Share this review on: facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Laura W - TX, United States
19 Apr 2014
5 stars
We used this product on a very low pitch roof. Then applied a new metal roof over it. The product was very easy to use. It was durable and did not easily tear or puncture. I liked the width of the product, being wide it applied really fast. I won't know if it will translate into energy savings since this is a rent house, but I can tell you that I did not have to turn the a/c on in the house and it was 92 degrees outside. (we are still working on this property) The house stayed cool. So far I like the product and will use it again on another property. The videos on the website were also very helpful and the instructions were easy to understand. Thank you.
Share this review on: facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Chip - FL, United States
17 Apr 2014
5 stars
I live in Florida and had a lot of heat in my garage. I researched insulation and radient barrier and realized that insulation was designed to keep the heat inside the garage, not keep it out! I had an installation question and emailed customer service at AtticFoil and they got back to me the next day. I started to shop on ebay for the best pricing and thought I found something more cost effective, but when I read the small print I found out that AtticFoil was the best decision. We installed it over two weekends and are very happy with the results!
Share this review on: facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Wayne s - VA, United States
17 Apr 2014
5 stars
Outstanding delivery. ordered 2500 square feet in 26 inch wide completely did the job. Would order again in a heart beat.
Share this review on: facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
David - CA, United States
07 Apr 2014
5 stars
I found Atticfoil very easy to work with, not at all fragile. I thought that the Atticfoil site tips very helpful. It's mostly common sense stuff. With it so affordable I also did my un-insulated workshop space. I was surprised by the immediate relief from the heat from the roof deck. I didn't realize I was standing under what felt like a heat lamp. I suspect that I will be helping neighbors do their houses. Although it might be helpful to have a helper, I did my project by myself. I found keeping the lengths to under 12 feet very helpful.
Share this review on: facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Cristy - TX, United States
06 Apr 2014
5 stars
The videos were very helpful in helping me decide between purchasing attic foil or the insulated radiant barrier from Lowe's or Home Depot. I appreciate the perspective and agree that the money savings from buying attic foil from atticfoil.com is better used to add insulation after installing the radiant barrier. I found the installation videos very helpful and educational as well. I purchased an electric stapler to help make this DIY project a lot easier on my hands. Next, I will purchase the attic tent from atticfoil.com for my attic stairs and possibly for an attic doorway. I trust atticfoil.com and believe it is providing excellent products at a great prices. I am looking forward to completing the installation before the hot Texas summer starts!! Thank you AtticFoil.com for helping me save money this summer!
Share this review on: facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Frank - MS, United States
04 Apr 2014
5 stars
Looking for a product to insulate a new built open carport. Used this product between rafters and 2x4 lathings before installing home metal roofing. So far very satisfied with product. Seems to reflect heat, but summer will tell the real story. Cost and strength of product was big factor in being purchased.
Share this review on: facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Tanya - FL, United States
02 Apr 2014
5 stars
I live in a two-story townhome, and the second floor gets extremely hot in the summertime. It's especially brutal in my master bedroom.

I was reluctant to try AtticFoil, because I was concerned about the installation process, since I would be working alone. I have central air ductwork up there, and I was concerned about navigating around it. I didn't have a floor, so I had to buy a few boards to move around on. I choose to staple it under the roof. The material is tough to tear and easy to use. The application was fairly easy, except for sliding on my back to get to the eaves and climbing around the central air ductwork. I left four inch spaces on the top and bottom for ventilation, and I left 1 1/2 to 2 inch gaps around metal pipes going through the roof. I also made 2 inch gaps around the window vent near the top.

The most amazing part for me was, how immediate it worked while I was still installing it. You can definitely feel a big difference while you're under the foil, and when you're not. My attic is much cooler already. Now, I just have to add additional loose blown cellulose to the floor after I make sure any leaks (light fixtures, ceiling fans smoke detectors, bathroom vents) are sealed.

It's too soon to tell whether it really works under extreme heat, since I installed AtticFoil in February/March, and it's only April. So far, I'm very pleased with the product.
Share this review on: facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Anonymous Customer - TX, United States
02 Apr 2014
5 stars
The product was delivered promptly and was very easy to install. It appears to be every bit as good as the company promotes. Installed it in our new cabin. Not really enough time yet to tell if it is going to help on heating and cooling costs, but I believe it will.
Share this review on: facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Lilia - TX, United States
01 Apr 2014
5 stars
product was received very quick, website to follow website and prices are pretty much comparable.
Share this review on: facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Jean - AR, United States
01 Apr 2014
5 stars
I purchased AtticFoil radiant barrier because I feel it is a superior product at a very reasonable price. My husband and I had planned on installing it ourselves but, unfortunately, here in Palm Harbor, FL, we have a very low pitched roof and my husband is over 6' tall so he was unable to maneuver his body around the trusses and AC duct work in our attic. I had some difficulty locating a competent, knowledgeable installer in my area but finally hired DeRusha Insulation of St. Petersburg and was extremely pleased with their work.

The installation itself is not difficult, especially with the numerous videos provided on the website, but it is a 2 person job, and sometimes necessitates 2 smaller people, depending on how much space there is for access.
Share this review on: facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Scott - AL, United States
01 Apr 2014
5 stars
You sent the wrong size but was able to correct this very quickly. The material is much stronger than I thought. I was glad to see the "rip-stop" design in the fabric.
Share this review on: facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Lane - NC, United States
31 Mar 2014
5 stars
I drilled out air vents every 16 inches North and South to create an airflow under the metal roof for a mono pitch design. I had a condensation problem with a new metal roof.
I stapled plastic baffles between 2x6 rafters every 16 inches and not touching the metal
I stapled the attic foil between the 2x6 rafters under the baffles.
I stapled R19 insulation in the 2x6 ceiling joists with a 3/8 plywood ceiling.

At 80 degrees it feels like the building has an air conditioner anytime of the day. When it was 12 degrees in Feb it was 40 degrees with no heat.

When installing the attic foil it cuts easily with a knife and forms and stays in place very well. It does not rip or tear at all. Once you get a staple in place you will pull the staple out before you tear it.
Share this review on: facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Bobby - FL, United States
31 Mar 2014
5 stars
You Should Recommend that customers with complicated trust systems purchase 1 4 ft.wide roll for the ends of their houses with hip roofs, I have had to improvise areas where the rafters are more than 26 inches apart at the roof line
Share this review on: facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
corkyhaas - AZ, United States
31 Mar 2014
5 stars
First, I installed this foil in my garage attic. Last summer, we had highs over 110 degrees but the attic temps were only about 113-115 degrees (before the foil, attic temps were almost 150). I can actually go in my attic in the summer without dripping in sweat.
After that success, I installed this foil in the remainder of the attic over the winter. So far this spring, outside temps have been in high 80s. Attic foil temp 3-5 degrees higher than that, while plywood at the peak (where the air gap is) is around 130. Also, so far this year my A/C has not turned on (thermostats set at 78).
Bottom line is this is a superb product. All new homes should have this.
Share this review on: facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Mark M - FL, United States
31 Mar 2014
5 stars
Attic foil was delivered FedX within 3 days of placing the order. The product is tough and tear resistant. 26" width worked perfect for overlaying the underside of roof rafters. I noticed that Attic foil slows the thermal cycle in my home resulting in energy savings. Fort Pierce, Florida.
Share this review on: facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
ron - FL, United States
31 Mar 2014
5 stars
easy way to order and receive a great product without the hassle of big box shopping and limitations. Exceptional product with many uses and lives up to its advertisement and then some.
Share this review on: facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Excellent - OH, United States
31 Mar 2014
5 stars
My home is in central Ohio (Dayton area). I ordered the attic foil and received it quickly. I ordered it because one of the attic insulation vendors at the local home show told me a vapor barrier was a great thing. I found atticfoil.com as part of a Google search and I ordered the 24inch style because my attic rafters are 24 inches apart. The product is very durable and never had to worry about tearing or ripping. In my hallway, I pre-cut all of the strips to the desired length (leaving open spaces per the atticfoil website). I then rolled the strips so that I could conveniently haul into the attic. I unfurled individual strips starting from the bottom (soffits) upward to the top (peak), stapling along the way. I worked the bottom half and my son worked the top half of each strip. The product is very easy to install, very durable, high quality. I installed during the winter (February); it is now April, so I haven't had a chance to evaluate its effectiveness, but talking to a local builder who looked at it after installation, he says I should have great results.

Here are a few installation tips: (1) Buy a good quality staple gun...I went thru 3 staple guns (1 SureShot and 2 Arrow Fasteners) because they would jam at the worst times. I finally bought a DeWalt gun that loads and clears easier on the fly than the other guns and didn't have any problems. (2) Put up some lights before you start. I bought a string of 'construction lights' from home depot for about $50 + light bulbs...the string has 5 lights on a long extention cord...that made the job a lot easier. (3) set up a way to move easily from place to place before you start...in some places I laid down some narrow plywood (used only one or two screws to keep in place temporarily) and I screwed in some 2X4's across the trusses so I could stand on them high enough to staple up high. I used a cordless circular saw and cut 2X4's to length as I went. (4) I found a strategic place to cut a whole in the ceiling drywall to easily get into the attic (the original access was near the soffits where you bump your head into the decking which has roofing nails sticking thru it). It sounds like a lot of work to create a more convenient access, but it only took 10 minutes to select the location, 5 minutes to cut it (from above), and get to work. If you make the access hole exactly 24inch by 24 inch, you can go to Lowes and get a thin 'project' board already cut to size to use as a future access cover.
Share this review on: facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Dr. J M - AL, United States
31 Mar 2014
5 stars
The Attic Foil website is very user-friendly, and the installation videos were extremely helpful. The videos were the clincher in convincing me to order.

Ordering the product was easy, and it shipped right to my house in only a few days, and was delivered when and as promised.

When I opened the product, it was just as rugged as it seemed in the video. Very easy to cut (with the provided utility knife - thanks for that!), yet hard to "tear" when moving it around, positioning and re-positioning it against the rafters. At times we stapled it to the roof rafters, and then needed to re-position it. One or two of the staples would be so flush with the wood that needle-nose wouldn't grab it, but I really could use the foil to pull the staple out without ripping the foil like they do in the video. I am SO pleased with the product. It really is just as easy to work with as the videos make it seem.

I received multiple estimates to install radiant barrier from insulation companies in my area (Huntsville, AL), all of which were $2000 - $3000. I also checked out my local big box home improvement stores, and the product they had was both inferior to Attic Foil, and more expensive (by a factor of about 2). I bought 1500 sq ft of Attic Foil, shipped directly to my house, for less than $250. I had a neighbor help me install it - it is DEFINITELY a two man job - over the course of a couple of days of 3-4 hours each. Not a bad time investment, especially given the very awkward construction of my attic (multiple support studs in the way, the HVAC unit in the middle of the space making it difficult to maneuver, a low angle roof slant making it tough to get to the bottom, and more.) All in all, I am VERY happy I decided to do it myself.

With summer approaching here in Alabama, I am eager to find out how having the foil will impact my air conditioning. I have two HVAC units, one for the 1st floor and one for the 2nd floor, and the upstairs air shafts are in the attic - a textbook situation for improving energy use with radiant barrier. As a result, I am looking forward to lower electricity bills and a more comfortable 2nd floor. I hope it comes to pass. If the product performance is as promised the same way that installation was as easy as promised, it will be one of the best decisions I have ever made with my house.

I absolutely recommend Attic Foil to anyone looking for radiant barrier.
Share this review on: facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
Harry - NC, United States
31 Mar 2014
5 stars
I could not be happier with the foil product,we can already see a difference it is making on our bills,install was simple and straight forward,thank you so much for offering this to the public--Harry Cooke
Share this review on: facebook twitter linkedin
>Detailed Ratings
James - TX, United States
31 Mar 2014
5 stars
This is my first time using radiant barrier. It was recommended from a friend who placed a pervious order with atticfoil.com. Placing the order was easy. I do with they had more shipping options. I did not need an expedited order, I could have done with 7 day shipping. Order was packed well. The material is pretty easy to work with. If I need to order more, I will order it from atticfoil.com again.
>Ratings Summary
<< Previous Next >>