securitysystems.com Reviews

5 Stars

4.8 Overall Rating

Based on 2,303
5 Star Reviews 4 Star Reviews 3 Star Reviews 2 Star Reviews 1 Star Reviews
James Abernathy | LA, United States | Submitted 27 Apr 2016

nice, wide view, small, great instructions. didn't really care for web site though, but you'll like the dash cam

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 2 2.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Customer Service 2 2.0
Anonymous Customer | Submitted 14 Apr 2016
Verified Customer

Dash cam seems to work fine. Kind of small, which may make it hard for a cop to view it after an accident, If I ever needed to. And I don't see why the company didn't make the angle a full 120 instead of 119?! 119 degrees instead of the full 120 has kind of a negative psychological affect. Other cameras have 120 degree angles. The camera menu is easy to navigate, which makes it easy to change settings Which I appreciate! I have only looked at recorded footage once, but the picture seemed acceptable. Haven't viewed night time footage yet, so I can't say anything about that. Overall, it seems like a decent camera. It gives me peace of mind that no-one can ever accuse me of causing an accident that wasn't my fault. Much more expensive than others I've seen on tv.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Humphry I | Submitted 13 Dec 2015
Verified Customer

Playback has short pauses as timer cont..

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
securitysystems.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Walt R | Submitted 19 Nov 2015
Verified Customer

Just had it "hard wired". Will let you know after we've had it for a time. So far so good. Hope to give you a 5 star. Am suspicious about you asking for name and email.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
securitysystems.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
james r | Submitted 28 Oct 2015
Verified Customer

screen is to small i cannot see it hard to operate

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
securitysystems.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Larry Z | Submitted 4 Oct 2015
Verified Customer

The information on your site was very informative. It was the factor in my deciding to purchase. At the point I did not find your site intuitively obvious to navigate. Did not see a clear button that says click here to buy. Once I finished I guess I never saw the proclamation on how you ship (again I did not find it obvious or apparent). No problem but when I send a note back to Janice O to please forgo signature I received a NOTE IN ALL CAPS which is reserved for someone yelling and was told "if I had read..." and copied the terms from the site she claimed I was to have seen. Don't like that attitude. A Simple we will take care of it would have been the professional thing to do. As for the unit, very pleased with quality of image and functions. Little trouble getting the suction to stay adhered to windshield.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
willard g | Submitted 4 Sep 2015
Verified Customer

Never could get anyone to call about the camera

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
securitysystems.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
John C | Submitted 20 Jul 2015
Verified Customer

Just not should what I was looking for Thank you

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
securitysystems.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Steve C | Submitted 19 Jul 2015
Verified Customer

The most important and vital instruction is missing from the manual: When power is supplied to the unit (either the engine is turned with the power plug in the vehicle's power socket(plug is always left in the socket), or the plug is plugged into a powered socket, the unit will start recording automatically after initializing.

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0

Response from securitysystems.com:

Steve: Frist I want to again thank you for your purchase. I see you gave us 5 stars in the category you would recommend us and 5 stars that you would buy again. I do feel however your overall rating of 3 stars seems to be based on your comment regarding the manual. Because of this I find it important to rebuff your comment so prospective customers are not mislead.

On page 7 of the manual it clearly states that after you plug in the car power adapter to the cigarette lighter that you then switch on the lighter. Knowing there is no "switch" to activate power to this outlet naturally it is understood the camera will initiate and start to record when connected to a live outlet in the vehicle.

Most customers configure the cord with the clips and leave the unit plugged in all the time. ALL dash cameras operate this way so you don't have to remember to turn it on or off. You start your car... maybe you're in a hurry.. and the camera starts automatically. It is just one less thing we have to remember.

Getting in and out of our vehicles should not be like entering or exiting a jet cockpit. We just want to put the key in the ignition and off we go. I will note here that a few vehicles have an outlet that is live 24/7. In this case you would unplug the unit if parked in your driveway all night. Additionally some outlets like mine (BMW) stay live for about 30 seconds after I shut the engine down, then the camera shuts off. My brother has an expensive GMC truck with full time outlets. In his case he took his vehicle to a car stereo shop and the tech ran his power cord behind the moldings, cut the adapter off and hardwired it to an ignition wire. (he was charged 25 bux) This way when my brother starts his truck the camera starts recording. When he turns the ignition off the camera shuts down in 30 seconds (as he chose this shut off delay in the menu).

In closing, the fact you gave us 5 stars for recommending us and 5 stars that you would buy tells me overall you're happy despite the overall three stars in your review. Please enjoy your dash camera, and if you're so inclined send us a nice sample video. Bill Mullen // SecuritySystems.com


Derek W | Submitted 13 Jul 2015
Verified Customer

I had decided I wanted to purchase your product within the first mile of your website but became frustrated because I couldn't find a link to buy the thing and was forced to complete the marathon. I almost gave up and looked for a different brand. Once I was finally able to order the camera I was very impressed with the speed that it reached my house.

Recommend this Company 2 2.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
securitysystems.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
al f | Submitted 10 May 2015
Verified Customer

operating instructions are not as clear as owner says, a live tutorial showing instructions and options would be more helpful.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
securitysystems.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Stephen S | Submitted 24 Feb 2015
Verified Customer

The product has done what it has said.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
gansh k v | Submitted 11 Sep 2014
Verified Customer

The pen is good, System interface with UpNp USB port is good but the pen is not delivering wide angle. This means when I have pen in my pocket. It records sky or Ceiling of the room for the most part unless if I am recording a large area. In my case I am always recording near distance. At once the Pen went over heating while recording. For the price I paid, I thought the pen would deliver better than other pen cost even less than $75. That's alright I will try to work around with it.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 2 2.0
Product Satisfaction 2 2.0
securitysystems.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
William M | Submitted 3 Sep 2014
Verified Customer

Item arrived in a timely fashion, however, no A/C adapter was supplied, as advertised. Very disappointed.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Louie L | Submitted 4 May 2014
Verified Customer

Got trapped with a phony "comparison". Pen is fragile. The directions indicate I can ruin it if I turn it on while connected to computer. Comes with a USB adaptor that submits power but does not charge the pen; makes me wonder what it is for. Has high pixel setting, but it is extended vertical and not recommended, and I see why. View is very narrow and it is very hard to position pen to see what is actually going on. Waste of $140.

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
securitysystems.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Anonymous Customer | Submitted 24 Jan 2014
Verified Customer

Hire a first class "instruction" writer so the instructions
contain more visuals and less verbiage, simplicity, smaller type, overall,
More professional. Never try to write your own instructions.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
securitysystems.com tried to help this customer via the Shopper Approved Customer Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond to the assistance provided.
Geoffrey F | ACT, Australia | Submitted 24 Nov 2013
Verified Customer

I received the camera yesterday and have been doing some driving to see how it works, only problem i have is, how do i charge the battery to it's full charge, i can't run my car for 3 hours to fully charge it, other than that, it works very nicely so far.
Geoffrey Fitzgibbon

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Customer Service 4 4.0
mike m | PA, United States | Submitted 17 Jun 2013
Verified Customer

shipping was a problem til you got it straightened out. other then that everything is great...

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Customer Service 5 5.0
Anonymous Customer | Submitted 5 May 2013
Verified Customer

too mubh hype not enough specs

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0

Response from securitysystems.com:

Dear Anonymous: The ranking service certainly allows you to make a comment without us having knowledge of who you are, but had you left your name or e-mail we would certainly respond back to discuss your comment. From what I understand this is a public response and hopefully you might see it. Every product we have has a product Tour video unlike other vendors that simply show a picture and an "add to cart" button. Our product tour (presentation) videos are not what they call an "unboxing" or simply showing the contents... Rather we go to great lengths to describe all aspects of the product and how it is to be used. The product tour video is as if we were sitting There is also voluminous text describing the operation, the features and finally ALL the specs ARE listed.. In addition we have many, many real customer sample videos from all over the country. I am thinking that perhaps you failed to notice or possibly take the time to review all the voluminous information we provide ..that sometimes propels customers to leave just the opposite comment to yours.... that there is way too much information. Our policy is to completely educate a buyer when they are considering a purchase on-line. We would rather provide more information and be told ocassionally there is too much information than hear from folks complaining they are left with many unanswered questions about the product. We also are the ONLY vendor in this industry that offers a LIFE TIME WARRANTY. In closing, Your comment in very unique and this is the first time I've used this forum to leave a comment. I am not sure if Shopper Approved will send this to you....I don't know their policy.... but if you do get this please call or respond to me directly so I can address your concerns.........perhaps there is something we can ad to whatever link or product your comment is directed to.
Bill Mullen
SecuritySystems.com

Ron M | Submitted 11 Apr 2013
Verified Customer

I expected the camera to at least come with the small micro card, but it had none.

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
© 2017 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved.
To learn more about Shopper Approved, Click Here
This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2017