, but I gave it a chance & I'm glad I did!

Why Choose?

To help build my credit .


M
MICHAEL W.
01/25/2023 , TX

I really enjoyed the experience and I really enjoyed watching my credit score rise. I told plenty of my friends and family about it it as well. I'm happy I tried it.

Why Choose?

To help build my credit and it really did


S
SimplyZhara
01/23/2023 , TX

This self loan was such a smooth process! I am going to do this each year! My credit score increased tremendously, I referred family members and they too are getting the same results! I'm so glad I signed up for self, I'm receiving my payout next month and soon as I do I'm doing another Self loan! Go ahead, you can reap the benefits as well, SIGN UP!

Why Choose?

To increase my credit score


D
DistinctLady
01/23/2023 , NY

Customer service was very responsive to my needs and was able to assist me in fixing an issue I was having with my account. I highly recommend this service.

Customer Service
5/5

Why Choose?

I wanted to build my credit while saving money.


A
Anonymous Customer
01/21/2023

I was great


O
Omar
01/20/2023 , CT

I would like to thank Self for the opportunity they gave me to build my credit from scratch over the past 2 years so I was able to purchase our home.

Why Choose?

My wife used it and introduced it to me


M
Marcus
01/16/2023

It was a tremendous experience for me it me beyond measure.... Even now I've finished my build up but I would like to continue with you guy's I love it and it's a awesome way to learn how to save and use your credit to it's full potential

Why Choose?

To learn and get my credit score together


T
Tonio
01/16/2023 , IN

When I had no one else to turn to, self was there every step of the way, thanks to self my credit score increased over 150 points. Whenever I was goin through a rough time, self was there to cheer me up. They didn't believe in me, but self did, when I wanted to give up, self was there to motivate me. Self made me the man I am today. I owe it all to self. Thank you self, you changed my life.

Why Choose?

Just felt it deep down in my heart and soul that self was the right pick


T
Tara
01/14/2023 , VA

Using Self to build my credit score was so easy! I highly recommend this to everyone!

Why Choose?

My mom tried it and told me about it.


B
BIG R.
01/13/2023 , GA

I chose self because I was referred by a friend and ever since then I've been using self and I definitely do not regret it. I will be applying again. THANK YOU SELF!!

Customer Service
5/5

Why Choose?

I chose self because I was referred by a friend and ever since then I’ve been using self and I definitely do not regret it. I will be applying again. THANK YOU SELF!!


D
Dapree H.
01/12/2023 , OH

I'm not gonna lie I was kinda iffy about SELF . Being a first time credit card owner and ignorant to the game , I've learned so much about credit and financial manipulation overall . SELF really made my score sky rocket and taught me way more than I deserved . I've accomplished and obtained so much since then all thanks to you guys . I support 100%

Customer Service
5/5

Why Choose?

To raise my credit


I
Isaiah
01/10/2023 , CA

I had a great experience using Self credit builder. And the self credit card aswell. It brought up my score 113 points in 2 years. And that is with applying for multiple different credit cards and cars finances since then so I would say it brought up my score up more than 113 points since then if decreases from hard pulls aren't considered in the change in credit that displays on the app. The credit card they give you for using the credit builder account was the first credit card I ever got and it was really helpful in building my credit. Maybe in the future they could add benefits as they didn't have any for the card but other than that I think the service is great and I definitely do not regret using their services.

Why Choose?

I chose self because I was looking for a way to increase my credit when I turned 18. I learned about them when I was doing research on how to build credit and I gave it a shot. It was a great decision and I’m happy I did it right when I turned 18 because it allowed me to finance a new car when I was 19 with a low interest rate and get some good credit cards.


O
Orithea
01/09/2023 , GA

My Son shared the SELF Program with me. I understood the process and was willing to try. I was looking for a way to build my credit. I joined and referred two people. I plan to refer others. I was able to complete the process successfully. I would recommend SELF to others, it works.

Customer Service
5/5

Why Choose?

I felt comfortable that this program would work. If you're patient in building, then it is worth the wait. Thank You!


J
Jermicka
01/08/2023 , LA

It is direct, convenient, effective, and extremely helpful financial service.

Customer Service
5/5

Why Choose?

The biggest draw besides credit enhancement was the refund


C
Cloretta H.
01/05/2023 , IN

Self is and was a great way for me to try to better my credit score. My credit score is so low but following the Self daily recommendations from Self helps tremendously! I will continue until my credit score is much better!
This program really works!

Why Choose?

My daughter referred me, and I'm glad she did!


R
Robert Q.
01/03/2023 , MO

Self was Great while making the payments. After Self was paid off and closed my account my credit score dropped 30 points because the account was closed and not posted on credit report as paid off loan

Customer Service
2/5

C
Colet H.
01/03/2023 , GA

It was great. I enjoyed everything and savings

Why Choose?

For progress on my credit


J
JB
12/31/2022 , FL

Effective tool in the credit building process. The result speaks for itself - higher credit opens more doors.

Why Choose?

Referred by credit building expert


K
Kimorah L.
12/30/2022 , TX

Do you want to see a change? Be the change, get self and do it yourself that's the only way I can put it. I've always struggled with saving money and the child my parents both will tell me Manny is going to burn a hole in your pocket and so since both of my parents are not here anymore I decided to help myself. And that's what made me download the Self account because I wanted to show them that even with them not physically being here I can do it. So Here lm 33 years later look at now at all of what I have accomplished. it would not have been possible without this SELF account. So thanks to self I did myself a favor ya feel me?

Why Choose?

I would continuously see people come in Walgreens with them so I was curious.

I said I might as well jump on the bandwagon, Look at me now I got a car. No more bus token needed for me


Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business
Website

© 2023 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2023