karlabs.com Reviews

5 Stars

4.9 Overall Rating

Based on 375
5 Star Reviews 4 Star Reviews 3 Star Reviews 2 Star Reviews 1 Star Reviews
Pete | AR, United States | Submitted 29 May 2017

Karlabs delivered everything as promised. Very complete, timely and fair priced. Paper work did a good job explaining the results and thier impact to me.

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
Walt | MI, United States | Submitted 23 May 2017

Report was very through but I would send sample towards end of week as postal service is so slow need weekend for travel time to lab so sample does not sit over another weekend before processing.

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Delivery Time 4 4.0

Response from karlabs.com:

We recommend that our customers ship samples early in the week - Monday if you're a long distance from Michigan - to avoid weekend transit. 

Joe W | NJ, United States | Submitted 19 May 2017

We are opening a microbrewery and just had our well water system upgraded. I used KAR labs because their web site specifically targeted brewery water testing. The test was easy, fast and very comprehensive. What I think would be helpful, since they are testing for brewery water quality, would be a range of premium conditions with each element of the test (if applicable). I can find this information myself but being included with the test results would be easier.

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
Mike | VA, United States | Submitted 21 Apr 2017

Purchased analysis of water from Test Kit-90 to test for 4 items--one being Total Coliform. The test came back positive but in the notes section of the report, the company acknowledges that kitchen faucets with an aerator screen are more prone to grow bacteria. If that is the case, which it was for us, why not tell the consumer up front to remove the aerator or sample the water from a faucet without one? I called their customer service and she suggested I get another test from another company. I did, I removed the aerator, paid another fee, and the test came back negative.

Recommend this Company 2 2.0
Would Buy Again 1 1.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 1 1.0
Delivery Time 4 4.0
Customer Service 1 1.0

Response from karlabs.com:

Our informational water testing kits perform exactly as designed and advertised, that is, it told the customer that they were drinking Total Coliform bacteria! Had the aerator been removed, the customer would never have known that. We recommend removing the faucet aerator only if you typically remove it before every glass of water. But of course that's absurd because nobody does that.

Regarding getting it tested elsewhere, we try to save the customer money. What we recommend is that that customers get their water tested locally for compliance bacteria testing because it saves the customer expensive overnight shipping charges. It doesn't make much sense to ship a sample overnight across the country when there's testing labs certified for bacteria in practically every city.

Solutions Espresso S | Submitted 25 Oct 2016

These reports are great and very detailed. When we had questions about some of the information, the President of Kar Laboratory replied right away.

Recommend this Company 3 3.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Delivery Time 3 3.0
Thomas A | PA, United States | Submitted 6 Aug 2016

Maybe I didn't read the results properly, but I didn't understand the results of the results.

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 3 3.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Delivery Time 4 4.0
Tom E | FL, United States | Submitted 20 Jul 2016

I trust the results and they were comprehensive as promised. Understanding the numbers (ppm, ppt, etc.), was a little complex in that some evaluations are based on several findings. My primary interest was finding a) bacteria; and b) any radiological findings. Both were negative and the findings worth the investment. I spent 40-minutes on the web, finding and printing out interpretations and feel that the experts could have included a three or four page print out that highlighted the more critical levels that the report users might watch for. No complaints on timing or kit quality. Water treatment companies are generally NOT qualified to interpret the results. Internet water quality from university specialists voluminous, but most informative.

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Delivery Time 4 4.0
Customer Service 4 4.0
Anonymous Customer | Submitted 8 Jul 2016

It was great. The delivery and postage is pretty slow if I would have stuck with the normal procedure it would take me almost 2 weeks to get the lab results take the test and deliver plus the 2 days for lab work. With a home inspection only lasting 2 weeks doesn't allow time for anything if the water test is bad. I rushed ordered the results on the return and kept in contact with the lab. They were very supportive and kept me upto date. Will use them again.

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Delivery Time 3 3.0
Customer Service 5 5.0
Dan | Submitted 30 Jun 2016

It's a very detailed report.
We tested a new water well on our ranch where we have many old oil wells and wanted to make sure our water was safe for us and our livestock.
For the non chemist like me it would be nice to have a list of possible water issues corresponding with the very common things such as , bicarbonate ( can make water tast salty) hardness = ( things making it hard).
If you only had a way of doing a individual water interpretation based on the customers specific water issues. Such as , cloudy water = caused by ------ , salty tast = possible causes-----.
In conclusion it is a very detailed report at a very good price

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0

Response from karlabs.com:

Hi Dan,
I'm sorry you weren't entirely happy with our service. We try to avoid generalized statements on our report because they tend to add ambiguity, leading to incorrect conclusions. Liability is an issue as well. We recommend our customers that would like results interpretation give us a call after receiving the report (our number is on the report). Thank you for using our laboratory.

Steve | CA, United States | Submitted 29 May 2016

great experience although the lab reading numbers were somewhat different in a few catagories than other lab reports that I have had done.
It just took a little longer to figure out what I needed to know.
Other than that a very good experience and at a very good price,

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 4 4.0
Customer Service 4 4.0
John | TX, United States | Submitted 14 May 2016

The price was reasonable for the service, and the turn-around time was about right for the amount of work involved.
The report is a little intimidating; the tests where:
• the comments column does not include "MCL" (the EPA Maximum Contaminant Level), and
• the explanation column does not include "None found (acceptable result)"
need to be researched to find out if the result in the test is acceptable. Out of the 98 tests on the report. I had 20 such tests, and it took a while to Google them all and find out what my new filtration system will need to filter out.
I bought 2 kits, and I plan to re-test after the filtration system is up and running.

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0

Response from karlabs.com:

Dear John,
The lab report not containing MCL's for every test is a common complaint. Please understand that many of the tests we perform simply do not have an established MCL. This is not our fault, but rather a consequence of being on the leading edge of contaminant testing where our lab is looking for contaminants that aren't yet on public "radar".

Ken | FL, United States | Submitted 2 May 2016

I would have given a 5 across the board. But I had trouble understanding the detailed report. It would be nice if there were detailed guidance. Also it would be good to see the EPA recommended results in one column your results in another. As well as recommendations on what to do about the results or who to contact for advise.

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0

Response from karlabs.com:

Hello Ken and thank you for using our lab. The KAR Laboratories analytical report does have a column for the EPA recommended results as well as your results in another column. We also provide recommendations on the last 3 pages as well. The issue really is that our contaminant testing lists are so extensive, many of the chemicals simply do not have an EPA recommended limit. That tends to make us look bad when in fact, it's USEPA that has failed us in this regard.

Anonymous Customer | VA, United States | Submitted 28 Apr 2016

Very detailed but it would be easier to glean what I needed to know if all the tests that indicated a deviation from the usual or average were together on one page. Also advice on how to improve the quality of taste.

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
DonK | CO, United States | Submitted 8 Apr 2016

Overall it was a good experience.

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Delivery Time 3 3.0
Barb | WI, United States | Submitted 7 Apr 2016

a bit difficult to interpret the findings.

Very professional and thorough

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 3 3.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
Ed | WA, United States | Submitted 7 Apr 2016

Results were relatively quick. Well handled. Their website looks like a teenager made it and I have no idea if the results are accurate or randomly generated, but if they are valid I would definitely use them again.

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Delivery Time 4 4.0

Response from karlabs.com:

We control website maintenance costs by doing it here at our lab with our staff. Our priority is to focus on providing solid, quality science with unmatched value. We're all scientists here so we lean towards quality data over form and fluff. The feedback we get from customers tend to support their appreciation for value.

Regarding "randomly generated results", that might be tempting for a struggling startup lab, but not our 60 year old laboratory. Commercial laboratories live and die by the credibility of their data, as well as facing heavy fines, jail time, and de-certification for fraud. It simply isn't going to happen.

Richard | CA, United States | Submitted 7 Apr 2016

It would be helpful if the Federal values for each item tested were provided.

Recommend this Company 4 4.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Delivery Time 4 4.0

Response from karlabs.com:

Hello Richard - Our report does indeed contain all of the Federal Drinking Water limitations and values. The problem is, the Fed hasn't set a value or limit on everything we test for. Thank you for buying our testing service!

Kevin | IL, United States | Submitted 7 Apr 2016

The quality of testing and price were very appealing. The test kit arrived quickly. The lab website lists processing times indicating the maximum expectation or sooner. I was kind of hoping that the results would come "sooner" - but they came by the maximum time listed. Results were comprehensive, and were helpful in discussion treatment options. Having the results from a third party lab was helpful to compare with the results of individual sales reps.

Our test for coliform was contaminated by an aerator screen at the kitchen sink. I thought I followed the instructions on the packet but it may be that removal of the aerator screen was not indicated in the test kit. This cost me a little extra money because I had to pay for an extra test to resample without the screen. Our test from KAR labs was positive for coliform, the resample came back negative.

I would be likely to have my water tested by KAR again.

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 4 4.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
Customer Service 5 5.0

Response from karlabs.com:

Thanks Kevin for using our lab. Removing the faucet aerator screen is a common practice for collecting water for the purpose of a legal property transfer when banks are involved and the goal is to ensure that the well water has not been impacted by the septic tank. That is not the goal of our testing kits. Our kits are designed to give customers knowledge of what they are actually drinking. Most people don't remove the screen every time they take a drink, so it follows that it isn't recommended to collect the water for testing with the screen removed. We also offer testing for compliance but those instructions do indeed recommend removing the aerator screen prior to sampling.

Tyler H | NY, United States | Submitted 7 Apr 2016

Karlabs gave me all the test parameters I needed for 1/10 of what I was paying my last lab.

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 5 5.0
Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0
BC, Cali G | CA, United States | Submitted 6 Apr 2016

Your company has done a wonderful job with our water test. The kit and instructions were very thorough and easy. It did not take long to receive the results. The only reason I did not score you as a 5 star across the board is that the report is a little difficult to know if there are areas of peticular concern. There are so many things tested for and we are not sure what all of those things are or if we should be really concerned about any of them. An overall summary report would have been very helpful to pinpoint any areas of concern. That would be my only recommendation. We were going to contact a water purification system salesman to see if he would read the report and let us know if there are any peticular areas to be concerned about. Thank You!

Recommend this Company 5 5.0
Would Buy Again 5 5.0
Price 4 4.0
Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
Delivery Time 5 5.0

Response from karlabs.com:

Dear Cali Girl,
Please understand that many of the tests we perform simply do not have an established MCL. This is not our fault, but rather a consequence of being on the leading edge of contaminant testing where our lab is looking for contaminants that aren't yet on public "radar". For this reason, it would be reckless to speculate what levels of a contaminant is good and what is bad.

© 2017 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved.
To learn more about Shopper Approved, Click Here
This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2017