site5.com Reviews

5 Stars

4.9 Overall Rating

Based on 6,179
5 Star Reviews 4 Star Reviews 3 Star Reviews 2 Star Reviews 1 Star Reviews
Anonymous Customer | Submitted 5 Apr 2016

Urgent tickets (2) open for over an hour without a reply. My company has no mail (for all day long) and one folder (where are images for recently sent email campaign) has been removed by them! (no previous advice, no solution, no reply). Chat guy says "someone is bombarding server and tech guys are too busy to reply". Sad.

Recommend this Company 2 2.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 2 2.0
Product Satisfaction 2 2.0
Customer Service 2 2.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

We have reached out to this customer to discuss these concerns, but have not yet heard back. We encourage all customers to contact our team with any questions or concerns they may have. At times when a server is being attacked, we unfortunately can not provide an ETA on a resolution to the issue due to not having control over when the attack starts or stops. While we do have network protection systems in place, sometimes this can not fully stop an attack and thus causes diminished performance from the server.

We fully understand that downtime is bad, and we want your sites to be online as much as you do. We have a team of people in place 24/7 and their sole responsibility is identifying server issues and repairing them. This team is responsible for making sure servers do not go down, but also to bring them back online as quickly and as safely as possible. While we cannot contact each customer on a server when it is down, for obvious reasons, we do maintain https://live-reporting.site5.com/ where all issues are reported as they happen, and updates are regular, as well as provide multiple avenues to contact our team for more specific information. We encourage all customers to use all methods available to reach us when needed.

David E | Submitted 1 Feb 2016

Site5 continues to make over promises and under-delivers. The present themselves as a premium hosting company. I can't even tell you how many times my sites (plural) have gone down...and two of them are ecomm sites!

Net net, good for domain registration...horrible for hosting.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 2 2.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

We have reached out to David to discuss his concerns with our hosting, but we have not heard back yet. We place the highest priority on providing a smooth, stress-free, and efficient hosting experience, and our support team is available 24/7 to help with that. Any questions or concerns can be brought to our team at any time, and we are happy to discuss these at any time. We encourage David to reach out to us through the many methods we have open for this, as we encourage all customers to do so.

Rone | Goiás, Brasil | Submitted 14 Jan 2016

I'm a frustrated client, because the host's price is very expensive and this company doesn't import with its clients.

Recommend this Company 2 2.0
Would Buy Again 2 2.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 2 2.0
Customer Service 2 2.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Ahmed | ON, Canada | Submitted 13 Jul 2015

I've been with Site5 for 2 years. In March 2015 (3 months ago), I was forced to upgrade my HostPro account. This was done automatically with little assistance to determine why resource usage was high. I paid the premium for this and have been happy with the 99.6% uptime, but it could be better. I recently referred a client to Site5 and their account was suddenly suspended on a Saturday afternoon. On Monday, they realized what happened and their company account was flagged for fraud. After hours of back and forth, I'm trying to get the sites up and use my own credit information. My client is an international company with over 1,000 employees worldwide. I'm no longer support Site5 and am in the process of migrating away from them.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 2 2.0
Customer Service 2 2.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

We have contacted this customer to see of we could provide more help, but have not yet heard back. We encourage Ahmed to contact our team, as we would be more than happy to look into this further. We rarely suspend accounts, as we want your sites to be online as much as you do. There are certain cases, however, where a suspension may be necessary - overdue payment is the most common, but intentionally uploading malicious content or attempts to harm the server can also lead to a suspension. It is not something we do lightly; we come to these carefully, with full communication to our clients. Suspension is always a last resort, and our team is always available to help you bring your sites back online as quickly as possible.

Randy N | IL, United States | Submitted 3 Jun 2015

My website and FTP site have been down for 5 hours. The Level I Support Tech said she would have manager call me back, it has now been 5 hours and I still have not heard from anyone in management. This places customer support is terrible.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience Randy experienced due to his inability to load the website. We have reviewed the tickets and chat transcripts from this issue, and see that a support manager did work closely with Randy to get this resolved. It appears that the cause of this was a small, difficult to locate code error and our support team was able to get this corrected. This took some time, however, and we apologise for that.

We encourage all customers to contact us whenever they have any questions, and to request an escalation if they feel their requests are not getting the proper attention. We are available 24/7 and if a customer wishes to escalate their issue to a manager, one will be in contact with them as quickly as possible!

Anouk B | Co. Meath, Ireland | Submitted 2 Mar 2015

The transfer would have been better if we had gotten more information before the swap and we would have known exactly what was needed from us. Then during the transfer it would have been better if we would have gotten information on the status of the transfer.

Recommend this Company 2 2.0
Would Buy Again 2 2.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Customer Service 3 3.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

We would like to thank Anouk for the feedback provided. We are always looking for ways to improve our service, and feedback from our customers is a big part of that. We have reviewed the migration referenced here, and there were a few delays caused by the previous hosting provider's lack of cooperation in releasing necessary data. When the request was first received, we clarified what we needed, and many of the migration delays were due to Anouk's previous hosting provider. We feel that our transparency - your information is always easy for you to retrieve once you verify your ID as the account owner - is what led to the decision to migrate to our servers. At this time, Anouk's sites are loading from our servers correctly, and we certainly hope they will do so for a long time to come.

Vitor B | Submitted 31 Dec 2014

I miss some features which in my opinion, are fundamental for a company offer.
  I am customer of other companies over 10 years, this was the first company that does not offer access logs to WHM, access logs to FTP (by default) and it helps if you are in any security problem.
  The service is resoavel, the average is my sites go offline for a few minutes 15 times per week.

  Currently I'm only in Site5 to not have to migrate all my sites again to another company.

Recommend this Company 2 2.0
Would Buy Again 2 2.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

I am very sorry to hear you had downtime with our web hosting. That is very rare, and we would love to help you look into that and ensure that it never happens again. We monitor our servers 24/7 to ensure our services are online and working as fast as possible for all our clients. The instant a problem is detected our team goes to work to fix the issue.

We don't provide access logs by default, but we can provide them on request. The reason for this is we manage all of that for you and proactively protect all our customers from security problems. We want our customers to have worry-free hosting and know that we are handling everything for them :)

Carlson | MN, United States | Submitted 7 Oct 2014

I've been frustrated with the uptime on my shared server with Site5. The server frequently will go down around mid-day and it will have intermittent connectivity issues. This seems to be happening fairly frequently. When you put in a support ticket, they say that they are working on fixing the problem. They have an area where they will give an update on the solution.

But, this is happening quite often. Site5 seems unable to address it.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
rbblue | CA, United States | Submitted 1 May 2014

It really annoys me that when there is a problem with the account (e.j. mailbox fills up with spam) they just disable the mail without sending any warning. It usually takes me a few days to realize there is a problem, during which time I've lost a load of mail and probably customers. For that reason I switched to Dreamhost.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 2 2.0
Customer Service 3 3.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Chuck | NY, United States | Submitted 20 Apr 2014

Buyer beware, they state that the reseller plan includes 3 ip's. All domains on the server share the same 3 ip's. This is like saying your new car has an exclusive radio station.... you think you are getting a value for your money but you are getting that same station as everyone else. You are made to think it is 3 dedicated IP's just for your reseller account. Guess again. When I called them on it, they tried charging me $3 a month for an IP... But remember, my account INCLUDED 3 ip's right? Nope. Just didnt sit well with me, awful scamish if you ask me. I moved to a new host after 4 yrs after they refused to give me the IP's that were supposably included in my plan. $3 cost them a client but they are so big, they dont care. Good bye site5!

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 2 2.0
Customer Service 2 2.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Jason | Submitted 26 Feb 2014

WIthin the first month of service with site5 we have had 4 outages when their mySQL server stops responding and all our reseller sites go down. This is disastrous for our business and we are already looking for alternate options.

Recommend this Company 2 2.0
Would Buy Again 2 2.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Customer Service 2 2.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

On any shared service, minor issues will happen, and how the host responds to these is the important thing. We have a team of highly skilled professionals in place, monitoring all services on all managed servers, 24/7. When something happens, be it high load or a MySQL crash, this team jumps into action to diagnose the cause of the problem, repair it, and find a permanent solution to it. Sometimes this is a quick process, and it never happens in the same way again. Sometimes the root cause is difficult to track down, or requires significant steps to repair. In these longer cases we also get our Senior System Administration team to investigate the problem, review what has already happened, and correct the problem going forward. Our entire team is dedicated to keeping your website up and running, and we will always work towards that goal.

Thank you
Site5.com

Mark | Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom | Submitted 23 Jan 2014

Everything has been fine until the last few days when all emails to key customers have been bounced due to them being flagged as spam. This has caused havoc to my customers and it is affecting many Site5 customers. They have been unable to resolve the problem despite saying that they have sorted it out. Still the email doesn't work and they are not responding to support requests. I am very disappointed and feel let down.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 2 2.0
Customer Service 0 0.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

Our servers rarely get black listed for spam, but it looks like this is one of those unfortunate cases where one of them did. We're very transparent with our customers in such cases and keep them updated with the progress, unfortunately, in several cases it takes a long time for the black list to get removed as most big email providers and spam black lists are very slow to respond to the hundreds of requests that they get each day. This may have given the customer an impression that we're slow to act on these problems when in reality our abuse team is constantly checking for updates. What is in our control though is to be proactive about email security and we do everything in our control to fight spam and ensure our servers do not get black listed. I'll reproduce below an explanation drafted up by our VP of customer service that delves into how we go about doing this and what happens here behind the scenes, I hope that helps!

We do everything we can to stop spam from leaving our servers. However, spam blacklisting can still happen. Blacklisting is a measure designed to prevent spam from reaching an email account's inbox. Below are some details on what we do to prevent spam from ever leaving our servers, and what we do if a server has been blacklisted.

We have a team of people in place who monitor the servers 24/7. This team watches over every single server to make sure all services are running, that all servers are stable and accessible, but also that mail flow is at normal levels. When outgoing mail spikes, as is common when there is an outgoing spam outbreak, these team members take a look at what is causing it. This involves checking the mail queue, use spam-like markers in outgoing emails to identify problem applications, and disabling things if necessary. As this is done, any spam in the mail queue is manually removed. Afterwards, the owner of any problem applications is notified, and we begin working with them to resolve the issue, and secure their account. This way, most blacklistings are prevented before they actually happen

On a shared server, it is not necessarily your account that is the cause of a blacklist. All mail is sent from the main shared IP address of the server, so one person's account getting compromised means everyone on the server suffers. Because of this, we take these mail spikes and blacklistings very seriously, and work quickly and thoroughly to prevent them from happening, or resolve the issues when they do.

Our server health team are good at their job. Very good. On rare occasions, however, an application can run out of control faster than any human can react to it - it does not take very long for a compromised application to send 50 000 spam messages. In those cases, we begin the process of disabling the application, cleaning the mail queue, and then delisting the server IP.

To help combat outgoing spam, our Server Health team has implemented some automated tools that help reduce the amount of spam that leaves our servers. These function much the same way as SpamAssassin works to filter incoming mail - messages in the queue are scanned, and those with high spam scores are frozen in the queue rather than sent, and our Server Health team is alerted. In fact, the tools we are using for this are based on SpamAssassin, and use a lot of the same internal tools.

We also have some tools in place that allow us to handle accounts that are sending spam, whether the account owner is aware of that activity or not. We always try to interfere as little as possible with the website's functions. If an application is compromised, we can prevent that application from sending email. If it is a single email address sending spam via direct login (authenticating with the email address and password), we can simply prevent that email address from being accessed, until the password is changed.

When a server is blacklisted despite our best efforts, we go to work on getting mail flowing normally again. This means finding out why the server was blacklisted, resolving that issue, clearing the mail queue of spam messages, and then requesting delisting. This process is relatively quick. The longest delay is from the various blacklist providers. While most of them are quick to react to our requests, some may unnecessarily delay a resolution.

Unhappy Former C | CA, United States | Submitted 25 Nov 2013

I opened two reseller accounts with Site5. The migrations from my former large host, (bought by EIG), was a bit rocky. I did get personal help from Drago, part of their migration team. I found the use of constant tickets,and chat tiresome. Typing everything out was time consuming and repetitive for me. Phone support is very limited to 1-6 EST- M-F. My main issues began after I moved all my sites over. Sites were running slow, clients were complaining, and I had to contact Site5, (not on the phone unfortunately) almost every day. Once they looked into my problem, I was sent an email telling me my sites, (with no details at all) were using too many resources. I was told we are "moving you to VPS in 5 days". They tell you you have no choice. Fix your resource issue or we move you to VPS. These are all accounts I have had for years on my other hosting companies reseller program with no problems at all. I do not recommending Site5 if you are a reseller. They are quite draconian about how they handle this and I emailed Ben, one of the owners, and he said, we give you 5 days to optimize and work on all you account. Gee thanks Ben. No help, no details, just optimize 80 accounts and here is our generic laundry list. I have had nothing but spotty performance and problems since I moved and this was the final straw. I have found another reseller company and leaving Site5.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 2 2.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 3 3.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

We're unable to identify this customer as he hasn't provided a name in the review - we're unable to specifically comment on the issues that he is describing since we don't have any details of the case (he did not respond to our private messages either sent via this site). We can confidently say though that our resource usage policies are more than fair. The resource points system was created after thorough research into how much hardware resources (CPU time and memory) a website can use on a shared web hosting server without impairing performance for other users on that server. It provides websites with more than enough resources - we say this based on both thorough testing and user feedback, which has been consistently positive. A detailed overview of resource points is provided at this link: http://kb.site5.com/policies-and-information/resource-points/resource-point-overview/
If a website seems to be taking up too many resources, it can usually be fixed by optimizing the scripts. A professional webmaster can help with this and in case of popular content management systems like WordPress there are plenty of optimization tips available online that one can use. As a web hosting company, our job is to provide & manage the web hosting environment (the server and the software running on it such as the web & database server among other things). Optimizing individual web pages is not something we can do and website owners need to handle that themselves. We do however maintain a knowledgebase and are always willing to point our customers to optimization tips or anything else that can help. If a customer fails to optimize his websites and it results in impaired performance for other users, we move them to a VPS since that has dedicated resources. We provide them 5 days notice, and even after they're moved to a VPS they have 30 days make further changes since the VPS is free for 30 days. These policies are more than fair and we ensure that no one is adversely affected.

A.M.A S | Submitted 6 Dec 2011

Problems with Standard Procedures
I had already 3x problems with site migration, because site5 had problems in the zone file. If a mistake happens more the once, this means the procedures are not defined correctly. I also had recently problems to order a new domain name, this part of the menu was not available from my dashboard and the support could not give my access to order a domain. Have to wait (9 hours) for the office hours that the management can look, that I'm able to order a domain. This is a very strange procure for my for ordering a standard .com or .net domain and not customer friendly at all. It seams managers and people with the authority to do a decision working only during office hours

This review was entered into RatePoint ® and imported into Shopper Approved on 30 Jan 2012

Response from site5.com:

I am very sorry for the problems you had with our service. The zone files were imported directly from your previous host. We do not modify zone files automatically during a migration except for the main records because we do not want to break any custom modifications. Not all customers want custom entries like SPF to be automatically re-pointed to our server without permission. If you have any custom modifications that need to be updated, like SPF records, we need to know about those ahead of time and then we could have updated them for you. However, as a result of your feedback, we have revised our internal policies slightly to check for the existence of these records and ask the customer what they would like us to do with them.

You were unable to register those domain names because your account needed manual review by a manager before processing. This happens to an extremely small percentage of customers and most domain registrations are processed immediately when registered.

DM | Submitted 11 Feb 2011

All about issue-handling
Site5 is a generally decent host, fair pricing and package specs. Not an overly large amount of issues, etc. The problem, unfortunately, is that they are extremely lost whenever something outside the normal occurs. They always seem to have some "unknown bug" that has "never been seen before" and even the vendor partner is baffled by. I don't know what sort of obscure stuff Site5 uses, but come on... Any time one of these world first issues pops up, it generally takes several days of complete down time for Site5 to fix. I've even had mail data completely lost (which is why I use Site5 for webhosting only and moved mail hosting elsewhere)... and that was on their centralized redundant mail hosting. They communicate often on issues, but with little substance. Since they're either genuinely clueless or masking the true nature of the issues, most updates are just "still working on it, please forgive us" type statements. Still, better than nothing. If you try to ask technical questions about temporary resolutions to ongoing issues they give you the cold shoulder. They advertise their cloud hosting as "never go down!" (yes, with the exclamation point) but I'm in my second day of being down

This review was entered into RatePoint ® and imported into Shopper Approved on 30 Jan 2012

Response from site5.com:

We explained repeatedly the technical nature of the problem to this customer, they refused to accept our very detailed explanation. I'm not sure why they felt it was without substance as we explained what was happening in great detail and gave updates on the progress of the fix every 20 to 30 minutes. There was unfortunately nothing more we could do here.

Thanks, Ben

Average of 1763 reviews without comments.
Verified Customer
© 2017 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved.
To learn more about Shopper Approved, Click Here
This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2017