site5.com Reviews

5 Stars

4.9 Overall Rating

Based on 6,180
5 Star Reviews 4 Star Reviews 3 Star Reviews 2 Star Reviews 1 Star Reviews
sundar | Tamilnadu, India | Submitted 8 Jun 2017

Any one help me to recover my account in site5 3 days before they blocked me to access my datas my sites are also down, if i ask anything in live chat they simply saying wait for ticket reply in ticket, 2 days before they said DDOS attacked my account you have to wait for the attack subsided in ticket, but they didn't notify me before block my sites and access, even though i installed their suggested sucuri malware and also i installed sucuri firewall for my domain but still they said this, my accounts are attacked, after that in today live chat they told if u upgrade to VPS5 site will back in few hrs already i paid 1200$ for one year renew VPS4 plan now they asked me to update to VPS5 extra 400-500$ i paid and upgraded after few hrs another chat guy told this plan bandwidth exceed ur bandwidth usage upgrade the latest plan VPS8 for that u have to pay us 1444$ even i paid that too but still sites also not opening and not allowing me to access my datas till now no response in ticket totally i paid 3500$. Note: 2nd time payment i didn't approve the payment from my side they said automatic paypal payment its deducted automatically.i noticed billing department working rapidly till i cant access my sites and my datas am loosing all my business and my clients kindly some one help me to recover my sites

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
Phil | London, United Kingdom | Submitted 17 Mar 2017

Since EIG took over Site5 (from Ben Welch-Bolen - thank for stiffing us, Ben, I won't forget this & I'll never touch a hosting company of yours again) it has become, without any question of a doubt, the single worst experience of my online life. Ever.

I really haven't the time to list everything that's gone wrong, suffice it to say that the experience is SO bad that I'll make sure that EIG isn't behind any hosting company I touch in the future.

If you think I'm exaggerating in the slightest then I suggest you check out #site5 on Twitter.

If it was a choice between 'no hosting' and Site5 I would take 'no hosting'. Seriously. The only reason I haven't migrated the last of my sites away from them is that I'm scared to even touch the backend for fear of it breaking.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
DoNotUseSite5 | PA, United States | Submitted 17 Dec 2016

Customer service is terrible. No response to support tickets for days. It used to be a good web host. Under new management, it is awful. Stay far away.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
Gianfranco A | San Antonio Miraflores, Lima P Javier Fernandez | Submitted 21 Nov 2016

SInce you change your look and feel, All your platform is not working. I like the look and feel, but it doesn´t work. Even do without information about the cahne, and inside how the new image will help us to work inside.
Very bad. In my case I am blocked. I can´t sign in. My email is not recognized and my password is not working. You don´t recognized.
So I feel as I lost all my time an effort working with you guys.
Please can you help me to resolve my account problems?

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 2 2.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 3 3.0
SDL | ME, United States | Submitted 28 Oct 2016

I've been a client for several years. When purchased last summer by EIG group, their quality and customer service have deteriorated. Now I can't even get support for simple issues. I host over 80 sites as a re-seller and need to leave because I can't get a competent person at Site5 to provide any support. In fact, I have open URGENT support tickets for 48+ hours without a response. When calling for support, I'm told that a supervisor is "unavailable". When I asked to wait on hold, the person politely said, "No, you don't understand, we don't have a supervisor." That was kind of them to declare the limit by which they can help. Unfortunately the answer is they can't and therefore my clients suffer. I STRONGLY recommend against not using this company. The positive reviews are based upon years of great service. I can guarantee, this isn't the company that exists now. If I could give them 0 stars I would. I'm posting this as a warning to ANYONE considering this awful company as a provider.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
Dennis M | NY, United States | Submitted 18 Oct 2016

After 5 years of receiving good services and adequate support site5 is suddenly going downhill immensely fast. When the blog section of my website suddenly become unreachable I contacted their support. I had to wait for several hours for a chat representative to come online. He kept referring to KB articles and blaming WordPress (my website does not run on WordPress) for the issue. To later find out they are working on replacing their servers?

When I contacted them again since the issue prevailed they advised me to change my name servers, which since I always received good and accurate response I did.

Now my website doesn't work, my email is down and nobody within site5 is taking any responsibility whatsoever and leaving me standing in the cold for almost 2 days now with a broken website and no email. I host many domains with them, been a hosting customer with fixed IP adres and so forth for many years now but seriously considering moving away from this company.

It was a nice ride for many years but for the past 2 months it has been nothing but a nightmare when seeking assistance.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
C. Criswell | IN, United States | Submitted 24 Sep 2016

Set up a website with them over a year ago. Started out great, now there is 0 customer service, 0 help desk, and unanswered questions.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
Ruben L | NH, Netherlands | Submitted 24 Sep 2016

I've been a customer of Site5 for over 4 years, they had amazing customer service.
Not anymore..... since a month I can't get a hold of them anymore, live chat (used to be my main source of support) not has a wait time of over an hour, not so live anymore
Tickets take about 5 days for them to even be acknowledged, but resolving them takes even longer. At the moment I have 3 tickets open for over a month...

Used to refer a lot of clients to them but now I won't even think about it.

Looking for an other host any you should probably do the same...

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
YESIN | MILANO, ITALY | Submitted 22 Sep 2016

Hello ,

bevor we make payment the chat system for billing answer in 1second ..
after we have order the HORROR TRIP BEGANS

- SITE5.COM GUIDELINES

- POST A TICKET TO MIGRATE SHOP WE DONE THEY ANSWER AFTER 7 DAYS
- MIGRATION WAS NOT AT ALL SUCCESSSFULL SO WE AGAIN POST TOCKET BUT NOBODY ANSWER SO WE FIX OURSELF

- DOMAIN TRANSFER POST TICKER AND TILL TODAY NOBODY ANSWER US ABOUT THE DOMAIN TRANSFER

- IN THIS WEEK 3 TIMES SERVER DOWN -- POST TICKET NOBODY ANSWER US NOBODY NOTHING

NO FTP WORKING - NO CPANEL WORKING - NO LIVE SHOP WITH 5000 CUSTOMER WORKING

SO WE CHANGE SERVER IN THIS DAYS IS NOT RACCOMEND IF YOU HAVE LIVE WEB OR LIVE SHOPS

IS ONLY RACCOMEND TO GIVE MONEY AWAY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


. OF COURSE AFTER THEY DONT ANSWER US AFTER DAYS WE HAVE SUBMIT 10 TICKETS MAYBE TOCKET SYSTEM WAS BROKEN -- ANSWER FROM THEM BUT NOT TO RESOLVE OUR PROBLEM WAS ... PLEASE POST ONLY ONE TICKET AND THATS WAS ALL ...

VERY BAD ................

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
John | Submitted 20 Jun 2016

Sorry but I have not had a very good experience. I am in the process of looking for another hosting company. It is great to always be able to reach someone. But I can honestly say that is about as good as it gets. You better be able to tell them what is wrong or you will go in endless circles explaining the same thing with long delays before resolution. Also I have a resellers account. Only two sites, constantly getting disc usage errors. They are basically static except for email. Admin backups of WP count for user quotas. Email is constantly sending disc usage errors. There is nothing but text being sent and only one account has any real usage on their servers. Working on a down site that had to have IP address for server updated over 3 weeks ago and now the info is gone and have to have to update again. There are too many times to list all the less than timely, and technically unreasonable issues with this company. Unless you are system admin and can tell them how to fix there own system, and it happens way too often, you are going to be disappointed.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

We have reached out to John regarding the issues he has been experiencing, but have not heard back. We do encourage all customers to contact our team with any questions or concerns they may have. Our staff may ask for clarification on issues to ensure they fully understand the situation and can get it fixed. However, when the cause of a problem is obvious, there is no back and forth communication filled with questions because our team takes pride in fully resolving issues immediately when they are contacted about them.

The issues described in the comment sound as if a trash or spam folder have filled up thus causing quota errors for the customer. Regarding the IP change, this is very possible with upgrade migrations that are taking place at this time however, without having specific information, we can only speculate on the cause of the problems John experienced. We always encourage all customers to use all communication methods we offer to contact our team and our staff is ready and waiting to do everything they can to help get issues fully resolved.

D Design | Submitted 3 May 2016

We've had a terrible experience trying to work with Site5. After switching from our old host to Site5, Site5 specialists failed to mention an additional migration form that needed to be filled out--so our web content disappeared. After multiple phone calls to support, lots of waiting on hold, and several "dropped calls," we finally managed to reach another specialist through live chat. While he attempted to resolve the issue, we ended up contacting our previous host and switching back.

From a business standpoint, Site5's support was unprofessional and frustrating. Will no longer be using or recommending Site5.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

We have reached out to D Design to find out more about this review, and the confusion regarding our migration form. We do require a migration request form to be submitted prior to starting any migrations to ensure our team has all the information needed to complete a seamless migration from the previous host to our services. We have not yet heard back, but we do encourage all customers to contact our support team at any time. We are always happy to help and we are always looking for ways to improve our overall service and procedures.

Anurag | TX, United States | Submitted 4 Apr 2016

HOSTPRO+TURBO PLAN IS MISLEADING

If you are looking for free dedicated IP and sign "hostpro+turbo" plan, you should know that,
- to get free IP, first of all you'll have to buy SSL certificate
- buying SSL certificate is not enough to get FREE IP
- you'll have to pay $15 to site5.com to get the certificate installed on your server because site5.com doesn't allow you to install it yourself.

If you don't believe me, just go to live chat and ask their support.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

We have reached out to Anurag to discuss these concerns, but have not yet heard back. We encourage Anurag and all customers to contact our team with any questions or concerns they may have. The reason we require justification for IP addresses, even those included with a hosting plan, is due to ARIN's regulations on IP addresses. At this time, all IP addresses provided by ARIN require a valid reason for being used.

Also, regarding our SSL install fee, if SSL certificates are purchased from us, there is no fee to install the SSL certificate and the reason customers can not install these themselves is due to permissions on our servers not allowing the proper access to customer accounts. If there are any questions regarding our plans or service addons, our team is available 24/7 and are happy to help!

Adrian | Submitted 21 Mar 2016

Every week hosting is down about 24hours, our business is loosing money..

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 3 3.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

We have been in contact with Adrian regarding his recent downtime and explained our uptime guarantees and service credits for the rare times that a server that does not meet its uptime guarantee. We fully understand that downtime is bad, and we want your sites to be online as much as you do. To that end we have a team of people in place 24/7. Their sole responsibility is identifying server issues and repairing them. This team is responsible for making sure servers do not go down, but also to bring them back online as quickly and as safely as possible. While we cannot contact each customer on a server when it is down, for obvious reasons, we do maintain https://live-reporting.site5.com/ where all issues are reported as they happen, and updates are regular, as well as provide multiple avenues to contact our team for more specific information. We encourage all customers to use all methods available to reach us when needed.

CHITRA | Submitted 15 Feb 2016

DON;T BUY HOSTING FROM THIS PROVIDER. AS IT IS UPGRADING AUTOMATICALLY HOSTING ACCOUNT WIHTOUT ANY NOTIFICATION AND PUTTING DOWN SITES IF YOU NOT PAY.

AND WHY WE HAVE IF WE HAVE NOT REQUESTED THEM EXTRA SERVICE.

I SUGGEST TO EVERY BUY HOSTGATOR OR GODDDY AS IT IS BETTER SERVICE PROVIDER THEN THIS CHEATERS.

I HOPE MY REVIEW CAN BE USEFULL TO SOMEONE.

THANKS

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

We have reached out to Chitra to discuss these concerns, but have not yet heard back. We encourage Chitra and all customers to contact our team with any questions or concerns they may have. We only upgrade services when absolutely necessary, most often when an account's usage is detrimental to the health and stability of the hosting plan it is on. When this happens, we make every effort to contact the account owner and provide as much notice and help as possible. This is often an email to start, followed by several phone calls. Our team is available to answer any questions or to help reduce usage to prevent the upgrade, if at all possible. We are available 24/7, and are happy to help.

Kliment N | na, Republic Of Macedonia | Submitted 2 Feb 2016

Not customer oriented at all ! Bad tech support, migrate my webpage by their hand on VPS. Hostgator and other hosting providers are cheaper and more customer oriented then site5. I'm not recommending this hosting provider for nothing. Please not choose their services because they are lamers !

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

We have reached out to Kliment to discuss their concerns, but have not heard back. Any migration to another server that we perform is done with the full knowledge or our customers, and only when absolutely necessary. We provide plenty of time and options to prevent the migration if desired, and we are more than happy to help in any capacity we can. We are always open to discussion, and our support staff are more than willing to find a solution that works best for our customers.

Kliment N | na, Macedonia | Submitted 24 Dec 2015

Lies, after the buying of the hosting account, limitations etc. There is not well specified limitations and other information just cheap price for bad service.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 2 2.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

We have reached out to Kliment to work with them on their issues, but have not yet heard back. We have located their most recent ticket, and it appears to be resolved at this time. We do offer managed hosting with no limits on bandwidth or disk space, but we do place limits on certain things, as detailed at http://kb.site5.com/policies-and-information/resource-points/resource-point-overview/. These are in place to maintain stability across all servers, and has proven an effective way to provide the best service possible to all of our customers. Our team is available 24/7 to answer any questions you may have, and we provide extensive documentation on all aspects of our hosting services.

Dana | BC, Canada | Submitted 12 Nov 2015

When the site is actually up and working, it's fairly quick. The problem is, there are ALWAYS issues, and my site seems to be down more than up. Servers got changed over, took down all my sites, scrambled my files, configs changed, just a nightmare to say the LEAST! For the high price I pay, I'd expect a H3LL of a lot more for my money. I've HONESTLY used free hosting that was more reliable, and less hassle. Never again.....

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 2 2.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

We have been in contact with Dana about this issue, and have reviewed the ticket in question. There was a migration across servers that did not go as smoothly as it should have, which caused some issues. Our team was quick to address each problem as it was discovered, and we worked closely with Dana to identify any errors on the account. Dana was very helpful in identifying issues, and we encourage all customers to let us know any time something goes wrong. We are always available, and happy to answer any questions or fix any hosting problems that come up.

Kramer P | Submitted 14 Oct 2015

The service uptime for me (I used reseller hosting standard plan @35.95 in Hong Kong data center) is just 90%.. this means, based on my use, I received nearly one full day (business hour) downtime around every few days.. It's terrible experience. To make it more seriously, after the money back period, the prepaid subscription fee is not refundable to your payment account but only in-store credit. The down time happens after money back period (The server was stable and fast during money back period for me.) and the money charged can only be refunded to credit within site5 store. For me, it's useless because I don't have any confidence to use their service any more! This means, uptime guarantee is just a slogan, but not promise!

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

We have been in contact with Kramer about this, and have looked into the issue in more detail. The account was cancelled at Kramer's request, due to some issues with server uptime which we reported at live-reporting.site5.com. The server was under a DDoS attack, and while we took every step to mitigate this as much as possible, there were occasional spikes in traffic that proved overwhelming to even the best defenses. Generally, DDoS attacks subside after a day or two, and our defenses are such that they rarely have any impact; this one was far more severe. Per our guarantees at https://www.site5.com/about/guarantees/ a service credit was applied to the account for the downtime on the server. When the cancellation request was received, the current active invoice was voided. Our uptime guarantee is something we take very seriously, and on the rare occasions that it is missed, we are happy to apply service credits to all customers affected.

Allsopp | Cardiff, United Kingdom | Submitted 11 Sep 2015

I've owned a Web Design company in the UK for over 15 years. Within this time I've built and managed 100's of websites that are hosted on a wide variety of different web hosts.

I have been a customer of Site5 for just over a year and in my experience they are one of the worst Web Hosts in the world.

Site5's web servers are very slow and they offer a very average service for a premium price. I think it's great how you can select the server location of your website, but that doesn't mean anything when their servers are extremely slow and they lack basic modern technology like SSD hard drives or the latest versions of PHP installed on their servers.

I chose Site5 because they are one of the most expensive web hosts and I therefore expected to get good service and good performance because they cost more than almost any other like for like service. Unfortunately I have been extremely disappointed with their confrontational customer service and inept technical support.

Site5 claim to be a Web Host for "Serious Web Designers", but in my experience they are only capable of dealing with the average customer who has a basic, low traffic website.

I strongly advise you not to choose Site5 as a Web Host if your website generates any amount of serious traffic or if your websites require any Web Platforms or Plugins that need a good amount of server resource to function properly.

I have used Site5's Shared and VPS hosting and they are both terrible compared to other like for like services that you can get from other Web Hosting companies.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 1 1.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
SANDRA Q | FL, United States | Submitted 31 Aug 2015

THEY MADE ME MAD THEY WANT ME OUT BECAUSE I GOT PROBLEMS WITH THEM THE LAST TIME AND NOW THEY MADE ME A REQUEST LOCATION THAT I NEVER DID ALSO AFTER A FEW DAYS THEY CHARGE ME 112$ DOLLAR FOR NOTHING THEY TOLD ME WAS A MISTAKE AND ALSO THEY TOLD ME EY YOU NEED TO GET CALM BECAUSE WE CAN KICK YOU OUT.

OK BUT THEY CAN PLAY WITH MY MONEY? NO CANT BE. MORE RESPECT TO THE CUSTOMER!

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
site5.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.

Response from site5.com:

We have contacted Sandra to discuss this in more detail, but have not yet heard back. We encourage her to contact our team, as we are always happy to help. We have reviewed her tickets and discovered the cause of her frustration. Due to an internal error regarding the location of her hosting plan, Sandra was not being charged correctly. As this was our error, there was no retroactive charge applied, but we did clarify that there would be a change going forward, and presented several options to her. At the same time, there was an erroneous renewal of some other services she had with us, which added to the confusion. The renewal charges for this were refunded with an apology, and we presented the options regarding her hosting location again. We encourage Sandra, and all of our customers, to contact us at any time with any questions or concerns, as we are more than happy to find a solution that works for everyone.

© 2017 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved.
To learn more about Shopper Approved, Click Here
This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2017