facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
D. Scaggs - NC, United States
14 Aug 2015
5 stars
Attic foil is tough material, no issues with tearing - superior to cheap stuff at local hardware store. Easy to work with. My attic is walk up with flooring in 1/2, blown insulation in other 1/2. Insulation installation certificate claims R-30 and building envelope is well sealed (checked with thermal camera) except one duct boot (I'll get to this fall). Completed steep hip roof section by myself but would have been a lot easier with someone assisting. Remaining sections went faster with sons help. Instructions, online faqs, from this company are honest about what to expect in installation and performance. Had extensive temperature/humidity monitoring before/after installation. Located in Raleigh area, temps taken over mid summer. At peak of hip roof, not much difference (not important from energy savings perspective) but at top of insulation and attic floor late afternoon high temperatures were 5-12 degrees lower. More interesting, the temperature dropped faster in late evening/night - I presume because insulation may have absorbed less heat? Overall savings in electric is a bit difficult to quantify as youngest son moved out and some other minor improvements made at same time - reduced average electric bill by 17% BUT NOT sure how much can be attributed to barrier.
On interior, upstairs conditioned space now takes much longer to heat up with AC off during day, doesn't get as hot (~2-3 degrees less), and takes less time to cool in evening when we get home.
Assuming a home has adequate insulation and is sealed well, I doubt this barrier would have a reasonable payback if installed by contractor. For DIY, I believe it is worth the time and cost. Besides, it's shiny - who doesn't like shiny stuff :-).
facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Richard - VA, United States
14 Aug 2015
5 stars
I have a house in Mathews Va. and had to replace the heat pumps 5yrs ago the unit upstairs only cooled at night or on days that the sun did not shine. The foil was put in the attic and now the ac works great the heat in the attic was reduced and the savings on the electric bill alone has paid for the foil in a few months.
facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
SunDevil
13 Aug 2015
5 stars
Between blowing more insulation on top of existing R30 and installing AtticFoil, I reduced my bill by 500kWh, which was about 1/4 of the bill in Phoenix, AZ. Taking a comprehensive approach to energy saving is key. I can feel the heat blowing up in between the roof and AF as I stick my face in the rafters. For the cost of attic foil as opposed to alternatives, it is an easy choice. Much cooler in the attic, wish I could have data- logged temps... Overall, this was an extremely rewarding, interesting DIY project.
facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Dr. J - TX, United States
13 Aug 2015
5 stars
BEFORE installation of AtticFoil: During most of the summer, our home's central air conditioner was able to maintain a comfortable level inside. However, when the outside temperatures reached 100 degrees and above, that same comfort level could not be maintained between mid-afternoon through the early evening hours.
AFTER installation of AtticFoil: We applied this product to the attic ceilings in both our home and garage. It's like adding a shade tree over our entire home even though we have no shade trees in our yard. We've now experienced 107 degree days and weeks of 100+ degree weather. Our air conditioner is able to maintain a comfortable level all day long. We are very, very satisfied.
facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Dstoica - CA, United States
13 Aug 2015
5 stars
Performance wise, it reduces the top surface of my ceiling insulation temperature from 110 F to 100 F degrees. Between attic foil, window film, and a "sun sail" in the back yard, I was able to take the hottest west facing bed room in the house, and make it the coolest room in the house. By putting a box fan in the access hatch, I was able to hold the attic temperature at 85 F (instead of 100 F) to survive in the attic noon in July.
facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
attic f - TX, United States
13 Aug 2015
5 stars
we have a two story home n Plano Texas. previously during hot summer months, our second floor HVAC unit struggled to stay comfortable. this past winter I installed attic foil. this summer we just experienced 105 degree days and the upstairs was cool. very happy so far.
facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Larry - AL, United States
04 Aug 2015
5 stars
easy to install would use again
facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Curtiss S - OK, United States
04 Aug 2015
5 stars
We enrolled in the OG&E Smarthours program. Looking for ways to reduce our bill, it suggested mrre insulation, i.e. sprayfoam. When we researched the cost for it, WOW is all i can say. To insulate our attic, if we did it ourselves, wouldve ran around $6000!!! Not to mention if it is not installed properly could lead to a all sorts of problems. I saw a video of a couple that had sprayfoam improperly installed and they had to completely remove the roof of their house, from the ceiling all the way up!! It cost them $60,000 plus to fix it!!! I searched for other methods and AtticFoil popped up. Having my heating/air unit in the attic made perfect sense. There are NO WORRIES about installing, not to mention that its super easy to do. I used an infared thermometer while installing JUST to see if there was that much of a difference...WOW again!! I have a temp difference of 22-26 degrees. Ive told all my family and friends about it. My only regret is that i didnt know about this stuff sooner. I cant wait until next year to see how much difference its made in my heating/cooling costs.
facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Mike - NY, United States
01 Aug 2015
5 stars
I wished I had discovered your product previously, because not only would it have saved me from the sweltering summer heat but it also would have saved me hundred's of dollars with my electric bill. I am actually very disappointed that I subjected myself to 13 years of sweltering heat in my top floor attic rooms for over 13 years. For the first time I am not dreading the up-coming winter season because thanks' to this product I will be saving on my heat bill. Attic Foil information let me realized that over the years I was loosing a substantial amount of heat in the winter through my attic and not just around leaky doors and windows, which account for most heat lost in a standard house. I am very HAPPY with the Attic Foil product. Thank you for saving me money ( Today is August 1st and I only turned on my air-conditioner only twice since installing my Attic Foil in June) and allowing my home to be much cooler in the summer.
PS: I installed the Attic Foil both on the roof rafters and on the Attic floor.
facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Rick - AZ, United States
29 Jul 2015
5 stars
Great product, upstairs much more comfortable, I would use this again
facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
HotAttic - CA, United States
28 Jul 2015
5 stars
Easy to install with a manual staple gun.

Lowered attic temp 15 degrees.
facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Ramiro - TX, United States
28 Jul 2015
5 stars
We were very pleased. It was easy to install. We definitely recommend this product.
facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Kate - IA, United States
28 Jul 2015
5 stars
So far we have only used it as a house wrap on the downstairs bathroom.
Still waiting for the contractor to do the attic.
Will let you know how it works after the winter.
facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
BH in C - CO, United States
27 Jul 2015
5 stars
I used attic foil in my attic and also in the garage. I'm pleased with the results. I feel my home and garage are cooler this year. I did my attic in the spring and I finished the garage a couple of weeks ago. I insulated my attic with R-30 then put the attic foil up on top of the insulation. I think the combination of both has made a big difference. In my garage I put in R-19 with a blanket of attic foil on top of it also. My garage rafters had nothing, open and insulated. As you can imagine really hot in the summer and cold in the winter. I've noticed a big difference there too. So far the house and the garage have been cooler and that makes me happy. This coming winter will be a good test. I've been tracking my heating bills to see if I'll be saving some money with the improvements in the long run. Sometimes our Colorado winters can be pretty brutal. So like I mentioned I'm pleased so far. Oh yeah, doing all this is kinda of a hot and dirty job. I did all the work by myself so I could save more money. I learned a lot. When and if I had questions, I went to Attic Foil's web site and watched some of there video's. Easy as that! I own my home so I think it will be a good investment for all the seasons and years to come. Thank you Attic Foil!
facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Dave & Marie W - IL, United States
27 Jul 2015
5 stars
This was amazing. The product, the information offered on the site, the convenience. We loved this product so much we ordered two 1000 sq ft rolls at separate times then a smaller roll at a later time. We sent almost a complete roll across the country to our son who also thought it was an amazing product.
It has more than paid for itself and we've only been through one winter. The attic is still humid of course, being July in the Midwest, however we installed a powerful exhaust fan which is super nice and was a smart investment of about 100.00 and a little time. My husband and I were thrilled at discovering your website.
We checked out a product @ Home Depot & decided to dig a bit and found your site. We just wish we would have found it a couple years ago when our house was being sided. We would have wrapped the entire house!!

Again,

Thank You & hats off to you!!

Dave & Marie Williams
facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Mario S - OK, United States
27 Jul 2015
5 stars
Makes a big difference in attic temperature. The attic temperature has remained 10-15 degrees above ambient temperature and the house stays cooler.
facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Anonymous Customer - KS, United States
27 Jul 2015
5 stars
I placed my order for atticFoil online, and found that I made a mistake. When I called customer service to change the order, they were very friendly and helpful, and made the change with no problems at all. I would highly recommend this company and their AtticFoil Product.
facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Jasen - CA, United States
27 Jul 2015
5 stars
Yeah, this stuff works. 10 degree drop. I got enough to do my garage as well. My attic is not that tall so installation was more difficult, but definitely worth it. Make sure you watch all their YouTube videos and tips. Its 93 degrees outside and 78 inside without the AC on. Bonus: The attic is now cool enough that you can store stuff up there. Storage space! Also the attic is now brighter. One light can light the whole thing. Other uses: Wrap your duct-work in the stuff, insulate your garage door, insulate your AC lines.....this stuff is awesome.
facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
SL - CT, United States
27 Jul 2015
5 stars
The company and the product are stellar. I received several detailed, timely responses to questions online before I ever purchased. Product arrived in 2 days. The material is very sturdy, easy to handle and cost-effective. My suggestion to buyers - start with a small purchase and think through where you'll install it: in my attic, it was fast and easy to install over the cross beams overhead, and made an immediate cooling difference. On the other hand, installing it on my attic rafters going up the sides meant walking through blown insulation on the floor level; not recommended.
facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Julie M - TX, United States
27 Jul 2015
5 stars
Installed in a 12 x 20 metal barn with one window unit set at 80, no sheetrock, in Texas it really makes a big difference.
Love this stuff, easy to install.
>Ratings Summary
Next >>