CostaRica.org Reviews

5.0 Overall Satisfaction Rating

Based on 717 Ratings

5
689 (96.1%)
4
27 (3.8%)
3
1 (0.1%)
2
0 (0%)
1
0 (0%)
500+

Recommend This Company

4.9 Average

5
(58)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)

Product Satisfaction

5 Average

5
(60)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)

Customer Service

5 Average

5
(20)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)

About Us

My Costa Rica can help you Save Time, Money & Get the Most out of your vacation to Costa Rica with expert advice from knowledgeable experts.  We can custom tailor a travel package for you based on your needs, interests and budget.   We have helped over 10,000 people plan their vacations since we began operations ins 2004 and are a licensed operator by the Costa Rican Government and Chamber of Tourism.  Our mission is to promote responsible and sustainable tourism and have a positive impacat on this beautiful country we are proud to call home.  Call us Toll Free at 1(800) 996-1139 or visit us online at CostaRica.org to start planning your next vacation today!  

Shopper Approved actively collects reviews from actual verified customers, which helps more accurately reflect customer’s overall satisfaction with this company.

CostaRica.org

B

Balmerbob8
2 weeks ago , MD

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Flawless Execution I chose My Costa Rica because the Tripadvisor Forum members recommended that I use a locally approved travel agent for our custom package in case there were problems on the ground. Prior comments showed that they had put together bird and nature oriented packages like ours previously. Nicole picked up our budget, requests and requirements from the beginning giving us dollar quotes for different options so we could make a decision. They put together a combination of hotels, private transfers and tours which suited us to a T. When we had a late change of plans due to changing departing flights, Jason, the owner, changed hotels for us to make it easier to get out early. I was a bit anal about collecting information on our guides and drivers, but Nicole supplied me with the details. No need, everything ran like clockwork. All transfers and tours were great and on time. . The topper was Abel, the My Costa Rica driver in San Jose. He made our transfer from Manuel Antonio a great tour with and an excellent local lunch stop and waited while we made a two and one half hour visit at the Toucan Rescue Ranch.!. The essence of Pura Vida. Thanks to the whole team. "
Recommend this Company
5/5
B

Birder B.
3 weeks ago , WA

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"We had specific places we wanted to stay for birding adventures. Jason made the arrangements for the lodges and the transportation to each location. Both lodges anticipated our arrival. The drivers were always early to pick us up. Jason even arranged for one of our drivers to be an excellent birder! The drivers will make stops as needed and are very professional. They go the extra mile to make sure all your needs are met and stay in contact periodically during your trip to see how things are going. I highly recommend My CostaRica to help plan your stay in beautiful Costa Rica."
Recommend this Company
5/5
L

Liz
11/03/2018 , SC

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I had no idea what to expect when I 1st reached out to CostaRica. org. I was looking for a trip for my daughter and I to go to Costa Rica as her graduation present Spring 2019. We've never been to Costa Rica and it was very hard to decide what exactly we wanted to do and I was overwhelmed trying to organize it myself. I looked up reviews of trial agents and this company had extremely high ratings and very positive comments. So all I did was send and email and give a few suggestions and ideas of things we like to do. Nicole immediately sent us a detailed itinerary to include pricing. She put together a 10 day package specifically for our wishes. Everything she put together were things we definitely wanted to do and places we wanted to stay. She was patient with me while I took quite a few weeks to commit. After reserving our flights we had to alter the 1st itinerary slightly and I didn't think it could be better than what Nicole put together but it was! We now have without a doubt the perfect vacation. Nicole arranged and reserved our hotels, activities and transportation tailored for us. This whole experience has made us feel extra special, trusting and confident this will be our best vacation ever! So excited!"
Recommend this Company
5/5
T

Tina G.
08/02/2018 , VA

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"CostaRica.org was AMAZING! They asked about our interests and designed a vacation to meet our needs! The drivers and tour guides were patient and friendly. They were willing to accommodate our needs throughout the trip and checked in with us regularly as we prepared for our trip. The travel agents provided us with step by step instructions months,weeks,and days prior to our arrival. They promptly addressed all emails! Even the novice traveller with no Spanish language skills would feel comfortable in vacation!"
Recommend this Company
5/5
D

dvsvinis
07/06/2018 , DE

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"We just returned from a fantastic 2 week trip to Costa Rica. Jason and Nicole put together a really nice package that included several days at each location: The Trogon Lodge in the Cloud Forest, Hacienda Baru National Wildlife Refuge, Punta Leona and the Tarcoles River and Carara National Park, Arenal Observatory Lodge and National Park and La Selva Biological Station. We did several guided bird watching trips in each location and the guides were excellent -- very knowledgable and informative. We saw over 100 different species of birds and many other animals (monkeys, sloths, iguanas)... Our drivers and guides were always on time or early, and everyone was friendly, helpful and very accommodating! We relied on Jason and Nicole to choose the hotels and everything was great -- especially the proximity to trails and places to watch birds. The logistics of the trip were flawless, not one problem -- all we had to do was show up. Costa Rica is a beautiful country with many places to visit and much to do. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND My Costa Rica and we will use them again when we return to see more of the country."
Recommend this Company
5/5
D

Donnie
07/05/2018 , FL

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Our transportation functioned like clock work and the resorts were excellent just as described. Will use again! Highly recommend. "
Recommend this Company
5/5
M

Malo R.
05/06/2018 , NM

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Overwhelmed by the kindnesses shown to us by all of the folks at MyCostaRica. Recently I went on a group trip with 30 people and I was astonished to realize how committed MyCostaRica staff are to making sure our guests trip run as smoothly as possible, overpassing all our expectations. "
Recommend this Company
5/5
J

Jan W.
04/10/2018 , BC

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Many thanks to Jason B and his team for making our vacation a wonderful one. We were a group of 7 and everything was well planned and organized. We all had a fantastic vacation, and we will be back! Excellent transportation from hotel to hotel. Some drives were many hours long. The drivers were happy to stop for us along the way while we stretched and shopped. Thank you so much for making our photo holiday a beautiful one."
Recommend this Company
5/5
N

Nikki F.
04/07/2018 , Illinois

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Thank you for answering all of our questions before the trip as well as making necessary changes while in CR. We had a wonderful family trip to Costa Rica from Mar 30, 2018 to April 6, 2018. Thank you for offering many adventurous, exciting, and relaxing excursions, beaches, pools, resorts, hotels, food, shopping, and transportation in and around your country. It was my second trip there. It is SO beautiful and we loved it four years ago and loved it this time as well. Living in another country and planning this trip with you was smooth and comfortable. Thank you for answering all of our questions before the trip as well as making necessary changes while in CR. We would recommend MyCostaRica to our friends! Thank you! Pura Vida!"
L

Lem
04/03/2018 , CO

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"These guys are pros. They know how to create exceptional experiences. Above all, they are great individuals and would trust them with all my travel in Costa Rica . "
Recommend this Company
5/5
E

ezucker
04/03/2018 , CA

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I was referred to My Costa Rica by a friend who had recently used them to organize a trip to Costa Rica. I normally make all travel arrangements myself, but this was my first trip to Costa Rica and I decided to use a tour company to make all the arrangements. My wife and I had a great time. We were very impressed by how smoothly the ground transportation was handled between each of our 4 hotels. There was one small hiccup at Sierpe waiting for a river boat to the Osa Peninsula, but that resolved itself pretty quickly. Apart from that, every single one of our land transfers was handled perfectly. The van and driver were waiting for us on time at each location and got us to our next destination comfortably and on time. My Costa Rica even reached out to me via e-mail during the trip to make sure everything was okay, which I appreciated."
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
Price
5/5
C

Catherine K.
04/03/2018 , WI

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"this was my 2nd trip and I relied on My Costa Rica again. The service was excellent and thorough. My trip was planned and executed to my interests and requests making it very personalized and not a pre-planned package. My Costa Rica listens to your interests and makes suggestions to accommodate what you want to see and do. I had an issue with a motel balance and I used My Costa Rica's 800 number as a mediator to resolve it instead calling the motel and being charged a long distance charge. My Costa Rica is very thorough at making sure your vacation is great. They make sure your itinerary will be created to your specifications. I would highly recommend using them. "
Recommend this Company
5/5
Would Buy Again
5/5
Price
5/5
M

Michelle M.
03/29/2018 , Ontario

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Incredibly knowledgeable and friendly and helpful overall, and I have already referred your company numerous times. The trip was fantastic; the people were incredibly knowledgeable and friendly and helpful overall, and I have already referred your company numerous times. Arenal Lodge was our favourite. It had a perfect mix of places to explore and wildness but a great pool and food too. The first night at the old Presidential home was ok, but mouldy and the bathroom smelled terrible! The were wonderfully friendly and helpful though? The hot spring was beautiful, but was supposed to have a buffet dinner but had a set menu and my son couldn?t find anything that he could eat. They also charged for towels and I almost didn?t have the cash. Monteverde was stunning, but it could be noted that their sister hotel had a great pool and hot tub that we used and it was great! The staff at the Country Lodge was amazing too; one of the female staff actually helped me order a pizza for delivery when Lieran was starving and it was pouring outside.. I wish I had her name. She was awesome. The air conditioning was broken on the bus to Manuel Antonio so it was a brutally hot trip for at least four hours, but a good adventure. The location, staff and food was great at Karahe, but the monkeys stole our fruit from the balcony. Our own fault entirely. The birdwatching tour was amazing; Geoner (spelling?) was a wonderful, patient guide. The final place was nice and simple but Lieran had severe ear pain and I was worried that he might not be able to fly and I spoke to the staff. They immediately put me in touch with a doctor who consulted in English and then they sent us in a taxi to the pharmacy to get what she had suggested, enabling my son to fly the next day. It was amazingly handled. The situation with the binoculars was fantastically handled as well and we were so lucky to get them back! Overall amazing trip; the one drawback was finding reasonably priced meals for my son. El Avion was a superb place in Monteverde though and we saw an Aracaris and a Scarlett Macaw across the street!! Thank you so much; you and your team were great."
L

Leaf T.
03/24/2018

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Our trip was incredible - made all the better because you took all the stress out of planning! Our trip was incredible - made all the better because you took all the stress out of planning! It was our first time in Costa Rica, and we already can't wait to go back. From the pick up at the airport, to the welcome gifts at each hotel, it was amazing. We loved the misty jungle at the Waterfall Gardens, and all the wildlife exhibits. Our room at the Peace Lodge was just what we needed after our long trip, and we wish we'd been able to stay longer! Si Como No was incredible - we loved relaxing at the pool, the staff was so helpful, and our massages were phenomenal. Manuel Antonio and Quepos were a perfect beach spot to relax. Tabacon was gorgeous - our favorite part was the cute town of La Fortuna, but we also loved our dinner at Los Tucanes. I cooked a steak on a lava rock! MyCostaRica was so helpful in planning our last minute vacation, and then accommodating our even more last minute changes! If there was one thing I'd add to your services, it would be to include maps/directions from one place to another on the itinerary, in case of lost internet signals, and maybe suggestions of places to stop along the way (for example, we stopped at Tarcoles Bridge on the drive from Tabacon to Quepos). Thank you so much for everything!"
G

George Y.
03/21/2018

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"I will recommend your company to everyone and probably use you again at some point myself. Your company did a very good job with pretty much everything. The accommodations were fine and the food was good. The guides were excellent and the drivers on time and very responsible. Thanks for making it happen.. I will recommend your company to everyone and probably use you again at some point myself. Like I think I told you before I've been to Guanacaste several times but never anywhere else in Costa Rica. All three places you booked us were more enjoyable than Guanacaste. Thanks again for everything."
D

Deenie R.
03/19/2018 , Nevada

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"We would definitely recommend My Costa Rica to any of our friends. We had a wonderful time in Costa Rica thanks to you and My Costa Rica. We appreciated the last minute refunds on the air fares and quick bookings of private transfers. We really got to see a lot of the country by car and the drivers local stories and history made it even better. We especially appreciated your quick responses as we were planning the trip. We were able to capture 182 bird species thanks to all the local bird guides. And added 118 to our life list of birds. We were thrilled to see the Resplendant Quetzal at Trogan Lodge. Thanks for all your help and staying in touch even while we were there when we had the cash refund coming for cancelled air flight and when we had the Trogan Lodge check in difficulty with the wrong room that eventually got corrected. They could have done a better job in changing our room to what we wanted. They did buy us a drink at their bar as compensation. So thanks again Nicole, we would definitely recommend My Costa Rica to any of our friends."
J

Judi C.
03/08/2018 , British Columbia

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"We have had a wonderful 3 weeks, thanks in large part to your help in organizing everything. We have had a wonderful 3 weeks, thanks in large part to My Costa Rica's help in organizing everything. I thought the best way to share our thoughts about the trip with you was to go through the itinerary, so here it is: The pick up at the airport was a great way to start. Nice welcome and the photo album and book mark are appreciated. We enjoyed our stay at Don Carlos Hotel. Charming place. Our favorite dish from the restaurant was their Coconut Flan, which had a toasted coconut base. I haven?t been able to find the recipe with the coconut base, but will keep trying. We did a city tour, organized at the hotel which was good. It gave us a quick overview of the city, which was great as e only had one day there. Cariblue Bungalows is a nice resort with good, friendly service. Our only disappointment was that our was that our ?Ocean Beach? did not have a view of the beach. The ocean was across the road, but because we were on the ground floor, we couldn?t see it. The grounds were nice to explore, complete with a resident sloth! The tour to the Animal Rescue Centre was very informative and the chocolate lady was very interesting.??The chocolate is very good, and so different from commercially made?we bought 10 little bares! Unfortunately, I couldn?t make it all the way down the steep hill to enjoy the waterfall. I have an old knee injury that was playing up and limited my mobility somewhat. Perhaps you could let people know that there is a steep climb to get to the waterfall. The guide did his best to help me along the way, though, and the fresh pineapple and coconut at the end were very welcome. The Ranchero Naturalista could not have been any better!! Gorgeous lodge, wonderful and plentiful food, incredible setting, great guides?..we couldn?t have asked for anything better. We saw so many birds!! Our guide, Harry Barnard, is very knowledgeable and personable. It was really nice to have the same guide for our 2 tours, but all the guides engaged with all the guests at meals and other times. Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge is a beautiful setting, but it is need of some T.L.C. My knee problem flared up after we booked everything, so I didn?t mention it to you when booking, otherwise some of the problem could have been avoided. When we checked in and found out our bungalow was 600 meters from the restaurant, we asked to be moved somewhere closer. Initially, the man on the desk (owner) seemed quite annoyed at the request, but did say he could move us closer to another unit in 2 days, and we could stay there for the last 2 days of our stay. Once I saw the steep switch-back paths, I knew I couldn?t manage that for 4 days and agreed to the move. When we went to make the move, we were told that we would have to move twice, which was very annoying. After some discussion, the manager said he would comp. our dinner to make up for the inconvenience. Better than nothing. So, during our 4 night stay we stayed in 3 different bungalows. They were basically okay, (the #10 suite was the nicest) but there was something that did not function in each of the units (TV, broken electrical outlets, coffee maker, etc.) The food in restaurant wasn?t all that good, and you are pretty well stuck there if you don?t have your own vehicle. We did make the trek up the hill to Miriam?s, where the food was excellent. Perhaps you need to take another trip there yourself and have a good look around before sending any more clients there. Our 2 birding trips with Carlos were really good. He is a very knowledgeable and enthusiastic you g man. We were lucky to see a pair of Quetzals in the process of hollowing out their nest?a real treat! We stopped in the valley afterwards and saw the Trogon Lodge?.maybe next time we come we can stay there. The valley is really beautiful. Batsu Birding snd Garden was great! There was a group of photographers there at the same time, but we had another viewing platform to ourselves. So many birds?? Hotel San Bada was wonderful, and just what we needed after Dantica. Lovely hotel and pool, nice beach a few minutes walk away, good food at both the restaurants, and great staff! The front desk people, waiters, and bartenders remembered our names and room number, and were always friendly and helpful. A great ?vacation our vacation? which we were ready for. We enjoyed the catamaran trip along the coast of the Manuel Antonio National Park. Again, very good staff on board, good food and they stayed out long enough for us to enjoy a beautiful sunset. The Poas Volcano Lodge is a beautiful place in a lovely setting. With all the dairy cows on the hills, it was like Switzerland in C.R.! Good food and service in the restaurant. Nice little cabin-like room, very comfortable. One of the nicest touches was the hot water bottle that they put in bed to warm it while we were at dinner! The La Paz Waterfall Gardens is incredible! So much to see. The lunch buffet was much more than anticipated, in both variety and quality. I was very grateful for the shuttle bus that took us back to the parking lot. The hills just about did me in! I treated myself to a massage back at the Poas?Lodge when we returned. All our drivers were right on time (or early), friendly and courteous. We would like to give Abel particular praise, as his enthusiasm for birding and Costa Rica in general made our time with him most enjoyable. He always included just a little bit extra when he took us from place to place or acted as our guide, taking us to special birding spots that he knew of along the way and other spots he thought were worth a little side trip. We were happy to have him with us on 3 different occasions. Sorry this is so long, but there was a lot to tell you. We have already told many people about MyCostaRica and will continue to recommend your company and Costa Rica in general! Thank you again!"
K

Karen J.
03/04/2018 , Michigan

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"We thorougly enjoyed our adventure from beginning to end. Thank you to My Costa Rica for a wonderful, well planned out visit for my son and me! We thorougly enjoyed our adventure from beginning to end."
S

Suzan S.
03/01/2018 , Missouri

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Thank you for your attention to detail and quick response to all the questions and concerns we had! Our trip was fantastic!?We absolutely loved the Arenal Kioro and the Westin Playa Conchal.?We took the Lost Canyon Canyoning Adventure, the Sky Trek & Tram Zipline excursion, and the Marlin del Rey Sunset Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise.?The canyoning and zipline tours were wonderful.?However, I would not recommend the snorkeling cruise.?Three of us have been snorkeling before and agreed this was the worst one any of us have done.?We saw no fish, no coral, only a few rocks.?The water was murky also.?All the transfers were great except the return from the snorkeling trip.?Our shuttle back to the Westin did not show up.?Thank goodness Carlos Luis Leiva Bustos from Transmila Transfers & Tours offered to take us back.?Just a note, our 1st shuttle from the airport to Arenal did not speak any English which made it difficult to communicate.?Luis and Rene (who took us back to the airport)?were a joy to talk to and very informative.?I highly recommend your agency and it has been a pleasure doing business w/ you and Jason. Thank you for your attention to detail and quick response to all the questions and concerns we had!"
S

Sharrie W.
02/27/2018 , Indiana

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"We had such a great time and all the accommodations and excursions were great! Our Costa Rica vacation was perfect! We had such a great time and all the accommodations and excursions were great! We loved the Hot Springs and the Tabacon resort. Then we moved on to the Trapp Family lodge in Monteverde. Enjoyed the change of scenery and climate and experience the local culture downtown and local food was amazing. Casa Cande was a very nice small all-inclusive resort. Loved it! We had to change our transportation for one day due to a planed excursion and you were very prompt in changing the transportation in a timely manner. All transportation was on time and transported us safely to our destination. We love your country and will definitely return for another visit! Thanks for all of your help to make our vacation a dream!"
C

Christy B.
02/23/2018 , Georgia

5.0
Overall Satisfaction Rating

"Jason listened to everything that we wanted, and that was a lot of adventure and a package with romance as well. Before the trip: Excited about our Anniversary trip in February 2018!! My husband and I will be taking our 2nd Anniversary trip to Costa Rica in February 2018. We looked at several places and decided to go to Costa Rica. I researched a lot of different options and discovered that I needed to get some help with where to stay and all the activities that we wanted to do. I received a call from Jason and he listened to everything that we wanted, and that was a lot of adventure and a package with romance as well. He checked into promotional options and 12 or so different options until we were 100% happy with exactly what we wanted out of our 10-day trip. Since we?ve booked our trip, they have continued to give us answers to questions that we have concerning our trip. I would recommend Jason and this company to all my family and friends. He has booked us a trip of a lifetime and the cost of the trip is more than reasonable, and staying at the very best of the hotels in Costa Rica. We?re so looking forward to our trip in February!! After the trip: So happy that we booked our dream vacation with, My Costa Rica! Nicole met us at the airport and gave us all of our information and a very lovely book to store our photos in. We had a wonderful trip and for sure be visiting in a few years. Everything was planned just as we expected and probably more than we expected. Our three hotels that we stayed at were absolutely stunning and truly magnificent!! I would highly recommend this company before booking with anyone else. We stayed a total of 10 days and had stunning views and our excursions were exactly as we had wanted them to be. We saw so much of the difference landscapes that Costa Rica has to offer. Great trip and my husband said I had done a great job of getting this company to book our dream trip!"

See more CostaRica.org Reviews

Visit CostaRica.org ►