AtticFoil.com Reviews

5 Stars

4.8 Overall Rating

Based on 1,632
Tom F | DC, United States | Submitted 2 Mar 2017

“You did it again! The difference in comfort after insulation with AtticFoil is just amazing. The entire house is warmer and cooler. Summer heat control is esp important...this town (Washington, DC) produces more than political heat. Those months can be downright nastily hot and humid. Your product and turned this place around. HVAC just works better and with less effort. Thanks and Yes, I've recommended you to more people than I can remember. They love the product.

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
yarrl e | TX, United States | Submitted 10 Feb 2017

“Installed AtticFoil last May. We live in a small town east of Dallas, we've been here about seven years. My home is 125 years old, and we have window air conditioners. The house has too many problems to list here, and I had many issues getting ready to install the foil. Before installation, I checked local codes, and found nothing pertaining to attic foil.

The house stored heat. The kitchen and rooms facing west were unbearable in August evenings.

Ordered 2000 ft2 roll to begin, and later ordered another 600 ft2 (I think, could be more or less). Purchased a solid, mechanical staple gun at the local big box store. Started with 1/4 inch staples, and found them inadequate. Went to 5/16 inch staples and the foil went up very easily.

Working alone I found I had to limit my runs to about twelve feet or less to keep the foil straight. My daughter gave me a few days of assistance, and the work was much easier. I strongly recommend a helper. I had several areas where the roof configuration required "interpretative" installation, and some low roof prevented installation. Still we installed about 2,400 ft2 of foil over about 2200 ft2 of living area.

The final effect was impressive: The attic appears cleaner, brighter, and it was much, much cooler. We didn't detect any change in the electric bill, but we the house was far more comfortable. Before installing the foil, every room in the house was hot well into the evenings. We would run the air full blast until late evening, and often midnight.

After installing the foil, every room in the house required less cooling. Air could be turned 'down' (a warmer setting), and the house remained cool all night. We believe we did not see a change in the electric bill because we were cooling the whole house rather than just living in a few 'chilled' rooms. (Not once - not one time all summer - was I driven from my bedroom by the heat and forced to sleep under my big A/C in the living room!)

One of the most impressive products I've ever used as a home improvement. One test I give to the nimble and inquisitive friends and family was to take them up the attic stairs and pop their hand into the vent space between the roof deck and the foil. They can feel the hot air flow up the space between the deck and the foil and out the ridge vents we had installed a few years ago.

Before a trip to the attic would leave one soaking wet: Like a triple digit day in Houston. Now, I can go up there and come back without requiring a shower.

Another test I tried was to use my outdoor garden temperature gauge. Before installation, I put the gauge in the attic, and I knew we were hitting 120's or more in May. All summer after the installation (2016), I checked the gauge every afternoon, and never saw it over 88! Not scientific, but still impressive.

I would definitely buy Atticfoil again. The product literally made my kitchen - which faces west - useful again during the summers. The money I saved not taking everyone out to eat in August due to a sweltering kitchen probably paid for the foil. It's almost like living in the 21st century despite the 19th century square nails!”

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
Richard J. Criqui, J | Submitted 10 Feb 2017

“Very durable and strong material. Easy to install with a staple gun and 1" insulation board nails with plastic holding washers. It was installed relatively easily by myself in storage areas on the second floor which wrap around the second floor perimeter of the entire home, except for three dormer windows. The installation was below the roof rafters and the installed fiberglass batts. This will help radiate heat back to the roof and the air plenums which connect the first floor sofit vents to the upstairs second floor attic area. Additional R-30 insulation was added to the second floor attic area and I installed a domed thermostatically controlled attic fan (1,600 cfm), which draws the air from the air plenums in between each roof rafter which lead to the first floor sofits vents. I also added the attic foil on top of the extra R-30 insulation batts of the second floor attic area and on-top of the HVAC duct work. This will help keep the hot attic heat during the summer, etc., from radiating back to the installed attic insulation. I am looking forward to seeing how all of this lowers my electric bills this next summer. ”

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
Flora | CA, United States | Submitted 5 Feb 2017

“Needed away to cool off our wooden storage shed during the summer. Not able to insulate. It was a tricky space to wrap as we have several shelves at various levels. The foil was very user friendly. I had to stuff the foil down a few small areas then pull it through from a lower level and it held up very well. Really impressed by the work-ability and quality. ”

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
Larry g | CA, United States | Submitted 22 Jan 2017

“If you are on the fence about buying this foil let me be the to tell you it works. Fantastic product and works just as advertised.”

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
Peggy | CA, United States | Submitted 21 Jan 2017

“The Attic Foil is everything that your advertise.”

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
J Kilcrease | TX, United States | Submitted 21 Jan 2017

“Product installation was as advertised. Very satisfied. Just bought another 1000 square roll.”

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
David | AR, United States | Submitted 21 Jan 2017

“We have put foil in the attic and cut are heating and cooling bill down about 30% to 40% Best investment we have made.
Now I am putting it in my work shop.

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
Felise | TX, United States | Submitted 21 Jan 2017

“My inspector made me remove it all even though we followed the instructions on the company videos (with the foam spacers). He said that it would void the roof shingles warranty. He went on to say that the foil could be used without voiding the shingles warranty if the foil is applied directly to the underside of the decking sheets under the shingles. So, I wasted money on the foil and money on the labor to put it up and money on the labor to take it down. I am very disappointed and very broke.”

Recommend this Company 1 1.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 2 2.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Delivery Time 4 4.0

Response from AtticFoil.com:

Thank you for giving us your feedback. In over 10 years of business this is actually the first time we've ever heard of an inspector requesting a radiant barrier be removed. As an insulation manufacturer, we are pretty familiar with roofing warranty requirements and in fact, some places *require* a radiant barrier to be installed!

To our knowledge, no shingle manufacturer voids the warranty because of using our product. Would you be able to provide us with the documentation that shows the manufacturer claims this? It's also possible that the inspector is not familiar with radiant barrier or an understanding of how radiant heat works, because the foil doesn't change the amount of heat coming into a roof at all, it only redirects it. If you can share the info he had with us, we'd be glad to take a look and provide support!

Sam W | AB, Canada | Submitted 20 Jan 2017

“Attic Foil worked out very well for me . When the weather turned really cold in December, my home and especially my master bedroom remained warm and comfortable. I had to turn the thermostat way down at nights in order to sleep comfortably. I consider my purchase and installation of Attic Foil to be an excellent investment. Their service staff was helpful and friendly, and their promptness in shipping arrangments was very timely.

Sam”

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
Anthony DAllegro | FL, United States | Submitted 20 Jan 2017

“After thorough research on comparable products at the big box stores Attic foil was an easy choice for price, quality and customer service. The product works as described and was delivered on time as expected. A+”

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
Anonymous Customer | Submitted 20 Jan 2017

“Was fast and easy to work with”

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
jerry m | TX, United States | Submitted 20 Jan 2017

“The product was delivered to my home saving me time and money. This will be the fifth house I have installed attic-foil. I achieved a 20-degree drop in attic tempatures following its instillation. We started with 150-degree attic temps with a 100 degree OS-temp. After installing attic foil, ridge vent and new soffit vents a attic temp was 82-degrees on a 80-degree day OS-temp. That was a 48 degree diffirence !
A $5K big was given to us by a "energy saving company". We did all improvements for under $700.00. Attic foil was the least of the expense. Anyone can and should do this with their home. I'm 70yrs old in four months and have a bad back. If I can do it you can too. The instructional video will show you how.
Jerry Morse
Luling Texas”

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
Gary G | HI, United States | Submitted 20 Jan 2017

“The whole experience was a good one. Ordering was easy. Delivery was quick. When un-boxed, the attic foil was exactly as advertised. Installation was as easy as my attic allowed. The benefit was realized immediately. The last item made my wife happy, which in turn makes me happy.”

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
Customer Service 5 5.0
John D | MO, United States | Submitted 20 Jan 2017

“I have a 25X50 Garage. It's rafters were open.I did have insulation on side walls. But None on rafters. Heating it was expensive. Now that i am retired.I work on Old cars in My rear Garage. So I researched ways to insulate.To save Money,and be comfortable while working in the garage in the Cold Months here.(St.Louis,MO.) I decided to go with AtticFoil. I ordered the foil that is White on one side and. Silver on the other. I installed Silver side up.to the bottom of the rafter joist. And WHAT A DIFFERENCE. Wow!. Not only did it cut my heating Bill in HALF. With The White side Down. It Brightened up the Garage. It also sealed the garage so, No more Drafts. Plus, It is So quite in there. it's like walking into a Library. Satisfied? You bet I am. One more thing. The material it is made out of. Is So STRONG. It's resistance to ripping or tearing is remarkable. So Very Glad I went with this Product. ”

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
Edward | Submitted 20 Jan 2017

“My goal was to reduce summer heat and retain heat in the winter months. I installed the white face attic foil on top of foam board insulation in a metal garage and summer temps dropped nearly 20 degrees inside and this winter it holds heat even with door cracked for fresh air to circulate with a kerosene heater. ”

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
DB | SC, United States | Submitted 19 Oct 2016

“Great product. Lowered the temperature on my enclosed metal roof porch from 112+ degrees to 98 degrees on the hottest days. Well worth the cost and with one white side, saved from having to install something else on the foil to paint white.
I screwed the foil to metal ribs then ran white duck tape along seams to give it a uniform finished look. Works great and looks good!
I will be ordering more for my workshop. ”

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
Alan | SC, United States | Submitted 8 Oct 2016

“Great product: Attic foil great reduced attic temperature on 100 degree day by about 20 degrees. A/C air handler in attic worked much more efficiently and A/C duct temperature was reduced to 55 degrees when outside temperature was 95. Product is very durable and resulted in a frustration free installation.”

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
Ken G | CO, United States | Submitted 7 Oct 2016

“Great product. I added additional insulation to attic at same time as installing the radiant barrier. Results have been fantastic.”

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
Bill C | CO, United States | Submitted 2 Oct 2016

“I have a single story house (with whole house fan but no A/C) on the Front Range in Colorado. During the summer, the temp on the first floor would rise sharply during the afternoon and into the evening. It was very uncomfortable in the evenings w/o the fan on. After installing Attic Foil, I do not have the sharp rise in interior temps during the afternoon (even on cloudless, 90+ days). Also, I do not use the whole house fan as much as before (~50% less), but am still able to get interior temp down to outside ambient quickly.

As for the install, I did it myself in about 2 weeks in the evenings (June). Very tough material (like a shiny tarp), but easy to install with a box knife and staple gun.

While I do not have numbers tracking temps before and after the install, I have lived through 6 summers in this house, and since the Attic Foil went in, it has been markedly more comfortable. I would highly recommend this product if you do not have A/C and less than abundant insulation in your attic.”

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
© 2017 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved.
To learn more about Shopper Approved, Click Here
This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2017