Hi. We're Self. We're here to help you build credit and savings and reach your financial goals.

It all started with some missed payments. CEO James Garvey founded Self in 2015 after making a mistake with automatic payments on his credit card. By the time he caught it, his credit score had tanked. In searching for a way to rebuild his credit, he saw some of the challenges faced by the more than 100 million Americans with low or no credit.

"To get credit, you need to have credit. It's a catch-22, and the system is set up against you," James says. So he created a solution that works regardless of your credit history.

Instead of dwelling on scores, we focus on what you aspire toward. Whether it’s being a Home Builder, a Queen Builder, a Car Builder, or a Life Builder, Self is here to help you make it possible.

Filter

2,654 Verified Customer Reviews

2,654 Customer Ratings and Reviews

Shopper Approved collects trusted reviews from customers who have made a verified purchase.

4.7

Overall Star
Rating

5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
2273
(85.6%)
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
185
(7%)
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
82
(3.1%)
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
51
(1.9%)
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
63
(2.4%)

Customer Service
4.3
5 Shopper Approved - Review Star
466
4 Shopper Approved - Review Star
61
3 Shopper Approved - Review Star
36
2 Shopper Approved - Review Star
24
1 Shopper Approved - Review Star
68
SHOW DETAILS

5-star reviews
2,250+

5-star reviews

7 years collecting reviews

About this Company

Hi. We're Self. We're here to help you build credit and savings and reach your financial goals.

It all started with some missed payments. CEO James Garvey founded Self in 2015 after making a mistake with automatic payments on his credit card. By the time he caught it, his credit score had tanked. In searching for a way to rebuild his credit, he saw some of the challenges faced by the more than 100 million Americans with low or no credit.

"To get credit, you need to have credit. It's a catch-22, and the system is set up against you," James says. So he created a solution that works regardless of your credit history.

Instead of dwelling on scores, we focus on what you aspire toward. Whether it’s being a Home Builder, a Queen Builder, a Car Builder, or a Life Builder, Self is here to help you make it possible.

Video Reviews

View All
Filter
K
Keonte
Today , IL

I usually don't write reviews but because the honest truth is that self help improve my credit score so much over the span of 2 years, I feel compelled to share my gratitude! I was a little skeptical at first in layman's terms your building credit by using your own money (hence the name). My credit score boasted 134 points and the best part is you get a check when it's all over - of course it's your savings money but it makes it all feel worth it!

Why Choose?

A friend recommended it to me.


A
Andrea M.
Today , TN

This was such an awesome experience. I was able to establish and maintain positive credit throughout the entire process. I highly recommend Self to anyone trying to rebuild their credit!

Why Choose?

When I started the process, my credit wasn't that great. I wanted a better credit score.


A
Anthony
Today

Glad to have had self to help me rebuild my credit

Why Choose?

Best choice


D
Donald
3 days ago , GA

My overall experience with self has helped me get my credit up and in good standing where i can apply for other low interest rate cards to help me save money and to manage my finances better
When i first joined, i was skeptical about it but when a friend introduced me to it and i looked into it extensively, it made me a believer and within 3 to 6 months , I was given a credit card but with a small spending amount.It
By doing so, the card help me lower my utilization and decreased my spending.I only purchase what i need instead of what i want! I would recommend self to all my friends because it got me back on track to purchase a new home and an automobile in the upcoming months
Self is a reputable company and has been rated 4 stars in the media! Thanks self for making my life great again!! Sincerely, Donald Mcfadden

Customer Service
5/5

Why Choose?

The informercial was on point and regular citizens gave their on views on how self guided them back on track with their finances.


J
Jalena H.
5 days ago , TX

I started using self last year , I just made my last payment. & let me say, I highly recommend! My score went up 104 point in the last year, just using self alone. I was hesitant at first, but I gave it a chance & I'm glad I did!

Why Choose?

To help build my credit .


M
MICHAEL W.
5 days ago , TX

I really enjoyed the experience and I really enjoyed watching my credit score rise. I told plenty of my friends and family about it it as well. I'm happy I tried it.

Why Choose?

To help build my credit and it really did


S
SimplyZhara
1 week ago , TX

This self loan was such a smooth process! I am going to do this each year! My credit score increased tremendously, I referred family members and they too are getting the same results! I'm so glad I signed up for self, I'm receiving my payout next month and soon as I do I'm doing another Self loan! Go ahead, you can reap the benefits as well, SIGN UP!

Why Choose?

To increase my credit score


D
DistinctLady
1 week ago , NY

Customer service was very responsive to my needs and was able to assist me in fixing an issue I was having with my account. I highly recommend this service.

Customer Service
5/5

Why Choose?

I wanted to build my credit while saving money.


A
Anonymous Customer
1 week ago

I was great


O
Omar
1 week ago , CT

I would like to thank Self for the opportunity they gave me to build my credit from scratch over the past 2 years so I was able to purchase our home.

Why Choose?

My wife used it and introduced it to me


M
Marcus
2 weeks ago

It was a tremendous experience for me it me beyond measure.... Even now I've finished my build up but I would like to continue with you guy's I love it and it's a awesome way to learn how to save and use your credit to it's full potential

Why Choose?

To learn and get my credit score together


T
Tonio
2 weeks ago , IN

When I had no one else to turn to, self was there every step of the way, thanks to self my credit score increased over 150 points. Whenever I was goin through a rough time, self was there to cheer me up. They didn't believe in me, but self did, when I wanted to give up, self was there to motivate me. Self made me the man I am today. I owe it all to self. Thank you self, you changed my life.

Why Choose?

Just felt it deep down in my heart and soul that self was the right pick


T
Tara
2 weeks ago , VA

Using Self to build my credit score was so easy! I highly recommend this to everyone!

Why Choose?

My mom tried it and told me about it.


B
BIG R.
2 weeks ago , GA

I chose self because I was referred by a friend and ever since then I've been using self and I definitely do not regret it. I will be applying again. THANK YOU SELF!!

Customer Service
5/5

Why Choose?

I chose self because I was referred by a friend and ever since then I’ve been using self and I definitely do not regret it. I will be applying again. THANK YOU SELF!!


D
Dapree H.
2 weeks ago , OH

I'm not gonna lie I was kinda iffy about SELF . Being a first time credit card owner and ignorant to the game , I've learned so much about credit and financial manipulation overall . SELF really made my score sky rocket and taught me way more than I deserved . I've accomplished and obtained so much since then all thanks to you guys . I support 100%

Customer Service
5/5

Why Choose?

To raise my credit


I
Isaiah
2 weeks ago , CA

I had a great experience using Self credit builder. And the self credit card aswell. It brought up my score 113 points in 2 years. And that is with applying for multiple different credit cards and cars finances since then so I would say it brought up my score up more than 113 points since then if decreases from hard pulls aren't considered in the change in credit that displays on the app. The credit card they give you for using the credit builder account was the first credit card I ever got and it was really helpful in building my credit. Maybe in the future they could add benefits as they didn't have any for the card but other than that I think the service is great and I definitely do not regret using their services.

Why Choose?

I chose self because I was looking for a way to increase my credit when I turned 18. I learned about them when I was doing research on how to build credit and I gave it a shot. It was a great decision and I’m happy I did it right when I turned 18 because it allowed me to finance a new car when I was 19 with a low interest rate and get some good credit cards.


O
Orithea
3 weeks ago , GA

My Son shared the SELF Program with me. I understood the process and was willing to try. I was looking for a way to build my credit. I joined and referred two people. I plan to refer others. I was able to complete the process successfully. I would recommend SELF to others, it works.

Customer Service
5/5

Why Choose?

I felt comfortable that this program would work. If you're patient in building, then it is worth the wait. Thank You!


J
Jermicka
3 weeks ago , LA

It is direct, convenient, effective, and extremely helpful financial service.

Customer Service
5/5

Why Choose?

The biggest draw besides credit enhancement was the refund


C
Cloretta H.
3 weeks ago , IN

Self is and was a great way for me to try to better my credit score. My credit score is so low but following the Self daily recommendations from Self helps tremendously! I will continue until my credit score is much better!
This program really works!

Why Choose?

My daughter referred me, and I'm glad she did!


R
Robert Q.
3 weeks ago , MO

Self was Great while making the payments. After Self was paid off and closed my account my credit score dropped 30 points because the account was closed and not posted on credit report as paid off loan

Customer Service
2/5

Why Trust Verified Reviews?

Verified Reviews are real, authentic reviews collected from actual paying customers, using Shopper Approved's Verified Review Platform. When reviews are Verified by Shopper Approved, you know that you can trust them to make better buying decisions.

Unverified Reviews on the other hand, are reviews collected by Open Review platforms that allow anyone to leave a review, without any validation or proof of purchase. Unfortunately, most reviews you read online are Unverified Reviews, and can't be trusted.

As a consumer, here's how you can tell the difference:

Verified Reviews from Verified Review Platforms like Shopper Approved, have much higher review counts and higher overall Star ratings, because they attempt to collect reviews from every single paying customer.

Unverified Reviews from Open Review Platforms, tend to have much lower review counts and more negative Star ratings, because people with bad experiences are primarily those who leave reviews. This often creates a misleading, inaccurate portrayal of a companies true reputation.

So, when searching for Verified Reviews, look for the name you know you can trust. Shopper Approved.

Are you a Business?

See What Shopper Approved
Can Do For You

Inactive Business
Website

© 2023 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved. Learn more about Shopper Approved.

This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2023