Hostica.com Reviews

5 Stars

4.7 Overall Rating

Based on 635
5 Star Reviews 4 Star Reviews 3 Star Reviews 2 Star Reviews 1 Star Reviews
Anonymous Customer | Submitted 29 Mar 2018
Verified Customer

While signing up it would be more helpful if they made the password requirements more clear. I tried 10 different combinations until one got accepted. It kept saying it accepted symbols in the password but wouldn't accept any of my passwords until I removed them.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
Stephen Eric T | VA, United States | Submitted 9 Sep 2017
Verified Customer

Had some issue with getting this paid. Paypal had an option which makes it so I don't have to pay until I've received my goods, but hostica had a policy that they won't set up the site until they got paid, so we entered into a standstill that lasted a few days while I tried furiously to figure that out.

Anyways, I got that figured out, but now have been pestered daily by phone calls from companies lending their services to help set up my website. As I am a student just trying to use this site for database learning purposes, these calls have been extremely intrusive and often cause my phone to go off in class. I guess hostica has to make money by selling my contact information to these companies, but it'd be nice if there were a way to tell all the website companies who I'm just going to say "no," to that I'm a student and don't want their services.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Hostica.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from Hostica.com:

Please be assured that Hostica respects your privacy and in no way shares or otherwise give out your information other than to the required agency.
All registrars are required to provide all registration information to the ICANN organization. (This done automatically and cannot be avoided).
The ICANN whois registry is a public information site and it does publish every web site registrants information on their site which unfortunately is also available to spammers.
View your public information at this link: https://whois.icann.org/en

This is one of the reasons we offer a service called "Contact Privacy" also called "Domain Privacy" for $1.25 per month.
It is an optional feature to help protect your public whois information

If the spam is going to the email address that is associated with your new domain name,
you may also consider adding the ANTISPAM PRO feature in the email configuration section of the hosting control panel.

It is very unfortunate the internet is full of spammers and we try to offer several tools to help fight the spammers.
There are also many other tools on the market for this exact purpose.

We do appreciate your business and hope that you understand that it is not a Hostica relate issue,
but rather an ICANN domain name registration policy to list your registered information.

more information can be found on our Support Pages:
https://www.hostica.com/support/Knowledgebase/Article/View/14/0/antispam

https://www.hostica.com/support/Knowledgebase/Article/View/361/0/anti-spam-pro-help-guides

Taro A | Submitted 23 May 2017
Verified Customer

I don't have any issues with your service....
I also DON'T HAVE ANY EXPERIENCE WITH YOUR PRODUCT YET...

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Mike M | Submitted 12 May 2017
Verified Customer

how should I know? you popped this rating up before I even confirmed my payment...

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
sam | Submitted 22 Apr 2017
Verified Customer

thanx you guys rock

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Mdgeiser | VA, United States | Submitted 8 Apr 2017
Verified Customer

Ever since I bought the domain name I've been getting spammed with calls and emails from companies that do web design, logos, etc. I'm just a student and all work I have to do for my site needs to be done by me alone to show what I've learned.

Personally I consider it poor business practice to be handing out contact information like that. It would be far better to have that as an option to choose. That way anyone interested in such services could choose that option and anyone who won't (or in my case can't) make use of such services wouldn't get the calls and emails. This would also save the time of the sales agents for those companies as they could then focus their time on potential costumers.

That's just my opinion I guess.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
SARAH C | Submitted 1 Feb 2017
Verified Customer

even I managed it eventually, my advice is be patient and then it`s easy!

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Brittany w | Submitted 15 Nov 2016
Verified Customer

Password setup issues.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Kevin D | Submitted 29 Oct 2016
Verified Customer

I'm being forced to use this service. I'm sure that I could find better prices from other services.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
David S | Submitted 25 Oct 2016
Verified Customer

Password constraints for registering with hostica.com are: password must contain from 10 to 12 characters, letters and numbers only. This is very, very weak. If my instructor hadn't insisted on the class using hostica as a webhost then I'd definitely look for a host that encouraged stronger password creation criteria.

Recommend this Company 2 2.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Jason S | Submitted 11 Jul 2016
Verified Customer

I had initial problems setting up, tech support did not present timely response to my actual problem.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Scott H | Submitted 8 Jul 2016
Verified Customer

The first time I tried to submit my order, I got an error message. However, below this, it said the fee was $18. After doing it again, it seems to have worked, I just hope it doesn't charge me twice.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Ros | Submitted 3 May 2016
Verified Customer

I had trouble getting to this point

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Anonymous Customer | Submitted 30 Nov 2015
Verified Customer

Not special but just fine.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Bradon H | Submitted 2 Nov 2015
Verified Customer

Great Experience!

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Zee | Submitted 26 Oct 2015
Verified Customer

if it was just to shop

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Dave | MN, United States | Submitted 13 Oct 2015

1. Within a few days of sighing up for a web site with hostica.com I was receiving email from webhost designers to build my site. I know this came from hostica.com because I setup a NEW email address just minutes before I set up the hosting account.

2. Data inflation:
I started to notice in my hostica.com stats area that my hits and data down loads seemed way off. Now my website is not even built yet and I have one index and graphic with no links and a 2nd page with one 2 minute 6MB mp3. For the last week I have been testing the counts and the data flow. And it is extreme! One hit to my MP3 test page from IP address turned into 633 hits and 32.90 MB of data flow. now we all know we have to pay for data when we go over.....
The techs I have been talking (email) to basically tell me to prove it... You know? that did TELL me to prove it!

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 2 2.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
Anonymous Customer | Submitted 7 Oct 2015
Verified Customer

earlier today the order form calculated the total incorrectly but it all seems to be working now

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Tim | Submitted 20 Sep 2015
Verified Customer

I don't like how I have to wait to get my site set up. I prefer to pay for hosting and go straight to the cPanel instead of wait.

I also don't like you $5 setup fee. I can do this myself.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
xavier | Submitted 28 Aug 2015
Verified Customer

So far so good

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Customer Service 3 3.0
© 2018 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved.
To learn more about Shopper Approved, Click Here
This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2018