site5.com Reviews

5 Stars

4.9 Overall Rating

Based on 6,180
5 Star Reviews 4 Star Reviews 3 Star Reviews 2 Star Reviews 1 Star Reviews
MD | Submitted 21 Jul 2016

Support at Site 5 prior to its' sale last month was excellent.

Post sale it has been less than stellar.

However, Shelby, Dragan, Bogdan and Vasilicla continue to be excellent.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Customer Service 2 2.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Arnaud | Vic, Australia | Submitted 29 Dec 2015

I did not have any problem with site5.com until they put me in the deep end when announcing that they were withdrawing their platform and that I had to look somewhere else.

Yes, they suggested other avenues but I still have to learn how to do the transfer and make sure it is successful before a short deadline.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Customer Service 5 5.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

We have spoken with Arnaud on this, and discovered that this was due to the removal of support for RVSiteBuilder on our servers; specifically, the timeframe we provided to give everyone time to find an alternate solution. When the decision was made to remove support for this, we wanted to provide a lengthy window for people to move to alternative site builders for their needs. We understand that this window, while generous, may not have been sufficient for everyone, and we certainly apologise for that. However, sites that were built using RVSiteBuilder remain online, and will be untouched. It is only future work with the builder that will not be possible. We are more than happy to offer advice on moving to another script or solution, or answering any questions about this.

VF | NSW, Australia | Submitted 10 Oct 2015

Customer service is what site5 is competent at. If any of you are looking for A-grade and flexible customer service, site5 is the one you should go for. In fact they consistently reply within a few mins after I have sent a ticket.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Customer Service 4 4.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

We thank this customer for their kind words, and for the review. We have contacted this customer to address the low scores and to see what we can do to improve on these, but have not yet heard back. We would love the opportunity to improve on these, and encourage this customer, and all customers, to let us know what areas they feel we can get better at.

bparker | NY, United States | Submitted 16 Jul 2015

Site5 is a good host with plenty of great options. They are easy and straightforard compared to most hosts, but their livechat really sets them apart. It's probably the best feature they have that others don't. The problem, though, is that you need that livechat. Doing anything will likely require a chat. Also, your server will go down. You will have problems. You will need to chat with help often. That's not good. I don't recommend Site5 because of all the problems.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 2 2.0
Customer Service 4 4.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

We have reached out to this customer to look into this further, but have not yet heard back. When this customer contacts us, we will be happy to investigate the issues mentioned here and work toward getting things resolved. We work very hard to make sure your hosting goes as smoothly as possible, and that downtime is kept to a minimum. To help with that, there are several ways to reach our support team, and we are available 24/7 to answer any questions you may have. We also have a team in place that monitors every server, and responds to issues as soon as they happen; this team is very good at their job and often resolve problems within seconds. Again, we encourage this customer - and all customers - to contact us at any time; our team is here to help, and is happy to do so!

Loc L | 70000, Vietnam | Submitted 2 Jun 2015

Quality is very good at Site5, support team is very professional and quick, almost online 24/24. I appreciate for all. And I think Site5 is my best option.

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Customer Service 5 5.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Giann V | Submitted 29 Jan 2015

I don't understand. If you review the previous ticket, your operators acknowledge they commited a mistake and told me there was no further action to take.

I thank they for their attention and asked to close the ticket... and in response I get this new ticket created by Mr. Mark M.

It's a very annoying situation for a customer...

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0

Response from site5.com:

We appreciate all feedback, and we occasionally ask that a customer provide a more public review in ShopperApproved. These are often generated by completely voluntary surveys we send when tickets are completed, and the review here is completely voluntary as well. It is never our intention to annoy our customers with requests; we send these on a case-by-case basis, and our customers are never under any obligation to complete these. This customer provided some very positive feedback in one of these instances, which prompted the email mentioned here.

Martin | Submitted 20 Jan 2015

I only had problems while placing the order. My address needed double checking or something...It took 2 days for me to get an account. Then I could not log in to the member area, I contacted support and they reset my password (I could not do it as the system said my email address was not on your system=.
But then I contacted TECH SUPPORT for some real hard issues I had with a ruby on rails site and they went the extra mile to get it fixed for me. I am very satisfied with the support given that´s why I am willing to forget about those minor purchase issues. Thanks

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Customer Service 5 5.0

Response from site5.com:

We want to thank this customer for their kind words about our support team, as we work hard to be the best we can be in all aspects of our services. It appears there was a discrepancy in the order information, which caused some delays. For security reasons, we need to make sure this information is accurate, which necessitates communication with the customer prior to activation. We are continually looking at the balance between security and ease of signup, to make things go smoothly. We are always available, 24 hours a day, seven days a week, to answer any questions or resolve any issues that may arise when signing up for or using our services.

James L | Submitted 28 Oct 2014

Site5.com was great, I mean, it was AWESOME: Great support, great servers, until it stopped being great, Don't get me wrong, they still have an outstanding support and people there are very professional.

But the the server availability is a different matter, specially Reseller, my server has become almost unresponsive, it takes about a minute or two to even log onto cpanel, it doesn't matter opening a ticket, it'll be answered ULTRA FAST, they'll fix the problem relatively fast but the problem will get back just as fast.

Don't get all excited about the 99.9% uptime guarantee because the server will effectively be UP but also unreachable because it is way too overloaded to even respond pings, but hey! it'll be up and running (actually, it'll be crawling)

Maybe some day Site5.com will get back to its previous awesome state, but until now get a better option.

Other Site5.com services like HostPro and HostPro + Turbo perform relatively well so if you just want to host and individual site it'll be OK

Recommend this Company 2 2.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 2 2.0
Customer Service 5 5.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

We have contacted this particular customer as we were unable to verify some of the issues mentioned here, and we wanted to see what we could do. We have received no response, unfortunately.

We have a team in place 24/7 to make sure servers remain stable and to respond to issues that can arise in a shared hosting environment. We make sure that every customer gets what they pay for and that all servers and services are performing properly.

If any customer feels that our servers are not performing well, we are available 24/7 and happy to investigate any issues. As mentioned, we have received no response to our efforts to resolve this, and we encourage the customer to follow up with us so that we can address any outstanding concerns!

bahattab | Submitted 30 Sep 2014

i need free SSL look like GoDaddy - it is not in your serves
i need URL masking - it is not in your serves
you are saying Unlimited and all the serves are limited the database is limited and the bandwidth is limited and you are just suspend my account becouse i am over the limit how come it is unlimited and it is limited in the same time

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Customer Service 4 4.0
flyinggoatman | South Yorkshire , United Kingdom | Submitted 21 Jul 2014

Amazing support team that take care of pretty much any problem you have, even if it's something dumb that everyone should know how to fix.

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Customer Service 4 4.0
Syed Razi H | AL, Pakistan | Submitted 24 Apr 2014

i bought reseller hosting from them 1st 15 days were excellent but then my whmcs was hacked then i think that i have to implement SSL certificate but then i got another bad felling that they charge you 15$ to install SSL certificate. Then after SSL my site was hacked again and someone created an account in WHM i terminated that account but then after 6 hours same account was created again in WHM

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 5 5.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Gabrielle S | IL, United States | Submitted 3 Feb 2014

The best thing about Site5 is that when you call for help you talk to real people you recognize, and I really like the way their picture is attached to the email or the chat. It doesn't feel like the typical robot version of this, because there are several of them, and I've gotten to know them over time.

The other thing is that when I've gotten frustrated, someone comes back to me and tries to figure out what went wrong.

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Customer Service 5 5.0
Jeffrey K | Submitted 27 Jan 2014

Great! Love it! however it would be better if they upgrade all the server to the latest version.

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Customer Service 4 4.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

We tried contacting this customer to find out what software versions he was referring to specifically, but he did not respond. We would like to clarify that all software on our servers is secure and up to date. If there is a new version available for any particular software, you can be assured that our technology team is already testing out the new version on our staging systems before pushing the update to live servers. We take a lot of care with updates as we want to always make sure that updates don't break anything and that all software running on our platform works well together. Until a new version has been tested thoroughly and we're absolutely sure that it won't cause any undesirable effects we prefer to stick with a patched older version that has all the updates available in the latest versions backported to it (we never compromise on security!).

Anonymous Customer | CO, United States | Submitted 23 Jan 2014

I have been experiencing quite a bit of server downtime lately - in just the last week, the server was down for 30 mins and then several days later, down for 2.5 hours.

Recommend this Company 2 2.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 2 2.0
Customer Service 4 4.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

The customer has not provided a name and did not respond to our messages so we're not sure which is the server that he may be referring to. We do our best to keep servers and websites up and running. Downtime unfortunately happens and this is true for any other host, but we do try our best to prevent it and we have a team that is 24/7 dedicated to scanning for errors in servers and fixing them to prevent downtime. On a shared environment, it's possible to have a bad neighbour causing issues on the server. Once we determine if that's the case, it takes a bit of time to resolve it. That being said, we do work hard to minimize downtime and we're extremely transparent about everything (uptime statistics of our servers are posted publicly at https://www.site5.com/support/uptime/). We're sorry that this customer suffered some downtime and if he would like to reach out to us, we would be happy to do whatever it takes to ensure his satisfaction.

cwb3 | IA, United States | Submitted 3 Dec 2013

My experience so far is not adequate to rate my satisfaction with products and services, whether I would buy again, or recommend the site.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Customer Service 3 3.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Matt W | TX, United States | Submitted 26 Mar 2013

Site5 is thorough and does get the job done. While I might like a faster turn-around (& who wouldn't?), the practical reality is that less than one day in virtually all cases is a challenging standard to uphold and they consistently resolve stuff that comes up in that timeframe.

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Customer Service 3 3.0
emburke | MA, United States | Submitted 6 Sep 2012

While I was directed to a web page where I should be able to find the information, my questions weren't addressed by the representative responding to them - twice. I was asking for information on behalf of another organization that will be purchasing web hosting services at my recommendation, and I wanted concise information that I could forward to them. Otherwise, I love the service I've previously gotten from Site5 and have recommended it to others and will continue to do so.

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Anonymous Customer | Submitted 12 Jun 2012

Site5 is cool. Price isn't the cheapest but I also haven't had any serious issues. I guess you really do get what you pay for.

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
tony | Submitted 4 May 2012

Live supprt very helpful - miragtion of website very very slow.

Initially i was told by sales live chat that migration would take s 12 hours... but now i am being told will take 5 days.

This 12 hour migration was the reason why i decided on site5 so I am a little disappointed. I have canceled the migration now as it is far to slow as i lose $100's every day my site is down. I tried to pay you extra for a quick service but I was told i would have to wait.

Now and I am paying a third party to do it to speed the migration up. I hope that once migration is complete that I will not have any problems.

Thanks

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Customer Service 3 3.0

Response from site5.com:

We're sorry to hear that you had an unhappy experience with our migrations service. We do try and migrate websites for our customers as quickly as possible, but we can't really provide any guarantees on the time it takes because that depends on the number of websites and the total size of data being migrated. For example, if someone having dozens of video based websites totaling hundreds of Gigabytes wants a migration, it will surely take time due to the sheer size of data and the time it would take for it to travel over the internet. We do have a dedicated Migrations department, and they prioritize migrations based on various circumstances, such as the urgency of the migration request - for instance, if a customer's sites are being shut down at their old host, we do try and move them as soon as we can to help them avoid downtime. If there is no such urgency we tell customers approximately when we can get to their migration and when it would complete. We do aim to finish migrations within 48 hours, but in certain rare cases that may not be possible. I would be happy to find out the exact circumstances that led to so much delay in your case - do you have ticket numbers or can you provide your full name or domain name so that we can pull out full details of your case ? If someone on our team gave you a grossly incorrect estimate for the time your migration would take, then we would like to apologize. We strive to be very clear in such communication so that customers can plan accordingly (like making decisions on when to point DNS to us etc, to enable a smooth changeover). In any case, please do get back to us with your details that I requested so that we can dig deeper.

alMubarmij | Syria, Other | Submitted 11 Feb 2012

Good Web-hosting company.

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 2 2.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Customer Service 5 5.0
© 2017 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved.
To learn more about Shopper Approved, Click Here
This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2017