hawaiicartransport.com Reviews

5 Stars

4.7 Overall Rating

Based on 1,746
5 Star Reviews 4 Star Reviews 3 Star Reviews 2 Star Reviews 1 Star Reviews
Desha | NV, United States | Submitted 16 Jan 2017
Verified Customer

I contracted with Hawaii Car Transport to deliver my Jeep from Las Vegas to Hilo, Hawaii. The company was initially eager and responsive to arrange for pickup of the vehicle from my home in Las Vegas and ground transport to Long Beach, California shipping port. Since my stay in Hawaii was limited to 2 weeks, I stressed the importance of having the vehicle delivered as early as possible since I needed the Jeep to pull a utility trailer. The first few company representatives were accommodating and scheduled a pickup of the Jeep in Las Vegas so that the vehicle would be delivered to the shipping port in Hilo on December 26, one week before my arrival in Hawaii. This required the vehicle to be picked up from my home in Las Vegas by December 12. My sons were able to complete the after market modifications to the Jeep prior to the pickup, although they had to take off a day of work in order to have this done in time. The vehicle was picked up on December 12 as scheduled, but was not delivered to Long Beach until December 15. I was told by Matson shipping company that the ship scheduled to transport my Jeep across the ocean had left the day before. Further delays on the part of Matson shipping company delayed delivery of the Jeep to Hilo until January 11, at which time I was able to pick up the Jeep, 3 days before my departure from Hawaii.
When I reminded the staff at Hawaii car transport company about my time constraints shortly after vehicle pickup, I was then told that they were unable to guarantee a vehicle pickup time in Hawaii ( which they do state within the fine print of the customer contract ). The fine print also limits the liability of Hawaii car transport to only $ 1000 for vehicle damage or loss.
I would recommend that people interested in transporting their vehicle contract directly with Matson shipping company for transoceanic shipping of their vehicle, and contract with a different ground vehicle transport company to have their vehicle delivered to the closest available shipping port.

Product Satisfaction 2 2.0
Mary L | NV, United States | Submitted 22 Sep 2016
Verified Customer

Easy and quick but there was more scratches on my vehicle then there was when dropped off. I actually just had a paint job done due to some damage before shipping vehicle. I paid extra for vehicle to be dropped off to my door and claim was made the auto transporter for me but I have not recieved a follow up call ,email or anything . Guess I need to follow up on my own tomorrow to check status on claim.

Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
RR | WA, United States | Submitted 31 Aug 2016
Verified Customer

I confirmed twice that I could ship tires in the vehicle and was told it would not be a problem but upon arrival I was told they had to be removed. This was a huge inconvenience, money wasted and time wasted due to being given the wrong information.

Product Satisfaction 4 4.0
SHAWN R | Submitted 27 Feb 2016
Verified Customer

PRICE CHANGED FROM QUOTE TO BOOKING... NOT HAPPY!

Shaun Y | CA, United States | Submitted 13 Jan 2016
Verified Customer

Items missing from my vehicle.

Product Satisfaction 2 2.0
Keala B | OK, United States | Submitted 5 Jan 2016
Verified Customer

Received my vehicle in perfect condition. Booking and getting the car shipped off was super quick and easy. It actually surprised me how quickly everything got done. On the down side, they do not update you with tracking information on your vehicle. You have to go online to "request" tracking info, which also, if you request the info on the weekend or a holiday you will not receive anything until the next business day. I guess someone has to physically send you the information. That part of this process changed my whole out look on this shipping company because its a little annoying that I cant know where my vehicle is on my time. Also to note, sometimes they do not even get back to you when you do request your tracking information. The first 3 times that I requested something I got no response to which I then had to call in to receive an answer. I was told that my vehicle would be here on January 3 to which I received a call saying that it would actually be coming on the 4th. When I told them that I would not be home to receive my car that day, the driver told me that he could deliver it on the 3rd but that it would not be here til 12 or 1 in the morning (which is technically still the 4th). I didn't like the fact that I had to wait up all night for my vehicle. The driver that delivered my vehicle had a very strong accent and it was very difficult to communicate with him. Last note, I live on a military base, and when I told the driver that there was a specific gate that he had to go through in order to be allowed on he went to the wrong one which made it even harder to get my car. I guess that's where having someone I can communicate well with comes in to play

Product Satisfaction 5 5.0
Noelle H | HI, United States | Submitted 25 Nov 2015
Verified Customer

No one called to tell it was delayed. Then the day I was told to pick it up was a holiday and I didn't even think about it till the night before. So had to rent my loaner car 4 extra days

Product Satisfaction 2 2.0
danielle g | Submitted 10 Nov 2015
Verified Customer

the website is unclear about when you actually need to drop off your vehicle before the cutoff date. i could only get the correct information by talking to a customer service rep.

Desiree G | Submitted 15 Sep 2015
Verified Customer

I have used this company more than Five times and when I got a quote online it was not the same after your rep stated it was more. That was very disappointing and I am disabled , and the spouse of a Disabled Vetetaran

B. Mahoe | HI, United States | Submitted 9 Sep 2015
Verified Customer

recieved car with a few extra scratches on the front headlights.
also the process of talking to the representive on the phone was a complete JOKE....
they were based in New York and here i am in Hawaii asking them questions about my car in Hawaii.
Would have liked to deal or talked to someone who was based here in Hawaii who knew about the registration laws, drop off area and more about the time changes.

Product Satisfaction 2 2.0
Kulani K | HI, United States | Submitted 13 Mar 2015
Verified Customer

I called to check on the status of my car which was being shipped from Hawai'i to L.A. and the receptionist was very rude over the phone. When i gave her the same attitude she hung up on me. I called back and asked for her name, she hung up on me once again. I called back repeatedly and asked to speak to another person and she kept hanging up on me. When i asked for management, she said, "good luck with that" and hung the phone up again.

I was done dealing with her so i phoned my mother who happens to live on O'ahu. She went in to your Sand Island office to get some face to face service. The ladies there were very kind, very helpful and very on point with answering my questions. In fact, my questions were answered within the same minute that my mother started asking them and i was able to pick my car up in L.A. that very same day.

Although i was unhappy with the phone service, i was extremely happy with everything else. Thank you, to those who made my first time shipping experience a great one! As for the lady i spoke to on the phone, i pray for better days to come her way!

Product Satisfaction 3 3.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
J. McKee | HI, United States | Submitted 9 Feb 2015
Verified Customer

When I first contacted your booking agent in November I told him, "I absolutely have to pick up my car no later than January 2nd in the Oakland port, and based on that when do I need to ship it?" I figured I was being clear and leaving plenty of time for transport. Because shipping vehicles is your business, I trusted what he told me and booked with your company, but on January 2nd in Oakland, the port said my car wouldn't be ready to be picked up for several days! In a panic, I contacted your office and the agent explained that the ship arrived in Oakland by January 2nd, but the unloading of the containers of cars takes several days. This situation was not what I had been told by the booking agent, and because of his gross miscalculation in timing, it ended up costing me additional hotel accommodations, train fare, taxi fare and lost productivity. Due to this frustrating and costly experience, I will be using a different transport company for my next vehicle.

Product Satisfaction 2 2.0
Customer Service 1 1.0
Average of 822 reviews without comments.
Verified Customer
© 2017 ShopperApproved.com. All rights reserved.
To learn more about Shopper Approved, Click Here
This Shopper Approved Customer Rating and Review Certificate was generated using independent survey information gathered by Shopper Approved, LLC © 2017